April 27, 2024, 04:26:22 AM

Author Topic: Not so easy road for Soca Warriors towards Brazil 2014  (Read 5747 times)

Not so easy road for Soca Warriors towards Brazil 2014
« on: July 30, 2011, 03:41:06 PM »
Not so easy road for Soca Warriors towards Brazil 2014
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Trinidad and Tobago’s Men’s Senior team will have to top a CONCACAF Second Round group that includes Bermuda, Barbados and Guyana starting in September to progress to the semi-final stage of the 2014 World Cup qualifying campaign.

This was determined at the Draw for the Preliminary Stages which was held in Rio de Janeiro on Saturday.

T&T, ranked 88th on the FIFA World Rankings were not among the top six seeded CONCACAF teams which included Mexico, United States, Costa Rica, Honduras,

Cuba and Jamaica. As such, T&T will have to contest the second round (from September 2 to November 15,2011)  which will be played on a home and away basis with the highest placed team on points advancing to the semi-final round (Round 3) which takes place from June 8 to October 16,2012

Round 3 is where the race becomes tougher for the “Soca Warriors” as they have been grouped with giants  Mexico and Costa Rica and the winner of Group A which includes El Salvador, Dominican Republic, Suriname and Cayman Islands.

The top two teams from the four semi-final groups will advance to the final round from which the top three qualifies for the Brazil 2014. The four place team will enter in to the intercontinental playoff with Oceania.

Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones on hearing the news of T&T’s draw, remained optimistic, saying having contest  Round 2 could actually work in the team’s favour.

“Well a draw is a draw. We now know what is ahead of us in order to advance in the qualification for Brazil,” Jones told TTFF Media.

“No game is an easy one in international football today. Hopefully we can get a good start and build our momentum in the second round for the semi-final stages.

By then the team would have been playing together for a few matches well and we will be in tune for the semi-final which obviously is going to be a lot tougher with Mexico and Costa Rica in our group. Our aim obviously is to move to the Final round and then force our way through to the World Cup. It’s not impossible,” Jones added.

T&T were scheduled to depart for Port-Au-Prince on August 7 for a friendly international three days later but that trip is now off due to a lack of funding.

But TTFF President Oliver Camps, while admitting that funding is currently a challenge for the Federation, is assuring that the necessary steps will be taken to ensure the team can give its best shot at qualifying for Brazil 2014.

“Firstly I must say the second round looks good for us and it will give our coach Mr Pfister a good opportunity to see his team develop a chemistry in those early matches. But the third round is where the intensity of the competition really increases and it’s going to be a difficult journey for us but certainly one which we can overcome with the right planning, preparation and execution. Of course the final round is another hurdle which I remain optimistic that we can demonstrate our capabilities fully to be among the qualifiers for the World Cup,” Camps said.

“It is rather unfortunate that we have had to cancel our trip to Haiti. The Ministry of Sport is unable to assist and currently the Federation is unable to meet those costs to take our best team to Haiti for the match. We remain hopeful that the Ministry can assist but this remains another one of our hurdles. But I want to ensure the followers of our National Team that the Federation will do what it can to ensure that we find the funding. One of our next steps will be the implementation of a proper marketing strategy to have corporate bodies on board to assist us in our quest to qualify for the next World Cup finals and to assist in our overall development program,” Camps added.
Pfister will give his reactions to the draw on his return to Trinidad next week.

The actual match fixtures will be announced in due course.

Second Round

Group A — El Salvador, Suriname, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic
Group B — Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana, Barbados, Bermuda
Group C — Panama, Dominica, Nicaragua, Bahamas
Group D — Canada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Lucia
Group E — Grenada, Guatemala, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Belize
Group F — Haiti, Antigua, Curacao, U.S. Virgin Islands

Third Round

Group A — United States, Jamaica, Group E second-round winner, Group F second-round winner
Group B — Mexico, Costa Rica, Group A second-round winner, Group B second-round winner
Group C — Honduras, Cuba, Group C second-round winner, Group D second-round winner

