March 28, 2024, 03:04:26 AM

Author Topic: Players I expected big from but never live up.  (Read 13789 times)

Players I expected big from but never live up.
« on: August 18, 2011, 08:32:00 PM »
Players I expected big from but never lived up to the international and some club standard.

Kerwin Jemmott.
Brent Rahim.
Hector Sam.
Jerrel Britto - Still have time.
Shahdon Winchester - Still have time.
Ataullah Guerra - Still have time.
Jason Scotland - Still have time.
Densill Theobald - Still have time.
Silvio Spann - Still have time.
Jamal Gay - Still have time.
Makan Hislop - Still have time.
Aklie Edwards - Still have time.
Lyndon Andrews.
Nkosi Blackman.
Jerol Forbes - Still have time.
Devon Leacock - Still have time.
Darin Lewis.
Anthony Noreiga - Still have time.
Devon Mitchell.
Colvin Hutchinson.
Kevaughn Connell - Still have time.
Jason Devenish - Still have time.
Michael Lee Celestine - Still have time.
Scott Sealy - Still have time.
Silas Spann - Still have time.
Osei Telesford - Still have time.
Daurance Williams.
Ian Cox.
Franz Husbands - Still have time.
Javed Mohammed - Still have time.
Shastri Spencer - Still have time.
Corey Rivers.
Sherron Joseph - Still have time.
Stephen Knox - Still have time.
Matthew Bartholomew - Still have time.
Aaron Downing - Still have time.
Leslie Fitzpatrick.
Nigel Daniel.
Josmir Belgrave.
Kwame Wiltshire.
Anthony Sherwood.
Ivan Sampson.

Would like to see Dwane James, Elijah Manners, Karlon Murray and Elton John on trial with a T&T team one day.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2011, 04:25:50 AM by Flex »

Re: Players I expected big from but never live up.
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2011, 08:37:12 PM »
handsanointed go jump on yuh

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2011, 08:48:36 PM »
Interesting topic, Sam! So many 'still have time'!

What is more interesting is that there are none who have made it or close to making it from the current era! Not one!

« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2011, 10:22:33 PM »
Players I expected big from but never live up.

Kerwin Jemmott.   King of the coulda shoulda
Brent Rahim.   Did ah stint with the Globetrotters around the world then call it George
Jerrel Britto - Still have time. Definitely
Shahdon Winchester - Still have time.  Definitely
Ataullah Guerra - Still have time.   But running out...fass fass
Jason Scotland - Still have time.
Densill Theobald - Still have time.
Silvio Spann - Still have time.
Jamal Gay - Still have time.  Time on he side
Makan Hislop - Still have time.....uh yeah kinda
Aklie Edwards - Still have time.....yeah
Lyndon Andrews.
Jerol Forbes - Still have time....to get in shape and look like ah footballer
Devon Leacock - Still have time.   Running out
Darin Lewis - Still have time.    Not really
Anthony Noreiga - Still have time.   Not really
Devon Mitchell.
Colvin Hutchinson.
Kevaughn Connell - Still have time.....but running out
Jason Devenish - Still have time.
Michael Lee Celestine - Still have time.
Scott Sealy - Still have time.  Not much
Silas Spann - Still have time.....yes and if he get ah chance to go Italy like he brother...go and doh buss style
Osei Telesford - Still have time....running out
Daurance Williams.
Ian Cox.
Franz Husbands - Still have time.
Javed Mohammed - Still have time.
Shastri Spencer - Still have time.
Corey Rivers.
Sherron Joseph - Still have time.
Stephen Knox - Still have time.
Matthen Bartholomew - Still have time.
Leslie Fitzpatrick.
Nigel Daniel.
Josmir Belgrave.
Kwame Wiltshire.
Anthony Sherwood.
Ivan Sampson.

Would like to see Dwane James, Elijah Manners, Karlon Murray and Elton John on trial with a T&T team one day.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2011, 04:26:12 AM by Flex »

« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2011, 10:27:22 PM »
Interesting topic, Sam! So many 'still have time'!

What is more interesting is that there are none who have made it or close to making it from the current era! Not one!

Hence d state of T&T football! :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2011, 12:36:57 AM »
blackman and sherwood never lived up due to injuries, cant blame dem.  it may have others on the list for the same reason.  there are others who never got a chance to prove themselves at national level.

« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2011, 08:10:12 AM »
blackman and sherwood never lived up due to injuries, cant blame dem.  it may have others on the list for the same reason.  there are others who never got a chance to prove themselves at national level.

Poor excuse.

Kevon Carter is a perfect example, his injury was worst than Sherwood and Blackman and Cater is back and ready to go.

