March 29, 2024, 08:29:53 AM

Author Topic: The hunt for T&T's next number 10.  (Read 14289 times)

The hunt for T&T's next number 10.
« on: July 27, 2011, 10:55:59 AM »
The hunt for T&T's next number 10.
By: Inshan Mohammed.

Our last  genuine number 10 to have donned the Red, White and Black for the Trinidad and Tobago men’s national football team in the past 20-years is probably back in Scotland job hunting for a new coaching position.

And if by now you cannot guess who I am referring to, here is a hint, he is affectionately known as the "Little Magician".

Yes, that's right, his name is Russell Latapy, a T&T football legend. What was amazing about him, is that he could terrorize any defence, spray passes with pinpoint accuracy and get off a decent shot on goal as well.

Take for instance, he played only 23 minutes against Paraguay in T&T's third and last World Cup match appearance in Germany (2006). Apart from Cornell Glen’s goal efforts throughout the tournament, Latapy had more shots on goal than any T&T player who played more minutes and more games for T&T's entire World Cup duration.

Now that the former Soca Warriors midfielder has retired and is currently in the coaching business the hunt is on for T&T's next number 10 to lead them on the Road to Rio in 2014 and beyond.

Not that the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) isn't searching, but we as supporters remain hopeful that Latapy’s heir apparent will soon emerge. As every T&T football fan knows, T&T is a small country, and it doesn't have a proper development football program at any level.

There is always some "bacchanal" surrounding T&T football and to top it off the players with possible number 10 capabilities aren’t willing to go the extra mile.  They expect someone to come in and rescue them, as though their skill alone would get them to the Promised Land.

Now, I have heard of many great talents before my time such as some of the members of the 1973 WC team. Players like Everald Cummings, Leroy Spann, Leroy DeLeon, Bobby Sookram and Warren Archibald also come to mind. I was told by many that they were all top midfield players for both club and country, but for me to comment without seeing these men in action would be unfair, if so to speak, so I'll go with the players I've seen- leaving the foundation members with the respect they deserve.

To find another Russell Latapy or to a lesser entent, Kerwin Jemmott, Arnold Dwarika, Aurtis Whitley, Clint Marcelle or Hutson Charles might seemed far-fetched, however, here is a list of names I am going to juggle around that can potentially fill the creative midfield void;

The Prospects.

Densill Theobald (29) - Currently T&T's best passer of the ball. Theobald is capable of making good through passes from any distance. His weakness, inconsistency and a lack of composure, he's also a one pace player. His experience though is a plus. One for 2014.

Keon Daniel (24) - Now that he has broken into a solid left wing player, we seemed to have lost a midfielder who would have been great in a number 10 role. But is it too late? I don't believe so, or, I hope not? Daniel is clearly one of the most technically gifted player to come along since the Magician himself. With an abundance of skill Daniel could possibly be the one to solve a lot of T&T’s creative problems on the field. One for 2014 and beyond.

Ataullah Guerra (24) - Here is another player I really like. In 2010, his former coach Terry Fenwick while still at San Juan Jabloteh told me that Guerra is a top midfielder and probably is one of the best based in T&T. He is another technically gifted player and if he gets serious mentally he probably would be playing in some elite European league. His main problem is that he loses focus during games and as a coach Terry had to continue shaking him up from the sidelines. Once his focus was regained though, he was pure class to watch. One for 2014 and beyond.

Hughtun Hector (26) – Hughtun played for T&T as a winger in the past and would probably play in that position under the current head coach Otto Pfister. But if I know a talented player when I see one, Hector is special.  I was surprised when I heard the news that his New York Red Bulls trial was unsuccessful in 2010, and in my opinion that’s their loss. I think this player should be groomed to play behind the two strikers for T&T.  He would be unstoppable in that position, a role Russell Latapy himself played effectively. One for 2014 and beyond.

Silvio Spann (29) - I have never seen his father (Leroy) play and from what I've heard, Silvio and any of his brothers combined couldn't add up to the talent their father once possessed. Unfortunately, the great players we had are no more, so we have to make the best of what we currently have.  Not that Silvio is a bad player; he has shown great passing ability in the past and was a great asset to the Soca Warriors during the 2005 World Cup Qualifiers.  However, his major flaw is one that plagues many of T&T’s footballers, that being inconsistency. But like Theobald, Silvio has experience, an asset that can’t be overlooked during team selection time. I would keep him in training with the T&T team with hope that his full potential will be finally be realized. One for 2014.

