March 29, 2024, 04:33:55 AM

Author Topic: Keith Look Loy Thread  (Read 32025 times)

Re: Look Loy candidate for EFA president.
« Reply #210 on: November 19, 2011, 01:01:29 PM »
The "politics of the belly" have prevailed yet again but there is room for hope - six clubs stood firm. One year ago it would have been FC Santa Rosa alone. A luta continua...the struggle continues...

on another note. president, thanks for providing this forum with quality information and a look inside the workings of the federation. good luck to mr. look loy in continuing to bring change to the local football community
well said. :applause: :applause:

Offline president

• ...Walk and don't look back...
« Reply #211 on: November 19, 2011, 07:37:24 PM »
The Watson clique attempted to "steal" the Prisons vote by claiming that the club's representative was illegal and that they had the REAL representative present to vote - for them, of course! That was defeated after half an hour of heated debate. Also, could you imagine they brought out Colin Murray of Carib - who has never attended an EFA meeting previously! Apparently, the "plebs" who run the Carib team, and who are in favour of change, were not to be trusted to deliver the Carib vote to the clique. Hence the front office turned up. At the end of the day, people get exactly the government they deserve. The struggle isn't over but today demonstrates that old adage.

« Reply #212 on: November 19, 2011, 08:11:38 PM »
The Watson clique attempted to "steal" the Prisons vote by claiming that the club's representative was illegal and that they had the REAL representative present to vote - for them, of course! That was defeated after half an hour of heated debate. Also, could you imagine they brought out Colin Murray of Carib - who has never attended an EFA meeting previously! Apparently, the "plebs" who run the Carib team, and who are in favour of change, were not to be trusted to deliver the Carib vote to the clique. Hence the front office turned up. At the end of the day, people get exactly the government they deserve. The struggle isn't over but today demonstrates that old adage.

so president, who win?

« Reply #213 on: November 19, 2011, 09:10:07 PM »

so president, who win?

Watson & the current TTFF clique have basically been given the go ahead to continue the status quo!

Ban allyuh belly for more of the same with plenty more let downs and broken promises!  :violin:

So the 2018 campaign slogan is "WE RUSHING TO RUSIA" but also with them same people in charge at the TTFF it simply means that we rushing to more disappointments and failure!!
You don't keep repeating the same mistakes and expect to get different results!
Signs of total madness has set it!!
« Last Edit: November 19, 2011, 11:09:24 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #214 on: November 19, 2011, 10:15:53 PM »
The Watson/Ferguson/Cunningham clique won the vote 10:6 this morning at the CONCACAF Centre of Excellence. The clubs IN FAVOUR of having an election were:

- Barataria Ballplayers Sports Club- FC Santa Rosa
- La Horquetta Sporting Academy
- Pinto United Sports Club
- Prisons Sports Club
- St. John's United FC.

Those OPPOSED were:

- Boss FC
- Carib FC (who were represented by Colin Murray)
- Joe Public FC
- La Horquetta XF
- Malabar FC
- Maloney FC
- Tunapuna Titans FC
- Upper Santa Cruz FC
- Valtrin FC
- WASA FC

Creek FC, one of the signatories to the petition for an election did not vote. Certain other clubs - Upper Santa Cruz, Tunapuna Titans and Malabar FC - jumped ship in the last days and the clubs have spoken. They have chosen to maintain the staus quo.

The "losers" in this vote have determined to continue the painstaking work of building a national, democratic, movement of clubs, on which to base the transformation of the TTFF and local football culture. WE have nothing to offer by way of material benefit to those who join us - only ideas, a vision and lots of hard work to achieve it. Naive? Idealistic? Maybe, but this is the only way.

Did not realize we still exist, nice to know, more important, nice to know we voted for elections

« Reply #215 on: November 21, 2011, 04:49:55 AM »
WAYNE CUNNINGHAM will serve as president of the Eastern Football Association (EFA) following an Extraordinary General Meeting on Saturday morning at the Sepp Blatter Hall, Dr Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence, Macoya, Tunapuna. MORE

« Reply #216 on: November 21, 2011, 06:31:58 AM »
Interesting development:  "Also, could you imagine they brought out Colin Murray of Carib - who has never attended an EFA meeting previously! Apparently, the "plebs" who run the Carib team, and who are in favour of change, were not to be trusted to deliver the Carib vote to the clique. Hence the front office turned up."

