March 28, 2024, 04:19:51 AM

Author Topic: The hunt for T&T's next number 10.  (Read 14269 times)

Re: The hunt for T&T's next number 10.
« Reply #30 on: July 28, 2011, 03:39:01 PM »
From the men after Latapy I see Jemmot was his best replacement,de fella had it,passes,dribbling ability,shot etc but as we all know now he didn't have one crucial attribute a head.Ah excluding men over 24 bcuz yuh looking for prospects and probable the best we have is Hyland under good guidance,the british press said he was our best player when we played them at HCS.Daniel probale second if he come off that left side and play a more central role.I've heard a lot about Sean De Silva but never saw him play,hopes he fulfill his god given destiny from what I've heard.  

i remember speaking with LP about jemmott and his exact sentence was that jemmott was the ronaldhino of trinidad and the only thing he was missing was the mental fortitude to carry on, LP is a man who know his ball and i have always had the utmost respect for him

guerra can be special, i don't know if he is special like jemmott in his youth but he can be a deadly player in the centre mid imo, he needs to get his head in the right place and play overseas, i hope its not too late

« Reply #31 on: July 28, 2011, 04:08:24 PM »
Good Observation Flex!!! well put!!

« Reply #32 on: August 02, 2011, 06:45:28 AM »
I think Kevin Molino should be on the list Flex.

« Reply #33 on: August 02, 2011, 01:54:30 PM »
The more I think about it the more I see an issue ... I think realistically we don't have a number 10 and will not anytime in the near future .. perhaps an adjustment should be in place where we can concentrate on two "holding midfielders" like Birchy and the youth from Belgium who we "do" and concentrate maybe on finding "wingers" and building our plays through that route. We are looking for something we dont have yet overlooking what we do have. If the team is to be built around KJ who can do nothing more than head a ball or play it back to the midfield lets exploit this .. we dont need a "number 10" to be effective ... having good wingers still makes teams more dangerous despite the ever evolving tactics etc ... use what we have not what we want!

« Reply #34 on: August 02, 2011, 06:25:51 PM »
What have we done or what are we doing at present to develop our young players (8-12 years) in to future #10's at the senior level?

Nice attempt Flex, and I understand and applaud your intentions, but them players yuh calling dey too old already, IMO.  I was lucky enough to see Latas from 16-17 years till his prime, and none on your list can be considered the next number 10, not after Latas.  The one player who I think could possibly achieve that number 10 status is Matthew Woo Ling.

« Reply #35 on: August 02, 2011, 06:43:32 PM »
Dont want to spoil the fun but shouldn't we be more concerned with numbers 1 to 9 and number 11 ?? just wondering if even we get another Latapy whether that would be enough ???

« Reply #36 on: August 02, 2011, 06:46:34 PM »
Dont want to spoil the fun but shouldn't we be more concerned with numbers 1 to 9 and number 11 ?? just wondering if even we get another Latapy whether that would be enough ???

True...

« Reply #37 on: August 03, 2011, 06:44:45 AM »

It shoulda be a hunt for the next TTFF, fost !!!!

« Reply #38 on: August 30, 2011, 05:46:36 AM »
Whats the latest with Leston Paul, did we lose another player in the US ?

And where is Matthew Woo Ling ?

« Reply #39 on: August 30, 2011, 06:07:41 AM »
If the truth be told I will retire the number 10 shirt . No one presently can fit Latapy's shirt. I heard Desilva is the only pretender at the moment.

« Reply #40 on: August 30, 2011, 06:15:20 AM »
If the truth be told I will retire the number 10 shirt . No one presently can fit Latapy's shirt. I heard Desilva is the only pretender at the moment.

You living in a dream....

« Reply #41 on: August 30, 2011, 06:34:18 AM »
Tinto stock fall so much he eh even get a mention?
Only Keon Daniel in that list is a number 10 type.
Molino is a name that pops up as well.

Where is Guerra? He has not really done anything of note at any level despite all his ratings. At 24, is time for him to start being a regular name in the papers.

« Reply #42 on: August 30, 2011, 03:28:08 PM »
While I appreciate the work/research Flex put in here I have 2 issues.

First is that them fellas from 25 on up cyah really be considered prospects anymore. They shoulda already stake a claim on that spot and none of them really have.

My second issue is with the whole premise of the article. It kinda furthers the notion that we need one magical player ala Latapy to make things right again in our football. And that if none of these fellas can fill his shoes, we're doomed.  Well here's the thing Latas was a really special player and fellas with that kinda ability don't come around very often so we shouldn't be looking to depend on that. We are not Argentina or Brazil who seem to be able to churn these fellas out every few years. What Flex's research does reveal however, is that we have a decent crop of up and comers along with a couple of experienced veterans who, with the right kind of coaching and development could form the core of a decent team for years to come.

Cheers :beermug:

Well said!  Ah hope people reading and listening!

« Reply #43 on: August 31, 2011, 11:25:41 PM »

Northern Oklahoma State.

