March 28, 2024, 03:49:03 AM

Author Topic: Birchall, Hyland called up to T&T squad  (Read 21577 times)

Birchall, Hyland called up to T&T squad
« on: August 23, 2011, 11:50:29 PM »
By Ian Prescott (Express)

Story Created: Aug 24, 2011 at 12:45 AM ECT

Story Updated: Aug 24, 2011 at 12:45 AM ECT

UNITED STATES-based Chris Birchall and Belgium-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland are among 11 foreign-based footballers called up by Trinidad and Tobago's German head coach Otto Pfister for back-to-back 2014 World Cup qualifiers.

T&T host Bermuda on September 2, before travelling to Barbados for another qualifier five days later.

The first of the foreign-based players will begin to arrive in Trinidad on Sunday.

Trinidad and Tobago will be captained by Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones. Also called up is England-born York City midfielder Andre Boucard, who has six caps for T&T and last played against Iceland just prior to the 2006 World Cup finals.

Joining the national team is another Englishman, 22-year-old Jake Thompson, who is now playing minor league football with Kettering Town.

Veteran utility player Carlos Edwards, defender Ronald Primus, Lester "Corn Curls" Peltier, Keon Daniel, Julius James and Clyde Leon make up the rest of the foreign-based professionals.

England-born defender JLloyd Samuel has asked to be excused for Trinidad and Tobago's first two matches as he is currently in the process of securing a new club.

Following his team's 3-0 win over India in a friendly on Sunday, head coach Pfister was confident of having a strong team to face Bermuda.

"Next week we have a player camp and we work together," Pfister said on Sunday. "I now know who of the local boys I can use and who I cannot use. Football is a very easy game. I will collect the overseas players and we make two, three, four training sessions and we are ready for the next game."

And striker Stern John thinks that Trinidad and Tobago will be better prepared for Bermuda, who scored a shock 2-1 road victory over the Soca Warriors to start the 2010 World Cup qualifying campaign. T&T advanced when winning the away leg 2-0 in Bermuda.

"I think the last time our team was not as strong as (the one) we have right now," said John. "We went into that game a bit over confident, a bit cocky, and we were defeated in Trinidad. We went to Bermuda and we had to grind out a result. And that is what football is about."

T&T FOREIGN-BASED PLAYERS CALLED UP:

Kenwyne Jones (Captain), Carlos Edwards, Andre Boucard, Khaleem Hyland, Chris Birchall, Jake Thompson, Ronald Primus, Lester Peltier, Keon Daniel, Julius James, Clyde Leon.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2011, 05:57:32 AM by Flex »

Re: Birchall, Hyland called up to T&T squad
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2011, 11:55:02 PM »
No Scotland or Sealy.

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2011, 12:11:27 AM »
No Scotland or Sealy.

You surprised?

In truth and in fact, the team could pick itself from the time Pfister decided he going with a majority foreign based. Certain posters on here keep going on about the wealth of talent we have, but aside from the possible debate that you could have about bringing back man who in the conference - I would give Thompson the bligh because ah he age (btw, what the jail going on with Silvio Spann?) is a set ah USL men yuh left with aside from the two you mention.

I thought Kerry Baptiste woulda get a bligh though

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2011, 12:28:58 AM »
BIRCHALL!!! BOOM!

« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2011, 01:19:21 AM »
Now yuh talking. This makes me feel better. Now if they could get some good practice time together we might be able to give ourselves a fighting chance to get out of this group.

Concerns:
Don't know how best to use Jones in a T&T side. Keon Daniel and Carlos Edwards will have to be feeding him some good balls in the box.

Who will play left back?

Creative Mid?

This should be good.

DR/Peltier              Stern/Jones

Daniel           Hyland/Hector          Birch           Jake         

Power        Primus        Julius           Edwards

Phillips

« Last Edit: August 24, 2011, 01:23:36 AM by Cocorite »

« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2011, 01:51:51 AM »
Phillip

Thompson
Primus
James
Power

Daniel
Hyland
Roberts
Birchall
Edwards

Jones

« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2011, 02:04:01 AM »
    Phillip

Thompson
    Primus
    James
    Power

Daniel
    Hyland
    Roberts
    Birchall
    Edwards

Jones

Peong, yuh aint hear the man say de wokkin 4-3-3

[/list]

« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2011, 02:21:38 AM »
                          Philips

Edwards     Primus    James     Power

Thompson       Birchall             Daniel
                                      Hyland   

Roberts 
                     KJ

**Lloyd not there so Carlos have to hold**

Tinto for Thompson
    Peltier for Daniel
    Clyde Leon for Birchall
    Stern for KJ

« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2011, 04:52:09 AM »
    Birchall, Hyland called up to T&T squad.
    By Ian Prescott (Express).