So it moved from a sporting decision to a corporate/political decision. Could be some embarrassing repercussions here. After all, by sending Mr Murray, Carib are expressing their corporate views. This leaves the door open to Look Loy and friends to attack Carib as an enemy of democracy and football development. Maybe they would launch a protest boycotting Carib products from their games? I think this was a risky decision by Carib, but maybe they received political pressure to vote?

« Reply #217 on: November 21, 2011, 06:44:35 AM »
to listen to Colin Murray in d past yuh woulda swear he was better than dat but as noted Carib is Ansa Mcal and Ansa is PP by association and preference, so Jack boys always had dem cards in dey deck

« Reply #218 on: November 21, 2011, 08:57:37 AM »

Did not realize we still exist, nice to know, more important, nice to know we voted for elections

We cyah stop... even when we down under we moving like a submarine..

next time yuh go home yuh must take ah walk down by de mang and check them out

Offline president

« Reply #219 on: November 21, 2011, 09:34:35 AM »
The anti-democratic, monopolistic, parasitic elite is entrenched throughout the body politic, financial and social, of Trinidad and Tobago. The manipulation of votes in the EFA is not a surprise. Dictatorship always depends on people to work against against their own interests in order to maintain its rule. The "contra" clubs have agreed to band together and to work towards a grassroots democratic solution to the stagnation of the TTFF. All the talk about installing Sancho, Hislop, and ANYONE else, including Look Loy, at the top is futile talk. Rst assured of that. Only a movement of clubs could save the TTFF and TT football for the people of TT...

« Reply #220 on: November 21, 2011, 10:57:12 AM »
The anti-democratic, monopolistic, parasitic elite is entrenched throughout the body politic, financial and social, of Trinidad and Tobago. The manipulation of votes in the EFA is not a surprise. Dictatorship always depends on people to work against against their own interests in order to maintain its rule. The "contra" clubs have agreed to band together and to work towards a grassroots democratic solution to the stagnation of the TTFF. All the talk about installing Sancho, Hislop, and ANYONE else, including Look Loy, at the top is futile talk. Rst assured of that. Only a movement of clubs could save the TTFF and TT football for the people of TT...

Come on Mr President ...you disappoint me here. how can you describe the winners as anti democratic ? Was there not a vote ? were the results not published so everyone could see which club supported which candidate ? Surely you dont think that lobbying is a lost art in T&T .. In fact it is so in very democracy . If you dont have US1 million and more you cant be President of the United States, the world's most advanced democracy.

Lobbying is an integral part of the process ...you think that honesty and integrity and fair play have any place in elections in any country on this eatrh. So what did the look loy faction have to offer ? that is what they should have considered beforehand . If they wanted to be like David and conquer Goliath they should have ensured that they had superior backing ...unless you believe David went out there to fight the giant based on the fact that he was doing the right thing ? De man had backing !!! where was the backing of the challengers ?

You know some of us might wonder if this group had won if they would be any different to the present title holders given such naiveity ..
I against the old regime .......nothing go change here ...but I also knew when it came down to the wire ..who have more corn can feed more fowl ...

Offline president

« Reply #221 on: November 21, 2011, 11:23:42 AM »
Where have you been pal? Not following the evolution of this, I see. The vote last Saturday was forced on the TTFF clique, who voted for Camps, I remind you - after three months of struggle against anti-democratic, unconstitutional behaviour and denial of an election. On Saturday, clubs that had been for an election since 28 August, and which had signed every letter and petition that had been forwarded to the EFA/TTFF in support of their position, suddenly changed sides and voted AGAINST having an election. You think this was Democracy at work? Was the nonsense at the Hyatt months ago Democracy at work? You think all these CFU people are being banned and fined due to a figment of someone's imagination? That was your so-called "lobbying".
Based on your very casual acceptance of so-called democratic practice, you should have no problem in accepting the rot at the TTFF. ALL of the politicians at Abercromby Street have been ELECTED by someone. Your naivete - or cynicism - is shocking. It's the TTFF we are talking about.
All of that said, no problem. To be cliche, "The voice of the People is the voice of God". We will all have to live with the consequences of having those clubs which voted against an election in the EFA decide the course of the Association over the next two years.
P.S. The Look Loy faction" had nothing other than ideas, a vision and lots of hard work to offer to the clubs. Those who seek to overthrow the status quo usually find themselves in that position. More importantly, what did the EFA/TTFF clique have to offer the clubs? More of the very same thing that you say you are against. This is not an intellectual exercise we are involved in here pal. It is the very future of our football - something that many of us work hard for on the ground in very difficult conditions every day - that we are fighting for. Despite the slogan up above, we don't just talk.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2011, 11:42:57 AM by president »

