April 29, 2024, 01:42:15 PM

Author Topic: Limited State of Emergency....  (Read 162819 times)

Re: Limited State of Emergency....
« Reply #930 on: September 20, 2011, 05:02:05 AM »
hhhhhhhhhhmmmmmm......dem unions cyar make a note.......dey trying all kinda thing to continue their movement but it eh wukking :thinking:  :thinking:

Ah have a theory but it so crazy it cyar work.......

« Reply #931 on: September 20, 2011, 11:21:17 AM »
The young fella from the Beetham who plays with W Connection and as locked up when the SOE started, is still behind bars.  Interestingly, he used to play for Police as well before joining Connection.  Sometime ago when the Beetham was locked down he was picked up in a similar manner.  When the Police found out he represents them on the de field they surprised.

Also, he has been using football as a way to stay out of trouble and lucky for him the club is keeping his wages for him and will be paid on release......others aren't as lucky.

But say wha, we in a crisis that was averted but still needs 3 monts to avert and ah guess dis comes with the territory............ssssstttteeeeuuuuppppsssss!!!  Jokey 2 x 4 country with jokey 2 x 4 leaders!!

« Reply #932 on: September 20, 2011, 11:49:55 AM »
The young fella from the Beetham who plays with W Connection and as locked up when the SOE started, is still behind bars.  Interestingly, he used to play for Police as well before joining Connection.  Sometime ago when the Beetham was locked down he was picked up in a similar manner.  When the Police found out he represents them on the de field they surprised.

Also, he has been using football as a way to stay out of trouble and lucky for him the club is keeping his wages for him and will be paid on release......others aren't as lucky.

But say wha, we in a crisis that was averted but still needs 3 monts to avert and ah guess dis comes with the territory............ssssstttteeeeuuuuppppsssss!!!  Jokey 2 x 4 country with jokey 2 x 4 leaders!!
We only know about this because he has a story- Played professioal football for W Connection and Police. What if you don't have any accodales at all but you happen to like 3/4 pants and netted vest and live in the Betham.

I don't decry the practicing of profiling altogether as it has its uses. Holding someone indefinitely with no evidence because he matchs a profile is the height of injustice. 

« Reply #933 on: September 20, 2011, 12:03:00 PM »

We only know about this because he has a story- Played professioal football for W Connection and Police. What if you don't have any accodales at all but you happen to like 3/4 pants and netted vest and live in the Betham.

I don't decry the practicing of profiling altogether as it has its uses. Holding someone indefinitely with no evidence because he matchs a profile is the height of injustice.

Do you all know that there is no evidence and he was held simply because he matches a profile?

What does the fact that he is a footballer have to do with anything?

I may have missed something, if there is more to it please share.

« Reply #934 on: September 20, 2011, 12:06:10 PM »
Them guntas better had and start dressing de part.   :devil:

« Reply #935 on: September 20, 2011, 12:10:25 PM »

I don't decry the practice of profiling altogether as it has its uses. Holding someone indefinitely with no evidence because he matches a profile is the height of injustice.

Do you all know that there is no evidence and he was held simply because he matches a profile?

He was arrested on the anti gang legistlation. If you read the law you will see that you can be held for months simply on the opinion of the Police without any substantial evidence.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2011, 02:02:47 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #936 on: September 20, 2011, 12:55:39 PM »

He was arrested on the anti gang legistlation. If you read the law you will see that you can be held for months simply on the opinion of the Police without any substantial evidence.

Doh worry all dem SC on d payroll of d police now d proper charge go b laid. He go need dem WC wages 2 pay a good lawyer.

« Reply #937 on: September 20, 2011, 05:28:23 PM »

like u was talkingv to sherma dey gyul?  :)

« Reply #938 on: September 20, 2011, 05:31:09 PM »

Dinho,  the person who shared the story earlier today on Power 102fm was Shirma Wilson.  She is by and large considered a voice for the people on the Beetham.  She was off the air for two weeks after an apparent attempt to quiet herself and Marcia, but that's another kettle of fish.

She came back on the air today and proceeded to tell the story.  As far as Shirma knows, this guy is not involved in anything nefarious or illegal.  His parents died while he was young and grew up with his grandmother who has since passed.  So its just him and his siblings trying to keep their head above water.  He is using football to keep out of trouble.

According to Shirma, he was held purely because he living in the Beetham.  As I posted before, its not the first time he was held and had to be let go.  And he is not the only one she talked about.  She mentioned another guy who does really good tile work and he too was held simply because he from the Beetham.  These are just two examples of people who were apparently picked up in the early days of the SOE and is still being held

Now Shirma eh present any evidence to show the fella should be set free, but neither has the police.  They didn't have any evidence last time they held him and dey apparently eh have none this time.  She is hoping that the same spirit this guy (the footballer) had to keep himself out of trouble will continue after his release.....her fear is that these fellas who are being held for no apparent reason don't get frustrated to the point where we'll need a next SOE to solve a REAL crisis down the road....

« Reply #939 on: September 21, 2011, 08:59:31 AM »
brown - again, remember the anti-gang law is that u could hold someone for a long time without formally charging them. Hence no evidence may be forthcoming now.

At the end of the day, it dont matter if is Norway or Nicaragua, any SOE will have problems because of the potential abuse of power.
Whether is UNC of PNM or NJAC, there will be stories of young black men being rounded up unfairly, because the truth of the matter that most of the people involved in nefarious activities in Trinidad are young black males who live in these communities.

I am 100% sure that there are innocent people locked up as we speak, but I am also 100% sure that the majority of people being held are involved in criminality.
The key is to mitigate against the innocents. Stuff like this aint clear cut and precise, there is no book on how to do this correctly. Thats why you need presidential approval to institute this, and special majority to keep it going.
The real tragedy is the fact that we have to resort to this state of affairs....
Its like the terrorists - because of what they did on 9-11, every one of us feel it now when we want to travel internationally. Because of this, it now harder for me to carry pastelles back to the US when I visit Trinidad, and it harder for potential students to get an F1 Visa. The real tragedy lies in what the terrorists did, not the US Dept of HS....
Lets not forget that.

« Reply #940 on: September 21, 2011, 02:30:32 PM »
You know whats funny...all these threats that going on since the SOE started...oh what go happen...yuh frustrating all these fellas...when they come out they will do something etc. etc.

You know what...if they come out and do something....

They will be shot and killed...blown away by the police and army or arrested for "doing something"

Let them try, if there is another coup it won't end up the same way with Abu Bakr...there will be no winners.

« Reply #941 on: September 21, 2011, 02:39:15 PM »
Plain Talk  :beermug:  You know how much innocent people get kill and robbed by bandits.  This is what we want.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JqowmHgxVJQ

« Reply #942 on: September 21, 2011, 02:45:59 PM »
You know whats funny...all these threats that going on since the SOE started...oh what go happen...yuh frustrating all these fellas...when they come out they will do something etc. etc.

You know what...if they come out and do something....

They will be shot and killed...blown away by the police and army or arrested for "doing something"

Let them try, if there is another coup it won't end up the same way with Abu Bakr...there will be no winners.

your right

any attempted coup will be met with excessive force, unlike the previous coup, the chief instigators will not walk out of it alive

different set of people the criminals are dealing with

all the threats ain't going nowhere, let the criminals try their hand, they will be surprised at the end result if they around to see it

« Reply #943 on: September 21, 2011, 03:01:46 PM »

Dinho,  the person who shared the story earlier today on Power 102fm was Shirma Wilson.  She is by and large considered a voice for the people on the Beetham.  She was off the air for two weeks after an apparent attempt to quiet herself and Marcia, but that's another kettle of fish.

She came back on the air today and proceeded to tell the story.  As far as Shirma knows, this guy is not involved in anything nefarious or illegal.  His parents died while he was young and grew up with his grandmother who has since passed.  So its just him and his siblings trying to keep their head above water.  He is using football to keep out of trouble.

According to Shirma, he was held purely because he living in the Beetham.  As I posted before, its not the first time he was held and had to be let go.  And he is not the only one she talked about.  She mentioned another guy who does really good tile work and he too was held simply because he from the Beetham.  These are just two examples of people who were apparently picked up in the early days of the SOE and is still being held

Now Shirma eh present any evidence to show the fella should be set free, but neither has the police.  They didn't have any evidence last time they held him and dey apparently eh have none this time.  She is hoping that the same spirit this guy (the footballer) had to keep himself out of trouble will continue after his release.....her fear is that these fellas who are being held for no apparent reason don't get frustrated to the point where we'll need a next SOE to solve a REAL crisis down the road....

there will always be issues with a SOE, but it is serving a greater purpose, innocent people can walk out of their homes and feel a little safer because of it.

it had an individual in the local media speaking of a bar close to him, where he would never see any ladies liming because of the crime, the last 2 weeks, more women have been liming and socializing , it may be a joke to some, but it is an indicator that women are feeling safer to venture out, this being one example

all the badjohn talk people coming with on this board, 95% of them don't live in the most dangerous areas of trinidad.

my family has lived behind the bridge, EDR, piccadilly street, a stone's throw from besson st police station, across the street from nelson, duncan and prince street, in the middle of it for decades upon decades and we know the situation, despite the fact we have felt at home there, 95% of the nation are not used to that level of violence, it has now spread throughout the nation and it needs to be addressed, this may be the start that is needed.

so when people bash the government about the SOE, i understand its not perfect but it is about time we start to address the crime situation, because a lot of people just talk and never state what area they hail from, because they really and truly don't know the state of the nation.

« Reply #944 on: September 21, 2011, 03:25:10 PM »
He shoulda never leave police and join connection!!!