Fourth Round (hexagonal)
The top two teams in each group will form the fourth-round group, as known as the hexagonal, which will play 10 games in 2013.
The second round of CONCACAF qualifying matches will be played on the following dates:
* Sept 2-6 — two games
* Oct. 7-11 — two games
* Nov. 11-15 — two games
The third round of CONCACAF games will be played on:
* June 1-7 — two games
* June 8-12 — two games
* Sept. 7-11 — two games
* Oct. 12-16 — two games

The final round of CONCACAF qualifying will be held on:
* March 22-26 — two games
* June 7-11 — – two games
* June 14-18 — two games
* Sept. 6-10 — two games
* Oct. 11-15 — two games

FIFA has set aside two dates between Nov. 15-19, 2013 for the fourth-place CONCACAF side to play a runner-up from Oceania in an aggregate goals, home-and-away series to determine a spot in the World Cup.

TTFF Technical Adviser: No time to underestimate
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2011, 03:42:46 PM »
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation Technical Adviser Keith Look Loy maintains that this country cannot afford to underestimate any of its opponents in Round 2 of the 2014 World Cup qualifying campaign which begins in September.

T&T will face Barbados, Bermuda and Guyana in a round-robin format with the group winner advancing to Round 3 where they will clash with Mexico, Costa Rica and the winner of Group A which includes El Salvador, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic and Suriname.

T&T had to depend on a 2-0 win away to Bermuda to advance to the semi-final stage after losing the first leg 2-1 at the Marvin Lee Stadium in 2008.

Speaking from Colombia where he is currently present for the FIFA Under 20 World Cup, Look Loy told TTFF Media : “ There are no easy opponents or matches in today's international football and at this early stage I will not even attempt to calculate our chances in the semi-final round. I expect the second round, where we begin, to present its own challenges. One well remembers the problems we had with the very same Bermuda in qualifying for South Africa 2010.

Look Loy added: “Beyond the technical qualities of our opponents, our preparation is obviously being undermined by the lack of funding. In fact, the cancellation of the August 10 match against Haiti is not only a problem for our immediate preparation, it also brings the TTFF and Trinidad and Tobago into international disrepute and undermines our effort to recruit foreign-born players to our cause. The government gave a commitment to support the Brazil 2014 campaign. I am advised that a draft budget was long submitted, and one would expect the government to follow through on its commitment.

“Nonetheless, we anticipate the beginning of qualification in September, and we will rely on the experience of our foreign-based players, in particular, to take us through to the semi-final stage and subsequently beyond,” Look Loy stated.

« Last Edit: July 30, 2011, 05:38:44 PM by Tallman »

Re: TTFF Technical Adviser: No time to underestimate
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2011, 03:54:52 PM »
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Look Loy added: “Beyond the technical qualities of our opponents, our preparation is obviously being undermined by the lack of funding. In fact, the cancellation of the August 10 match against Haiti is not only a problem for our immediate preparation, it also brings the TTFF and Trinidad and Tobago into international disrepute and undermines our effort to recruit foreign-born players to our cause.

Who are these guys

Re: Not so easy road for Soca Warriors towards Brazil 2014
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2011, 04:01:36 PM »
Is de gov-a-ment fault. And all dem stingy short-sighted rich Trinis who cyah see how good the TTFF and the pro-league running things.

« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2011, 04:07:14 PM »
Is de gov-a-ment fault. And all dem stingy short-sighted rich Trinis who cyah see how good the TTFF and the pro-league running things.

even if the the ttff and pro league were running  properly, you would still catch your @#$ to get investment and sponsors, that is the reality

our national cricket team cannot even get a sponsor for the champions league and we have some of the best 20/20 players in the world with a top class team. whats the excuse for them not investing and sponsoring?

« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2011, 04:17:36 PM »

But TTFF President Oliver Camps, while admitting that funding is currently a challenge for the Federation, is assuring that the necessary steps will be taken to ensure the team can give its best shot at qualifying for Brazil 2014.

