April 20, 2024, 04:27:13 AM

Author Topic: 2012 SOCA THREAD  (Read 24330 times)

2012 SOCA THREAD
« on: August 05, 2011, 03:43:29 PM »
Just like last year tunes releasing from late summer for 2012 TnT CArnival.

Here is the link for the tunes for last year Carnival. http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=50866.0

Re: 2012 SOCA THREAD
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2011, 03:47:02 PM »
New Shal Marshall "TROUBLE" ...I like the lyrics

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/0hoRVBcngCs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/0hoRVBcngCs</a>
« Last Edit: August 05, 2011, 09:17:07 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2011, 03:49:23 PM »

New Machel Montano "Gyal Wukk"..released for Bajan Crop Over..

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/NihQgpPwWM4&amp;amp" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/NihQgpPwWM4&amp;amp</a>

« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2011, 01:16:36 AM »
I eh know if this is soca But this sounding nice for them american clubs.. thing mad new chune by machel call cock tail

« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2011, 12:21:24 PM »
Tune up Riddim..
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RL-GFXHiNk8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RL-GFXHiNk8</a>
« Last Edit: August 07, 2011, 06:26:19 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2011, 03:09:42 PM »
Lil Rick "Work"..Most popular song from a non-Trini artist this summer..

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ItzQMVkej40" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ItzQMVkej40</a>
« Last Edit: August 08, 2011, 03:18:40 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2011, 03:12:00 PM »
Machel Montano "DOH FRAID"...released for Bajan crop over..

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/McGf4cpMRcA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/McGf4cpMRcA</a>

« Last Edit: August 08, 2011, 03:16:40 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2011, 03:15:45 PM »
New SHURWAYNE WINCHESTER "Wine on it"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/_y-7bbaDL8k&amp;feature=BFp&amp;list=PL8D14C2FB6D159BEA&amp;index=16" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/_y-7bbaDL8k&amp;feature=BFp&amp;list=PL8D14C2FB6D159BEA&amp;index=16</a>
« Last Edit: August 08, 2011, 03:18:09 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2011, 04:51:56 PM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/0hoRVBcngCs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/0hoRVBcngCs</a>

Sounds like Machel to me!!!

« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2011, 09:20:39 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/l95mpFsGPT4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/l95mpFsGPT4</a>

« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2011, 02:34:50 PM »
Tune up Riddim..
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RL-GFXHiNk8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RL-GFXHiNk8</a>

Baba Shanta "It Sweet"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/nQofK3epDKU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/nQofK3epDKU</a>

« Reply #11 on: August 11, 2011, 01:32:02 PM »

New Patrice Roberts "Swing it Up"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ioFyuHxOqrg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ioFyuHxOqrg</a>

« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2011, 08:31:45 PM »

New Ragga & Lyrikal "Attractive"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sj_J4u_M4WY&amp;feature=bulletin" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sj_J4u_M4WY&amp;feature=bulletin</a>

« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2011, 08:42:06 AM »

still the biggest tune to this date

« Reply #14 on: August 16, 2011, 10:26:29 PM »
"Rich Boy Riddim" Skinny Fab & Shurwayne Wincherster on it...

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/wpc-xwcglg4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/wpc-xwcglg4</a>
« Last Edit: December 18, 2011, 10:21:19 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2011, 08:35:36 PM »

Patch "Tune up"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/fsp1lUt4xSI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/fsp1lUt4xSI</a>

« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2011, 08:37:16 PM »

New Devon Matthews "Push it"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/-hTvABJLBtk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/-hTvABJLBtk</a>

« Reply #17 on: August 29, 2011, 06:53:42 PM »

New Ragga & Lyrikal "Attractive"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sj_J4u_M4WY&amp;feature=bulletin" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sj_J4u_M4WY&amp;feature=bulletin</a>

Not bad at all

« Reply #18 on: September 03, 2011, 11:51:56 AM »

New Zan "Feel it"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/y3HXZOrxfaE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/y3HXZOrxfaE</a>

