April 19, 2024, 09:05:37 PM

Author Topic: Limited State of Emergency....  (Read 161525 times)

Re: Limited State of Emergency....
« Reply #570 on: August 31, 2011, 01:30:53 PM »
Bourbon, yuh see what ah was saying.....

3-month extension for SoE
By Ria Taitt Political Editor

The State of Emergency is to be extended for three months.

Once the extension is approved by a simple majority Under the Constitution the Government can extend a State of Emergency more than once, but the extension in the aggregate must not exceed six months.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/3-month_extension_for_SoE-128722713.html

Has this extension passed? or still to be passed?

Still to be passed Dutty but its a foregone conclusion with the government having a simple majority and does not need opposition support.  What would be interesting is the debate in Parliament on Friday coming.  Because from what I understand, the Government is supposed to state the exact reasons for calling a SoE.  However, I think I heard reports that the government has stated that the reason is confidential for sake of National Security, so I eh expecting to hear anything more than the usual BS, and bluffing....

« Reply #571 on: August 31, 2011, 01:35:46 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/a_PNJESNpwY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/a_PNJESNpwY</a>

This SoE is wwwwwaaaayyyyy more entertaining than the last one.... ;D

« Reply #572 on: August 31, 2011, 02:37:52 PM »
By carefully crafted, I was referring to the cross party agreements when constructing the law. Although you are correct on the detention, as I understand it, there has to be certain requirements to initiate arrests, which have been removed under the SOE. I was in no way stating that the anti gang law was a perfect piece of legislation, but merely that the checks and balances forced by the PNM have all been swept aside under the SOE. This is why the PNM are saying they would never have supported the AGL if they could of foreseen an SOE. And lets be honest, who amongst us foresaw a State of Emergency just to tackle crime?

"Cross party agreements"??  I'm not trying to be picky, but let's be real here the PNM has 12 seats in what... a 41 seat Parliament?  The PP rammed thru this legislation and when Rowley and them started raising concerns about it the PP started accusing them of essentially being in league with the gangs, alleging that gangs came to prominence thru the contracts awarded under the Manning government. 

I don't know of any checks and balances in the legislation, all the police have to say is that you're a gang member, you don't have to wear gang colors/uniform, tattoos, be known for gang affiliation, hold yourself out as a gang member etc. 
Those are your "requirements to initiate arrests".  The PNM had no choice but to support it, especially since the PP majority was set to pass it without their votes.  PNM was not in any position to force any concessions, or "checks and balances" as you put it.  I don't think I'm playing party politics to say that this is all on the PP government.

« Reply #573 on: August 31, 2011, 05:28:58 PM »
so they arrest robocop today, in a expensive apartment complex , they find maps and pictures of the A.G and kamala with X on them and pictures of they security detail.

« Reply #574 on: August 31, 2011, 05:30:20 PM »
Robocop arrested

A major crackdown at the upscale One Woodbrook Place Apartment Complex on Tuesday night has led to the arrest of Selwyn "Robocop" Alexis.

Mr Alexis was held along with a 36 year old female associate at the multi-million dollar luxury complex in Woodbook.

Police told C News that he can assist them in their investigation into the 2008 murder of a Vincentian national, gang-related activities and possession of stolen vehicles found in the basement of One Woodbrook Place.

Investigative sources say the 45-year old man had been under surveillance for some months but operations intensified in the last couple weeks.

At around 8pm on Tuesday, officers kicked down the door of the 4th floor apartment. Mr Alexis was sitting in the living area watching TV at the time, while the woman was in the bedroom.

The armed forces spent an hour and a half searching the fully-furnished condo. They seized a laptop and several documents.

A hand-cuffed Alexis was then taken down to the basement carpark where investigators dusted and searched a black Toyota SUV and a Silver Nissan B14.

At 10:30pm he was escorted out of the building, but not before he passed under the glare of camera lights. He was then hauled off in a waiting police vehicle to the Woodbrook Police Station.

The highly sophisticated operation included 20 officers. It was spearheaded by Senior Superintendent John Martinez, ASP Radcliffe and Sargeant Emrol Bruce.

During the operation, the entire One Woodbrook Place Apartment Complex was on lockdown.

Mr Alexis is said to have been living at the upscale aparment complex for some time. He was renting the apartment for around $10-15,000 per month.

The owners are said to have been unaware of the identity of their tenant since the transaction was conducted through a real estate agent. Sources also said it is also "unlikely" that the management of the parent company, HCL, would have been aware that the alexis was housed in Tower 2.

Alexis was recently in the news over "landgrabbing" at Cashew Gardens.

Last year, he and two others were discharged by a Magistrate at the Tunapuna Magistrates' Court on charges of kidnapping, robbery, larceny and receiving stolen goods.
He was also before the Port of Spain Third Criminal Court alongside others on charges of kidnapping and assaulting Sangre Grande jeweller, Mr Henry Francis, from his home on June 9th, 2002.

http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=31168&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

« Reply #575 on: August 31, 2011, 05:32:04 PM »
so they arrest robocop today, in a expensive apartment complex , they find maps and pictures of the A.G and kamala with X on them and pictures of they security detail.

i doubt.

on the news they said they found nothing in the apartment and nothing in d car

« Reply #576 on: August 31, 2011, 05:39:50 PM »

i doubt.

on the news they said they found nothing in the apartment and nothing in d car

not on TV6 on CNC3 they said that , also the article above states "The armed forces spent an hour and a half searching the fully-furnished condo. They seized a laptop and several documents."

« Reply #577 on: August 31, 2011, 05:47:19 PM »

that sounds made up  :-\

glad they hold him though. his name has been calling in illegal activity for years. lets see if the police has enough evidence to charge him this time

« Reply #578 on: August 31, 2011, 06:04:37 PM »

For real eh, but we go see. They say Robocop phone calls were being monitored before they hold him. And found photos of the PM and Attorney General residence and security details with X marked on the faces of the PM and Attorney General. I guess tomorrow we will hear more.

« Reply #579 on: August 31, 2011, 06:44:50 PM »

For real eh, but we go see. They say Robocop phone calls were being monitored before they hold him. And found photos of the PM and Attorney General residence and security details with X marked on the faces of the PM and Attorney General. I guess tomorrow we will hear more.

ah sorry but dat sounding too made up...ah X  on dey face? steups...wheel and come again...daz d best dey coulda plant on d man? somebody watchin too much Criminal Minds...i believe d tv6 report cuz mark bassant was directly interfacing with the police in d building during and after the searches...cnc3 jus lookin for excitement i feel..

« Reply #580 on: August 31, 2011, 06:58:31 PM »
I also don't see what this have to do with the SoE... especially since they say they watching him for months... surprise they ent start trumpeting the "Big Fish" talk yet. The PP will use all these numbers to try and say that the SoE has been a success when in truth nobody tracking which arrests are truly related to it or not.

« Reply #581 on: August 31, 2011, 07:08:04 PM »
Robocop need pics and ting of Kamla and Anand to perform a hit?

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #582 on: August 31, 2011, 07:16:10 PM »
Robocop need pics and ting of Kamla and Anand to perform a hit?

yea. i think the journalists in this country like to take us for fools. the sad thing is alot of people tend to believe that kinda nonsense

ill be the first to say i was wrong if indeed they found those pics. but i HIGHLY DOUBT i would have the cause to do that

« Reply #583 on: August 31, 2011, 07:50:42 PM »
They lock up two youth men up by me and tell them they is gang member.  ???

« Reply #584 on: August 31, 2011, 08:53:47 PM »
Soooooo the Real Estate Agent didn't do a back ground check??   hhhhhmmmm.....when I was looking for a place to rent my landlords did reference check and credit check on me and ting....

Maybe dem thing doh apply to upscale residences??   ??? :-\  This story need more people.....

« Reply #585 on: September 01, 2011, 12:31:47 AM »

Nice I hope they lock up sum more and keep dem dey..

« Reply #586 on: September 01, 2011, 07:37:05 AM »
Plot against PM, AG, National Security Minister

Thursday, September 1 2011

Security forces have found evidence of plots against the lives of Prime Minister Kamla Persad- Bissessar, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan and Minister of National Security Brigadier John Sandy.

During an exercise at an apartment complex in Port-of-Spain late Tuesday night, officers of a police unit, found photographs of Persad-Bissessar, Sandy and Ramlogan, with crosses drawn over their faces. Inflammatory words were written on the photographs.

Sources said Persad-Bissessar, Sandy and Ramlogan were briefed yesterday by intelligence officers about the find and a possible plot against their lives.

The top three leaders in the Government were given clear instructions on new safety measures for them in light of the discovery. When contacted yesterday, all three declined to comment on the matter.

Newsday understands suspects were detained for questioning about the discovery of the photographs.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,146530.html

---------------

PM, AG targets in assassination?

Story Created: Sep 1, 2011 at 6:18 AM ECT

SECURITY for Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and Attorney General Anand Ramlogan has been placed on high alert after police raided an apartment at the exclusive multimillion-dollar One Woodbrook Place and found images of both officials.

Police sources said images of the homes of Persad-Bissessar and Ramlogan and their security detail were also discovered at the two-bedroom apartment in which Selwyn "Robocop" Alexis and Hermala Solomon, 36, of Longdenville, Chaguanas, were arrested. Some of the images, police said, had an "X" over the faces of Persad-Bissessar and Ramlogan.

Several specially trained and heavily armed and masked officers from the Criminal Intelligence Unit (CIU) stormed an apartment on the fourth floor of the high-rise complex and raided Alexis's apartment on Tuesday night.

A senior People's National Movement Opposition (PNM) figure and a High Court judge, police said, also own apartments on the same floor where Alexis had been living over the past four months.
Persad-Bissessar yesterday said she was aware of Alexis' arrest, which she described as a significant step in the fight against crime. Asked specifically if she was aware of reports that an assassination plot against her had been uncovered by police, she said no.
Speaking to members of the media after an Independence Day Defence Force function at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA) in Port of Spain, Persad-Bissessar said, at that time, she wasn't informed of any possible assassination plot.

