April 19, 2024, 10:31:24 PM

Author Topic: 2012 SOCA THREAD  (Read 24327 times)

Re: 2012 SOCA THREAD
« Reply #60 on: December 09, 2011, 05:57:26 PM »
Represent is very good, especially for the techno people. My son and daughter go love it. Machel doing something different this year. Well some of his songs are for the crossover market. Actually Toating, Toting or totee(whatever) is pretty good also. The music is fantastic. How do you explain Toating to a non-Trini? But good music for dancing though. I also like the both songs by Fay-Ann. Bring more SOCA!!!!!

« Reply #61 on: December 10, 2011, 06:41:25 AM »
Represent is very good, especially for the techno people. My son and daughter go love it. Machel doing something different this year. Well some of his songs are for the crossover market. Actually Toating, Toting or totee(whatever) is pretty good also. The music is fantastic. How do you explain Toating to a non-Trini? But good music for dancing though. I also like the both songs by Fay-Ann. Bring more SOCA!!!!!

You know "tote" is a word, right? "Toting feelings" makes sense.

« Reply #62 on: December 10, 2011, 07:24:52 PM »
Iwer George - No Pain

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/lBZTZMV7ATA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/lBZTZMV7ATA</a>
« Last Edit: December 14, 2011, 04:52:30 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #63 on: December 12, 2011, 11:04:33 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/lBZTZMV7ATA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/lBZTZMV7ATA</a>

Nice follow up to "Come To Meh" from last year!!  :beermug:

« Reply #64 on: December 13, 2011, 08:10:55 PM »
Tune in to Static Radio and hear all the newest soca for 2012 including new music fro Machel Montano, Farmer Nappy, Blaxx, Kiko and much more. Log onto www.islandmix.com/static and hear me DJ Mad Scorpion blaze!!!

3Hrs Commercial FREEEE!!!!!!

« Reply #65 on: December 13, 2011, 10:05:55 PM »
am loving 2012 soca bad bad bad.. I always like dance music and I like di riddim dropping now.. also dat 4d riddim mad .. dont know if it is soca but it madd... I think this year I gaving di dancehall a rest  straight soca fi mi

Warmonga

« Reply #66 on: December 14, 2011, 03:54:33 PM »
JW and Blaze, Machel, Olatunji, Kimba Sorzano and a few others; Mazerati Riddim

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/z7Z7rcaHWF4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/z7Z7rcaHWF4</a>

another sweet riddim. the mixing of the songs in this vid here is not d best tho
« Last Edit: December 14, 2011, 06:33:07 PM by STEUPS!! »

« Reply #67 on: December 14, 2011, 04:43:35 PM »
Patrice Roberts & Kerwin Du Bois : I AM SOCA

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9jjEkeRTVks" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9jjEkeRTVks</a>

Side note:
If you don't put the artist/title in the post, then we have to look through all the pages to see if it there already, b/c you can't search inside the youtube.  This page is done 3 pages already and doh have no setta ole talk and cuss out.

« Reply #68 on: December 14, 2011, 04:46:56 PM »
New Fayann Lyons : DENIAL

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/XchFHOCRAsI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/XchFHOCRAsI</a>

I prefer songs that tell a story of some sort. Getting tired of the wine on me/you, buy a drink, we feting songs. Yes, it have a place for those, but Calypso was always about storytelling.

I swear though, when I hear a song for the first time and the word "bumper" come up, i does skip to the next one. "Wuk" is a next one have me reaching for the skip button.

« Last Edit: December 14, 2011, 05:10:27 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #69 on: December 14, 2011, 04:57:00 PM »
Still keeping it real:

Shadow : NAKED RIDDIM

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/B0UosqxaQ-o" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/B0UosqxaQ-o</a>

« Reply #70 on: December 14, 2011, 05:00:59 PM »
 Destra : VIBES

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/hR7tCgPYBLo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/hR7tCgPYBLo</a>

Pan songs tend to be boring and one-dimensional, but I've liked Destra's writing for the past few years. Surrender is a boss tune that never really get the attention it deserve imo.

« Reply #71 on: December 14, 2011, 05:04:35 PM »
Nadia Batson: NO PRESSURE

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/CcNlt_mlTCw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/CcNlt_mlTCw</a>

« Reply #72 on: December 14, 2011, 05:09:03 PM »
 Megan Walrond : NO GOODBYE

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5Ko19EYKIkk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5Ko19EYKIkk</a>

This girl could sing and have a lil variety to the songs she singing.

« Reply #73 on: December 14, 2011, 05:12:29 PM »
Blaxx - Hit Mih

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/TaVJ1UWBR1E" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/TaVJ1UWBR1E</a>

« Reply #74 on: December 14, 2011, 05:50:58 PM »
I swear though, when I hear a song for the first time and the word "bumper" come up, i does skip to the next one.

Bitter, Ditto!! But some does have a nice beat or rythm and does force to listen, though.