Khaleem Hyland (22) - Surely, Khaleem’s T&T's finest overall player in the past decade – bar none. The San Juan Jabloteh product went from strength to strength and is continuing to grow as a player, and definitely possesses #10 capabilities. Now would be the perfect time to groom him to rule the Soca Warriors midfield. Though not as creative as Arnold Dwarika or Russell Latapy, Hyland can play the attacking and defensive role quite effectively, and can be described as a David Nakhid/Hutson Charles type player.  Another player who seems similar to Hyland's style of play is Under 23 captain Sheldon Bateau. I am totally impressed with this young-man's ability, he seems like a sort of Patrick Vieira type player. One For 2014 & Beyond.

Shahdon Winchester (19) - If only this player could realize what potential he possesses. Shahdon is a diminutive player, but is nifty and tricky in the penalty box. He works well behind the strikers and does have some silkiness about his passing. His main problem though is his discipline. Is Shahdon willing to go the extra to be the next #10? Only he can answer that question - One for the future.

Andre Toussaint (29) - After Ataullah Guerra, I believe Andre Toussaint is currently T&T's best creative player locally. Toussaint should have been converted to a number 10 a long time ago. Is it too late? Time will tell as he is currently on Otto Pfister's training team and who knows what surprise tactics the German coach would bring. All should be revealed on August 10 when T&T faces Haiti in what would be Pfister’s first game as head coach, but please don't hold your breath. One for 2014.

Sean De Silva (21) – Sean definitely has the attitude and work ethnics to be a solid midfielder. Though, still green, in time I believe that he would be a main stay on the T&T side. His exemplary performance in the first round of the recently concluded CFU Olympic qualifiers was testimony to his potential as T&T’s future #10- One for the future.

Leston Paul (21) – I am quite surprised he was not on the current T&T Olympic team. Maybe his college obligations did not allow him the time to participate. Like De Silva, Leston falls in the same mold but is technically a bit better. A future captain and one to look out for the future.

Andre Boucaud (26) – Andre reminds me of Ronnie Mauge.  He is packed with energy, determination, and is like a bull dog mentality.  Andre has now move up the ladder to playing a more attacking creative style for his club. A definite prospect for T&T. One for 2014.

Justin Fojo (22) – I saw him played twice this year and he showed some intelligent passing ability. I believe Fojo deserves a look at for the senior team. - One for the future.

Jason Devenish (23) - Before his long term injury, the midfielder was one of the top midfielders at North East Stars alongside Marc Leslie, another good player. I believe Jason has a bright future, but I’m not sure what state he would be in after he comes out of rehabilitation. - One for the future.

Matthew Woo Ling (15) – Matthew is still very young, and I have seen clips of him which one cannot go by, even though they were all impressive. However, I was told personally by two of his coaches one being Terry Fenwick that he possesses great talent. In August 2010, Woo Ling was the lone T&T player selected by former England and Liverpool legend John Barnes along with eight other Caribbean players who travelled to Sunderland AFC. On completion of the coaching clinic that lead to Matthew’s selection for the one week Sunderland AFC training camp, he took home the award for the Most Promising Player. Let’s hope that this is the first sign of great things to come from Matthew. - One for the future.

Now that I have dug deep to find these number 10 candidates I plead with the TTFF to implement some sort of football program that would help harness and develop some of these talents.

We all know that Russell Latapy was a small individual who wore big shoes, shoes so big that since his international exploits that span over 2 decades, no one in T&T has ever come close to filling them.

However, the above mentioned names are a few possible players we can start working with and even if we have to combine any of them to fulfill the role of a number 10 then that would be something the fans could look forward to for the "Road to Rio" and beyond."

Over to you now TTFF!!!

« Last Edit: April 25, 2014, 10:16:26 AM by Flex »

Re: The hunt for T&T's next number 10.
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2011, 11:04:52 AM »
excellent analysis breds, imagine jemmott point out that guerra was special years ago  :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2011, 11:36:28 AM »
excellent analysis breds, imagine jemmott point out that guerra was special years ago  :beermug:

you 'special' too...but i wouldn't hold dat against yuh  ;D

Flex few of those players you call could fill Latapy shoes. Of the youger ones De Silva IMO comes closest in terms of ability and style. If De Silva and Leston Paul pursue professional ball after college that tandem will do great things for us in midfield playing just below Hector or Daryl Roberts. Flex...How Spann and Theobald see they way in here is between you and God oui  8)
« Last Edit: July 27, 2011, 11:39:01 AM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2011, 11:42:52 AM »

Flex few of those players you call could fill Latapy shoes. Of the youger ones De Silva IMO comes closest in terms of ability and style. If De Silva and Leston Paul pursue professional ball after college that tandem will do great things for us in midfield playing just below Hector or Daryl Roberts. Flex...How Spann and Theobald see they way in here is between you and God oui  8)

spann is the best dead ball specialist we have, he have excellent dribblng skills and can pass the ball very well, the injury killed his world cup chance and that stunted his career, had he played in the WC he would have been a star by now

bleeder is one the best defensive mids we have, along with whitley, bleeder was the main reason wim held the midfield together when he was in charge, i know that for a fact

« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2011, 11:43:12 AM »
Maybe not Spann, but Theobald have ability.

