April 16, 2024, 07:27:54 AM

Author Topic: Question for All SWO Referees/Coaches/'Keepers/Smartmen  (Read 1245 times)

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
Question for All SWO Referees/Coaches/'Keepers/Smartmen
« on: August 05, 2011, 09:59:28 AM »
So here's a question for the referees/coaches/goalkeepers/football smartmen of SWO. This happened recently during the quarterfinal round of qualifiers for a major local tournament, and has periodically crossed my mind since then.

Our starting keeper was injured some weeks prior, and our reserve portero was badly injured in a collision during extra time. Because I had some formal goalkeeping experience years ago, my coach moved me from RB to 'keeper. Eventually, the game went to a penalty shootout. I guessed wrong on the other team's first penalty, and their second "Baggio'd" over the bar. The third kick is where my question lies...

I correctly guessed "lower right side" on this penalty kick, and dove in that direction. The kick was weak and was placed somewhat higher than I expected, and I ended up swatting at the ball with my right hand. I connected, and the ball bounced a few feet in front of where I landed on the ground. Because of the spin given by the "swat", the ball ended up rolling backwards toward the goal, where I instinctively dove from the ground and saved it a second time. All of this happened within the space of a second or so.

My question is: If I didn't stop the ball the second time, and if the ball had rolled back into the goal after I had already successfully blocked the penalty kick, would that have been considered a goal for the other team? Or was the play "dead" once I blocked the shot the first time?

I know that if this penalty had taken place during regular play, and if the ball had rolled back in, then that would have been considered a goal. But do the rules of penalty shootouts change this? Please weigh in...

Re: Question for All SWO Referees/Coaches/'Keepers/Smartmen
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2011, 10:09:16 AM »
Yuh mean like this?

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/40bHkYRv1-A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/40bHkYRv1-A</a>

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
Re: Question for All SWO Referees/Coaches/'Keepers/Smartmen
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2011, 10:37:02 AM »
Yuh mean like this?

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/40bHkYRv1-A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/40bHkYRv1-A</a>

Thanks! You answered my question one time... But I wonder if awarding that goal was a "referee's decision" or if it's something that's actually set in stone in the FIFA rulebook.