“It is rather unfortunate that we have had to cancel our trip to Haiti. The Ministry of Sport is unable to assist and currently the Federation is unable to meet those costs to take our best team to Haiti for the match. We remain hopeful that the Ministry can assist but this remains another one of our hurdles. But I want to ensure the followers of our National Team that the Federation will do what it can to ensure that we find the funding. One of our next steps will be the implementation of a proper marketing strategy to have corporate bodies on board to assist us in our quest to qualify for the next World Cup finals and to assist in our overall development program,” Camps added.Pfister will give his reactions to the draw on his return to Trinidad next week.

Now is when this man looking to implement a "proper" marketing strategy. We the fans of T&T football must really be some goats to take comfort in this joker's assurances.  ::)

« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2011, 04:20:51 PM »

“It is rather unfortunate that we have had to cancel our trip to Haiti. The Ministry of Sport is unable to assist and currently the Federation is unable to meet those costs to take our best team to Haiti for the match. We remain hopeful that the Ministry can assist but this remains another one of our hurdles. But I want to ensure the followers of our National Team that the Federation will do what it can to ensure that we find the funding. One of our next steps will be the implementation of a proper marketing strategy to have corporate bodies on board to assist us in our quest to qualify for the next World Cup finals and to assist in our overall development program,” Camps added.Pfister will give his reactions to the draw on his return to Trinidad next week.

Now is when this man looking to implement a "proper" marketing strategy. We the fans of T&T football must really be some goats to take comfort in this joker's assurances.  ::)

what do you expect when you have local based running the federation for decades?

« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2011, 04:38:41 PM »
Wow. Bermuda, Guyana, and Barbados.

I have a question for Shaun or whatever his name is.

Did Olivia tell you to write this memo?

« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2011, 06:37:18 PM »
Oh right, long time I eh remind all and sundry that....

WE GOING BRAZIL!!!!

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :flamethrower: :party: :party: :whip: :duel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Offline Dynamite Warrior

Soca Warriors to start campaign at home against Bermuda
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2011, 09:34:48 PM »
Soca Warriors to start campaign at home against Bermuda.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Just as they did in 2008, Trinidad and Tobago will host Bermuda in its opening match of the 2014 World Cup qualifying campaign on Friday September 2.

The "Soca Warriors" were shocked 2-1 by the Bermudans in their  opening match of the 2010 campaign on June 15 at the Marvin Lee Stadium with Francisco Maturana at the helm of the team.

That loss came on the heels of nine friendly internationals including two creditable draws with  Jamaica, one in Kingston, a friendly international versus England as well as a 1-0 victory over El Salvador.

A proposed friendly this time around against Haiti has been cancelled and it appears Otto Pfister's team may not have the luxury of that many warm-ups ahead of their opening qualifier set to kick off in just over a month.

But experienced midfielder Densill Theobald is not too worried. "We just have to put our minds to it and get the job done in these opening set of games.

We have been in training for quite some time under the new coach and the guys are in good touch now especially with the Pro League season approaching. Then you have the overseas pros who will match-fit also coming into the team," the Caledonia AIA man told TTFF Media.

T&T's second game is September 6 away to Barbados and they then travel to Bermuda for the away match on  October 7.  Four days later T&T will host Barbados before closing off away to Guyana on November 11 and at home to the latter four days later.

"It's a hectic little schedule but definitely a round we are looking forward to. I don't want to underestimate or bring down the value of the other teams in that second round but obviously the bigger challenge we are looking ahead to is in the semi-final round.

We will have to be in prime condition to get through to the final round but the coach knows his work and he knows what has to be done and so do we as players," Theobald ended. The team continues its training sessions this Monday at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

This is the complete CONCACAF second-round World Cup qualifying schedule

Games will run from Sept. 2 through Nov. 15.

Friday, September 2

Group A

El Salvador vs. Dominican Republic
Suriname vs. Cayman Islands

Group B
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Bermuda
Guyana vs. Barbados

Group C
Panama vs. Bahamas
Dominica vs. Nicaragua

Group D
Canada vs. St. Lucia
St. Kitts & Nevis vs. Puerto Rico

Group E
Grenada vs. Belize
Guatemala vs. St. Vincent & the Grenadines

Group F
Haiti vs. U.S. Virgin Islands
Antigua & Barbuda vs. Curacao

Tuesday, September 6

Group A

Cayman Islands vs. El Salvador
Dominican Republic vs. Suriname

Group B
Barbados vs. Trinidad & Tobago
Bermuda vs. Guyana

Group C
Nicaragua vs. Panama
Bahamas vs. Dominica

Group D
Puerto Rico vs. Canada
St. Lucia vs. St. Kitts & Nevis

Group E
St. Vincent & the Grenadines vs. Grenada
Belize vs. Guatemala

Group F
Curacao vs. Haiti
U.S. Virgin Islands vs. Antigua & Barbuda

Friday, October 7

Group A

Dominican Republic vs. El Salvador
Cayman Islands vs. Suriname

Group B
Bermuda vs. Trinidad & Tobago
Barbados vs. Guyana

Group C
Bahamas vs. Panama
Nicaragua vs. Dominica

Group D
St. Lucia vs. Canada
Puerto Rico vs. St. Kitts & Nevis

Group E
Belize vs. Grenada
St. Vincent & the Grenadines vs. Guatemala

Group F
U.S. Virgin Islands vs. Haiti
Curacao vs. Antigua & Barbuda

Tuesday, October 11

Group A

El Salvador vs. Cayman Islands
Suriname vs. Dominican Republic

Group B
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Barbados
Guyana vs. Bermuda

Group C
Panama vs. Nicaragua
Dominica vs. Bahamas

Group D
Canada vs. Puerto Rico
St. Kitts & Nevis vs. St. Lucia

Group E
Grenada vs. St. Vincent & the Grenadines
Guatemala vs. Belize

Group F
Haiti vs. Curacao
Antigua & Barbuda vs. U.S. Virgin Islands

Friday, November 11

Group A

Suriname vs. El Salvador
Dominican Republic vs. Cayman Islands

Group B
Guyana vs. Trinidad & Tobago
Bermuda vs. Barbados

Group C
Dominica vs. Panama
Bahamas vs. Nicaragua

Group D
St. Kitts & Nevis vs. Canada
St. Lucia vs. Puerto Rico

Group E
Guatemala vs. Grenada
Belize vs. St. Vincent & the Grenadines

Group F
Antigua & Barbuda vs. Haiti
U.S. Virgin Islands vs. Curacao

Tuesday, November 15

Group A

El Salvador vs. Suriname
Cayman Islands vs. Dominican Republic

Group B
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Guyana
Barbados vs. Bermuda

Group C
Panama vs. Dominica
Nicaragua vs. Bahamas

Group D
Canada vs. St. Kitts & Nevis
Puerto Rico vs. St. Lucia

Group E
Grenada vs. Guatemala
St. Vincent & the Grenadines vs. Belize

Group F
Haiti vs. Antigua & Barbuda
Curacao vs. U.S. Virgin Islands

Tough road for ‘Soca Warriors’
as FIFA sets Brazil 2014 draw
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

T&T Soca Warriors and its German-born coach Otto Pfister face a tough journey as it seeks to qualify for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Finals in Friday.

This was determined at the draw for the preliminary stages of the tournament at a gala ceremony held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, yesterday.

T&T will compete in the Second Round Group B with Caribbean Football Union minnows, Bermuda, Barbados and Guyana starting in September with the winner of the group advancing to the Concacaf semifinal stage in a group comprising recent Gold Cup winners’ Mexico, Costa Rica and the winner of another Second Round series, Group A which includes El Salvador, Suriname, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic.

T&T is currently  ranked 88th on the FIFA World Rankings and was not among the top six seeded Concacaf teams which included Mexico, USA, Costa Rica, Honduras, Cuba and Jamaica. As such, T&T will contest the second round (from September 2 to November 15,2011)  with the group winners advancing to the semi-final round (Round 3) which takes place from June 8 to October 16, 2012.

The top two teams from the four semi-final groups will advance to the final round from which the top three qualifies for the Brazil 2014 while the fourth place team will enter in to the inter-continental playoff with Oceania.

Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones on hearing the news of T&T’s draw, remained optimistic, saying having to play in Round Two could actually work in the team’s favour. “Well a draw is a draw. We now know what is ahead of us in order to advance in the qualification for Brazil,” Jones said.

“No game is an easy one in international football today. Hopefully we can get a good start and build our momentum in the second round for the semi-final stages. By then the team would have been playing together for a few matches well and we will be in tune for the semi-final which obviously is going to be a lot tougher with Mexico and Costa Rica in our group.

Our aim goal obviously is to move to the Final round and then force our way through to the World Cup. It’s not impossible,” Jones added. T&T, which has not played an international match since the start of 2011 was scheduled to meet Haiti in Port-au-Prince on August 10 but that match has been cancelled due to a lack of funding according to T&T Football Federation Technical Adviser, Keith Look Loy. 

However, T&TFF president, Oliver Camps, while admitting that funding is currently a challenge for the federation, is assuring that the necessary steps will be taken to ensure the team can give its best shot at qualifying for Brazil 2014.

“Firstly I must say the Second Round looks good for us and it will give our coach a good opportunity to see his team develop a chemistry in those early matches. But the Third Round is where the intensity of the competition really increases and it’s going to be a difficult journey for us but certainly one which we can overcome with the right planning, preparation and execution.

Of course the final round is another hurdle which I remain optimistic that we can demonstrate our capabilities fully to be among the qualifiers for the World Cup,” Camps said. “It is rather unfortunate that we have had to cancel our trip to Haiti. The Ministry of Sport is unable to assist and currently the federation is unable to meet those costs to take our best team to Haiti for the match.

We remain hopeful that the Ministry can assist but this remains another one of our hurdles. But I want to ensure the followers of our national team that the federation will do what it can to ensure that we find the funding.

One of our next steps will be the implementation of a proper marketing strategy to have corporate bodies on board to assist us in our quest to qualify for the next World Cup finals and to assist in our overall development program,” Camps added. The actual match fixtures for the qualification will be announced in due course.

NIGHT OF THE CHAMPION RESULTS

Second Round

Group A: El Salvador, Suriname, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic
Group B: T&T, Guyana, Barbados, Bermuda
Group C: Panama, Dominica, Nicaragua, Bahamas
Group D: Canada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Lucia
Group E: Grenada, Guatemala, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Belize
Group F: Haiti, Antigua, Curacao, U.S. Virgin Islands

Third Round

Group A: USA, Jamaica, Group E second-round winner, Group F second-round winner
Group B: Mexico, Costa Rica, Group A second-round winner, Group B second-round winner
Group C: Honduras, Cuba, Group C second-round winner, Group D second-round winner

Fourth Round (hexagonal)

The top two teams in each group will form the fourth-round group, as known as the hexagonal, which will play 10 games in 2013.

The Second Round of Concacaf qualifying matches will be played on the following dates:
* Sept 2-6—two games
* Oct. 7-11—two games
* Nov. 11-15—two games

The third round of Concacaf games will be played on:
* June 1-7—two games
* June 8-12—two games
* Sept. 7-11—two games
* Oct. 12-16—two games

The final round of Concacaf qualifying will be held on:
* March 22-26—two games
* June 7-11—two games
* June 14-18 _two games
* Sept. 6-10—two games
* Oct. 11-15_two games

FIFA has set aside two dates between November 15-19, 2013 for the fourth-place Concacaf side to play a runner-up from Oceania in an aggregate goals, home-and-away series to determine a spot in the World Cup.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2011, 05:33:25 AM by Flex »

Re: T&T Qualifying Schedule
« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2011, 12:28:52 AM »
go ahead and cuss mi.. war does say it as I see it... we eh getting pass dat rounds.. we dont have a national team at di moment...

« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2011, 01:19:14 AM »
fu$k you WAR...and you said go ahead
this will be our 4 consecutive 'HEX"....

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2011, 04:16:57 AM »
There is nothing T&T has done in the past 2 years to suggest that we will be in the hex. Until I see some definite structure, purpose, direction and leadership, i'll reserve my judgement. To me T&T football is currently like a headless chicken, trying to spin top in mud.