T&T foreign-based players called up:

Kenwyne Jones (captain), Carlos Edwards, Andre Boucard, Khaleem Hyland, Christopher Birchall, Jake Thompson, Robert Primus, Lester Peltier, Keon Daniel, Julius James, Clyde Leon.

these batch of players can get us to brazil .???.
    « Last Edit: August 24, 2011, 08:40:12 AM by Trini _2014 »

« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2011, 04:57:15 AM »
    thompson and birchall :beermug:

« Reply #10 on: August 24, 2011, 05:20:48 AM »
    On Paper, this is a bomb squad no doubt.... The intention perhaps is to give Bermuda about 6, and bring our confidence back ?..... but then again, remember what happen the last time we play Bermuda. :thinking:

« Reply #11 on: August 24, 2011, 05:32:16 AM »
    Allyuh see a team on paper and already predict we giving a team six ? allyuh good yes it really have paper coaches here yes.
    this same team get 4 from Costa Rica so lets wait and see nah!

« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2011, 05:36:26 AM »
    No Scotland or Sealy.

And rightfully so !!!!.... Sealy and Scotland are not international players or maybe not yet.

These are some good players de TTFF called, now lets hope de TTFF get they airline tickets together this time, we dont want another Jlloyd Samuel or Kevin Molino incident to happen.

Ngozi, good point, them men done celebrating, like they forget Bermuba buss we ass last time too and we nearly eh beat them in de return.
    « Last Edit: August 24, 2011, 05:50:21 AM by Sam »

« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2011, 06:04:33 AM »

UNITED STATES-based Chris Birchall and Belgium-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland are among 11 foreign-based footballers called up by Trinidad and Tobago's German head coach Otto Pfister for back-to-back 2014 World Cup qualifiers.

T&T host Bermuda on September 2, before travelling to Barbados for another qualifier five days later.

The first of the foreign-based players will begin to arrive in Trinidad on Sunday.

Trinidad and Tobago will be captained by Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones. Also called up is England-born York City midfielder Andre Boucard, who has six caps for T&T and last played against Iceland just prior to the 2006 World Cup finals.

Joining the national team is another Englishman, 22-year-old Jake Thompson, who is now playing minor league football with Kettering Town.

Veteran utility player Carlos Edwards, defender Ronald Primus, Lester "Corn Curls" Peltier, Keon Daniel, Julius James and Clyde Leon make up the rest of the foreign-based professionals.

England-born defender JLloyd Samuel has asked to be excused for Trinidad and Tobago's first two matches as he is currently in the process of securing a new club.

Following his team's 3-0 win over India in a friendly on Sunday, head coach Pfister was confident of having a strong team to face Bermuda.

"Next week we have a player camp and we work together," Pfister said on Sunday. "I now know who of the local boys I can use and who I cannot use. Football is a very easy game. I will collect the overseas players and we make two, three, four training sessions and we are ready for the next game."

And striker Stern John thinks that Trinidad and Tobago will be better prepared for Bermuda, who scored a shock 2-1 road victory over the Soca Warriors to start the 2010 World Cup qualifying campaign. T&T advanced when winning the away leg 2-0 in Bermuda.

"I think the last time our team was not as strong as (the one) we have right now," said John. "We went into that game a bit over confident, a bit cocky, and we were defeated in Trinidad. We went to Bermuda and we had to grind out a result. And that is what football is about."

Kenwyne Jones (Captain), Carlos Edwards, Andre Boucard, Khaleem Hyland, Chris Birchall, Jake Thompson, Ronald Primus, Lester Peltier, Keon Daniel, Julius James, Clyde Leon.

What school Ian Prescott went to allyuh, meh eh no scientist eh, but them names he spell they wrong and this printed on national newspapers, no wonder people in Penal and Toco does still wipe they ass with guardian paper...... this man getting paid allyuh... ?

Who de hell is, JLloyd (should be Jlloyd), Jake Thompson (should be Jake Thomson), Ronald Primus (should be Robert Primus).