Good job Flex.

« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2011, 11:45:20 AM »

spann is the best dead ball specialist we have, he have excellent dribblng skills and can pass the ball very well, the injury killed his world cup chance and that stunted his career, had he played in the WC he would have been a star by now

Keon Daniel may have someting to say about dat  ;D

« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2011, 12:07:29 PM »

Keon Daniel may have someting to say about dat  ;D

i agree  8) but spann is the man breds :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2011, 12:08:56 PM »
Flex,

A joy to read. Thanks for the work and the initiative to put this out there.

BTW well written.

« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2011, 12:27:05 PM »

bleeder is one the best defensive mids we have, along with whitley, bleeder was the main reason wim held the midfield together when he was in charge, i know that for a fact

The problem with being special is that if talent isn't nutured at an early age and inculcated with good habits by the time growth slows they become ordinary men burdened with high expectations.

Plus I'm not sure what measure you use for being special. In terms of a #10 I would call Messi, Iniesta, Kaka or even an Ozil special. Gurra is talented but he is in that generation of T&T footballers whose development was at a standstill while their international peers began passing them by.

I hear yuh with Spann, he and Rougier were among the very last deletions from the 2006 WC. But thats the business. Spann had a contract with Lazio???? or some Italian side at a young age. He was more a defensive mid than Latapy tho.

As for Theobald, he was at his best in 2007 but he has not matched that performance on the international stage since. Anyway I won't fight them down, they have skill, experience and leadership to impart to the next generation.

« Last Edit: July 27, 2011, 12:46:02 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2011, 12:32:59 PM »
The problem with being special is that if talent isn't nutured at an early age and inculcated with good habits by the time growth slows they become ordinary men burdened with high expectations.

Geez Zandolie, that is so sad & true!

I couldn't help but think of the DB thread in the T&F section of the Forum when I read that!!

« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2011, 12:41:03 PM »
Our pickings really that slim?
I'm not seeing any realistic prospects to take up that role these men don't play very well under pressure ... thats the defining characteristic .... the ability to perform at a high level whilst under pressure ... Maybe Hyland but he isn't a latapy type player more in the mould of a holding or box to box but no where close to being as creative as latas.

« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2011, 02:12:22 PM »
Camps is de best dead ball specialist in Trinidad.

Yes. Oliver Camps is...once he in de TTFF. all ball dead

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2011, 02:28:28 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Victoria concordia crescit

« Reply #13 on: July 27, 2011, 02:29:11 PM »

;D :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #14 on: July 27, 2011, 03:32:14 PM »
From the men after Latapy I see Jemmot was his best replacement,de fella had it,passes,dribbling ability,shot etc but as we all know now he didn't have one crucial attribute a head.Ah excluding men over 24 bcuz yuh looking for prospects and probable the best we have is Hyland under good guidance,the british press said he was our best player when we played them at HCS.Daniel probale second if he come off that left side and play a more central role.I've heard a lot about Sean De Silva but never saw him play,hopes he fulfill his god given destiny from what I've heard.   

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #15 on: July 27, 2011, 03:45:41 PM »
Keon Daniel is the 10 for me, hes dynamite on set pieces and picking a pass. Its also interesting to observe how the union play him. Although he primarily is a left winger it seems like he has the green light to slide into the central spot behind Ruiz. Since it happens a couple times during each game i think its their plan B before they make a sub.

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #16 on: July 27, 2011, 04:54:47 PM »
Ah appreciate d effort in not only posting dis list but in 'researchin' it as well. Good stuff.....

However, allyuh hadda be mad!!!!

Not a single player on dat list good eough to do anyting except play d odd bess game. None ah dem could or should even be mentioned in d same sentence as Latapy.

Theobald?????????? Seriously????? MADNESS

Spann??? what make Spanna dead ball specialist? he score a free kick here and there? Steupssss

We scrapin d barrel here ppl......imagin d post singlin out men who have 'intelligent passing ability'.....lord have mercy....we is so much shit dat we jus want men who could pass d ball. Oh...and we lookin for 'experience' too. Men playin level shit over d years but dey have 'experience' so look out for dem in 2014.

Ppl.....we have NO PROSPECTS...NONE....NADA....ZERO. Lewwe face it and stop sayin men is dis and dat. I supporting mih team......but we hadda be realistic.