Re: Soca Warriors to start campaign at home against Bermuda
« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2011, 05:15:37 AM »
Sorry, if we in a group with CR and Mex, I doh see no Hex.

Slim chance, with a good Coach.

Bit I doh rely on fantasy.

Good luck TT.

« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2011, 09:17:57 AM »
We need THIS to go Brazil. PERIOD

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/yHyS136vHrA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/yHyS136vHrA</a>

« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2011, 06:51:40 PM »
What I can't understand at the moment is why so many so called fans/supporters of T&T football seem to be in such a hurry to declare that we dogs done dead arready and we not going to make it to de HEX dis time far less Brazil.

Doh get me wrong, I eh no pie in de sky optimist who believe that we going Brazil no matter what. Ah realize we have tough row to hoe dis time and we already behind in preparations. But I figure ah go back mih side and see how far we could reach dis time.

Enjoy de ride!! :beermug:

« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2011, 07:20:24 PM »
We dogs dead because the first game is a month away and we ent play a friendly with a new coach yet.

« Reply #17 on: July 31, 2011, 07:51:39 PM »
We dogs dead because the first game is a month away and we ent play a friendly with a new coach yet.
Touches, as disappointed as i am i still have tuh hope and pray. ah few months ago i was goin and dun wid T&T football (and yuh could see why) but it's not that simple.

but be it as it may, i would not believe in ah thousand yrs that T&T would struggle against bermuda , guyana, and barbados. my only problem is with the administration, and i ardently hope that camps and the crew get it together or by some blessings of luck make some jail and this federation dismantled and revived with the right ppl in place.

i would be more opt to believe that if latas was in charge, but not this german fella, i feel if the federation do right by him and the football, he would do right by us.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2011, 11:01:15 PM by just cool »

« Reply #18 on: July 31, 2011, 07:53:01 PM »
^^^^^ I hope that German fella could kick good ball then.  :-\

« Reply #19 on: July 31, 2011, 08:00:16 PM »
We like it like this....  This is when we're at our best.   :devil:   By the time round three come we would have had enough practice matches.  The fellows go show the fans some love man.  They'll turn up... If only for the fact that we have a serious coach.

« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2011, 09:26:11 PM »
As bad the state of affairs we in now we should get thru BG, Bados and Bermuda, albeit not easily. On paper we have the players and coach to overcome El Salvador and maybe Costa Rica, but the federation no longer has the means to provide resources needed tomake it happen.

It will boil down to Otto Pfister's practical abilities as a coach

« Reply #21 on: July 31, 2011, 09:27:38 PM »
Another Intl friendly cancelled on a FIFA scheduled date, de coach haven't had a game yet and is probably fraustrated.....this is embarassing, we can't even afford to go to Haiti for one game

« Reply #22 on: July 31, 2011, 09:33:59 PM »
As bad the state of affairs we in now we should get thru BG, Bados and Bermuda, albeit not easily. On paper we have the players and coach to overcome El Salvador and maybe Costa Rica, but the federation no longer has the means to provide resources needed tomake it happen.

Once again we're going into a tournament unprepared and now we're depending on the coach to be a genius. I have faith we can advance out of the first round but if we continue like this, forget trying to get past Costa Rica

« Reply #23 on: July 31, 2011, 10:03:44 PM »

Once again we're going into a tournament unprepared and now we're depending on the coach to be a genius. I have faith we can advance out of the first round but if we continue like this, forget trying to get past Costa Rica

Nothing wrong with relying on the capability of a good coach...but yeah when thats the only thing we have its a big problem.

Teams like Honduras and Costa Rica like to sit on top our last third and they kill us off by exploiting space that we allow to open up especially on the sides. It will be interesting to see how the coach will address those issues. Anway CR has been a little suspect of late. But that could easily change a year from now.

Offline Raul

• ¡Hala Madrid!
« Reply #24 on: August 01, 2011, 03:06:10 AM »
Ate logo Brazil... Preevyet Russia!

« Reply #25 on: August 01, 2011, 08:49:01 AM »
Bermuda hasn't played any matches for even longer than we have.

