April 29, 2024, 12:30:15 AM

Author Topic: Molino gives Orlando City win over Newcastle United  (Read 2112 times)

Molino gives Orlando City win over Newcastle United
« on: July 24, 2011, 06:05:29 AM »
Molino gives Orlando City win over Newcastle United
Orlando Sentinel

Orlando City's Kevin Molino wasn't even supposed to be at the Lions' match against visiting Newcastle United Saturday night.

Molino, who was scheduled to play for Trinidad and Tobago's U-23 national team in an Olympic qualifying game last week in Dominica, missed his flight Monday due to a misunderstanding and was left off Trinidad's roster.

The mistake ended up working out for Molino and the Lions, as the 21-year-old forward scored the game-winning goal to give Orlando City a 1-0 exhibition victory over the visiting English Premier League squad in front of a season-high 10,889 fans at the Citrus Bowl.

"It's an incredible feeling," Molino said. "Everything happens for a reason. … I'm going to cherish this for the rest of my life."

Molino entered the match as a sub in the 46th minute. At that point, Orlando City was struggling to create scoring opportunities despite keeping pace with the Magpies, who were missing several key players, including Joey Barton and Hatem Ben Arfa.

But midway through the second half, the momentum started to turn in favor of the Lions.

Orlando City saw its chance to take the lead go just left of the post, twice, as shots by Matt Luzunaris and Lewis Neal failed to find the back of the net.

Then in the 76th minute, Molino and fellow substitute Dennis Chin, a former Rollins and Oviedo High standout, connected for one of the biggest goals in the club's short history.

Chin got the ball in the box with space before finding a running Molino, who put the ball in the back of the net.

The goal sparked several more near-goals for Orlando City, which will resume USL Pro League play August 3 at home against Charleston.

"I wanted to make sure we gave a good account of ourselves and we did more than that," Lions manager Adrian Heath said.

Re: Molino gives Orlando City win over Newcastle United
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2011, 06:12:22 AM »
Congrats to the youth.

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2011, 06:28:03 AM »
Lovely. Lovely. So proud of de yout'.

Iz like ah jumbie comin' off de backs of our ballers. Ah wonder whaiz dah one boy.

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2011, 06:45:26 AM »
good for the youth

« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2011, 07:14:37 AM »
That is the kind of news that lifts you as a TT football supporter and There have been some good news recently about our young players.Carry on Molino you may even end up as a Newcastle player in the not too distant future,at least they saw you first hand.Good luck fella.

« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2011, 07:27:04 AM »
Kind of news that makes you happy, never know, he just may get a call up now for a try out in the UK

« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2011, 07:30:13 AM »
This guy is know for scoring "big goals"....

The type of player you want on your side.

Unfortunately, Otto Phister does not rate the USL league.

Watch this space....  :angel:

« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2011, 07:42:14 AM »
Thrilling news for sure.  Good job Molino.

« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2011, 07:48:56 AM »
I'm liking the progress!!!

« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2011, 08:52:21 AM »

Well den he shouldn't bother going tuh Pro League games either. Some ah dem USL sides does give MLS teams thunder. Look how Puerto Rico Islanders went all de way tuh de CONCACAF Champions League final a couple of years ago.

« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2011, 09:21:11 AM »
This is what I want to hear.  I would love to see the vid.

« Reply #11 on: July 24, 2011, 11:03:06 AM »

Well den he shouldn't bother going tuh Pro League games either. Some ah dem USL sides does give MLS teams thunder. Look how Puerto Rico Islanders went all de way tuh de CONCACAF Champions League final a couple of years ago.

True dat !!!!!!

« Reply #12 on: July 24, 2011, 04:43:25 PM »
wha dey does say...no bad breeze doh blow:)
Big up yuhself youthman, bless!!!

« Reply #13 on: July 24, 2011, 07:33:50 PM »

« Reply #14 on: July 24, 2011, 08:16:29 PM »
Nice! but our players need to learn to talk to the press more cogently and intelligently! Nice young TT player though!

« Reply #15 on: July 24, 2011, 09:39:17 PM »
I didnt know we had a trini playing wid this team.. My best friend who lives in orlando actually goes to all of them game.. Orlando just played bolton wanderers also..

« Reply #16 on: July 24, 2011, 09:44:00 PM »
I didnt know we had a trini playing wid this team.. My best friend who lives in orlando actually goes to all of them game.. Orlando just played bolton wanderers also..

Not just one...three of them. Molino, Jorsling and Fojo

« Reply #17 on: July 25, 2011, 10:59:05 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/NnV8yOtZsZs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/NnV8yOtZsZs</a>

« Reply #18 on: July 25, 2011, 02:17:54 PM »
man jes bussing nett yea..keep it up!!!!  :beermug: