April 25, 2024, 10:11:17 AM

Author Topic: La Liga Season 2011-2012  (Read 43034 times)

La Liga Season 2011-2012
« on: August 14, 2011, 11:54:00 AM »
Commences today w/the super cup at 4pm EST

Online Peong

Re: La Liga Season 2011-2012
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2011, 02:46:36 PM »
Pretty football on display.  2 very good goals so far.
Xavi, Pique, Puyol on the bench and Real have had the better and more numerous chances.

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2011, 02:48:30 PM »
No formula for Messi! Poison!

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2011, 02:50:46 PM »
Funny eh, this is the most disorganized I have seen us look for a while even w/Pique, Puyol, Xavi and others on the bench, 2 chances, 2 goals, actually, 1.5 chances, 2 goals...Madrid's fitness is way up, very fast game, exciting season lies ahead

Online Peong

« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2011, 02:54:28 PM »
Yuh can't have any slackness around Messi nah.
Villa goal was a precision strike, beauty of a shot.
Benzema had a a couple chances to put the ball on frame, but once he couldn't find his feet and the other time the defender blocked.

I didn't realize how good Benzema's pass to Ozil was.  Boss play.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2011, 02:57:14 PM by Peong »

« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2011, 03:07:31 PM »
Damn Sanchez has been impressive-he beatsin and jumpin rope like nothing!

Online Peong

« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2011, 03:18:04 PM »
2-2!   And now Pepe make Alves feel it lol dat good for him.

How does Cristiana manage to disappear in these games?

« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2011, 03:41:59 PM »
Will this match go to PKs if it ends in a draw?

Come on Madrid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2011, 03:46:47 PM »
This ref have balls of stone. I suppose that is in the top criteria to ref a Barca - Real match.

Online Peong

« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2011, 03:47:26 PM »
Yuh see these dirty Barca men?  I can't stand it.  Valdez now trip Cristiano and then pretendin that Cristiano dive.

« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2011, 03:51:02 PM »
Yuh see these dirty Barca men?  I can't stand it.  Valdez now trip Cristiano and then pretendin that Cristiano dive.

CR feel a breeze on his foot and tumble over like he get shot. It was a good no-call. Lots of good no-calls by this ref I think.
Alonso making some brave tackles though.

« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2011, 03:53:01 PM »

:D

Online Peong

« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2011, 03:54:11 PM »

CR feel a breeze on his foot and tumble over like he get shot. It was a good no-call. Lots of good no-calls by this ref I think.

Are you saying there was no contact?  I didn't see the contact for sure, but Valdez did intend to trip him.  
Now look Alves kickin away men and can't believe that the ref would penalize him.  If yuh do yuh ting own up to it like a big man.

« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2011, 03:56:54 PM »
Peong I never knew you were a Madrid fan! Or do you just hate Barca?

« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2011, 04:00:08 PM »
good game. real pace. alot of wild tackles from both teams tho

« Reply #15 on: August 14, 2011, 04:01:10 PM »

Are you saying there was no contact?  I didn't see the contact for sure, but Valdez did intend to trip him.  
Now look Alves kickin away men and can't believe that the ref would penalize him.  If yuh do yuh ting own up to it like a big man.

CR feet get tangle up with VV and then when he step out of that, he see VV put his hand out, he decide to fall over it. To me those are not fouls. Men diving so much we beginning to think that all kinda ticky-tack thing is fouls and penalties.

Online Peong

« Reply #16 on: August 14, 2011, 04:55:03 PM »

CR feet get tangle up with VV and then when he step out of that, he see VV put his hand out, he decide to fall over it. To me those are not fouls. Men diving so much we beginning to think that all kinda ticky-tack thing is fouls and penalties.

Bitter, Valdez was having dark thoughts and wanted to trip him.
And if a goalie or defender actually tries to trip you, CR or not, TAKE THE FALL, I will not begrudge anyone for that.  You wanted CR to hurdle it?

Toppa I love football and I love the underdog, that's all it is.

« Reply #17 on: August 14, 2011, 04:59:06 PM »

And if a goalie or defender actually tries to trip you, CR or not, TAKE THE FALL, I will not begrudge anyone for that.  You wanted CR to hurdle it?

