March 29, 2024, 07:32:45 AM

Author Topic: Real Madrid sign 7-year-old prospect...Now Man U sign a 5 year old!  (Read 3000 times)

http://www.sportsnet.ca/soccer/2011/08/08/real_madrid_seven/

Real Madrid sign 7-year-old prospect

THE ASSOCIATED PRESS

MADRID, Spain -- Real Madrid has signed a 7-year-old football prospect from Argentina, who also happens to go by the name Leo -- just like his idol Lionel Messi.

Leonel Angel Coira signed with the Spanish club and will begin training on Sept. 6, Madrid spokesman Juan Tapiador told The Associated Press on Monday.

Last week, Coira told Argentine sports daily Ole that his idol was Messi, the Barcelona forward who is also Argentine and goes by the name Leo. Coira said he prefers "to provide the pass" rather than score.

He already has a Facebook page featuring photos of his visit to Real Madrid.

Madrid reportedly made the push to sign Coira because Spanish league rival Atletico Madrid was also pursuing the youngster.

Barcelona signed Messi from Argentine club Newell's Old Boys as a teenager and he has gone on to win the World Player of the Year award two times and has helped Barcelona win 15 trophies, including three Champions League titles and five Spanish league championships.

Has there been a younger signing????
« Last Edit: November 17, 2011, 04:06:28 PM by chinee boi »

Re: Real Madrid sign 7-year-old prospect
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2011, 10:46:53 AM »

THE ASSOCIATED PRESS

MADRID, Spain -- Real Madrid has signed a 7-year-old football prospect from Argentina, who also happens to go by the name Leo -- just like his idol Lionel Messi.

Leonel Angel Coira signed with the Spanish club and will begin training on Sept. 6, Madrid spokesman Juan Tapiador told The Associated Press on Monday.

Last week, Coira told Argentine sports daily Ole that his idol was Messi, the Barcelona forward who is also Argentine and goes by the name Leo. Coira said he prefers "to provide the pass" rather than score.

Madrid reportedly made the push to sign Coira because Spanish league rival Atletico Madrid was also pursuing the youngster.

Barcelona signed Messi from Argentine club Newell's Old Boys as a teenager and he has gone on to win the World Player of the Year award two times and has helped Barcelona win 15 trophies, including three Champions League titles and five Spanish league championships.

Dey go sign a foetus just now. All d muddder have 2 say dis chile does kick like Messi and dey go sign him.

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2011, 10:56:58 AM »

THE ASSOCIATED PRESS

Dey go sign a foetus just now. All d muddder have 2 say dis chile does kick like Messi and dey go sign him.

that is exactly what i was thinking!

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2011, 10:58:58 AM »
i have some quality football playing sperm to sell.

who to call at real or baca?

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2011, 08:15:32 PM »
Ah feeling like Lord Nelson singing King Liar but here goes...

7 years is joke. How about a year and a half?

http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=7364344n

« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2011, 08:43:58 PM »

THE ASSOCIATED PRESS

Offline R45

« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2011, 08:53:28 PM »
Bet yuh 500 baby boys this year being named Leo

Offline doublet750

• mi nuevo nombre es dinho mi vida es joga bonito
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2011, 11:25:22 AM »
fellas do remember is REAL who had dibs on Messi first but throw he away beliving he growth problem would be a stumbling block....then Barca come and pay for he treatment AND help he family move with him and look what he has grown to be

i feel is more a quiet fuel/spark to the rivalry between the two....from Di Stefano to Messi both teams does regret losing out on a quality player but scouring for one so young could be just a ploy

« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2011, 04:03:47 PM »
Manchester United signs 5-year-old kid

http://www.thestar.com/sports/soccer/article/1088403--manchester-united-signs-5-year-old-kid?bn=1

Charlie Jackson’s footwork was the thing that impressed Manchester United soccer scouts.

Of course, his ball control had likely improved with his legs freshly freed from the diapers.

Jackson was spotted by the powerhouse British side at age three, toying with his opponents in a community “Footytotz” program. But the club held off for two years before officially signing him to their development squad when he was 5 years old.

The tousle-headed tot, already touted as a potential superstar, will play with kids at least a year older than him.

But Jackson, who’s a fan of arch-rival Manchester City, had mixed feelings about the situation.

