March 28, 2024, 04:18:39 PM

Author Topic: Corneal: Future dim for Zonal football players.  (Read 2958 times)

Corneal: Future dim for Zonal football players.
« on: July 23, 2011, 04:52:59 AM »
Corneal: Future dim for Zonal football players.
By: Alvin Corneal (Guardian).

When the Football Federation decided to change their format for the purpose of stepping in line with almost all of the recognised leagues internationally, it seemed a very positive step towards repairing some awkward situations whenever our national team needed to have the services of the overseas based players for friendlies and competitive matches.

It also provided a wider variety of playing fields which will be used, especially during the dry season from January to April and also the rain filled months of August to November. This may well have been a plea from the Professional League, although it would have made little difference to the zonal competitions.

It would take much more than date changes to correct all the ills of the zonal leagues, whose uncertainty of ground usage, the shortage of referees and the absolute lack of security around the playing fields for the protection of the players.

We have become accustomed to seeing the behaviour of some of the club members and supporters whose language and sometimes irresponsible actions can either scare or antagonise players who are affected by their threats. Personally, I see little future for the players who play in the zonal competition.

Firstly, they are already faced with substandard grounds, they are never certain of referees showing up, then, they are fully aware that none of the people who select national teams are interested in whether they can play or not.

The cost factor for club and players attending matches is hardly ever compensated, making their involvement a fruitless exercise. This makes the proleague clubs and to a lesser extent the super league teams, the targets for the players who may wish to address the national selectors.

They receive a salary, and gain mileage when they produced good performances, features which change the amateur status into one of full employ.

The other players have been playing in zonal competitions with different clubs in the four zones, sometimes registered and other times, playing under names which are already registered. The system seems to be totally flawed and I am making this comments after being attached to  the system for a number of years.

Forget about protests, because justice is hardly ever given, mainly because it will be too tardy an exercise to prove the point. But in recent times, with all the allegations of irregular practices flashing across the Caribbean, there appears a deafening silence coming from the ruling body with regard to anything concerning the administration of the game.

This is the period when the executive committee of the ruling body should be flexing their muscles in an effort to retain their position of decision makers at all levels. It almost appears as though the Pro league and the Super league have full control of everything and no one else matters.

This is not a comfortable situation for the game in this country and the public should be able to see some light at the end of the tunnel.

The restart of the national programs must be well marketed and prepared for all competitive activity, especially as we have witnessed the quality of performances displayed by the leading Concacaf teams in the Gold Cup.

One of the significant signs of the gap between our progress and that of our competitors is clear, as Jamaica leads the way with their improved performances at gold cup and the World Cup U-17 competitions, Grenada  has qualified twice for Gold cup ahead of us, while Cuba and the French Countries are constant in their quality of play whenever they get the chance to show their worth.

It would be nice to hear something about a plan for the future from the authorities, if only to convince our supporters that better days are ahead.

Offline president

• ...Walk and don't look back...
Re: Corneal: Future dim for Zonal football players.
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2011, 05:20:58 AM »
Regional (zonal) Association football, and in so many ways - club football, is a disaster. The lack of development in club structure and administration, the lack of even rudimentary player development schemes, the poor infrastructure, and more,  ensure that level of the game is a challenge to even the most committed player, coach, club official, or and/or fan.

The root causes of this sad state of affairs are: 1) the fact that, by and large, the regional executives who run the zonal game are more concerned with position, power and perks than progress, (so looking for solutions there is futile), and 2) the encouragement the zonal executives receive from the zonal clubs, which consistently demonstrate their own lack of concern for the development of the game by failing to attend zonal meetings, and when they do, by their ready and silent acceptance of the insulting behaviour of the "bosses" self-serving agenda. Thus the facade of football democracy is preserved while the essence of REAL democracy rots.
There will be no transformation of football in this country - at any level - unless the grassroots clubs take matters into their own hands, demand democratic and transparent performance from their elected executives - or remove them. The regions are all represented in the TTFF executive. Democracy - and its natural derivatives, transparency and accountability - will resolve a mountain of issues plaguing local football. Calling for the removal of this or that person, while their removal may be an essential part of the desired transformation, will not provide a permanent solution to the deep-seated, systemic problems within our football and our football culture. Faces come and go. The solution must be systemic and it must all begin at the grassroots level.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2011, 05:30:55 AM by Flex »

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2011, 07:39:19 AM »
Regional (zonal) Association football, and in so many ways - club football, is a disaster. The lack of development in club structure and administration, the lack of even rudimentary player development schemes, the poor infrastructure, and more,  ensure that level of the game is a challenge to even the most committed player, coach, club official, or and/or fan.