Northern Cruises Past Neosho County C.C. 3-0

Playing much better than they did in the first game the Mavericks eased past Neosho County Community College 3-0.  Northern got off to a bit of a slow start, but Isaiah Mejias broke the game open with a goal in the twenty-first minute after receiving a pass from Ramon Whittaker.  The Mavericks had to wait until the second half for their next goal, but it was a goal worth waiting for.  Mejias dribbled nearly the entire Panther team down the left sideline before playing a ball to Grant Wilks, who found Tanner Hamilton, who hit an unbelievable first time shot from twenty-five yards out for a goal.  Edgar Resendiz finished off Neosho with a late goal with Brandon Alt picking up the assist.  Taylor Parrott and Ray Clark combined in goal for the first shutout of the season for the Mavericks.   

Isaiah wears #10 for Northern.

Your next #10 is probably playing at Northern Oklahoma State. Only time will tell.

« Reply #44 on: September 01, 2011, 05:22:58 AM »
I saw Isaiah Mejias play before, very good player.....

But we only get one out of 30 players (especially as of lately) in the US who does really make it at internationaL level.

Hopefully, this is not the end of Isaiah Mejias and Leston Paul.

And glad to see Sean De Silva stepping up.

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #45 on: September 03, 2011, 08:15:41 AM »
latters came out of a jah lillywhite camp in the early years, it is guys like jah who help produce our no. 10 and i think the future no.10 would come from guys like jah, da da etc..

« Reply #46 on: September 09, 2011, 10:07:19 AM »
Matthew Woo Ling is now with W Connection.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #47 on: September 09, 2011, 10:45:13 AM »
 :o wow if i were Connection i would invite all sorts of foreign clubs to come and play friendlies. This team has some of the best attacking young talent in TNT. Hector(i know he aint so young anymore), Britto, Winchester, Woo Ling they could make alot of money from player sales in the next few years if the play their cards right.

« Reply #48 on: September 09, 2011, 11:24:15 AM »
Matthew Woo Ling is now with W Connection.

His latest youtube vid.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YR1_Lq7elYc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YR1_Lq7elYc</a>

« Reply #49 on: September 09, 2011, 12:01:13 PM »
passing is nice...ah lil more size and he good to go

I'm really impressed that his family helpin him workout till late........or maybe da was juss for the video

« Reply #50 on: April 06, 2013, 08:46:17 AM »
Leston Paul is built like a true number 10. He plays like them hispanic players, nice one touch play with good runs on and off the ball.

I would like to see him considered for T&T soon.

I am surprised though that Paul and De Silva couldn't even make a US A League.

Especially Paul, he is good.

Spann is a big disappointment, my biggest disappointment, after his stint in Italy, I thought he would have surpass his dad. And where is Silas Spann ?

Andre Toussaint is a good player to, I am surprise no teams never picked him up afther Joe Public went out.

« Reply #51 on: April 06, 2013, 02:05:36 PM »
From my perspective I would love to have an ideal #10 on my team but sometimes we don't have that luxury so we should look at what we do have and figure out how best to employ the talents we have.
Take for instance Manchester United, not one of my favorite teams but when you examine what goes on you find  some very interesting things in regard to systems and philosophy.
 Should we force players to play within a system (Beenhaaker) or do we design a system which suits the players allowing them the freedom of expression.
Manchester United don't employ traditional #10's and they  don't play with a holding midfielder; yet the philosophy is attacking football. The philosophy of freedom to go forward takes precidence  thus players determine the style of football. This I find to be profoundly interesting.

« Reply #52 on: April 06, 2013, 02:53:49 PM »
Woo Ling....I said it first!! ;D

« Reply #53 on: April 25, 2014, 07:04:41 AM »
So... Is this topic worth a look at again? How is Woo Ling coming along?

« Reply #54 on: April 25, 2014, 07:43:56 AM »
For #10, Currently Molino. Guerra as back up.

« Reply #55 on: April 28, 2014, 02:29:29 PM »

Woo who??

When last anybody hear about him?

Who is he playing for these days??

« Reply #56 on: April 28, 2014, 03:54:36 PM »

Woo who??

Saw him play for St. Anthony last year. Good player but not in Latas zip code.

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #57 on: April 28, 2014, 07:06:39 PM »
Molino is playing hot right now! Great ball handling and off the ball movements. Finishing his chances too.
It'll be great next year when Orlando City plays in the MLS and he gets better competition. Might be the guy we really look at to lead us to 2018.

« Reply #58 on: April 29, 2014, 05:53:46 AM »

Woo who??

Saw him play for St. Anthony last year. Good player but not in Latas zip code.

That's a shame, 'cause we could do with another one :p

« Reply #59 on: July 14, 2014, 10:53:05 AM »
I guess none of these guys were suitable number 10's.

Anyone have any candidate for number 10's?

Matthew Woo Ling was a disappointment, he just disappeared.

I hope he comes back or I hope he is ok, cause he was a pretty decent player.

Hart really need to pull into the team a potential number 10 player from the earlies and just train them.