« Reply #222 on: November 21, 2011, 05:36:50 PM »
Kinda funny really. People here vexed at the way this "democratic" election ended, with people making promises then reneging on them at the last moment. Yet when Jack did this to England at the 2018 WC bid, people here thought it was funny.

Now you see how Jack the teacher has educated his pupils to operate exactly the same way. Mr Look Loy and his compatriots never spoke out against Jacks treachery earlier in the year, yet now have a taste of his medicine.

Too many people in this country sit back quietly and watch countless acts of corruption, deceipt and shamefully unmoralistic practices while it suits them to take their paychecks. Once the tide turns, the rats desert the sinking ship and protest their outrage.

Look at Clico. People suddenly now telling all that went on, but looked the other way while they earned their millions.

This is why Watson, Cunningham and, yes, even Look Loy will not be trusted. You have to earn trust, and that takes time and many unselfish actions.

I do appretiate the actions of Look Loy and the "rebel" clubs and I hope they continue to fight, because the longer they protest, the more confidence we will have in them.

Unfortunately, horse trading is part of the democratic process. "Ask not what you can do for your country, but what can you do for me" is the unofficial slogan of democracy. Look at the Peoples Partnership....govt all nicely divided up between the coalition before the elections. Same as the UK government.

And this is why, as President said, nobody can go in at the top, you have to build a local powerbase to solidify your campaign. People will ride your coat tails to the top. Everyone likes to back a winner, but many will wait until the 90th minute before choosing which team to support.

« Reply #223 on: November 21, 2011, 07:10:17 PM »
I think we are pretty much saying the same thing here ...I just wanted to state the obvious and was wondering why it was not obvious to the look loy faction how deep and low the present adm. would stoop to conquer ! how could Look loy not see what was coming .... I gave examples of this sort of action way back in 2006 ..... it has been happening way before that ...has been happening I say ...it still is . So i question the ability of this unsuspecting " new " group to play ball with the present regime...dais all !!
Look loy should remember his words when he returned with a T&T youth team after meeting Latin Opposition ....he was honest and said we were not in the class of those teams ...I thought he would have heeded his own message ....be sure you know beforehand what your opponent is capable of ....guess he forgot !

Re: Keith Look Loy Thread
« Reply #224 on: January 18, 2020, 12:55:15 PM »
Look Loy set to unveil ‘Project 2026’, plan will pool ‘B team’ of players born from 1999.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Even as Trinidad and Tobago prepare to grab a late ticket for the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup and start preparations in earnest for the Qatar 2022 World Cup, technical committee chairman Keith Look Loy is set to unveil an even more ambitious proposal to the Board of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA).

Enter Project 2026: a plan designed to ensure that the local football body is not bogged down by short-term thinking at the expense of its future.

At present, Trinidad and Tobago are ranked 104th in the world by Fifa and 11th in Concacaf. The top nations in the confederation are, in order: Mexico, USA, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Honduras, El Salvador, Canada, Curaçao, Panama and Haiti.

The 2026 World Cup will be co-hosted by the United States, Mexico and Canada, and will be Fifa’s first tournament with 48 teams. Concacaf are expected to have six qualifying spots inclusive of the three host nations.

Through Project 2026, Look Loy hopes to see the Soca Warriors hurdle five of those nations in as many years. The proposal, which goes before the Board on Wednesday, includes several signposts along the way that can help gauge the success of the project, such as the 2022 CAC Games, the 2023 Pan American Games and the 2024 Olympic Games.

Wired868: Can you explain Project 2026 for our readers?