« Reply #945 on: September 21, 2011, 03:26:35 PM »
hhhhhhhhhhmmmmmm......dem unions cyar make a note.......dey trying all kinda thing to continue their movement but it eh wukking :thinking:  :thinking:

Yep. They only had testicles when Patos was around.

« Reply #946 on: September 21, 2011, 07:25:33 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Vh-K5kpPd74" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Vh-K5kpPd74</a>

« Reply #947 on: September 21, 2011, 08:41:41 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Vh-K5kpPd74" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Vh-K5kpPd74</a>

after bake and shark hear the song, he will no longer be a crazy fan

add weary, brownsugar, bitter and a whole host of others to that list as well  :D

oh yea and socapro 8)
« Last Edit: September 21, 2011, 08:46:44 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #948 on: September 21, 2011, 10:39:06 PM »
Nah Nah!!! Simple minded Crazy!!! smh   I tired of all this propaganda.   :devil:

« Reply #949 on: September 21, 2011, 11:01:16 PM »

Hmmm, someone else on the govt payroll? I still trying to figure how calling an SOE is a sign of good, strong governance. Its like saying you're a hero if you're driving drunk, crash into an innocent motorist and call an ambulance. Any prime minister, past or present, can call an SOE. Smart governance would mean you don't need to resort to this situation. 

« Reply #950 on: September 21, 2011, 11:12:44 PM »
So I have one simple question to ask....after the SOE how do they plan to stop crime?

« Reply #951 on: September 21, 2011, 11:18:38 PM »
So I have one simple question to ask....after the SOE how do they plan to stop crime?

Haven't you heard? After the SOE, Kamla is going to make all crime ILLEGAL  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #952 on: September 21, 2011, 11:21:48 PM »

add weary, brownsugar, bitter and a whole host of others to that list as well  :D

oh yea and socapro 8)

Crazy is family... why would I stop being a fan?  Because he sing ah shit song and make yuh wood get hard?

Hmmm, someone else on the govt payroll? I still trying to figure how calling an SOE is a sign of good, strong governance. Its like saying you're a hero if you're driving drunk, crash into an innocent motorist and call an ambulance. Any prime minister, past or present, can call an SOE. Smart governance would mean you don't need to resort to this situation. 

I am astounded by the 180...  :D
« Last Edit: September 21, 2011, 11:23:22 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #953 on: September 21, 2011, 11:36:38 PM »
 :rotfl:   This site to sweat yes. 

« Reply #954 on: September 21, 2011, 11:41:11 PM »

oh yea and socapro 8)

Crazy is family... why would I stop being a fan?  Because he sing ah shit song and make yuh wood get hard?

I am astounded by the 180...  :D

Hmmm, now you got me thinking.....did I ever say the SOE was a great political decision? I believe I felt a short term SOE may help curb crime if it was targeted correctly and had a well considered end game, but I'm sure I alsways stated that it was knee jerk and the sign of a desperate govt out of ideas???

« Reply #955 on: September 22, 2011, 12:51:42 AM »
Hmmm, now you got me thinking.....did I ever say the SOE was a great political decision? I believe I felt a short term SOE may help curb crime if it was targeted correctly and had a well considered end game, but I'm sure I alsways stated that it was knee jerk and the sign of a desperate govt out of ideas???

I just remember you supporting it at first... with yuh ends justifies the means talk.  Could be that I misread the extent to which yuh supported it.

« Reply #956 on: September 22, 2011, 03:10:18 AM »
Plain Talk  :beermug:  You know how much innocent people get kill and robbed by bandits.  This is what we want.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JqowmHgxVJQ
No matter what the extent of the crime situation, justice "MUST" prevail! like the old ppl used to say, "two wrongs doh make ah right".

if the law enforcement agencies of the land is allowed to violate ppl's civil rights in order to achieve an equalizer, then the system has failed the country and the masses in the most despicable way!

this is not street justice my friend, rather it's ah sovereign society we talkin bout. they must follow the letter of the law, or else they will be no better than the civilian violators.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2011, 03:15:12 AM by just cool »

« Reply #957 on: September 22, 2011, 04:56:08 AM »

Yep. They only had testicles when Patos was around.

Oh right.....and calling a SOE to shut them up is a sign of uuuuuummmm.......a really big.........uuuuuummm......saltfish??

But this is only a theory eh.....and it real crazy and out there.....so doh pay much attention to it.....

« Reply #958 on: September 22, 2011, 04:59:15 AM »

oh yea and socapro 8)

Boss, I glad I on the opposite side to you on this issue......is a good place to be.....

« Reply #959 on: September 22, 2011, 05:00:56 AM »

I just remember you supporting it at first... with yuh ends justifies the means talk.  Could be that I misread the extent to which yuh supported it.

Yeah Bakes, I too thought his initial response was kinda in favour of it but in subsequent posts it became clearer that FS didn't think it was that great an idea.......