« Reply #19 on: September 14, 2011, 11:17:55 AM »
New Farmer Nappy "Surrender"    :beermug:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/rD0GbY9at1g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/rD0GbY9at1g</a>

« Reply #20 on: September 16, 2011, 05:13:47 PM »
RoboMan feat. Cherise Ransome - RoboMan Say [ Space Junk Carnival Refix ]

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/LjQ5eoYTgIQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/LjQ5eoYTgIQ</a>

« Reply #21 on: September 24, 2011, 08:42:46 PM »

New Winchester "Harder"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/cmohHRRDPPo&amp;feature=related" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/cmohHRRDPPo&amp;feature=related</a>

« Reply #22 on: September 29, 2011, 08:23:44 PM »
is only one set ah tata...

« Reply #23 on: September 29, 2011, 08:28:02 PM »
New Kes the band "take me away"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/KurAdFoDBe4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/KurAdFoDBe4</a>

« Reply #24 on: November 01, 2011, 04:55:01 PM »
New tune from Machel, "Vibes Cyar Done". Nice tune but I find it has elements of 3suns' "Wha's da one" and Kes' "Wotless".

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/s8EGI6_SqmU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/s8EGI6_SqmU</a>

« Reply #25 on: November 01, 2011, 05:12:37 PM »
New Farmer Nappy "Surrender"    :beermug:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/rD0GbY9at1g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/rD0GbY9at1g</a>

I like this one. Nice beat!

« Reply #26 on: November 01, 2011, 05:17:29 PM »
New Kes the band "take me away"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/KurAdFoDBe4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/KurAdFoDBe4</a>

College, revisit this one.

« Reply #27 on: November 01, 2011, 05:23:06 PM »
New tune from Machel, "Vibes Cyar Done". Nice tune but I find it has elements of 3suns' "Wha's da one" and Kes' "Wotless".

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/s8EGI6_SqmU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/s8EGI6_SqmU</a>

Yeah, I hear elements of both. But, as long as the party swing to the beat, it really does not matter. It remind me of "gyurl, bend over". The one from last year.

« Reply #28 on: November 11, 2011, 09:32:55 AM »
 :banginghead: :bs:

I find the Soca coming out now sounding like ketch arse techno.

Like they make d tunes with a casio keyboard and record it with a cassette player.

Kes and Machel try a ting last year and now the waterdown copycats hop on the train full steam.

We have lost all our cultural identity....we try to sound like Jakans before, when dancehall was popular it was the slew of ragga soca artiste and the wannabe passa passa music.

Now everybody want they music to be featured on Zumba video and Jersey Shore to have people fist pump to it.

It is for that same reason we will never go Nowhere and Soca music will not make it...because the sound is not original....you cannot differentiate a soca tune now from a dancehall tune or a techno. They cant even sing so they autotuning/chanting/rappin to the beat.

Poor Poor Poor  :frustrated:

« Reply #29 on: November 11, 2011, 01:09:09 PM »
:banginghead: :bs:

I find the Soca coming out now sounding like ketch arse techno.

Like they make d tunes with a casio keyboard and record it with a cassette player.

Kes and Machel try a ting last year and now the waterdown copycats hop on the train full steam.

We have lost all our cultural identity....we try to sound like Jakans before, when dancehall was popular it was the slew of ragga soca artiste and the wannabe passa passa music.

Now everybody want they music to be featured on Zumba video and Jersey Shore to have people fist pump to it.

It is for that same reason we will never go Nowhere and Soca music will not make it...because the sound is not original....you cannot differentiate a soca tune now from a dancehall tune or a techno. They cant even sing so they autotuning/chanting/rappin to the beat.

Poor Poor Poor  :frustrated:

I eh one to criticize the people efforts (man have to eat and if that is the trend...), but I have to agree.  I'm just wondering though if soca is once again evolving. As when calypso went the way of soca. That 'copying' made way for ragga soca, which is still around today?