Look Loy: The aim is to prepare the World Cup team for 2026—it is self explanatory. We want to prepare a core group of players who will be approaching their prime by the time that the 2026 tournament comes around. So we are looking primarily at boys who were born on 1 January 1999 and after, which is essentially the last National Under-20 Team and the [Under-20] team that coach Derek King will now form. These boys will be between 25 to 27 years old—which we consider to be their prime years as players—by the 2026 World Cup.

Wired868: Is there a particular relevance to 2026?

Look Loy: The 2026 World Cup is to be played in North America: Canada, USA, Mexico—that is a tournament we have to participate in, so we should spare no pains to prepare a team for then. Starting now! This is going to be the first 48 team World Cup, so Concacaf will have more places and we absolutely have to be among them.

Wired868: Is this a case of filling a gap for these youth players who are not quite ready to hold down places on the National Senior Team?

Look Loy: Well, the last Under-20 Team and the Olympic generation was abandoned by [former TTFA president David] John-Williams when [his emergency committee] decided not to participate in the 2022 Olympics. So that is a gap in the education of the players and we ned to fill that gap.

Second, [former head coach Dennis] Lawrence had one of the oldest teams in Concacaf […] and we have to start thinking about the future.

We can expect [new Men’s National Senior Team head coach Terry] Fenwick will be calling his top players for the Fifa match window, so we propose that these boys will form what is essentially a National Senior ‘B’ team—although I don’t like the term ‘B team’—and they will also train under Fenwick but play outside of the Fifa window.

Maybe they will play Caribbean national teams or an English or MLS club, thereby affording them international football at a particular level outside of the National Senior Team. As they go on, we can get them tougher opposition. We will be building the culture and unity of a group that will be together for the next six years.

That is not the say that a boy [in this team] might not be part of the 2022 campaign but that is where we want to focus the talents of this group of players. We need to be giving our Under-23 players experience over the years against senior teams we think they can handle or that can stretch them, to build the next wave of Trinidad and Tobago attacks on the FIFA World Cup.

Wired868: What will it cost to create this team? And how many games per year does the technical committee believe they should have?

Look Loy: We do not have a budget yet. What I am hoping is the Board agrees on this idea in principle; and then we can see about finding the players, the finances, etc. Remember, this team will be under the control of the National Senior Team head coach.

The mantra within the national teams is ‘linkages’ and this system creates a better framework so that a guy can slide up easily from the youth team to the senior team; and that’s the point. The [technical] committee agrees with the idea and loves the idea and I am going to take it to the Board.

Wired868: We checked and exactly a third of the members of Trinidad and Tobago’s 1991, 2001, 2007 and 2009 World Youth Cup players went to win move than 10 National Senior Team caps. The figure drops to as low as 10 percent for youth teams that were not as successful. Is it that you are not satisfied with the number players who progress to the Senior Team?

(Six from 18 players at the 1991, 2001 World Cups and 10 from 30 players from the pool of 2007 and 2009 tournaments made the step up. From the 2012 and 2014 Under-20 teams, only two players from each—Alvin Jones and Jomal Williams (2012) and Levi Garcia and Neveal Hackshaw (2014)—got over 10 senior caps, although those players are now aged between 23 and 26.)

Look Loy: In any country that pathway from junior to senior level is a slippery one and a lot of players fall to the wayside. I think one of the reasons for that in the case of Trinidad and Tobago is that intermediate step from Under-20 to Senior level has never been consistently provided for our players. The abandonment of the Under-23 team is a perfect example of that

[…] So bridging that gap is precisely the aim of this project. We aim to marshall a group of 30 or 40 players or whatever is deemed appropriate and to blood them over the next few years. We are giving them a ladder or a springboard—whichever analogy you prefer.
I think that all concerned in the new TTFA are enamoured by the idea. The challenge, of course, is to finance it. Once we agree to go that way, we have to find the money for it.

Editor’s Note: The TTFA’s Board meeting for the selection of national coaches for the men’s and women’s teams has been shifted—for the second time—to Wednesday evening.

« Reply #225 on: January 19, 2020, 02:09:28 AM »
Wired868: Is this a case of filling a gap for these youth players who are not quite ready to hold down places on the National Senior Team?

Look Loy: Well, the last Under-20 Team and the Olympic generation was abandoned by [former TTFA president David] John-Williams when [his emergency committee] decided not to participate in the 2022 Olympics. So that is a gap in the education of the players and we ned to fill that gap.

