March 29, 2024, 04:50:13 AM

Author Topic: Daneil Cyrus Thread  (Read 46345 times)

Re: Chicago Fire acquire defender Daneil Cyrus
« Reply #120 on: August 06, 2015, 03:09:22 PM »
Wow!!
It don't get better than that. Congrats Cyrus.
They saw class like we did and could not refuse.

« Reply #121 on: August 06, 2015, 03:14:48 PM »
Glad for him.

This is the benefits of playing for your national team.

Hope others take note and doh only study de penny.

It does pay off in de long run.

« Reply #122 on: August 06, 2015, 03:18:58 PM »
Congrats and best of luck to Cyrus!  Now put them in a position where they cannot help but give you a full time contract.

« Reply #123 on: August 06, 2015, 03:25:07 PM »
Nice one, Cyrus. Good luck.

« Reply #124 on: August 06, 2015, 03:47:39 PM »

Congrats Mr Cyrus  :beermug:

Go to Chicago and improve and develop your skill and give your best for your club. When your country T&T call upon you again for your service you will be ready and even better player than you are today

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #125 on: August 06, 2015, 05:00:42 PM »
Brilliant. Would be great to see the likes of Cummings, Guerra and at least one of Jan or Marvin get out of here into the MLS as well.

« Reply #126 on: August 06, 2015, 05:57:11 PM »
It was just a matter of time. He played in two GC tournaments and showed what he is made of.

« Reply #127 on: August 06, 2015, 06:20:13 PM »
 :beermug: great news instead of the pissing competition with Tim Key and Sanko.

« Reply #128 on: August 06, 2015, 07:23:03 PM »
Congrats to Chicago! :)

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #129 on: August 06, 2015, 08:41:01 PM »
Congrats Mr. Cyrus!
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #130 on: August 06, 2015, 09:05:41 PM »
Happy for him... He's destined to be a world class defender..

« Reply #131 on: August 06, 2015, 09:12:16 PM »
Congrats Cyrus, you deserve it.

« Reply #132 on: August 06, 2015, 09:32:24 PM »
 :applause:  :applause: :applause: FANTASTIC news. Go and show them what you can do. Thank God for Lincoln Phillips vision of investing in proper youth development.  If I remember correctly Phillips idea of entering the 2006 U-15 team in the Dallas Cup was the genesis of that generation's back to back WC appearances. Now its paying dividends. I can't ever remember a time when we had this kind of quality and depth of defensive options.

« Reply #133 on: August 07, 2015, 01:59:03 AM »
Great for Cyrus. Inevitable really.

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #134 on: August 07, 2015, 07:38:59 AM »
Another Joe Public product.

Jack Warner will rise again and the world will beg him him to return and he will say "NO".............

« Reply #135 on: August 07, 2015, 08:28:26 AM »
My favorite national team full back.  Great on the overlap!

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #136 on: August 07, 2015, 10:16:50 AM »
Great move for him, hopefully being in a truly professional environment will help him in the same way it helped Joevin. Chicago is at the bottom of the table and has former Jamaican international Lovel Palmer starting at RB, and a CM playing CB so there should be many opportunities for him to play.

« Reply #137 on: August 07, 2015, 07:16:59 PM »
Good move for his career. I knew this kid was special after seeing him play center back in the CFU final against Jamaica.

Cummings could be next.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2015, 07:18:42 PM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #138 on: August 13, 2015, 02:16:13 AM »
Cyrus eager to join Chicago Fire.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

National senior defender Daneil Cyrus is awaiting a work permit before jetting off to join American MLS club Chicago Fire on loan.

The former Vietnam-based player is still at home after completing the move to Fire where he will team up with countryman Joevin Jones.

“I’m just waiting on the work permit and then I will be off to Chicago,” Cyrus said.

“I think it’s a great move for me especially right after the Gold Cup. I know I need to play playing regularly and keeping fit. I think the level of the MLS will be good for me. And there’s nothing better at this time than linking up with my brother Joevin at the same club. I think this will help both of us for the period coming up with the national team.”

Cyrus said he has gotten over the pain from the defeat to Panama at the CONCACAF Gold Cup quarterfinals.