Guyana and Barbados have played three and four games respectively since the Digicel

Guyana played Barbados three times in May, winning 3-2, and 1-0 at home and drawing 1-1 in Bridgetown. The Bajans also drew 0-0 with St. Vincent at home in between those last two matches

Objectively, provided we pick a group of serious players, we shouldn't have too much trouble with any of these teams, though I do see us dropping points against Guyana...

Looking further ahead, El Salvador, our likely third opponent in the other group has friendlies lined up against Venezuela, Cameroon and Argentina. Costa Rica is playing USA and Ecuador. Mexico is playing USA, Poland and Brazil.

My optimism runs out here...

« Reply #26 on: August 01, 2011, 09:04:08 AM »

I agree Touches!!!

Fit-again Nusum ready to face Trini
« Reply #27 on: August 09, 2011, 07:15:16 AM »
Fit-again Nusum ready to face Trini
By Derek Dechabert (Royal Gazette)

John Barry Nusum has handed Bermuda a massive boost ahead of their World Cup qualifying showdown against Trinidad, declaring: “I’m fit and raring to go.”

Nusum was Trinidad’s chief tormentor when Bermuda shocked the Soca Warriors in their own backyard three years ago, scoring twice to leapfrog Shaun Goater as the Island’s top scorer in qualifiers.

The burly striker, who insists he has fully recovered from a long-term knee injury, is now ready to make a return to his happy hunting ground when the Gombey Warriors travel to Trinidad next month.

“I will always be available to represent my country if called upon.” said the former indoor soccer professional.

“I’m definitely interested so we will see what happens; I will be going training to see what’s going on.”

Nusum’s dressing room presence could be almost as important as his influence on the pitch, such is the esteem he is held in among his younger team-mates,.

Although he accepts he too will have to work hard for his starting place, regardless of his past achievements.

“It would be great to get back in the team, but at the same time I know there are a lot of younger guys that are hungry right now and want to be involved,” said the Wolves coach.

“Regardless of my name and so forth, I will still need to put in the work.”

Unsurprisingly, the 30-year-old has fond memories of Bermuda’s memorable 2-1 victory over Trinidad at the Marvin Lee Stadium in 2008, when he bruised and battered the Soca Warriors defenders to etch his name into the local football folklore.

Frustratingly for Nusum, he was carrying a hamstring injury in the return leg, which Bermuda lost 2-1, and was unable to repeat his heroics.

“Trinidad was a great time for all those involved we played well against them,” said Nusum.

“We all felt hard done by in the home leg, especially after they got the second goal, knowing the position we were in and that we’re heading to the next round.”

Nusum believes it’s of paramount importance the Bermuda Football Association names a new national team coach as soon as possible, with the Trinidad opener just a few weeks away.

“We’re on back foot in the sense that we haven’t named our coach or squad yet, but for the most part we have the necessary tools to go out and have a real go at getting to the next round,” he said.

“We shouldn’t feel inferior to anyone else in the group because we all start at the same position.”

Former Trinidad captain and Sports Hall of Fame inductee Ledley (Skipper) Sedgley believes the Soca Warriors should have no trouble topping their preliminary qualifying group, which includes Bermuda, Barbados and Guyana.

“The fact Bermuda has beaten us in the past it would suggest for some reason they are not a very easy team for us to play as we may all think,” said 71-year-old Sedgley, who captained Trinidad during the 1970s.

“Barbados and Guyana on the other hand I would expect that their football would have improvedover the years just as we would expect our football to improve as well.

“But as I said the lack of friendly games and with the team not playing together is certainly going to have an impact on our performance.”

The highest-place team will advance to the third round of the qualifiers which will take place from June 8 to October 16, 2012. Should they progress, Bermuda would meet Mexico and Costa Rica in the next round.

« Reply #28 on: August 09, 2011, 07:23:03 AM »
Well yes, the frigging fat man from Bermuda side and all bumping he gum on we yes.

« Reply #29 on: August 09, 2011, 07:38:09 AM »
Well yes, the frigging fat man from Bermuda side and all bumping he gum on we yes.

:rotfl: talk bout WE REACH