Second, [former head coach Dennis] Lawrence had one of the oldest teams in Concacaf […] and we have to start thinking about the future.

We can expect [new Men’s National Senior Team head coach Terry] Fenwick will be calling his top players for the Fifa match window, so we propose that these boys will form what is essentially a National Senior ‘B’ team—although I don’t like the term ‘B team’—and they will also train under Fenwick but play outside of the Fifa window.

Well at least they know what the problem is/was. Hopefully they get the money to get these programs moving.

« Reply #226 on: March 17, 2020, 09:45:11 AM »
WATCH: Wide-ranging interview with Chairman of the TTFA Technical Committee, Keith Look Loy

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/9kh9jQ1dqu0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/9kh9jQ1dqu0</a>

« Reply #227 on: March 17, 2020, 10:00:30 PM »
Brilliant!

Well said on the process, structure, and succession of football leadership

Sad about the Corrupt planned FIFA Intervention

Look Loy ponders legal action over defamatory stories
« Reply #228 on: June 24, 2020, 06:21:19 AM »
Look Loy ponders legal action over defamatory stories
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

KEITH Look Loy, president of the T&T Super League and chairman of the TTFA technical committee, is pondering legal action over an Inside World Football article posted on Tuesday.

The article, written by Paul Nicholson, titled “TTFA bosses guaranteed marketing man Miller $600K” addresses the hiring of Englishman Peter Miller as TTFA marketing director. In the article, Look Loy was described as “the ringmaster behind the United TTFA circus that is rapidly unravelling.”

Details of Miller’s contract were reported on by Newsday last Friday in an article titled “Foul over two-year, $4m deal.”

Miller was guaranteed US$25,000 per month, over two years, with options for two one-year extensions. The deal was signed off by ousted TTFA president William Wallace, who has claimed Miller asked him to keep the deal secret. Miller told Newsday last week this was untrue. Interviewed by Newsday last Thursday, Look Loy said he was completely in the dark about Miller’s contract.

Contacted on Tuesday about the allegations made on insideworldfootball.com, Look Loy said, “I have asked my lawyers (Dr Emir) Crowne and (Matthew) Gayle to look at it in terms of defamation. This man has been writing for months, saying all kinds of incorrect stuff about me.

“This is just the latest,” Look Loy continued. “He’s blatantly fabricating stuff. This is not journalism.”

Look Loy, who has been an influential member of the United TTFA group led by Wallace, highlighted a couple of claims made by Nicholson in his “Miller $600K” piece.

“I have never drafted any contract with anybody,” said Look Loy, with regards to Fenwick’s contract, which was signed by Wallace paying US$20,000 instead of the US$17,500 agreed to by the TTFA board.

Look Loy said, “I made a submission to the board and the board made a decision that they would appoint Fenwick under certain conditions. That was the end of my involvement with this.”

Look Loy denied Nicholson’s claim that he plans to “run for the presidency of the (TTFA) when the FIFA normalisation committee organises fresh elections.”

According to the T&T Super League boss, “That is ludicrous. How long have I made it clear I have no intention of doing that? I made it clear that I plan to retire at the end of my tenure as (Super League) president in June next year.”

Look Loy insisted that he was never approached by Nicholson for a story, or even a comment.

“I don’t have an idea who this guy is or what he looks like,” said Look Loy. “He could be from Timbuktu. I have never spoken to him. He’s just writing whatever he please. It’s just half-truths, lies and fabrications.”

« Reply #229 on: August 27, 2020, 07:39:02 AM »
Look Loy wants CONCACAF Qualifiers postponed.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Keith Look Loy, the driving force behind the formation of the United T&T Football Association (TTFA), is calling on the Caribbean Football Union (CFU), being led by Barbadian Randolph Harris, to seek the postponement of the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers which are scheduled to begin in October.

Look Loy yesterday said he believes the postponement of the tournament until next year is something that Harris and the CFU should be arguing for because of the outbreak of the deadly coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic which has already claimed the lives of hundreds of thousands around the world.

“Asia has already pushed its qualifiers back to 2021 (next year), and CONCACAF has postponed the CFU Club Championship, so why doesn't Harris do it in the interest of saving lives. It will be impossible to adhere to quarantine regulations because of the regularity at which matches are to be played,” said Look Loy.

