April 30, 2024, 10:35:52 AM

Author Topic: Thread for for the 2011 World Championships  (Read 62318 times)

Offline Aviator

Re: Thread for for the 2011 World Championships
« Reply #390 on: September 04, 2011, 05:41:21 AM »
Ah bwoy....MLA get run down by the Ukranian. I was tasting ah medal for them, but I guess it was not to be. Job well done nevertheless ladies. Coming fourth you have met or exceeded the expectations of most. :beermug:
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Offline Swima

« Reply #391 on: September 04, 2011, 05:42:12 AM »
Girls fourth by a fingernail. Had they done their semi time they would have gotten bronze. Thanks tv6 for bringing the last 3 metres of the race live!
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #392 on: September 04, 2011, 05:43:21 AM »
:( 4th so close

Offline trace1906

« Reply #393 on: September 04, 2011, 05:44:59 AM »
Ah bwoy....MLA get run down by the Ukranian. I was tasting ah medal for them, but I guess it was not to be. Job well done nevertheless ladies. Coming fourth you have met or exceeded the expectations of most. :beermug:

Hard luck there ladies...i wonder if the results wud be different if we had KAB on anchor and SH on 2nd leg though

Offline Aviator

« Reply #394 on: September 04, 2011, 05:46:31 AM »
4x100 Metres Relay - W   Final
04 September 2011 - 20:35
Position    Lane    Team    Country    Mark       React
1    4    United States
(Bianca Knight; Allyson Felix; Marshevet Myers; Carmelita Jeter)    USA    41.56    (WL)    0.179
2    6    Jamaica
(Shelly-Ann Fraser - Pryce; Kerron Stewart; Sherone Simpson; Veronica Campbell-Brown)    JAM    41.70    (NR)    0.207
3    8    Ukraine
(Olesya Povh; Nataliya Pohrebnyak; Mariya Ryemyen; Hrystyna Stuy)    UKR    42.51    (SB)    0.171
4    3    Trinidad and Tobago
(Kai Selvon; Kelly-Ann Baptiste; Semoy Hackett; Michelle-Lee Ahye)    TRI    42.58       0.175

5    5    France
(Myriam Soumaré; Céline Distel; Lina Jacques-Sébastien; Véronique Mang)    FRA    42.70       0.190
6    1    Russia
(Yulia Gushchina; Natalia Rusakova; Elizabeta Savlinis; Aleksandra Fedoriva)    RUS    42.93       0.169
7    7    Nigeria
(Gloria Asumnu; Oludamola Osayomi; Agnes Osazuwa; Blessing Okagbare)    NGR    42.93       0.163
8    2    Brazil
(Ana Claudia Silva; Vanda Gomes; Franciela Krasucki; Rosângela Santos)    BRA    43.10       0.187

Offline Trini1

« Reply #395 on: September 04, 2011, 05:52:47 AM »
Just missed out- didn't want Michelle on the anchor but it was not to be- we learn. Hopefully we can build on this. Michelle will hopefully get picked up by a better coach and improvements will be made. It was the 2nd to 3rd pass so its not necessarily the 2 most experience that will do the best. Semoy is not used to 3rd. Well done to them

Offline Aviator

« Reply #396 on: September 04, 2011, 05:55:35 AM »
Women's 4x100m video

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Fo1sfCFbRCw&amp;feature=channel_video_title" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Fo1sfCFbRCw&amp;feature=channel_video_title</a>

Offline trace1906

« Reply #397 on: September 04, 2011, 05:59:17 AM »
Just missed out- didn't want Michelle on the anchor but it was not to be- we learn. Hopefully we can build on this. Michelle will hopefully get picked up by a better coach and improvements will be made. It was the 2nd to 3rd pass so its not necessarily the 2 most experience that will do the best. Semoy is not used to 3rd. Well done to them

I hear ya...Despite the pass our anchor rec'd the baton in 3rd place and we needed an anchor who cud either run down who in front or hold off who coming. That IMO was KAB and only KAB. I think it's only Trinidad who did not have their strongest runner on the anchor leg.

Offline Swima

« Reply #398 on: September 04, 2011, 06:02:37 AM »
Unnelievable what happened to the men!

Offline trace1906

« Reply #399 on: September 04, 2011, 06:03:41 AM »
OMG!!!!