Ronald Primus retire now, he robbing people in San Juan market....
    « Last Edit: August 24, 2011, 06:12:31 AM by Sam »

« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2011, 06:09:07 AM »
    Can't wait to see my team in action next Friday...

State of Emergency cutarse for Bermuda.

Birchall alone is the difference.

« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2011, 06:09:42 AM »

Why?

Offline saint27

« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2011, 06:10:24 AM »
    On Paper, this is a bomb squad no doubt.... The intention perhaps is to give Bermuda about 6, and bring our confidence back ?..... but then again, remember what happen the last time we play Bermuda. :thinking:
    Bomb squad ?.....what foolishness u talking with the exception of Jones hyland and Carlos (maybe) none of these players playing proper high quality football......so don't say bomb squad when it is average by Caribbean standards
    And no where near the quality of the top 4 in concacaf

« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2011, 06:14:15 AM »

Why?

Good one Tallman..  :devil:

« Reply #18 on: August 24, 2011, 06:16:47 AM »
    I thought JLLoyd born in Sando.

« Reply #19 on: August 24, 2011, 06:23:04 AM »
    Bomb squad ?.....what foolishness u talking with the exception of Jones hyland and Carlos (maybe) none of these players playing proper high quality football......so don't say bomb squad when it is average by Caribbean standards
    And no where near the quality of the top 4 in concacaf
            :thumbsup: once who we like on the team it's a bomb squad,what we have to do though is to bomb some of these teams.

« Reply #20 on: August 24, 2011, 06:24:58 AM »
    You know what is good about this squad.....it is our best squad on paper. No if only so and so was on the side etc.

No wondering what coulda happen or what shoulda been.

We winning or losing with the best available talent we have...no excuses, time to perform.

« Reply #21 on: August 24, 2011, 06:45:37 AM »
    I like when the forum is in this mode,there had been so much negatives for so long it's nice to breed some fresh air again,although i know it may not last too long,i'll just enjoy it for as long as it lasts.Having said that i would like to take the opportunity to give the supporting technical staff some credit for what's going on so far in our preparation,Pfitser might be the main man but the supporting cast plays an important role (Corneal,Barber,George),some how it seems only when we don't get what we want their names are called.

« Reply #22 on: August 24, 2011, 06:58:53 AM »
    You know what is good about this squad.....it is our best squad on paper. No if only so and so was on the side etc.

We winning or losing with the best available talent we have...no excuses, time to perform.

Bess post...we about to see where we stand.

Offline saint27

« Reply #23 on: August 24, 2011, 06:59:23 AM »

Shouldn't be a problem in that first round ..... But we need to be as good as we have ever been in that next round ......u see that Mexico side ....not easy at all ....they have so much quality ...especially in those two youth teams that now play in those world cups . Time for jones to step up

« Reply #24 on: August 24, 2011, 07:00:11 AM »

What school Ian Prescott went to allyuh, meh eh no scientist eh, but them names he spell they wrong and this printed on national newspapers, no wonder people in Penal and Toco does still wipe they ass with guardian paper...... this man getting paid allyuh... ?

Who de hell is, JLloyd (should be Jlloyd), Jake Thompson (should be Jake Thomson), Ronald Primus (should be Robert Primus).

I nearly choke to death early in the morning... :D

« Reply #25 on: August 24, 2011, 08:09:51 AM »

And England-born Jlloyd Samuel, as far as I know he was born in San Fernando, Trinidad & Tobago. Correct me if I'm wrong.

« Reply #26 on: August 24, 2011, 08:17:34 AM »

And England-born Jlloyd Samuel, as far as I know he was born in San Fernando, Trinidad & Tobago. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Sando born  UK bred

« Reply #27 on: August 24, 2011, 08:41:59 AM »

Shouldn't be a problem in that first round ..... But we need to be as good as we have ever been in that next round ......u see that Mexico side ....not easy at all ....they have so much quality ...especially in those two youth teams that now play in those world cups . Time for jones to step up

next round the players who otto when in England to scout may  join ....

« Reply #28 on: August 24, 2011, 09:22:15 AM »
    Molino had a good USL season should have been on the squad.Warner would have push Phillip

« Reply #29 on: August 24, 2011, 09:28:31 AM »

Why?

Just because he good at bobolising Caribbean minnows. I was going to say it, then I thought somebody would figure I trying to knock the man. The problem is I have no clue what he up to right now. USL?