Denial would not win road march, but is the nicest song so far for me at least. Remind me bit of "Oh Kim" by TC.
I agree with you Destra to my surprise has been putting out some nice Panorama tunes recently. This one, Vibes,  have to work on me though. I also liked Magic Drum by Machel.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2011, 05:58:20 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #75 on: December 14, 2011, 06:27:27 PM »
Hands on d Ground by Third Bass:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/29PfOZXqsqI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/29PfOZXqsqI</a>

like this one Bitter and Deeks? ah swear some of these 'soca stars' does write some level shit. heard his today and just shake my head cuz it ridiculous now.

melody and d beat is really nice tho.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2011, 06:31:47 PM by STEUPS!! »

« Reply #76 on: December 14, 2011, 06:51:40 PM »
The force-listen is the thing eh. Really what going on is that the song working despite the lyrics. I think the soca music we've been getting for the last 10 years is stupendous, but the lyrics.. the lyrics...

We supposedly searching for the elusive crossover (a quest I don't buy into), but really have to start with the lyrics.
The reason Reggae blow up was a combination of good timing and lyrics with universal themes. I suppose wining on a bumper has a universal appeal, but we really need to do better in that department.

Right now Destra is the only soca artist I would pay to see in concert. Bunji is hit and miss (with more misses as time goes on) and Machel annoys me b/c I know he could do better than what we get.

I lie, I would pay to see The Incredible Myron B as well. That fella is underrated.

« Last Edit: January 14, 2012, 01:15:14 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #77 on: December 14, 2011, 09:09:56 PM »
Nadia Batson: NO PRESSURE

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/CcNlt_mlTCw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/CcNlt_mlTCw</a>

This is a nice one.

Man, 3rd Bass music good, but like you say , the lyrics driving meh nuts. Didn't he come out with ShellShok and them guys in the earlies.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2011, 09:15:43 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #78 on: December 16, 2011, 09:58:14 PM »

New Machel Montano "Gyal Wukk"..released for Bajan Crop Over..

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/NihQgpPwWM4&amp;amp" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/NihQgpPwWM4&amp;amp</a>

am listening to this great song and I cant help but to think Jay Z and Kanye ripped of his thinking creative process in making there great new song Otis even the beat and flow is the same .

« Reply #79 on: December 17, 2011, 08:54:39 AM »
am listening to this great song and I cant help but to think Jay Z and Kanye ripped of his thinking creative process in making there great new song Otis even the beat and flow is the same .

« Reply #80 on: December 17, 2011, 09:35:10 AM »

i know its a stretch ,but i love how machel used what appears to me to be an old western movie whistle and built a song around it .J and ye used an old otis redding song and clip to do theres .I have a hunch they got the idea from Machel .didnt want to post the song but u canthear that
otis http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BoEKWtgJQAU
« Last Edit: December 17, 2011, 09:44:24 AM by Quags »

« Reply #81 on: December 17, 2011, 09:52:38 AM »
Anyway this year Machel prove to me that he is the best .

« Reply #82 on: December 17, 2011, 10:46:25 AM »

i know its a stretch ,but i love how machel used what appears to me to be an old western movie whistle and built a song around it .J and ye used an old otis redding song and clip to do theres .I have a hunch they got the idea from Machel .didnt want to post the song but u canthear that
otis http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BoEKWtgJQAU

Sorry, to laugh, but it was just funny.
1. Kanye doing the old-song thing since day one.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvb-1wjAtk4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vwNcNOTVzY

2. Machel singing on the whistle riddim, produced in Barbados.
http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=103708859665489

« Reply #83 on: December 18, 2011, 10:06:09 PM »
Still keeping it real:

Shadow : NAKED RIDDIM

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/B0UosqxaQ-o" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/B0UosqxaQ-o</a>

« Reply #84 on: December 18, 2011, 10:09:49 PM »
Blaxx - Hit Mih

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/TaVJ1UWBR1E" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/TaVJ1UWBR1E</a>

« Reply #85 on: December 18, 2011, 10:13:16 PM »
Kes - Coming Over

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Wkg-tDGVRSE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Wkg-tDGVRSE</a>

:beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #86 on: December 18, 2011, 10:23:07 PM »
New Farmer Nappy "Surrender"    :beermug:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/rD0GbY9at1g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/rD0GbY9at1g</a>

« Reply #87 on: December 19, 2011, 01:12:13 PM »
Very nice music video from Blackie!!
Nice to see one of the older heads doing his best to keep up to date with the latest music marketing trends!

Blackie : MY KINDA WOMAN (written Barnet Henry aka Preacher)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/grJyLkVytmY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/grJyLkVytmY</a>
« Last Edit: December 19, 2011, 01:15:17 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #88 on: December 20, 2011, 08:42:15 PM »
It's that time again!!!  Tune in to Static Radio and hear all the newest soca for 2012. Log onto www.islandmix.com/static and hear me DJ Mad Scorpion blaze!!!

« Reply #89 on: December 23, 2011, 07:17:22 AM »
Kes The Band - Worldz Girlz

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/XGTiosGisps" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/XGTiosGisps</a>