Henrik Larsson broke his two legs and came back stronger than ever. Djibril Cisse too.

Offline handsanointed

« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2011, 08:56:37 AM »
lollllz......I am not jumping on anyone......I have been really quiet in the land.....blessings to all!

« Reply #8 on: August 19, 2011, 09:00:40 AM »
lollllz......I am not jumping on anyone......I have been really quiet in the land.....blessings to all!

LOL ah know dais yuh baby nah ;D Yuh going easy on Sam, eh.

We all still hoping for the best for Britto. Don't give up he still young.

« Reply #9 on: August 19, 2011, 09:09:07 AM »
Poor excuse.

Kevon Carter is a perfect example, his injury was worst than Sherwood and Blackman and Cater is back and ready to go.

Henrik Larsson broke his two legs and came back stronger than ever. Djibril Cisse too.

Not everyone bounces back as well from injuries - there are lots of variables and everybody's body is different.  And as far as Larsson and Cisse go, they had already made it before their injuries, and they were under a level of care and attention that our players can only dream of...I don't think it's a poor excuse. I think it's a sad reality- Injuries can ruin careers - that's just how it is. 

« Reply #10 on: August 19, 2011, 09:23:50 AM »
Scott Sealy is rotting away in San Jose. He NEEDS to move on clubs asap! I dont think hes started consistently in about 3 years!

Id even add Chris Birchall to this list, also.

These two need to make a move, as well:
Matthen Bartholomew - Still have time.

« Reply #11 on: August 19, 2011, 09:31:05 AM »
Poor excuse.

Not everyone bounces back as well from injuries - there are lots of variables and everybody's body is different.  And as far as Larsson and Cisse go, they had already made it before their injuries, and they were under a level of care and attention that our players can only dream of...I don't think it's a poor excuse. I think it's a sad reality- Injuries can ruin careers - that's just how it is. 

well said kicker, i broke my leg twice and after that mentally my game changed..wasnt willing to take tackles and of course i didnt have the same medical care as cisse and those big ballers. the first time (happened in national youth team training) i was on my own basically, the 2nd time was in college and got good care from my school then lost my scholarship once i came out of the hospital.

sherwood lost his scholarship when he broke his leg, luckily he got another one.

so sando doh judge ppl  :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: August 19, 2011, 09:39:02 AM »
I was very impressed with Knox and Daniel Joseph. What's up with them now.

« Reply #13 on: August 19, 2011, 10:02:06 AM »
Ivan Sampson stands out to me on that list. The guy became a household name in South Trinidad (and even today ppl older folks does still talk about him) after some massive intercol seasons. At one point he was in the same sentance with Dwight Yorke.

Was poised to be the next great thing.

Went to the US for college.. yuh know the rest... :-\

« Reply #14 on: August 19, 2011, 10:20:02 PM »
what is "big" Sam ???

« Reply #15 on: August 20, 2011, 05:38:04 AM »
IAN CLAUZEL - the Dread Dribble men taught he was the reincarnation of Pele.He even have the same birthday as Pele. You could add Emerson Dubisson to that list,make his debut for Trinidad while still going Mucurapo Compre against China.

Roger Guissippi captain the schoolboys and U20 ,Travis Sobers captain the U17's national team and Dexter Sandy captain the U19 
« Last Edit: August 20, 2011, 12:19:34 PM by royal »

« Reply #16 on: August 20, 2011, 10:35:57 AM »
IAN CLAUZEL - the Dread dribble men taught he was the reincarnation of Pele.He even have the same birthday as Pele. You could add Emerson Dubisson to that list,make his debut for Trinidad while still going Mucurapo Compre against China.

Roger Guissippi captain the schoolboys and U20 ,Travis Sobers captain the U17's national team and Dexter Sandy captain the U19 

Yuh have tuh thank the coaches for Clauzel's demise I think. They were insisting that he cut his locks and stuck to his guns. Just saying. . .

« Reply #17 on: August 20, 2011, 07:24:30 PM »
IAN CLAUZEL - the Dread dribble men taught he was the reincarnation of Pele.He even have the same birthday as Pele. You could add Emerson Dubisson to that list,make his debut for Trinidad while still going Mucurapo Compre against China.

Yuh have tuh thank the coaches for Clauzel's demise I think. They were insisting that he cut his locks and stuck to his guns. Just saying. . .
       I don't think the cutting the locks had anything to do with Clauzel demise as a Footballer,from the little i know his personal life was one of the things that affected him,but as someone who Clauzel played for after the colleges league he never cut it at the next level,he played for me with ECM,i had about three guys with locks including the ninger and they all played important roles on that team. 

