March 28, 2024, 09:51:26 AM

Author Topic: Allyuh remember this?!  (Read 2225 times)

Allyuh remember this?!
« on: August 15, 2011, 07:45:49 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/73JPTcAZN64&amp;NR=1" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/73JPTcAZN64&amp;NR=1</a>

We have always produced top sprinters!!

If only our NAAATT would look after them a bit better, we could be producing even more at the senor world level!  ;)

Here is a bit of Crawfie's bio for those who weren't born yet or need a refresher!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hasely_Crawford
« Last Edit: August 15, 2011, 09:46:38 PM by Socapro »

Re: Allyuh remember this?!
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2011, 07:55:35 PM »
Thanks for the memories  :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2011, 08:27:33 PM »
Nope i didn't exist then . My memories are all of Ato. Thanks though  :beermug:

EDIT: who is the fellah looking like he want to cry?
« Last Edit: August 15, 2011, 08:31:23 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2011, 08:38:03 PM »

Silvio Leonard of Cuba, I think he had a mishap in the rounds (possibly the semi-final) and didn't make the 100m final but alongside our Crawfie & Ja's Don Quarrie was one of the favourites for the 100m title.

Check his bio here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silvio_Leonard

Offline STMB

« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2011, 09:32:31 PM »

Silvio Leonard of Cuba, I think he had a mishap in the rounds (possibly the semi-final) and didn't make the 100m final but alongside our Crawfie & Ja's Don Quarrie was one of the favourites for the 100m title.

No he was playing the ass in the games village dormitory with his team mates and cut his ankle on a broken glass and couldn't run the event. At the time he was the only other man other than Jim Hines to run an electronic sub-10 at 9.98 and had beaten Crawfie the year before in the 75 Panam finals in Mexico City, so to see Crawfie win was painful
« Last Edit: August 15, 2011, 09:38:04 PM by STMB »

« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2011, 09:36:02 PM »

No he was playing the ass in the games village dormitory with his team mates and cut his ankle on a broken glass and couldn't run the event. At the time he was the only other man other than Jim Hines to run an electronic sub-10 at 9.98 and had beaten Crawfie the year before in the 75 Panam finals in Puerto Rico, so to see Crawfie win was painful

Thanks for that!
I knew Silvio had a mishap but I couldn't recall if it was on or off the track!

Offline STMB

« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2011, 09:39:40 PM »
Correction - the 75 Panams were in Mexico City and he ran the 9.98 in 1977.

« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2011, 09:45:25 PM »

Yeah, I saw that correct info on the Wikipedia site and was about to correct yuh but yuh correct yuhself first!  :angel:

« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2011, 10:14:36 PM »
The US had a guy named Steve Williams who was equally fast but was injured also. I saw him and Crawfie duke it out at Arima one year. It was crazy. :rotfl:

lil bio on Steve Williams: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Williams_(athlete)
« Last Edit: August 17, 2011, 03:15:05 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2011, 03:24:50 PM »
That bio link for Steve Williams did not work for me! Think its missing the last character so here it is again:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Williams_(athlete)

« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2011, 03:56:37 PM »
That bio link for Steve Williams did not work for me! Think its missing the last character so here it is again:

i cool with that. But this Steve Williams guy was fast. He beat Crawfie in a photo-finish in the velodrome. If you see bachanal. Actually they went under 10. Hand-timed off course. Did not count because of wind. He and Crawfie used to battle it out on the track circuit. The 4 men at that time was Crawfie, Don Quarrie, Steve Williams and Silvio Leonard. Everything played out right for Crawfie in Montreal. The rest is history.

Offline STMB

« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2011, 04:21:59 PM »

i cool with that. But this Steve Williams guy was fast. He beat Crawfie in a photo-finish in the velodrome. If you see bachanal. Actually they went under 10. Hand-timed off course. Did not count because of wind. He and Crawfie used to battle it out on the track circuit. The 4 men at that time was Crawfie, Don Quarrie, Steve Williams and Silvio Leonard. Everything played out right for Crawfie in Montreal. The rest is history.

You forget Steve Riddick in the Crawfie battles in Arima. He ran only the relay in Montreal but anchored the US to gold.

« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2011, 06:27:15 PM »
Yes Steve Riddick was another fast one. But I can't recall Riddick at Arima that day. Everything and everybody was focused on Williams and Crawford. And they delivered.

« Reply #13 on: August 17, 2011, 06:39:13 PM »

Yeah, I saw that correct info on the Wikipedia site and was about to correct yuh but yuh correct yuhself first!  :angel:

Coops was dey in Mex. , he probably saw the race with Crwafie and Silvio. If I remember correctly Silvio pip Crawfie on the tape and with his follow thru ran and fell down the moat around the track.

Offline STMB

« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2011, 09:12:08 PM »
Yes Steve Riddick was another fast one. But I can't recall Riddick at Arima that day. Everything and everybody was focused on Williams and Crawford. And they delivered.

Riddick ran against Crawfie in the year(s) after Steve Williams

Offline Die_Hard

« Reply #15 on: August 17, 2011, 09:17:54 PM »
crawfie and steve ran a 9.99  hand timed in arima..I was dey too