The root causes of this sad state of affairs are: 1) the fact that, by and large, the regional executives who run the zonal game are more concerned with position, power and perks than progress, (so looking for solutions there is futile), and 2) the encouragement the zonal executives receive from the zonal clubs, which consistently demonstrate their own lack of concern for the development of the game by failing to attend zonal meetings, and when they do, by their ready and silent acceptance of the insulting behaviour of the "bosses" self-serving agenda. Thus the facade of football democracy is preserved while the essence of REAL democracy rots.
There will be no transformation of football in this country - at any level - unless the grassroots clubs take matters into their own hands, demand democratic and transparent performance from their elected executives - or remove them. The regions are all represented in the TTFF executive. Democracy - and its natural derivatives, transparency and accountability - will resolve a mountain of issues plaguing local football. Calling for the removal of this or that person, while their removal may be an essential part of the desired transformation, will not provide a permanent solution to the deep-seated, systemic problems within our football and our football culture. Faces come and go. The solution must be systemic and it must all begin at the grassroots level.

My question is, who Police our leagues and football ? who is de law, who makes the law ? who hire, who fire ?

The answer is the problem. Very simple.

« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2011, 08:08:30 AM »
The brown envelopes culture, (to maintain the corrupt system, the secret votes and election of non performing jokers & the constitutional impediments), is beginning to dry up somewhat and the cronies like Cornmeal and others are beginning to suddenly see a problem with the system that they so comfortably presided over. Well yes. Let's continue to talk and see where this leads. Lovely.

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2011, 08:10:02 AM »
My question is, who Police our leagues and football ? who is de law, who makes the law ? who hire, who fire ?

The answer is the problem. Very simple.

Exactly, what are you trying to imply here ?

Jack will raise again !!!
Jack Warner will rise again and the world will beg him him to return and he will say "NO".............

« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2011, 08:34:08 AM »
Its time for the governmemt to appoint a football advisory board to look at every level of football in T&T from childrens football (5 years plus), school football, zonal, semi pro , pro league and National (inc girls football and football for disabled people), facilities and stadia..

Their task would be to ascertain a clear picture of the current situation and its strengths and weaknesses including administration and finance.

They would then recommend a new structure where needed, together with a new hierarchy. The pyramid system of promotion and relegation must be solid and provide hope for zonal teams to develop, while funds trickle down from the top (i.e a Pro League clubs sells a player overseas so the feeder club or league also gets a cut.)

They would also look at the coaching system, scouting and development, acadamies and coaching schools, including recommended coach - player ratios, minimum acceptable facilities and the need to be a licensed school (including security & background checks on anyone involved in kids football), and how TTFF can fund and support this system including bringing over foreign coaches to provide training for our coaches.

What we have at the moment is a set of unconnected bodies created for reasons other than the development of football. They have just appeared without considering how they fit into an organised structure. (For instance, how does the Eddie Hart league benefit Pro League, and vice-versa?)

This task force would include knowledgable football people from overseas together with locals with vision who could "Trinify" the findings. It would also be done with the co operation of FIFA, CONCACAF & CFU and findings would be shared with them.

This whole concept of government not being allowed to interfere in football needs to be addressed here. It gives TTFF carte blanche to waste money and opportunities without recourse. TTFF must agree to work with the task force or face withdrawal of govt support, including use of govt facilities and stadia.

FIFA will undergo a massive internal change over the next few years following this corruption hearing. TTFF (if it still exists this time next year) will also undergo change. There is no better time to restructure our football. Once it is structured and there are checks and balances in place, the govt must work with the task force findings and help to put in place the recomendations (as the British govt did in the 80's....although Thatcher tried to kill football, what don't kill you makes you stronger, and the EPL is a direct result of those govt hearings)

It won't be quick, as change takes time, but by 2016 football could be unrecognisable from the disjointed ineffective muddle it is now.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2011, 08:46:49 AM »
Its time for the governmemt to appoint a football advisory board to look at every level of football in T&T from childrens football (5 years plus), school football, zonal, semi pro , pro league and National (inc girls football and football for disabled people), facilities and stadia..

Should Government be doing the same for Cricket, Netball, Track, Basketball, Water Polo, Tennis etc as well?

