June 15, 2024, 11:13:13 PM

Author Topic: Japan scientist synthesizes meat from human feces  (Read 2498 times)

Japan scientist synthesizes meat from human feces
« on: June 16, 2011, 11:56:43 PM »
Japan scientist synthesizes meat from human feces   Source:Digital Trends

Somehow this feels like a Vonnegut plotline: population boom equals food shortage. Solution? Synthesize food from human waste matter. Absurd yes, but Japanese scientists have actually discovered a way to create edible steaks from human feces.

Mitsuyuki Ikeda, a researcher from the Okayama Laboratory, has developed steaks based on proteins from human excrement. Tokyo Sewage approached the scientist because of an overabundance of sewage mud. They asked him to explore the possible uses of the sewage and Ikeda found that the mud contained a great deal of protein because of all the bacteria.

The researchers then extracted those proteins, combined them with a reaction enhancer and put it in an exploder which created the artificial steak. The “meat” is 63% proteins, 25% carbohydrates, 3% lipids and 9% minerals. The researchers color the poop meat red with food coloring and enhance the flavor with soy protein. Initial tests have people saying it even tastes like beef.

Inhabitat notes that “the meatpacking industry causes 18 percent of our greenhouse gas emissions, mostly due to the release of methane from animals.” Livestock also consume huge amounts of resources and space in efforts to feed ourselves as well as the controversy over cruelty to animals. Ikeda’s recycled poop burger would reduce waste and emissions, not to mention obliterating Dante’s circle for gluttons.

The scientists hope to price it the same as actual meat, but at the moment the excrement steaks are ten to twenty times the price they should be thanks to the cost of research. Professor Ikeda understands the psychological barriers that need to be surmounted knowing that your food is made from human feces. They hope that once the research is complete, people will be able to overlook that ugly detail in favor of perks like environmental responsibility, cost and the fact that the meat will have fewer calories.

Waste not; want not.

Re: Japan scientist synthesizes meat from human feces
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2011, 08:27:01 AM »
Soylent Green Brown

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/u1N6QfuIh0g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/u1N6QfuIh0g</a>
« Last Edit: June 17, 2011, 08:30:32 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2011, 08:34:45 AM »
so this man look at a mountain ah shit and decided..hmmm I go make meat outta dat?

« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2011, 08:37:23 AM »
so this man look at a mountain ah shit and decided..hmmm I go make meat outta dat?
;D ;D ;D
apparently :-\

« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2011, 08:54:55 AM »
gives new meaning to the phrase "tastes like shit to me".

« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2011, 09:03:55 AM »
I remember a scene from the movie Judge Dred where a food dispensing robot is passing saying "Recylced food, Its great for the environment and ok for you"  ;D

Mankind could get to a state where this research would be invaluable.

« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2011, 09:11:35 AM »
Not surprised,this comming from a country that keeps soiled underwear in vending machines

I guess the tubesteak mus be easy to make

« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2011, 09:12:53 AM »
Not surprised,this comming from a country that keeps soiled underwear in vending machines

I guess the tubesteak mus be easy to make

i sending this to my son and his fiancee.  They moving to Japan next month.

« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2011, 09:15:04 AM »
Soylent Green Brown

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/u1N6QfuIh0g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/u1N6QfuIh0g</a>

ah fine i aint see dem dig een dat burger properly...like dey tryin tricks

« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2011, 10:25:11 AM »
next ting they go make punch from cum.

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #10 on: June 17, 2011, 11:06:06 AM »
something Bear Grylls might enjoy   :devil:

« Reply #11 on: June 17, 2011, 11:09:56 AM »

:rotfl:  only you capo, lawd  :rotfl:

« Reply #12 on: June 17, 2011, 11:17:59 AM »

:rotfl:  only you capo, lawd  :rotfl:

dais ah classic :D

« Reply #13 on: June 17, 2011, 02:46:46 PM »
If that ever come to the supermarket, I will become an instant vegetarian.

« Reply #14 on: June 18, 2011, 12:21:40 PM »

Dat research out longtime man.......I say you know dat :beermug:
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #15 on: June 18, 2011, 03:11:00 PM »
This nutrient cycle too short for my liking. The second a man find a piece of corn or chew up carrot in they steak the whole thing will buss

« Reply #16 on: June 18, 2011, 04:55:39 PM »

« Reply #17 on: June 19, 2011, 12:44:41 AM »

Dais Yogurt..throat yogurt

« Reply #18 on: June 19, 2011, 12:27:00 PM »
i go have to read de ingredients from now on oui. imagine yuh checking de thing and it read "100% checked by FDA or USDA, contains 10% human feces".   :o

« Reply #19 on: June 19, 2011, 04:34:48 PM »
dat jap watch 2 girls 1 cup too many times

« Reply #20 on: June 20, 2011, 08:33:31 AM »
dat jap watch 2 girls 1 cup too many times

hahahahahaha :devil: :devil: :'( :'( :'(

« Reply #21 on: June 22, 2011, 06:17:23 PM »

Women flock to take horse-semen shots
JONNY TALBOT Last updated 11:44 22/06/2011
http://www.stuff.co.nz/dominion-post/capital-life/5176745/Women-flock-to-take-horse-semen-shots

Apple-infused horse semen shots might not be an obvious chaser to spring rolls, but they are causing a stir at the Green Man Pub where they are being served.

The shots are part of the central Wellington pub's entry in the nationwide 14th annual Monteith's Beer & Wild Food Challenge.

While the rest of the meal of seared Asian duck and pork and paua spring rolls sounds delicious - it is the Hoihoi tatea, or horse semen drink which is on everyone's minds.

Green Man Pub chef, Jason Varley, said the drink was proving most popular with women.

"Ladies thought it was great  a couple were going to go home and get their husbands to eat grass," he said.

But Mr Varley added that some woman had their concerns.

"A couple of them were worried they might bear children with long faces," he joked.

Men have not been so keen on the concoction.

"The men were very stand-offish. But a few have manned-up and said it is palatable."

Mr Varley admits to trying the drink himself which he said was "ok", and "like custard".

Staff member, Carrie Henderson, said most customers appreciated the drink was a "tongue in cheek" offering.

The pub will only be serving the drink for the duration of the Beer and Wild Food Challenge, which runs for a month from June 3.

It is not the first time the drink has been served up  it has appeared on the menu at the the Hokitika Wild Foods Festival in the past.

However for restauranters, the delicacy does not come cheap, at a cost of $300 for 20 vials of semen.

While assertions have been made about the possible health benefits of drinking semen due to the possibility of boosted testosterone levels due to the DHEA hormone, Green Man co-owner Steve Drummond has not had any repeat customers for the drink.

"I don't think anyone's had a particular taste for it . . . no one's addicted to it, lets put it that way," he said.

Food Standards Manager Judy Barker said the horse semen would not pose any health issues.

"MAF's interest is in the safety and suitability of food. Provided the product is sourced under the regulated system, it appears this practice poses no concerns."

« Reply #22 on: June 22, 2011, 11:25:24 PM »
not sure what worse...d horse semen or the name of d establishment....??