« Reply #400 on: September 04, 2011, 06:04:45 AM »
Unnelievable what happened to the men!

WHAT HAPPENED????????????????

i missed it

Offline trace1906

« Reply #401 on: September 04, 2011, 06:06:12 AM »
da race should be run over man!!! ppl cud fall into ppl lane so?

Aviator? The connoisseurs? we have no grounds dey boy? Jus hard luck???

« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 06:08:31 AM by trace1906 »

Offline Swima

« Reply #402 on: September 04, 2011, 06:06:34 AM »
US fell into our lane. We went from 3rd to 6th in a flash

« Reply #403 on: September 04, 2011, 06:07:12 AM »
Harry AA (GBR)'s arm caught Darvis Patton...Patton fell lengthways and tripped up Richard Thompson...Thompson did amazingly well to even receive the baton given the circumstances, but lost all his momentum...just damn bad luck

« Reply #404 on: September 04, 2011, 06:07:32 AM »
Well yes, the third leg baton put us behind after a good start, then the fourth baton change kill us off after US bounce GBR and then US fall over into our lane.

Ah well.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #405 on: September 04, 2011, 06:08:17 AM »
ARRRRGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! >:( >:( >:(

This real bunnin' meh............

« Reply #406 on: September 04, 2011, 06:08:42 AM »
Effing yankees!!!

« Reply #407 on: September 04, 2011, 06:09:12 AM »
shouldnt they be disqualified for that????????

« Reply #408 on: September 04, 2011, 06:09:54 AM »
run over that race

Offline Trini1

« Reply #409 on: September 04, 2011, 06:09:58 AM »
2nd to 3rd was extremely poor then Richard tried to avoid American guy.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 06:11:56 AM by Trini1 »

Offline STMB

« Reply #410 on: September 04, 2011, 06:10:43 AM »
Not the yankees, the British....messing up things in the world as usual

Next year is about revenge for the T&T relays, in England!!

Offline trace1906

« Reply #411 on: September 04, 2011, 06:10:59 AM »
ARRRRGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! >:( >:( >:(

This real bunnin' meh............

Ah feelin it my skin peel off dey boy...

Offline STMB

« Reply #412 on: September 04, 2011, 06:15:40 AM »

Though we came up short this was invaluable experience for MLA heading into 2012.
With more strength and maturing of KS, SH and MLA, we will be a definite medal contender

Offline STMB

« Reply #413 on: September 04, 2011, 06:16:23 AM »
2nd to 3rd was extremely poor then Richard tried to avoid American guy.

Looks as though Bledman stumbled out of the blocks losing distance to JA and USA

Offline Trini1

« Reply #414 on: September 04, 2011, 06:17:59 AM »

I hear ya...Despite the pass our anchor rec'd the baton in 3rd place and we needed an anchor who cud either run down who in front or hold off who coming. That IMO was KAB and only KAB. I think it's only Trinidad who did not have their strongest runner on the anchor leg.
I think either Semoy or Kelly could have held her. Kelly would have had to catch her and pass her which she could have done. Semoy could have held her. She was faster than her this year but we can only look forward to what's in store from both of our teams.

Offline keelz

Offline STMB

« Reply #416 on: September 04, 2011, 06:24:33 AM »

I think either Semoy or Kelly could have held her. Kelly would have had to catch her and pass her which she could have done. Semoy could have held her. She was faster than her this year but we can only look forward to what's in store from both of our teams.

Well it's a catch 22. If KAB wasn't there to run a strong 2nd leg we wouldn't have gotten the baton in 3rd

Offline STMB

« Reply #417 on: September 04, 2011, 06:25:39 AM »
http://www.youtube.com/user/czatletika#p/u/0/D8MS31RQJhY

here is the race

Beginning to think Doc Patton is blighted. How many relays gone wrong by error or bad luck for the US has he been in??

Offline Trini1

« Reply #419 on: September 04, 2011, 06:32:20 AM »
Yes stmb if we didn't have Kelly to do some catching on second on that long leg there would be no 4th. It's just that it was so close and we COULD have got it because we beat them in the semi. THIS IS EXACTLY WHY WE NEED TO HAVE OUR TEAMS PRACTICE AT MEETS LIKE THE PENN RELAYS. NAAA LEARN FROM THIS PLEASE I BEG! The men's relay is hurting me- Harry AA rid yuhself of some size please!