Unless T&T is a Socialist Republic, its not Government's direct responsibility to manage sporting organizations.

« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2011, 10:06:23 AM »
Now That Jack in the doghouse. Cornmeal looking for a wuk. The days Of Maple - Malvern " Colts are over . Men looking for bread so the better players are going to the pro team. Again blame The TTFF for lack of vision to keep this level going. For example Woodbrook intercol players can gravitate to Maple - Malvern. Belmont players to Colts. St Ann s will now become Queens Parh and watch it with Terry I will give them two years to be at the top. CiC grounds for practice , Queens Park grounds at the Oval, plus gym facilities If I am a decent footballer living in town , guess where I am going?

« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2011, 11:17:10 AM »
The first time in how many

Should Government be doing the same for Cricket, Netball, Track, Basketball, Water Polo, Tennis etc as well?

Unless T&T is a Socialist Republic, its not Government's direct responsibility to manage sporting organizations.

A football advisory board would not be directly involved in sports management. But I agree with the spirit of your post. The entire system is a mess and its reflected when more people show up for Eddie Hart than a CCL game. And the habit of government throwing $$$ at the TTFF with zero accountability is one of the reasons.

Like corbeaux's pouncing on decaying flesh formerly timid yes men and boot polishers are now beating their chests and braying loudly for 'change'. Mr Corneal, if as you put it..."the system seems to be totally flawed and I am making this comments after being attached to  the system for a number of years.", what did you do about it?

Its surely not easy to operate under an incompetent boss, but when you became part of the system and refused to speak out you became part of the problem.

Offline president

« Reply #9 on: July 23, 2011, 11:40:51 AM »
Like corbeaux's pouncing on decaying flesh formerly timid yes men and boot polishers are now beating their chests and braying loudly for 'change'. Mr Corneal, if as you put it..."the system seems to be totally flawed and I am making this comments after being attached to  the system for a number of years.", what did you do about it?

Its surely not easy to operate under an incompetent boss, but when you became part of the system and refused to speak out you became part of the problem.

It is not for me to defend Alvin Corneal, but one should have respect - even for those with whom we may disagree. Because he - or anyone else within the TTFF - never spoke out in public regarding any of the ills which plague the federation doesn't necessarily mean he was in agreement with the generalized TTFF malaise. Public criticism of the organization to which one belongs is a specialty of our politicians of all stripes. It is part of our "bacchanal" political culture and entirely lacking in professional or organizational ethics. Whether one accepts it or not, there ARE good people who elected to work within the TTFF system in order to effect an amelioration of its weaknesses - and sometimes to good effect. Indeed, what success have those who harp on from the outside had on the inner workings of the federation? To simply condemn ALL football officials simply they because they associated with the TTFF is an unsophisticated and unhelpful conclusion, divorced from reality.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2011, 11:49:28 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2011, 12:03:49 PM »
Respect for those who sat by and watched as heros of our nation were victimized like common criminals? I think not. In fact as an outsider looking in, let me ask you as an insider to the scenes...after Jack called men like Marvin Andrews and Brent Sancho 'mercenraries' did you ask him to show respect? Did you call for respect when the TTFF lied in the courtrooms of our nation? Did you call for respect after millions of tax payers dollars went missing and unaccounted for? Did you call for respect when the TTFF repeatedly disobeyed court orders and deadlines? Destroying football by appointing mediocre lackeys to run the game into the ground?

In fact...did you call for respect when Jack went to England and lied in the face of the Prime Minister and future King? Or when he asked the head of the Scottish FA to deliver cheques to his personal account?

After years of mismanagement, incompetence, stonewalling, secrecy and corruption in this game, why do you think that anyone looking in should show respect. Do you think that becasue Corneal and sons have benefitted from JW's 'generosity' that they are ENTITLED to respect?

When Keth Look Loy sent messages to this forum and gave 1st hand accounts of developments as he sees it, then I showed respect for that . But don't expect folks to sit here in the face of all the dysfunction and SHAME this federation and its members have brought to Trinidad and Tobago and grovel to 'insiders'
« Last Edit: July 23, 2011, 12:06:08 PM by ZANDOLIE »

Offline president

« Reply #11 on: July 23, 2011, 12:17:05 PM »
I will try to make my main point again. Because one does not hear something doesn't mean it hasn't happened. I say again, do not conclude that everyone within the TTFF has agreed with everything that has been done or not done by federation officials over the years simply because they do not "jump out" and make their criticisms public via the the media. In any event, history aside, the litmus test for what Corneal now has to say regarding "zonal" football is: True or false? This is what matters most.

« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2011, 12:34:47 PM »
I'm sure there are many people within the federation who work hard and try to do their part. When the Women's U-17 WC was hosted here the TTFF was recieved a lot of appreciation and kudos on the forum. Myself included. And most people here very well know that Jack is a very competent and talented individual, ethics not withstanding.

One of the most disastrous of Jack's legacies is the appointment of people who uncritically do his bidding. IMO that has helped foster a culture of silence, stifiled dissent, innovation and reform. I'm sure those caught up in the situation have difficulty seeing this. We who on the outside see it every time we read that Camps and Groden have no comments to make on any matters, when not one single TTFF insider has admitted that the game is practically dead in this country or even appear to have made an effort to fix things, when we have to dig up heaven and earth to find out when the next TTFF elections will be held, etc.

And this litmus test you propose is not valid in the real world. The real litmus test is when you have the gonads to say  your piece when your job and reputation is on the line, not when the boss is on the way out. Most of us of do not have that courage. But Corneal is insulting the football-loving community with this sudden epiphany. Now that Jack's power is dwindling, it smacks of rebellion without sacrifice. Corneal is no Saul on the road to Damascus.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2011, 12:52:52 PM by ZANDOLIE »

Offline president

« Reply #13 on: July 23, 2011, 12:41:19 PM »
I repeat. Because one does not hear something doesn't not mean it didn't happen. I done.

« Reply #14 on: July 23, 2011, 12:43:44 PM »
Zandolie yuh have real lyrics dread. Real talent on this blog oui.

« Reply #15 on: July 23, 2011, 12:52:15 PM »
I repeat. Because one does not hear something doesn't not mean it didn't happen. I done.

If you think you are the only person here with 'connections' you are sorely mistaken.

I'm sorry that you wish to stop communicating. As much as we criticize and carry on here we are all still fans of the game. However you seem to content to believe that intentions are everything. Sometimes appearences matter too.

Offline president

« Reply #16 on: July 23, 2011, 12:58:56 PM »
Connections? Sigh...

« Reply #17 on: July 23, 2011, 01:21:21 PM »
I understand the concept that people may have complained and objected inside the walls and I also understand that employers require a "united front". However, there is a point when a man has to look inward and weigh his integrity. We such a person speaks out, he is ostracised and called a whistleblower.

Turning a blind eye is maybe acceptable with occasional misdemeanours, but the old Nazi excuse of "I was just following orders" doesn't wash.

As much as I respect Lincoln Phillips, I feel he should have been more vocal a few years ago. (he may say that he was doing more good by being quiet and working for change from the inside) 

« Reply #18 on: July 23, 2011, 01:31:55 PM »
Alvin I eh want 2 hear from u. Future dim 4 football thxs 2 peeps like u despite all yuh so call complaints behind close doors.

« Reply #19 on: July 23, 2011, 01:34:01 PM »
Alvin I eh want 2 hear from u. Future dim 4 football thxs 2 peeps like u despite all yuh so call complaints behind close doors.

:rotfl: allyuh not easy jedd. so how you know president is Alvin  :devil: buh yuh right as of right now future looks dim for football.

« Reply #20 on: July 23, 2011, 01:59:22 PM »
Connections? Sigh...

I'll ignore your condecension and resume the conversation if you like....

The league system has been in tatters for a long time. There is validity in your point about being overly critical without the use of facts, so no use in harping on about the past. So whats to be done about it now?

IMO seeing as the old guard is slowly falling away, the process of reforming the leagues should be as open and inclusive as possible to attract the best ideas. The most vigourous process for doing this is any  of a number of stakeholder models where some public consultation is involved. In the age of the internet its not a big deal to ask for submissions on how to make a better system. This could be easily accomplished on this site. That way bigmouths like me can have their say in a productive way and make a contribution, instead of banging their heads against the TTFF fortress.

But that is a pipe dream...My guess is that the TTFF will continue to rely on the use of 'expert knowledge within the football fraternity. That is just part of the reality of our modern heritage/culture. We love harmony and defer to authority far too much to engage in raucus challenge of the old ways.

« Last Edit: July 23, 2011, 02:02:15 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #21 on: July 23, 2011, 03:06:28 PM »
I was referring 2 d article good not care if President is Alvin.