March 28, 2024, 03:49:15 AM

Author Topic: Carnival 2012 Costumes  (Read 4281 times)

Re: Carnival 2012 Costumes
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2011, 03:58:23 PM »
<waits on Yuma>

Then and only then I'll say I will be playing with Tribe :beermug:

Cocoa devils for Jouvert!!!!!

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2011, 04:40:13 PM »
<waits on Yuma>

Then and only then I'll say I will be playing with Tribe :beermug:

Cocoa devils for Jouvert!!!!!

Don't give in to the evil empire...

« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2011, 12:39:21 PM »

What's up with Tribe?  What makes them the evil empire? Just asking - I have no affiliation and since last playing mas in 2002 with Poision I kinda clueless about all these new bands. 

« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2011, 01:06:49 PM »

What's up with Tribe?  What makes them the evil empire? Just asking - I have no affiliation and since last playing mas in 2002 with Poision I kinda clueless about all these new bands. 

Let's just say that their upper management has some interesting ideas regarding darker skinned people and their place in both their organization and the band.  In the interest of full disclosure, this is second-hand information that I received, but information that I got directly from the person to whom statements were made... someone who has enjoyed a long-standing relationship with said upper management (hence they considered the person 'safe' to make the comments to).  I absolutely vouch for credibility and reliability of the person I got the information from (although I would understand why others would remain skeptical) therefore I have no hesitation accepting it as fact.

« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2011, 01:20:19 PM »
If they put up pictures of last year costumes, you think anyone would notice?

« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2011, 06:45:41 PM »

Let's just say that their upper management has some interesting ideas regarding darker skinned people and their place in both their organization and the band.  In the interest of full disclosure, this is second-hand information that I received, but information that I got directly from the person to whom statements were made... someone who has enjoyed a long-standing relationship with said upper management (hence they considered the person 'safe' to make the comments to).  I absolutely vouch for credibility and reliability of the person I got the information from (although I would understand why others would remain skeptical) therefore I have no hesitation accepting it as fact.

Fair enough!  But knowing the high management (the 2 girls) from since child hood and kept in touch over the years with them....I am biased!!  I am no help to the cause  ;D  I've never experience it though, or the group that plays with them every where. And that group is like the United Nations African continent.  ;D

I'm sure people say that a lot about Harts too.  But give anyone a free costume.....

« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2011, 10:45:01 PM »
Fair enough!  But knowing the high management (the 2 girls) from since child hood and kept in touch over the years with them....I am biased!!  I am no help to the cause  ;D  I've never experience it though, or the group that plays with them every where. And that group is like the United Nations African continent.  ;D

I'm sure people say that a lot about Harts too.  But give anyone a free costume.....

I cyah really say ah blame yuh, if dat was my peoples I'd quicker jump with dem than take the word of some random somebody on de internet too.  My source is good friends with de sisters too... more so Lana dan Monique.  Besides, you red so you eh go experience dem kinda thing... and free costume on top ah dat?  ;D

« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2011, 11:19:11 AM »

:D :D

« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2011, 01:25:48 PM »

:D :D

DOUBT IT

« Reply #10 on: August 05, 2011, 02:03:54 PM »
I cyah really say ah blame yuh, if dat was my peoples I'd quicker jump with dem than take the word of some random somebody on de internet too.  My source is good friends with de sisters too... more so Lana dan Monique.  Besides, you red so you eh go experience dem kinda thing... and free costume on top ah dat?  ;D

Girls in general doh go through the same kinda judgment you talking about there either...

Black man have tuh keep on jammin....

« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2011, 01:52:29 PM »
http://www.trinidadcarnivaldiary.com/2011/07/tribe-take-me-to-backline-costumes.html

Dubai?

My group split down the middle between Johannesburg (4) and Cyprus(3)  :-\
I personally like Johannesburg, cause I have plans for that shoulder piece already ;D

« Reply #14 on: August 07, 2011, 10:11:18 AM »

wow didn't realize this was an issue in tribe, i have cousins that model for them, next time i will ask them what the scene is

« Reply #15 on: August 08, 2011, 09:13:10 AM »

« Reply #16 on: August 17, 2011, 11:54:00 AM »

« Reply #17 on: August 17, 2011, 03:21:09 PM »
can she dance?