April 30, 2024, 10:12:32 AM

Author Topic: Thread for for the 2011 World Championships  (Read 62312 times)

Re: Thread for for the 2011 World Championships
« Reply #360 on: September 02, 2011, 03:36:26 PM »
Round of applause for Sorillo for gong out and making final for his country. I wanted Felix or Jeter to win the 200 but this was not their year

Wha de arse?

Anyway.

Congrats Veronica Campbell Brown!!!!! She ran her arse off.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=Zmoda4m5yvI

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Zmoda4m5yvI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Zmoda4m5yvI</a>
[/quote]

And that is a lot of 'arse'!

« Reply #361 on: September 02, 2011, 03:49:13 PM »
How many gold medals does America have now ? I know they won another yesterday with the 400 hurdles. I think Britain is not doing bad either

MEDAL TABLE
http://daegu2011.iaaf.org/ResultsMedalTable.aspx

RUSSIA HAS FIVE GOLD MEDALS...whoa !

Offline STMB

« Reply #362 on: September 02, 2011, 04:30:48 PM »
How many gold medals does America have now ? I know they won another yesterday with the 400 hurdles. I think Britain is not doing bad either

MEDAL TABLE

Click on the "plus" sign in the box after the country name to expand and see what events they won those medals in:
20k Walk (M), 20k Walk (W), 3000m Steeplechase (W), Heptathlon (W), Javelin (W)

« Reply #363 on: September 02, 2011, 04:45:16 PM »

MEDAL TABLE
. I know what events they are successful at..they have been especially good at field

Click on the "plus" sign in the box after the country name to expand and see what events they won those medals in:

I know..and I wish TnT had top contenders in those events. Track and field is not just about sprinting

Offline STMB

« Reply #364 on: September 02, 2011, 05:31:02 PM »

MEDAL TABLE
. I know what events they are successful at..they have been especially good at field

I know..and I wish TnT had top contenders in those events. Track and field is not just about sprinting

Ah know ah madman in the Croisee (Quayzay) in San Juan who could walk faster than all ah dem

« Reply #365 on: September 02, 2011, 10:04:56 PM »
Men's 4X400m Relay Final Daegu 2011

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/7IsJ9fg8TUs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/7IsJ9fg8TUs</a>

Jamaica throw away their gold medal on the last leg!
If I was Jamaican I would be raving mad right now with their anchor man!!   >:(

Hear Oral Tracy's sports commentary on the performance of the JA's 4 x 400m relay anchor man!

http://www.televisionjamaica.com/Programmes/SportsCommentary.aspx/Videos/12094
« Last Edit: September 03, 2011, 11:58:41 AM by Socapro »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #366 on: September 03, 2011, 06:41:35 AM »
Sorrillo was 7th and last in 20.34, but he ran his heart out. Not much one can do from lane 1 in the deuce.

Bolt trumps them all in 19.40. Fourth fastest time ever.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #367 on: September 03, 2011, 07:03:32 AM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/7IsJ9fg8TUs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/7IsJ9fg8TUs</a>

Here Oral Tracy's sports commentary on the performance of the JA's 4 x 400m relay anchor man!

no throw away there  he ran a smart race but that american lashawn merritt was just to strong ....

« Reply #368 on: September 03, 2011, 07:31:45 AM »
Sorrillo was 7th and last in 20.34, but he ran his heart out. Not much one can do from lane 1 in the deuce.

yeah but when last a trini made the 200 final?  sorrillo times improved throughout each round.  i am real proud of sorrillo.  true the 200 is not very competitive but he made finals unlike the past where we still couldnt make the final or even semifinals when it was not competitive.

« Reply #369 on: September 03, 2011, 10:02:34 AM »

Here Oral Tracy's sports commentary on the performance of the JA's 4 x 400m relay anchor man!

no throw away there  he ran a smart race but that american lashawn merritt was just to strong ....

cosign

« Reply #370 on: September 03, 2011, 01:07:41 PM »

Video of race!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/rLtyFP9EN5k" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/rLtyFP9EN5k</a>

200 Metres - M FINAL (RESULTS)
Daegu 03 September 2011 - 21:20 Wind: 0.8 m/s

Position   Lane   Bib   Athlete   Country   Mark      React
1   3   588   Usain Bolt  JAM 19.40    (WL)   0.193
2   4   1073   Walter Dix  USA 19.70    (SB)   0.161
3   6   413   Christophe Lemaitre  FRA 19.80    (NR)   0.160
4   8   801   Jaysuma Saidy Ndure  NOR 19.95    (SB)   0.164
5   5   585   Nickel Ashmeade  JAM 20.29       0.136
6   2   198   Bruno de Barros  BRA 20.31       0.158
7   1   1015   Rondel Sorrillo  TRI 20.34       0.122
     7   813   Alonso Edward  PAN DNF      0.188

Sorrillo may need to put on some more muscle if he wants to improve and make the Olympics 200m final next year!

In fact both Rondel & Richard need to hit the weights gym to put on some more muscle between now and next year! They both need to generate more power in their races to run consistently faster and start being regular medal contenders in their specialist event.

In addition Richard may need to run more 200ms and Rondel may need to run more 100ms next season which should help them both get the required improvement in their specialist event, 100m & 200m respectively.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2011, 09:03:55 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #371 on: September 03, 2011, 05:35:58 PM »
Interesting analysis of Bolt’s & other top performances from Day 9 in Daegu on TVJ!