Cyrus still not in Chicago
« Reply #139 on: August 25, 2015, 08:39:48 PM »
Cyrus still not in Chicago

The Fire acquired defender Daneil Cyrus on loan just before the close of the transfer window but he has yet to join his new teammates. Cyrus is still in Trinidad & Tobago awaiting clearance on paperwork. "You've got to file for the work permit, you've got to give them your passport, and then you've got wait for it to come back," Yallop explained regarding the delay. "They said fours days, and it's day three (Monday). We're expecting it either today or tomorrow but the problem is he's getting called up by Trinidad as well, so the timing is not perfect. But again, we sign players to hopefully keep them as long as we can but its up to him to play well and do okay here and move forward from there. We expect him in camp after the Trinidad international games."

http://www.chicagonow.com/fire-confidential/2015/08/fire-notebook-transfers-injuries-and-blackouts/

Re: Daneil Cyrus thread
« Reply #140 on: September 09, 2015, 04:42:13 PM »
Cyrus finally hook up with Chicago Fire today

Offline bingie man

« Reply #141 on: September 09, 2015, 04:45:56 PM »
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #142 on: September 09, 2015, 05:08:08 PM »
Cyrus finally hook up with Chicago Fire today

Actually he's been there training since at least Monday.

New Chicago Fire defender Daneil Cyrus ready to make his mark
« Reply #143 on: September 09, 2015, 07:52:50 PM »
New Chicago Fire defender Daneil Cyrus ready to make his mark
By Danny Michallik (CSN Chicago)

It’s been quite the whirlwind month for the Fire’s newest signing.

After enjoying a training stint with the club prior to this summer’s CONCACAF Gold Cup and having been closely monitored by head coach Frank Yallop and the technical staff throughout the tournament, Daneil Cyrus sealed a loan move from TT Pro League side W Connection to the Fire on the last day of the MLS secondary transfer window.

Since then, the Trinidad and Tobago international has spent the better part of the last four weeks in paperwork limbo. Despite acquiring his International Transfer Certificate on Aug. 12, the 24-year-old was forced to remain in his native country to await the receipt of his P1 visa. Upon receiving his passport, his entry into the Fire fold was halted yet again after being summoned by Stephen Hart to face Mexico in an international friendly on Sept 4. in Sandy, Utah, a 3-3 draw in which Cyrus featured 90 minutes.

“JJ [Joevin Jones] and the guys wanted to know if my loan deal was for next year,” said Cyrus, who communicated his frustration with the long-drawn-out process to reporters on Wednesday.

You couldn’t blame his teammates' inquisition.

In the time between the announcement of Cyrus’ purchase on Aug. 6 and Monday – his first official day of training with the club – the Men in Red played seven games, bowing out of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup and taking just five points from 18 available. Although he’s only had a few days to get his bearings, the Trinidadian leaves no doubt as to which area of the field he would prefer to ply his trade in should his services be required heading into the final stretch of the season.   

“Anywhere the coach would want me to play, I will play, but I prefer playing center back,” Cyrus added, “because of my vision to see the field, but as well as right back. My strength is my speed, so I don’t mind playing right back as well.”

Whether Cyrus impresses enough to guarantee a spot in Yallop’s starting lineup for Friday night's clash with New York Red Bulls (6 p.m. CT; UniMás) remains to be seen. What is certain, however, is that at 6-foot-4, his stature alone will supply the back line with a different, and perhaps more imposing presence.

“It’s nice to add a player,” Yallop said via Monday via teleconference. “It took a while with the permit and all the red tape and paperwork we had to get through and waiting. It’s been kind of frustrating, but he’s here now. He’s a young international player who’s done well for his country, and we’re trying to integrate him into MLS once we get him training with us and get him playing games. I expect him to see the field for sure. I don’t know exactly when. We just have to make sure he’s up to speed on everything, but there’s no time like now, because we need to get a result Friday.”

For now, Cyrus is hoping to take the experience gained from his brief spell with Sporting Kansas City on loan in the summer of 2011, and fine-tune his game to adapt to the physical demands of the league to make for a better adjustment in the Windy City.

“Of course it’s a conversation that I had," Cyrus said when asked if he'd held talks with the coaching staff about extending his stay with the club beyond 2015. "The environment is nice, Chicago is a very lovely place, the team is a very big team in the league over the years,” he said. “I don’t mind making a permanent move.”

« Reply #144 on: September 09, 2015, 08:11:38 PM »
His size and ability to play both CB and RB makes him a valuable player for any coach/team.

Watch how this MLS experience turns him into a BOSS player.

« Reply #145 on: September 09, 2015, 10:46:56 PM »
His size and ability to play both CB and RB makes him a valuable player for any coach/team.

Watch how this MLS experience turns him into a BOSS player.

I sure hope so. . . He's a decent player. But something about his play (focus?) needs  to sure-up!

Offline noize

« Reply #146 on: September 11, 2015, 04:19:25 PM »
Cyrus looks like he's on the starting 11 tonight

« Reply #147 on: September 11, 2015, 05:26:18 PM »
Important game for the club. Success breeds success.

« Reply #148 on: September 11, 2015, 05:36:19 PM »
What a raaas goal!!!

« Reply #149 on: September 11, 2015, 07:01:38 PM »
Chicago lost 3-2. The Trini were not spectacular, but we're good.