Toppa I love football and I love the underdog, that's all it is.

Looks to me like he clip him on the ankle... he was definitely living dangerously there.  In all fairness the ref coulda (shoulda?) award Pedro a penalty on the Marcelo tackle on the other end... but I like the no-call.  Slightest touch and dem men does drop and grab they foot like they get lash wid ah 2 x 4.

« Reply #18 on: August 14, 2011, 06:49:33 PM »

CR wasn't getting the ball unless he was Usain Bolt, it was out past the 18 with a barca defender closing in on it. Why would the ref call that near-foul a penalty? because Valdes intended to foul him?

My point is, that it was mostly nothing. Certainly in the context of the game and the way the ref was calling it, that wasn't a penalty.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2011, 06:52:38 PM by Bitter »

Online Peong

« Reply #19 on: August 14, 2011, 10:43:59 PM »
CR wasn't getting the ball unless he was Usain Bolt, it was out past the 18 with a barca defender closing in on it. Why would the ref call that near-foul a penalty? because Valdes intended to foul him?

My point is, that it was mostly nothing. Certainly in the context of the game and the way the ref was calling it, that wasn't a penalty.

First of all, if CR didn't go down, that ball was his.  It was not past no 18, and the nearest defender was behind CR.  You obviously need to re-watch the incident.
Second, the ref would give a penalty because Valdez hit him with his arm intentionally.  It wasn't a sledgehammer blow, but he did hit him, and it was intentional. One without the other might be excuseable, but not both together.
Third, did you see me say anything about penalty? That wasn't my point.  My point was that Valdez is a nasty player, and as I watch them more I see that the nasty play is definitely a trait that is shared within certain members of the squad. Busquets, Valdez play today and the biggest crybaby Alves.

« Reply #20 on: August 15, 2011, 09:40:12 AM »
Commences today w/the super cup at 4pm EST

Been meaning to start this thread for some time now. Thanks!!

Real Madrid 2-2 FC Barcelona
1-0 : Özil 12'
1-1 : Villa 36'
1-2 : Messi 45'
2-2 : Xabi Alonso 53'

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/R_Pi6DyO7cA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/R_Pi6DyO7cA</a>

« Reply #21 on: August 15, 2011, 10:42:10 AM »
Got to love Puyol, hands down the best person w/whom to go into battle, takes no prisoners!

« Reply #22 on: August 17, 2011, 09:41:15 AM »
Spanish Supercup 2nd Leg

Wenesday the 17th of August 2011

23:00 CET (Barcelona Time)
5:00 PM (Trinidad Time)

I am only seeing it scheduled on DirecTV.

Camp Nou, Barcelona

First Leg Result
Real Madrid 2-2 FC Barcelona

1-0 : Özil 12'
1-1 : Villa 36'
1-2 : Messi 45'
2-2 : Xabi Alonso 53'

Video Highlights of the Match:
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/39qJj6sK9Us" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/39qJj6sK9Us</a>

Sanchez eating up wild man Marcelo food.
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/4AERzljAMYQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/4AERzljAMYQ</a>

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #23 on: August 17, 2011, 03:15:34 PM »
ride pine cesc ride pine!

« Reply #24 on: August 17, 2011, 03:20:39 PM »
Nice goal by Iniesta on the midfield pass by Messi.

1-0 Barca.

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #25 on: August 17, 2011, 03:21:57 PM »
1-1. why did we buy fabregas and need a defender sooooo badly?
It's only kinky the 1st time

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #26 on: August 17, 2011, 03:29:15 PM »
1-1. why did we buy fabregas and need a defender sooooo badly?
ask xavi pique iniesta pep puyol et al :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #27 on: August 17, 2011, 03:45:57 PM »
Messi is a beast!

« Reply #28 on: August 17, 2011, 03:47:46 PM »
Messi literally and figuratively brings Ronaldo to his knees! ;D

« Reply #29 on: August 17, 2011, 03:48:42 PM »
ride pine cesc ride pine!

Bitter much?  ;D