April 30, 2024, 01:24:23 PM

Author Topic: Thread for for the 2011 World Championships  (Read 62339 times)

Offline Aviator

Re: Thread for for the 2011 World Championships
« Reply #330 on: September 01, 2011, 09:09:39 PM »
Sorrillo's heat

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/GqjVO4wm2B8&amp;feature=channel_video_title" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/GqjVO4wm2B8&amp;feature=channel_video_title</a>
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #331 on: September 01, 2011, 09:22:22 PM »
cant watch now. how Sorillo run ?

Sorrillo ran well, and lead his heat from gun to tape and cruised in the last 35m for the win. :beermug: Callendar on the other hand layed an egg, coming last in his heat. :-X

If there was such a race as a 100m run around a bend then Callendar would be a potential medallist in all those races!

His best role is running the 3rd leg of a 4 x 100m relay! Anything else and you're asking for  regular disappointment!

« Reply #332 on: September 01, 2011, 09:22:49 PM »
Good run Sorillo. I feel like if he runclose to his PB in the semi final he will make the final. Correct me if am wrong but is he not also from Tobago ?

« Reply #333 on: September 01, 2011, 09:30:03 PM »
Good run Sorillo. I feel like if he runclose to his PB in the semi final he will make the final. Correct me if am wrong but is he not also from Tobago ?

Wrong as usual! Go here for a bit of his bio: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rondell_Sorrillo

« Reply #334 on: September 01, 2011, 09:45:58 PM »

Wrong as usual! Go here for a bit of his bio: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rondell_Sorrillo

wrong as usual ?  :rotfl:  i am asking a question young grasshopper. since you know who competed at the  national champs, did sorillo compete at the national champs? cause he dont look affected with the tired-ness you campaigning about.. :D
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 09:59:10 PM by AirMan »

« Reply #335 on: September 01, 2011, 10:19:53 PM »

wrong as usual ?  :rotfl:  i am asking a question young grasshopper. since you know who competed at the  national champs, did sorillo compete at the national champs? cause he dont look affected with the tired-ness you campaigning about.. :D

Didn't you say correct me if am wrong? So I corrected you!!
You are not an average idiot, are you?! Where did I argue about tiredness?! Show me the quote! Plus its only the 1st round anyway and as I said in a previous post, running at National Trials so close to Worlds will not negatively affect all the athletes but it will negatively affect some or most!
If anything is suffering from tiredness it is your brain! At any rate peaking for a major championship & tiredness are two different things entirely but I don't expect you to understand that and won’t waste my time trying to explain.

I think you should throw in the towel now and save embarrassing yourself again for the umpteenth time!!
Oh $hit, it’s too late, my bad!!  :-X
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 10:55:55 PM by Socapro »

Offline Trini1

« Reply #336 on: September 02, 2011, 03:12:01 AM »
Airman I don't think Rondell would be as tired because he's had more time to ready himself physically and mentally than those who ran the 100m plus the 200m in Trinidad is a sure win for him and is no where near as competitive as the 100m so he actually shut it down with about 20/30m to go at our national champs. I would love for Richard/marc/keston to hop in and give him a good run for his money. It would help them.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #337 on: September 02, 2011, 05:10:38 AM »
Let we say a quick pray for Sorrillo. The last semi is about to to be run and he is sitting on the bubble right now as the slowest of the two fastest losers that qualify.

« Reply #338 on: September 02, 2011, 05:16:16 AM »
Sorillo made it as fasted loser

Offline Aviator

« Reply #339 on: September 02, 2011, 05:19:15 AM »
Heat 2
02 September 2011 - 20:03
Wind: -1.0 m/s
Position    Lane    Bib    Athlete    Country    Mark       React
1    6    588    Usain Bolt    JAM    20.31 Q       0.207
2    4    801    Jaysuma Saidy Ndure    NOR    20.50 Q       0.143
3    5    198    Bruno de Barros    BRA    20.54 q       0.167
4    3    1015    Rondel Sorrillo    TRI    20.56 q       0.137 :beermug:
5    7    1110    Darvis Patton    USA    20.72       0.170
6    2    629    Hitoshi Saito    JPN    21.17       0.146
7    8    967    Reto Schenkel    SUI    21.18       0.176
   1    783    Churandy Martina    NED    DNS       

Now run yuh magga heart out now boi.

« Reply #340 on: September 02, 2011, 05:19:31 AM »
Congrats to Sorillo for making his first major final!!

Offline STMB

« Reply #341 on: September 02, 2011, 05:31:04 AM »
He stumbled out of the blocks. He will have to run his best (PB) to show in the finals.
Good luck Sorillo

Offline Aviator

« Reply #342 on: September 02, 2011, 05:43:40 AM »
Sorrillo's Semi-final

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/-kkVptRYhTE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/-kkVptRYhTE</a>

Offline Aviator

« Reply #343 on: September 02, 2011, 05:49:39 AM »
Well Sorrillo has gotten the lane of death.