The former FIFA Youth Development Officer pointed to a FIFA statement which prohibited players from being released from their clubs to represent their countries in UEFA World Cup Qualifiers because of the coronavirus. The draw for the qualifiers took place last week and it pooled T&T in a group with St Kitts/Nevis, Guyana, Bahamas and Puerto Rico, with only the winner progressing to the second round of the qualifiers.

National coach Terry Fenwick told Guardian Media Sports last week he sees the group as a promising one to emerge from, but financial constraints have put his team in an unfavourable position. Fenwick said he was told by Robert Hadad, chairman of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee that his hands are tied from providing financial assistance to the team because of the ongoing court battle between the ousted United TTFA elected officers and the sport's supreme body - FIFA.

However, Look Loy took a swipe at the normalisation committee, calling on its members to access the more than $20 million sitting in the FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland because of the reluctance of the FIFA to hand it over because of the ongoing court battle.

“For Hadad, FIFA and the normalisation to say their hands are tied is an outright lie. They paid office staff and they have right now, in excess of $20 million, which represents grants and COVID Relief Funds etc. I am appealing to the normalisation committee to access the funding for the qualifying tournament in October.”

He said the reluctance of the normalisation committee to access the funding is a deliberate attempt to frustrate the United TTFA in its battle with the FIFA to have the appointment of the normalisation committee overturned. He explained that when they took over the management of the sport in November last year, the country saw for the first time in five years, a proper technical department.

He said, “For the first time we had national teams fully staffed and training. And at short notice, we had the Under-20 women's team compete in the Dominican Republic at the CONCACAF Tournament and reached the quarterfinal round, so our plans were working but then came FIFA and mashed up everything.”

« Reply #230 on: August 27, 2020, 03:13:39 PM »
Look Loy: We’re not the bad guys.
Ian Prescott (Express).

The call by Commissioner Gary Griffith for “United TTFA” to end its local High Court action against world football governing body FIFA, has been met with a response by Keith Look Loy, spokesman of the group that also includes sidelined Trinidad and Tobago Football Association president Williams Wallace and his three vice-presidents.

“We are not the bad guys here,” Look Loy insisted, “We are playing by the rules.” Wallace and his three vice-presidents laid a claim before the High Court in May, challenging FIFA’s decision to replace their four-month TTFA executive with its Normalisation Committee on March 17.

FIFA’s laws forbid its member associations from resolving disputes against it in local courts and has implied that the country could be facing a ban-- possibly as early as next month --from international football. FIFA has mandated that Wallace and company should take the dispute to the international Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) instead.

“Nobody wins if we go down the road via the local court, especially for our country, for our football development, and for the dreams of many, not just players, but the hundreds of thousands of supporters who would lose the opportunity to dream of one day seeing a repeat of what we achieved in 2006,” Griffith’s statement said.

“The end cannot justify the means by the present course of action, because as with any mission, one cannot just look at the short-term result, but instead look towards the domino effect, as it relates to what would trigger another reaction by FIFA. This is what any good leader, manager, administrator, player, supporter or patriot of football would do in this situation.”

Look Loy suggests that his group had been forced into its current action.

“We went the CAS route. FIFA refused to pay its share of the CAS fee. We came to Trinidad. They said they would not recognise the court,” stated Look Loy. “They lost the case and now they going to a second court, although they said they would not recognise a Trinidad and Tobago court. We have been trying to get mediation since March.”

A former national hockey player, Commissioner Griffith felt the future of local football was at stake. “Unfortunately, this is not a time to remain silent, as it is the future of our football that can be affected, and it may take years to recover if we go a certain direction,” Griffith said.

He added: “Now is a time for us to make a decision to find a way to rectify this situation via dialogue, compromise and mutual respect between all relevant parties, because the present agenda to fight a war with FIFA in a local court may not be the best way, as everyone would lose, which no-one wants, inclusive of FIFA, United TTFA and the many football players and supporters in this country.”

Look Loy’s reply was that the ex-TTFA executive had tried unsuccessfully to mediate. “The TTFA has written six times to Infantino (and) FIFA,” Look Loy said. “We have been the ones trying to seek mediation. This idea by Gary Griffith is not a new one and FIFA has not even responded.”