« Reply #18 on: August 21, 2011, 01:53:21 AM »
Appreciate the correction...I thought that was the popular explanation that he wasn't allowed to play with dread locks

« Reply #19 on: August 21, 2011, 06:32:30 AM »

I don't think the cutting the locks had anything to do with Clauzel demise as a Footballer,from the little i know his personal life was one of the things that affected him,but as someone who Clauzel played for after the colleges league he never cut it at the next level,he played for me with ECM,i had about three guys with locks including the ninger and they all played important roles on that team. 

Very true Coops. Far too many fans judge players from school football, but once players stepped up they struggled. You have to consider most fans here did no follow, or grow up with the senior league football

« Reply #20 on: June 15, 2012, 05:18:46 AM »
IAN CLAUZEL - the Dread Dribble men taught he was the reincarnation of Pele.He even have the same birthday as Pele. You could add Emerson Dubisson to that list,make his debut for Trinidad while still going Mucurapo Compre against China.

Dexter is now a Coach at Lexington FC for boys U-13 in the US.

« Reply #21 on: June 15, 2012, 06:01:44 AM »
Ivan Sampson stands out to me on that list. The guy became a household name in South Trinidad (and even today ppl older folks does still talk about him) after some massive intercol seasons. At one point he was in the same sentance with Dwight Yorke.

Was poised to be the next great thing.

Went to the US for college.. yuh know the rest... :-\
As a personal friend of Sam and back then of Dwight as well, you're off... they were never in the same class.   You guys have no idea how hard a worker Dwight was and what he could really do as a youngster... Dwight was a freak of nature... Ivan was very very talented but Dwight was on another level.  That said, if they both had the same opportunities, I think Ivan would have made it to the pros as well.

« Reply #22 on: June 15, 2012, 06:12:24 AM »
Add Kenwyne Jones to that list.

« Reply #23 on: June 15, 2012, 09:21:31 AM »
unfortunately, I have to add Latas to that list. I wanted more from Latas. For the kind of things that big footballers use to sa bout de lil magician it would have been nice to see him in italy or spain or even england. but thats just me. He is still my all time favorite but I think he could have been as good as the David Silvas, Juan Matas and those kinda of names.

« Reply #24 on: June 15, 2012, 09:34:56 AM »
latapy played for Porto, you cannopt get bigger than that.

the man play pro until he was like 37 in scotland, and was a key player.

how much bigger you want him to be.

« Reply #25 on: June 15, 2012, 09:58:15 AM »

Trini big LOL :beermug:

« Reply #26 on: June 15, 2012, 10:06:11 AM »

Latas played for Porto and then took a stop backwards to play with Boavista - good club  but that is like leaving Man U and going to Tottenham or Villa.

Then at 30 years old and still on top of his game the man went to HIBS IN THE SCOTTISH SECOND DIVISION. How the hell he end up there is a crying shame. A man who good bamboozle the best in the world and he go to Hibs???????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  ??? ???

« Reply #27 on: June 15, 2012, 10:39:07 AM »

Scotland eh no league. Not to diminish the man's accomplishments, but I think he coulda reach much much much further.

« Reply #28 on: June 15, 2012, 11:39:01 AM »

Latas played for Porto and then took a stop backwards to play with Boavista - good club  but that is like leaving Man U and going to Tottenham or Villa.

Then at 30 years old and still on top of his game the man went to HIBS IN THE SCOTTISH SECOND DIVISION. How the hell he end up there is a crying shame. A man who good bamboozle the best in the world and he go to Hibs???????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  ??? ???

Latas was a drinker and a smoker, not one problem but 2 problems for anyone who wants to play at the highest level. 
Villa promised Yorke they would take Latas if Dwight stayed with them but I doh blame Dwight...he ride out on to bigger things and Villa drop they interest in Latas.
Latas had all the talent in the world but lacked the discipline that Dwight had, the work ethic to train and keep super fit. Dwight at Man U was always praised for being the fittest player at the club bar none.
Some of Latas teammates use to say Latas would show up for training smelling like alcohol.
He enjoyed himself and lived up to his potential, I think he achieved what he could have. Had he not been the happy drinker, smoker that he was he wouldn't have been happy and it probably would have showed in his performances. In Scotland he was able to live and play like he wanted.
He was as talented as the come though, brilliant football brain.

« Reply #29 on: June 15, 2012, 01:27:31 PM »
Latas get hibs into the top division in scotland and real get on.

so much so he is a legend.

then went on to play for Rangers a world class club.

If that is not "Big" i dont know what is.