Clink link to view recording: http://www.televisionjamaica.com/Programmes/IAAFWORLDCHAMPIONSHIPS20.aspx/Videos/12105

« Reply #372 on: September 03, 2011, 07:52:14 PM »
socapro,

ppl saying RT should run more 200s years now and it not happening...i would like to know his reasoning for ignoring the 200s.  i agree he and sorillo need to do more gym work.

« Reply #373 on: September 03, 2011, 09:38:56 PM »
Men's & Women's 4 x 100m Relay Heats & Finals today!!

Here is the link to the startlist for the women's heats!

http://daegu2011.iaaf.org/ResultsByDate.aspx?racedate=09-04-2011/sex=W/discCode=4X1/combCode=hash/roundCode=h/startlist.html#detW_4X1_hash_h

There will be 3 Heats and T&T is in the 2nd Heat competing against the likes of Ukraine, Russia & Great Britain.
Only top 2 teams guaranteed to go thru to final and hopefully the T&T women can be one of them.

Allyuh notice that there is a Caribbean team in each of the 3 heats and we have each been given lane 2 to run in?
Is that a coincidence!? Let’s hope lane 2 is the lucky lane for all 3 Caribbean teams and we each finish in the top 2!

And here is the link to the startlist for the men's heats!

http://daegu2011.iaaf.org/ResultsByDate.aspx?racedate=09-04-2011/sex=M/discCode=4X1/combCode=hash/roundCode=h/startlist.html#detM_4X1_hash_h

Again there are 3 Heats and T&T is in the 2nd Heat this time competing against the likes of Jamaica, St Kitts, Japan & Germany. Only top 2 teams guaranteed to go thru to final and hopefully the T&T men can be one of them.

Allyuh notice that for the men's 4 x 100m relay heats how they put all the Caribbean teams in the same heat?
Guess they don't want all the Caribbean teams who entered to make the final!

And talking about Caribbean teams I'm surprised the Bahamas hasn't qualified/fielded a men's 4 x 100m relay team!

Anyhow, good luck to both our women's & men's 4 x 100m relay teams for later today!
Hope you can both make it to the finals and it will be nice to see T&T claim two more medals so we can come back home with the same number of medals as we won in the last worlds.

At any rate our NAAATT needs some shaking up as we could be doing much better!
Too many embarrassing mistakes from them!!
« Last Edit: September 03, 2011, 10:07:51 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #374 on: September 03, 2011, 09:46:30 PM »
i cant recall bahamas fielding 4x100 men relay teams on a regular.  from what i remember it was men 4x4, women 4x1 and women 4x4

« Reply #375 on: September 03, 2011, 09:48:13 PM »
i cant recall bahamas fielding 4x100 men relay teams on a regular.  from what i remember it was men 4x4, women 4x1 and women 4x4

Yuh right! Don't think they have had any top class 100m & 200m male sprinters for a while!

« Reply #376 on: September 03, 2011, 09:50:50 PM »

Yuh right! Don't think they have had any top class 100m & 200m male sprinters for a while!

the only decent sprinter i could recall in recent times was derrick atkins.  i heard atkins is some kinda cousin of asafa but i dont know if that is true.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #377 on: September 04, 2011, 03:44:01 AM »
Dem gyul just mash up de national record and won our semi..................... 42.50!!!!!!!!!!!!

If Semoy to MLA clean up their exhange we could go faster yet.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 03:50:43 AM by Aviator »

« Reply #378 on: September 04, 2011, 03:47:35 AM »
Dem gyul just mash up de national record and won our semi..................... 42.50!!!!!!!!!!!!

If Semot to MLA clean up their exhange we could go faster yet.

mash up is joke! dey obliterate it!

Offline Trini1

« Reply #379 on: September 04, 2011, 03:56:21 AM »
What did I say 42.5 they would be running.... they just have to do that in the final and better.I didn't want MLA anchoring but I'm happy bout the time.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 03:58:26 AM by Trini1 »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #380 on: September 04, 2011, 03:57:49 AM »
We have the 3rd fastest time of all the teams that qualified for the final. Praying we can keep that position after the final :praying:

Now time for the men.....allyuh have some serious making up to do. Leh we go!!!!

Offline Aviator

« Reply #381 on: September 04, 2011, 04:11:09 AM »
Alright....alright. We looking good. Won our heat against JAM in 37.91!!!!!!!!

Squad was Bledman-Burns-Armstrong-Richard. I would be lying if I said I was really comfortable with Armstrong on that leg, but he did a solid job just now. Richard was not all out, so we can approach our NR of 37.62...
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 04:16:33 AM by Aviator »

« Reply #382 on: September 04, 2011, 04:26:28 AM »
A caribbean 1, 2, 3 in our semi! I hope St Kitts gets in

« Reply #384 on: September 04, 2011, 04:34:54 AM »
As soon as anyone gets the video of our mens and womens semis, can u post it plz?

Offline keelz

« Reply #387 on: September 04, 2011, 04:56:55 AM »
well done ladies  :applause:

edit: ah nearly forget the men, good race too  :devil:
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 05:03:31 AM by D.H.W »

Offline keelz

« Reply #388 on: September 04, 2011, 05:14:57 AM »
QUESTION,,BEING THT SH HAS A FASTER START AND KS IS THE 200M NR HOLDER (AND HE HOLDS A NICE BEND) SHOULD THEY SWITCH LANES??  ???