Offline socalion

Keith Look Loy resigns from all T&T football
« Reply #231 on: October 16, 2020, 10:53:45 AM »
mr Keith look Loy I salute you for steadfastly standing up for justice , you have served both on and off the field admirably , that cannot be easily discounted . I have been one of many Who supported you , as well as your United ttfa  and will remain so . To that end i say thank you immensely for your contribution to country and the beautiful game ( football ) , this is a sad day indeed ! Much respect to you mr Keith look Loy thanks again!   ........
« Last Edit: October 16, 2020, 12:02:44 PM by Tallman »

Re: Keith Look Loy resigns from all T&T football
« Reply #232 on: October 16, 2020, 11:58:20 AM »
Keith Look Loy resigns from all T&T football
T&T Guardian

Four days after the embattled T&T Football Association (TTFA) president William Wallace and his United TTFA executive team won their controversial lawsuit against FIFA in the T&T High Court when Judge Carol Gobin ruled that FIFA's move to appoint a Normalisation Committee led by businessman Robert Hadad to replace Wallace and his team was illegal, null and void and of no effect, Keith Look Loy, who was instrumental in the United TTFA team battle in every aspect and at every stage, has resigned.

His resignation also comes less than 24-hours after Wallace and third vice-president Joseph Sam Phillip met Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, Stuart Young, the Minister of National Security and Shamfa Cudjoe, the Minister of Sport and Community Development at the Office of the Prime Minister at the Diplomatic Centre in St Ann’s to find a way forward for the sport.

Look Loy, who has been at the centre of all the United TTFA decisions leading up the TTFA elections on November 24, 2019, and then challenging FIFA to remove the elected officers of the TTFA in court, was not invited to the PM meeting.

Keith Look Loy's resignation statement:

"On Wednesday 14 October Justice Carol Gobin delivered her judgment in the matter of TTFA v FIFA, declaring the William Wallace administration to be the lawful leadership of the Association. As promised by United TTFA, an Extraordinary General Meeting of TTFA's membership has been called for 25 October. As a member of the TTFA Board I approved the calling of that meeting. Now that the central issue of the legality of FIFA's actions has been adjudicated, it is time for TTFA's membership to decide the immediate political direction of the Association.

For my part, I have run my race - not only in this matter but in football as a whole. In the aftermath of the seven month battle between United TTFA and FIFA, with conflicting emotions I resign the positions of TTSL President, TTFA Board member, and TTFA Technical Committee chairman. These resignations are effective immediately.

I was born in 1953 under British colonial rule, which our people historically resisted. I am old enough to remember the raising of "the red, white and black" at magical midnight on 31 August 1962, under the watchful eye of Dr. Eric Williams. Today we are the sovereign Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, responsible for and to ourselves. I have experienced the transition from subject of a foreign power to citizen of a sovereign state, and I have lived the joys and sorrows, the highs and lows of independence from foreign rule.

Football has been my lifelong love and labour. I participated in and represented Trinidad and Tobago football, on and off the field, for more than fifty years. Never did I think the day would come when a foreign entity would attempt to seize control of our football. To see many fellow citizens hysterically rationalize, aid and abet this is unbearable.

I will always stand by the sovereignty of our country, its laws and its institutions. I am proud to be a member of United TTFA, which won the historic legal campaign to reject FIFA's grotesque and illegal attempt at external intervention. The rule of Law in Trinidad and Tobago has been upheld by our independent court. But the import of this victory is not limited to our shores. It bears global significance. Trinidad and Tobago has now set the stage for other countries to challenge FIFA's arrogant and brutal approach to global football governance. And the spotlight is now on FIFA, which must end its arbitrary and weaponized deployment of the Normalization Committee against administrations it does not favour, and which must now institute objective criteria and proper protocols for the use of said Committee to resolve legitimate and intractable governance problems in member Associations.

On Sunday 25 October the membersip will be faced with choices: to support the Wallace administration in its other legal battles (in the Appeal Court and in CAS); to call on Wallace to end the legal campaign; to call on him and the officers to resign or to seek to remove them; to call on the government to amend Act 10 of 1982 to allow for FIFA intervention in TTFA governance; and to call on FIFA to enter Trinidad and Tobago to exert control over TTFA. Such is Democracy and I will respect it. But I remove myself from the equation. I will not be involved in that debate because I believe the legal campaign has run its course, and no matter the decision in either legal forum, it is the membership that will have to decide on TTFA's immediate direction. Sunday 25 October is Ground Zero.

