April 26, 2024, 07:52:00 AM

Author Topic: Scouting  (Read 1939 times)

Offline jusbless

Scouting
« on: July 18, 2011, 08:11:36 AM »
I wonder does the NAAA send any scouts to NCAA to find out if their are any US born runners who is elidgible to represent T&T . I am sure there will be a few out there they may not be the best but at least we can widen our pool and have some good relay runners . Plus you can also gain a diamond in the rough, a 11.2 sprinter who may improve to a 10.9 sprinter in two years , Capture them before they realise their potential , instead of trying to get them after they reach. I am suggesting it can even be done at high school level.

Re: Scouting
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2011, 08:56:27 AM »
Good point. But the current problems will still be present.

I believe the talent exists in T&T, so there is no need to go abroad. It is actually quite simple for T&T to reach on that next level. T&T just needs to focus on two areas: coaching and infrastructure. The visibility of T&F needs to be increased in T&T as well.

Also, more events should be explored. Historically, the emphasis has been on sprints. There are about 7 males from T&T on the 100m top list this year. In the 110m hurdles there is 1. In the 400m hurdles there is only Jehue. As far as the top lists goes, T&T has zero presence in the male long jump and triple jump.

Success in t&f will come when T&T is able to send at least 2+ reps for each event. No need to scout from  abroad. Imagine if JA did that?

So you see, its best to spend time improving the environment for success instead of scouting from abroad. If one shows up, of course the NAAA should jump on it. But there is no need to initiate a program to scout U.S born or Trinis.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2011, 09:02:58 AM »
Good idea. However it may be tough to do since the US is such a vast place etc plus this is Trinidad and I should just leave it at that, but unless you or anybody with good feasible ideas gets into a position of authority then we can just say a resounding no. I may be wrong but I highly doubt it.
We have a talent pool right here in Trinidad that can be developed... my prayer is the that the promising talents like the Michelle's, Kai's, Kenesha's, John Mark's, Quincy's can develop into amazing performers on the senior circuit. To maximise track and field's potential we need to get the Indra's and Sunil's involved too.
We have an 11.2 sprinter who with the right guidance can be transformed into an 10.9 or less sprinter... Michelle lee ahye amazes me by the fact that almost every year she gets injured but manages to come back and run quicker than before each time. That shows determination and great work ethic. Imagine if she hadn't been injured or imagine if she had the right coach who could help her with her technique etc...

Offline Trini1

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2011, 09:05:12 AM »
Excellent point gawd.

Offline jusbless

« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2011, 09:05:36 AM »
I agree with you , but i see your point as a long term solution, I was just looking for a short term solution for the olympics next year . We still need to strenghten our relays , The men's 400m needs another good 400m runner. The women 400m needs two 51 point runners. the female 4x100m needs two other 11.2 -11.3 sprinters to add depth and improvement to the squad.

« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2011, 09:36:43 AM »
If someone does not help Michelle lee ahye soon she will be lost ..... out of school , no school prospects, no job....
I understand she left school before writing CXC .... out on a limb .

Offline jusbless

« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2011, 09:42:46 AM »
For instance Jodie Williams , the british teen sensation, of course she would want to compete at the london olympics, if britain is not allowing her t compete for them we can offer her an easier route to achieve that goal. Is all about how you sell it, when next will she get a chance to compete in london for the olympics in her lifetime , This is her only opportunity ,it is up to her , take it or leave it , It is all down to an athlete hunger to compete and a NAAA that will allow them to achieve that hunger.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2011, 10:17:09 AM »
If someone does not help Michelle lee ahye soon she will be lost ..... out of school , no school prospects, no job....

One of the saddest prospects and one that would hurt me esp because she is such a talent and she has shown that from such an early age. I think that she is very determined to not make that happen though.

I would love to have Jodie on our team since hearing she is half trini but one thing that seems to happen when athletes move is that they regress for some reason- not sure why whether it be injury, new environment, personal issues,  becoming complacent etc. Both Aaron Armstrong and Aleesha barber have slipped since they moved to Tnt in terms of their seasons bests. Both were world class athletes (they still are) AA was running sub 20 in the 200m when very slightly wind assisted and Aleesha B was sub 13 in the hurdles. Now...i couldn't tell yuh, but I wish both steady recoveries!

That's possibly the only short term solution or possibly getting an athlete to try a different event. E.g Irina Privalova who was a 100m/200m specialist(a highly successful one) moved up to the 400m hurdles as she got older and managed to win it at the 2000 Sydney Olympics.

Diversifying our younger athletes will give us a lot more medals. Sprinting has been the main focus as gawd on the pitch said. Hurdling needs to be developed, more field events, coaching etc. Perhaps some of the slower 100m sprinters can be moved to the 100m/110m hurdles...
« Last Edit: July 18, 2011, 10:21:43 AM by Trini1 »

« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2011, 10:21:07 AM »

jeez tell me thats not the case!!!