200 Metres - M   Final
WR 19.19 Bolt Usain (JAM) - Berlin, 20/08/2009
03 September 2011 - 21:20
Lane    Bib    Athlete    Country    2011    PB
1    1015    Rondel Sorrillo    [trINIDAD AND TOBAGO] TRI    20.16    20.16
2    198    Bruno de Barros    [BRAZIL] BRA    20.16    20.16
3    588    Usain Bolt    [JAMAICA] JAM    19.86    19.19
4    1073    Walter Dix    [UNITED STATES] USA    20.02    19.69
5    585    Nickel Ashmeade    [JAMAICA] JAM    19.95    19.95
6    413    Christophe Lemaitre    [FRANCE] FRA    20.17    20.16
7    813    Alonso Edward    [PANAMA] PAN    20.28    19.81
8    801    Jaysuma Saidy Ndure    [NORWAY] NOR    20.26    19.89

Offline Aviator

« Reply #344 on: September 02, 2011, 06:05:40 AM »
Well done Veronica Campbell-Brown on your first ever 200m WC Gold. Who on here was doubting me????

Offline Trini1

« Reply #345 on: September 02, 2011, 07:10:22 AM »
I did... I think the difference was Veronica had the 200m championship experience unlike jeets. Jeets tied up whereas Veronica just maintained through the line. Jeets could have caused the upset but she pressed but Congrats to Vcb on that championship gold finally.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2011, 07:26:17 AM by Trini1 »

« Reply #346 on: September 02, 2011, 07:52:36 AM »
T&F aficionados, where and when this year did Rondell run his PB?  Was it a one off or were there rounds at the meet?

« Reply #347 on: September 02, 2011, 08:04:02 AM »
T&F aficionados, where and when this year did Rondell run his PB?  Was it a one off or were there rounds at the meet?

This news item will answer your questions!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/mDEPsYRxWOA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/mDEPsYRxWOA</a>

« Reply #348 on: September 02, 2011, 08:18:40 AM »

There were rounds, but it was in Trinidad with our "top class" timing system.

I feel if kellyann did come here for our trials, she woulda run 10.6x

« Reply #349 on: September 02, 2011, 08:43:33 AM »

There were rounds, but it was in Trinidad with our "top class" timing system.

I feel if kellyann did come here for our trials, she woulda run 10.6x

New Hasley Crawford Stadium Track:

I believe we now have a faster than usual track at home (the new track just laid) so once our athletes get a favourable wind, coupled with the home crowd support and good home cooking before they compete then they are likely to run near to or surpass their season and personal bests at home!
That doesn't mean the electronic timing equipment is faulty! HCS now simply has one of the faster tracks around the world that an athlete can run on.

Daegu Stadium Track:

The track at Daegu Korea is supposed to be fast but because of the stadium design the winds are hardly ever favourable for athletes competing in both the 100m & 200m events!

This is bared out by the times run by all the top sprinters in the 100m & 200m races so far in Daegu!
Very few have run their season's or personal bests and the ones who have done so always have a decent favourable wind!

Summary:

Considering the above, it’s not easy for the T&T athletes to reproduce the times they produced at home (at the T&T National Trials a few weeks ago) at the stadium in Daegu as the conditions are different but this doesn’t mean that all the electronic times recorded at home are incorrect!

Halsely Crawford Stadium now simply has one of the fastest tracks around so once wind conditions are right and athletes are in top shape then records can regularly be broken at home!
« Last Edit: September 02, 2011, 09:36:22 AM by Socapro »

Offline Trini1

« Reply #350 on: September 02, 2011, 08:58:43 AM »
Absolutely hate the winds in Daegu- they're killing the times!

« Reply #351 on: September 02, 2011, 09:00:31 AM »
Congrats to Rondell. Go for it !!!!!!

« Reply #352 on: September 02, 2011, 10:39:34 AM »
Round of applause for Sorillo for gong out and making final for his country. I wanted Felix or Jeter to win the 200 but this was not their year

« Reply #353 on: September 02, 2011, 11:04:56 AM »
Round of applause for Sorillo for gong out and making final for his country. I wanted Felix or Jeter to win the 200 but this was not their year

Wha de arse?

Anyway.

Congrats Veronica Campbell Brown!!!!! She ran her arse off.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=Zmoda4m5yvI

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Zmoda4m5yvI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Zmoda4m5yvI</a>
[/quote]
« Last Edit: September 02, 2011, 11:18:40 AM by Toppa »

« Reply #354 on: September 02, 2011, 11:15:43 AM »
Rondell Sorrillo (born 24 January 1986 in La Brea, Siparia) is a Trinidad and Tobago sprinter, who specializes in the 200 meters.  From Wiki. They have to decide where he from. La Brea(on the west  coast) is some ways from Siparia(inland and east of LaBrea). So wha happen, everything must be from Tobago, now. Give South a bligh nah. I on kix!!!!!

« Reply #355 on: September 02, 2011, 12:01:51 PM »
How many gold medals does America have now ? I know they won another yesterday with the 400 hurdles. I think Britain is not doing bad either

« Reply #356 on: September 02, 2011, 12:08:56 PM »
Thanks  :beermug:

Offline STMB

« Reply #357 on: September 02, 2011, 12:57:27 PM »
How many gold medals does America have now ? I know they won another yesterday with the 400 hurdles. I think Britain is not doing bad either

MEDAL TABLE
http://daegu2011.iaaf.org/ResultsMedalTable.aspx

« Reply #358 on: September 02, 2011, 01:28:33 PM »
If you take the Caribbean region as a whole, we're not doing too bad at all on the medal count. We might be third overall.

« Reply #359 on: September 02, 2011, 02:58:54 PM »

Demus wins Gold again !..Americans taking advantage

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/iAPiz8wTDiE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/iAPiz8wTDiE</a>

really happy for her. I read from another site that she from the ghetto of ingerwood, California.