“He was mortified that he was having to train with United,” his father Andy told the U.K.’s Daily Mail.

“But he seems to be getting over that a bit now.”

The signing hits even closer to the cradle than one made last summer by Real Madrid. In August, the Spanish club inked 7-year-old Argentinian Leonel Angel Coira — who goes by the mono-moniker Leo — to their famed youth academy.

Such big time European clubs have long recruited young players.

FC Barcelona’s youth academy “La Masia,” for example, has dozens of youngsters living and playing together from the age of 11.

The team’s superstar Lionel Messi was signed by the club at 13.

Coaching and caring for kids at 10 or 11 represents a relatively low-cost gamble, with teams hoping to sell their contracts for big money when the players reach 18, 19 or 20.

But the two recent kiddy contracts may reflect the sport’s cut-throat competition, pushing clubs to lock up talent at increasingly younger ages.

Even the Toronto FC will be scooping kids up before they reach the decade mark.

The club’s new Downsview Park training facility, which opens next year, will welcome kids nine and under by the year 2014, says TFC spokesperson Mike Masaro.

Already running under-19 and under-17 training squads, the team will welcome kids under 15 in 2012 and younger than 13 the next year.

“By 2014, we want to have an under-11 and then under-9 team,” Masaro says.

Masaro says FC coaches are convinced that talent can be spotted and nurtured in kids who have not even hit their teens.

“Absolutely . . . a lot of these programs around Ontario have rep teams at different age groups and they’re getting younger and younger,” he says.

“So the talent is definitely there and when they have the ability to come into a facility and train with professionally trained coaches, of course the sky is the limit for the youngsters.”

When I thought 7 was too young, Man U have a 5 year old signed lol

« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2011, 04:04:53 PM »

Re: Real Madrid sign 7-year-old prospect...Now Man U sign a 5 year old!
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2011, 08:19:53 PM »
http://youtu.be/P3fVN5fjUJE

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/P3fVN5fjUJE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/P3fVN5fjUJE</a>

« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2011, 08:41:47 PM »
^^^I ain go lie, small man have skills and is a joy to watch. It was nuff beat sharing :rotfl:

« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2011, 08:48:47 PM »

They already doing that in the U.S.A. Ah bet yuh one thing de U.S go win a world cup before Mexico

« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2011, 11:29:08 AM »

They already doing that in the U.S.A. Ah bet yuh one thing de U.S go win a world cup before Mexico

go look at small goal in laventille, diego, carenage etc. at that age our youth could match any country with potential ... its what happens or what does not happen after that age where we fall down ..... I saw a youth man playing for de winning team in the last republic bank youth tournament ....as good as anyone you will see at his age ...maybe we should make some videos and post dem up so Real madrid and barcelone could see what we have ..maybe we waiting until it is to late to develop our stars before we try and market them ??

« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2011, 11:54:13 AM »

go look at small goal in laventille, diego, carenage etc. at that age our youth could match any country with potential ... its what happens or what does not happen after that age where we fall down ..... I saw a youth man playing for de winning team in the last republic bank youth tournament ....as good as anyone you will see at his age ...maybe we should make some videos and post dem up so Real madrid and barcelone could see what we have ..maybe we waiting until it is to late to develop our stars before we try and market them ??

:beermug: :thumbsup:

Everyone has potential, it's what you do with it the matters the most!

« Reply #15 on: November 18, 2011, 12:06:19 PM »
Little man cute and have better dribblin skills than most English senior players; but he might as well be playing by himself. Does he know how to pass the ball?

« Reply #16 on: November 18, 2011, 01:29:38 PM »
Little man cute and have better dribblin skills than most English senior players; but he might as well be playing by himself. Does he know how to pass the ball?
Nah Giggsy yuh can't stiffle his creativity at such a young age. Let him dribble everyone and use his imagination, when he gets a little older then he'll learn when to dribble and when to pass. It had a very interesting article on Ajax youth system and those are the types of kids the scouts are looking for, the one who demonstrate potential in using skill and have that passion for the game.

« Reply #17 on: November 18, 2011, 01:35:13 PM »

Agreed! We do have such talent in T&T but the problem arises when our players turn 14 and 15, our development system is clearly not up to par. We're doing something wrong compared to Europre, South America, Asia, etc, heck even in the US.