Offline jusbless

« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2011, 11:16:42 AM »

One of the saddest prospects and one that would hurt me esp because she is such a talent and she has shown that from such an early age. I think that she is very determined to not make that happen though.

I would love to have Jodie on our team since hearing she is half trini but one thing that seems to happen when athletes move is that they regress for some reason- not sure why whether it be injury, new environment, personal issues,  becoming complacent etc. Both Aaron Armstrong and Aleesha barber have slipped since they moved to Tnt in terms of their seasons bests. Both were world class athletes (they still are) AA was running sub 20 in the 200m when very slightly wind assisted and Aleesha B was sub 13 in the hurdles. Now...i couldn't tell yuh, but I wish both steady recoveries!

That's possibly the only short term solution or possibly getting an athlete to try a different event. E.g Irina Privalova who was a 100m/200m specialist(a highly successful one) moved up to the 400m hurdles as she got older and managed to win it at the 2000 Sydney Olympics.

Diversifying our younger athletes will give us a lot more medals. Sprinting has been the main focus as gawd on the pitch said. Hurdling needs to be developed, more field events, coaching etc. Perhaps some of the slower 100m sprinters can be moved to the 100m/110m hurdles...

I totally disagree

Aleesha Barber has been hit by injury which has hampen her development , Injuries which occured not representing the country but representing her school, the injuries would be the same dont matter what university she attended.

Aaron armstrong ,sice running for T&T has clocked personal bests in the 100m and has particpated at events that he had only dream of competing before , I am sure if he had the chance he would roll back all those years competing at the us trials and represented Trinidad instead. The truth is he did not join Trinidad as any young spring chicken and his clocking in the 200m had been on the decline when he chose to represent T&T. He added a lot of value to our nation and has campaigned with us with much success, So I would actually view him as a success story,
 On the other hand let's look at lauryn williams , if she was represnting Trinidad would her career be as short as it is , would she be on such a rapid decline , How many more medals she would have won , as she missed out on some world competitions because of some bad race or a little injury before trial. Where would she be ,if she chose differently.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2011, 12:35:22 PM »
Fair enough if Aleesha has been injured... Aaron's 100m has improved but his 200 hasn't 19.98-2.1 tailwind/20.35 legal to 20.53 '06, 20.90 '07, 20.48 '08, 21.38 '09, 20.81 '10. He is capable of sub-20!

I think the major determining factor in Lauryn Williams' situation is the passing of her father. So had she moved, if this unfortunate event had occurred while she was competing for Trinidad i believe it would have been the same. She might have been able to make it on the team this year and that's a might because I believe Michelle, Ayanna, Kai(if she ran the 100m), Reyare are all running better than her when in Trinidad in 2011.

Offline jusbless

« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2011, 01:04:32 PM »
No - 11.15 2.0 Lauryn Williams  USA 11/09/1983 8  Eugene, OR 04/06/2011
22.65 1.7 Lauryn Williams  USA 11/09/1983 1r1  Coral Gables, FL 16/04/2011
 So she would be the second fastest for the season so far. Giving her enough time to recover for the world championship

Offline Trini1

« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2011, 02:20:07 PM »
However it was at Eugene renowned for being a fast track and at 2.0m/s that's her absolute best and she isn't going to touch that for the rest of the year. Most recently:

Naimette-Xhovémont  BEL

13 July (2011)

Women 100m - A Race
Wind: -0.1
1 Gloria Asumnu USA 11.39
2 Damola Osayomi NGR 11.44
3 Barbara Pierre USA 11.51
4 Jodie Williams GBR 11.65
5 Lauryn Williams USA 11.65
6 Jeanette Kwakye GBR 11.73
7 Stephanie Durst USA 11.76
8 Iveta Mazáčová CZE 11.96

Final   Euganeo Stadium - 17 July 2011 - Start Time: 20:26 - Wind: -0.8
Pos.   Lane   Bib   Athlete   Year   Cat.   COUNTRY   Mark
1   4   13   STEWART Kerron   1984   W    JAM JAMAICA   23.04
2   7   17   MCLAUGHLIN Anneisha   1986   W    JAM JAMAICA   23.16
3   6   15   ATKINS Joanna   1989   W    USA UNITED STATES OF AMERICA   23.26
4   5   16   SIMPSON Sherone   1984   W    JAM JAMAICA   23.29
5   8   19   BEARD Jessica   1989   W    USA UNITED STATES OF AMERICA   23.33
6   3   14   WILLIAMS Lauryn   1983   W    USA UNITED STATES OF AMERICA   23.36
7   2   92   EKEH Udochi Juli   1993   W    NGR NIGERIA   24.66

Kai Selvon has run 23.14 into a 2.3m/s headwind!
« Last Edit: July 18, 2011, 02:37:03 PM by Trini1 »