« Reply #17 on: July 27, 2011, 06:02:15 PM »
Like allyuh cant read or wha ?

De man never say any of these players will be de next latapy.

This is a list of players we have now to work with.....

Boy, allyuh good we....

Allyuh doh write or contribute anything and only looking for comess.....

« Reply #18 on: July 27, 2011, 06:12:31 PM »
While I appreciate the work/research Flex put in here I have 2 issues.

First is that them fellas from 25 on up cyah really be considered prospects anymore. They shoulda already stake a claim on that spot and none of them really have.

My second issue is with the whole premise of the article. It kinda furthers the notion that we need one magical player ala Latapy to make things right again in our football. And that if none of these fellas can fill his shoes, we're doomed.  Well here's the thing Latas was a really special player and fellas with that kinda ability don't come around very often so we shouldn't be looking to depend on that. We are not Argentina or Brazil who seem to be able to churn these fellas out every few years. What Flex's research does reveal however, is that we have a decent crop of up and comers along with a couple of experienced veterans who, with the right kind of coaching and development could form the core of a decent team for years to come.

Cheers :beermug:

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #19 on: July 27, 2011, 06:25:40 PM »
I am very impress with this Mr Flex.

I will have this forwarded to the TTFF staff and see what they think of it.

Well done, despite the few critics here, we have a million coaches in T&T and no one stepping forward.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2011, 07:55:40 PM by Jack Horner »
Jack Warner will rise again and the world will beg him him to return and he will say "NO".............

« Reply #20 on: July 27, 2011, 06:48:22 PM »
I say forget de number 10 and lets find ourselves a better number 7 and number 9. Give Hyland,/ Birchall, Boucaud, Daniel, Thompson and Guerra de midfield and concentrate on working dem wings. when dat gets boring.. Guerra and Daniel have enough touch to slot to de wings from de middle. Concentrate on de wings. Our best forward on paper is KJ. We must play to our strengths.

« Reply #21 on: July 27, 2011, 06:49:32 PM »
I am very impress with this Mr Flex.

I will have this forwarded to the TTFF staff and see what they thing of it.

Well done, despite the few critics here, we have a million coaches in T&T and no one stepping forward.

Download this and send it to them for me please.

« Reply #22 on: July 27, 2011, 08:52:15 PM »
Good writeup dey Flex. Hope the new number 10 stand up.

Hopefully after we find the next number 10 we could then send out ah search team for the next number 1 thru 9 and ah number 11.  The bench go follow after that  :beermug:

« Reply #23 on: July 27, 2011, 10:02:43 PM »

yuh fukker... long time yuh eh make man laugh so LOL   yuh come good dey.

« Reply #24 on: July 27, 2011, 10:47:30 PM »
Flex, I don't know if you saw the Union vs RM friendly the other night, but after watching Keon Daniel sleep walk through the first half in that friendly, I realized that Keon Daniel is exactly who I thought he was, a lazy, unintelligent, found technically wanting, and barefooted.footballer, who does not possess the intelligence or the skills of a #10. Here he was, in the biggest game of his life, against one of the best club teams in the world, in front of possibly millions of people watching, and a frienly nevertheless, with nothing to loose, and a perfect chance to show the fans of the Union, the coahcing staff, the owners of the team, and one particular Trini watching from afar, me, the silky smooth skills that I hear other people talk about but yet to see, Keon Daniel produced a brain fart. All of his passes except one, and that went to no one in particular, were side to side with the man close to him. It was as though the rock was too hot to handle. Daniel's most dangerous pass was to a man in white from RM.

Keon Daniel, #10. Nah, you are kidding me.

« Reply #25 on: July 27, 2011, 10:59:18 PM »
in "MY " Opinion.. we will die before we see another Russell Latapy..so too will the good people of Falkirk...

so i will take a Guerra or Hughton hector...that the two...2014 depends a lot on them 2

« Reply #26 on: July 28, 2011, 07:27:22 AM »
Good break down Flex.

« Reply #27 on: July 28, 2011, 10:58:34 AM »
I think Carlos Edwards would be great in the center. He deserve to be our number 10.

See the game vs Mexico the last time we played them.

http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/senior-team-news/fixtures-results.html?view=matchreport&id=498

« Reply #28 on: July 28, 2011, 11:11:05 AM »
I think Carlos Edwards would be great in the center. He deserve to be our number 10.

See the game vs Mexico the last time we played them.

http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/senior-team-news/fixtures-results.html?view=matchreport&id=498

Alright Alright stop nah man yuh making meh balls hurt meh,I like carlos as a right back or winger.... 

« Reply #29 on: July 28, 2011, 03:32:29 PM »

:devil: :devil:

that was a bullet sah