VB, the african may not be ah good reference point bc of how far removed he has been from his mother land, but lets take into consideration the syrian or the chinese populous, shall we.
the syrian and the chineses trini also have very strong cultural ties to their home land even though they don't advertise it like the indains.
the chinese still speak their native dialects mandarin and cantonese, the syrians still speak arabic and in some cases practice their faith waking up early every morn to make fajr salat, and also offering salat all through the day. in the month of ramazan they fast and celebrate the two eids, they also marry in the same fashion.
same for the chinese, they still keep chinese new yr and celebrate holy chinese months, yes i know bc i grew up wid chisese trinis, both in school and in my neighborhood. one thing that amazed me about chinese trini is that they would live in some of the roughest neighborhoods and go through normal normal and blend in with the ppl.
my neighbors spoke fluent chinese and was immersed in chinese culture and they were born and raised right there in the hood. the girls dated black guys and the boys dated black girls, they went to parties, hang out and even went to church with us.
it had the chinese social club chungsang right down the road from me, and also the chinese association in st anns that kept ah huge chinese cultural gathering/ festival every yrs in the george st market and it was ah huge grandeur event where ppl of all races participated. allyuh outa towners wouldn't know bout that but every EDR yute would tell yuh that i speaking the truth.
VB i willing to bet that if china came to play T&T a game in the stadium that the "trini" chinese poulation probably wouldn't even attend, let alone throw their support china's way, and i willing to bargin on the syrian trini population just the same.
i think for the most part, the rural trini indians are pro indain/ hindu nationalist and that will always be the case. and i would go as far to say that if trinidad and india had ah fallin out that lead to a war, they would pick up arms against T&T to defend india, bc in their mind T&T is ah n****r country.
doh get meh wrong, what i truly love about T&T is the mix of many cultures, and the cultural expressions of each group make it delightful to behold and experience, but yuh see supporting other nations over T&T just bc it's your ancestral land, doh bother to justify that BS, if yuh love india so much over yuh birth land, then fackin go back to india! that's all. JMO.