She added, "Every wanted person arrested is of significance to me, whether it be Robocop or any other. I applaud the efforts of our law enforcement officers in finding, apprehending this much sought-after individual. This is yet another indication that the measures being deployed are in the national interest."
Asked if the arrest of Alexis is a signal that the Government was going behind the "big fish", Persad-Bissessar said, "I am so advised that this is a major arrest that has been made."

When contacted, Ramlogan also declined comment, and attempts to reach National Security Minister Brigadier John Sandy for comment on the issue proved futile as calls to his cellphone went unanswered.
Deputy Commissioner of Police in charge of Anti-Crime Operations Mervyn Richardson said yesterday that police had been working on intelligence for quite some time, which led them to the high rise apartments shortly after 7 p.m. on Tuesday.

A senior Government source told the Express that some time yesterday, Persad-Bissessar and Ramlogan were briefed about Tuesday night's raid at Robocop's apartment, during an emergency meeting which was also attended by Minister Sandy, Commissioner of Police Dwayne Gibbs and Chief of Defence Staff Brigadier Kenrick Maharaj.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/PM__AG_targets_in_assassination_-128870038.html

« Reply #587 on: September 01, 2011, 07:50:26 AM »
ah sorry but dat sounding too made up...ah X  on dey face? steups...wheel and come again...daz d best dey coulda plant on d man? somebody watchin too much Criminal Minds
:D
criminal minds too new....dais ting we use to see on Kojak and Hart 2 Hart when we was small

Trinis could conjure up nonsense oui

« Reply #588 on: September 01, 2011, 08:09:35 AM »
i honestly dont believe that photos story. but if its true, then robocop is ah real dumbass

« Reply #589 on: September 01, 2011, 10:01:20 AM »
i honestly dont believe that photos story. but if its true, then robocop is ah real dumbass
This could be verified easily. What is Robocop charged for ?

« Reply #590 on: September 01, 2011, 10:12:19 AM »
This could be verified easily. What is Robocop charged for ?

Since they tryin to hol he for years, dey go hadda pin him wit someting....even if dey find him wit de gun dat kill JFK, I good wit dat

Right now he should be charged heavily with poor sense of fashion oh gord man he wearin de same doppa since de 1990's

« Reply #591 on: September 01, 2011, 10:18:34 AM »

Jus lock up innocent youth men? you have to be stupid.

« Reply #592 on: September 01, 2011, 10:52:49 AM »
Wha wrong with allyuh?  Isn't it a good thing that the man geh hold?  Yet, people talking about planting evidence this and that, casting aspersions for no reason. Saying, thing sound like a fairy tale with pics etc.  schueps.  When they come with M1 and start blasting that's not a fairly tale though?  A crook get hold be glad nah.  scheups. 

« Reply #593 on: September 01, 2011, 10:54:22 AM »

Jus lock up innocent youth men? you have to be stupid.
In the next thread he calls the police criminals. In this thread random youths are also criminals. You must read his posts , thought provoking stuff.

« Reply #594 on: September 01, 2011, 10:55:04 AM »
Trinidad rell facking joky eh boi.. This facking man call robocup aint have no facking job and living life dat big? I wonder if he paying taxes? TNT rell joky boi.. dont worry di jammet guh tek he bail and he guh touch road again and nuff indian guh start get Kidnapp... Trinidad rell joky boi.. But on a real tip I better tek dung Obama Picture from mi house before Immigration pay mi a visit eh.. I mean I eh have no X on it but a have a picture with him holding a bat and biting he tounge dey might see dat as dangerous though..

« Reply #595 on: September 01, 2011, 11:02:50 AM »
Wha wrong with allyuh?  Isn't it a good thing that the man geh hold?  Yet, people talking about planting evidence this and that, casting aspersions for no reason. Saying, thing sound like a fairy tale with pics etc.  schueps.  When they come with M1 and start blasting that's not a fairly tale though?  A crook get hold be glad nah.  scheups. 
Absolutely yes it is good that he was arrested. But this wasn't the same guy who was openly supporting protests with squatters  a few months back. That was a different Robocop ?

« Reply #596 on: September 01, 2011, 12:09:06 PM »
One would have thought that they would have determined who the apartment belonged to BEFORE the raid.

« Reply #597 on: September 01, 2011, 12:17:41 PM »
Absolutely yes it is good that he was arrested. But this wasn't the same guy who was openly supporting protests with squatters  a few months back. That was a different Robocop ?

I don't know if it was but to imply that the police plant the evidence?  Come on man.  If this is a legitimate plot then we should be more pissed at that. 

« Reply #598 on: September 01, 2011, 12:52:04 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/koVog7qAO8g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/koVog7qAO8g</a>

« Reply #599 on: September 01, 2011, 12:54:28 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/koVog7qAO8g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/koVog7qAO8g</a>

BIG TUNEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!