In the grand scheme of things, however, it is clear to me that the membership wishes to participate in global football even if it means bowing to FIFA, and voluntarily ceding our right to govern ourselves and to resolve the problems and crises of our independence and sovereignty. I accept that political reality.

When the founding members of our league invited me, on its establishment on13 December 2016, to become interim President, I made it clear I would serve one, and only ONE, term of office. Office holds no irresistible charm for me. After the League successfully fought David John-Williams for TTFA membership, my official term of office began upon my election in August 2017 (to end in August 2021). So I depart early.

It has been an honour and and a privilege to serve Trinidad and Tobago football these many decades, and as Super League President for just over three years. I sincerely thank the TTSL Board, all the comrades in arms and member clubs who supported me in pursuing the league's agenda, even in the most difficult times, and in defending its autonomy from external and internal attack. I thank my United TTFA comrades - William Wallace, Clynt Taylor, Susan Joseph-Warrick, Joseph Sam Phillip and Anthony Harford - and our intrepid legal representatives - Matthew Gayle, Dr. Emir Crowne, Jason Jones and Crystal Paul of New City Chambers - for fearlessly standing against Goliath in defence of principle and the dignity of our people.

Now my work is done, and I leave the league financially solvent and politically strong. But I caution the membership to be vigilant, to guard their independence jealously. I make way for those who wish to assume the leadership of the Super League, and who believe they could do better. I leave Trinidad and Tobago football, head high and satisfied that I made my contribution with the best of intentions and to the best of my ability. Ultimately, the lasting judgment of our actions will be provided by History."

Good luck to all.

"What we do now echoes in eternity." Meditations (Marcus Aurelius, Roman Emperor and philosopher, 121 to 180 AD).

« Reply #233 on: October 16, 2020, 12:59:08 PM »
Play it for them Mr Look Loy... Fine Job. Never done.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-P5uVvhT1A
« Last Edit: October 16, 2020, 01:01:16 PM by maxg »

« Reply #234 on: October 16, 2020, 02:20:35 PM »
The net result here is akin to tossing the baby out with the bathwater.

« Reply #235 on: October 16, 2020, 03:41:06 PM »
The net result here is akin to tossing the baby out with the bathwater.
sadly. Although, I do think it's a necessary strategic move to get people of their asses. They would gladly sitback , cuss, bad talk, back stab and do nothing otherwise. He has brought us to the right place, I hope they don't put us back.

add: just realize, ah praying...for a acouple hours forgot which country we talkin bout..xcusez eh
« Last Edit: October 16, 2020, 07:58:39 PM by maxg »

« Reply #236 on: October 17, 2020, 01:59:29 AM »
I will use a local cricket terminology. Good Knock, Keith. I know You can drive many or most of us up a wall when You get into an argument. But on this occasion You have stand your ground and stated your case well( in most parts). What I want to see, is if the high court rules against Justice Gobin's verdict, what will TT parliament do. Or more so Rowley. Will he have them strip TTFA from the constitution or what. I want the rest to resign and leh we move on.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2020, 08:57:25 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #237 on: October 17, 2020, 04:25:27 AM »
Courageous in battle, humble in victory. After years of disgraceful ethics Mr. Look Loy sets an excellent example. Well played

« Reply #238 on: October 17, 2020, 08:34:31 AM »
I may have said it before, but I worked directly with Keith to put all of the 2018 Super League data on their website (line ups, rosters, scorers, etc.).  He was a fantastic collaborator and went the extra mile to obtain the correct information when required -- something that I have often found lacking in my work in Caribbean football.  To compare with the Pro League, I have reached out to the relevant parties on several occasions to do the same with their stats over the years, and they do not even reply.  I understand Keith can be a polarizing figure at times, but I found that he simply demands professionalism, and that if you give him that, he will reciprocate.

« Reply #239 on: October 17, 2020, 11:29:13 AM »
WATCH: United TTFA power broker Keith Look Loy resigns from football

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Mb1R8V5R4fk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Mb1R8V5R4fk</a>