April 30, 2024, 02:34:12 PM

Author Topic: Thread for for the 2011 World Championships  (Read 62346 times)

Offline fLaSh

Re: Thread for for the 2011 World Championships
« Reply #420 on: September 04, 2011, 06:32:52 AM »
I was scared when I saw our Men were sandwiched by Jamaica and USA....especially next to the USA.

Darvis 'Doc' Patton should be banned from relays. Trouble follows this guy in Relays seemingly every major championship now. At first glance it seems like Armstrong was exposed though and I saw Gatlin reeling in Burns too. Need to watch the race again

I think this team woulda got bronze behind JAM and USA had it not been for that mishap.

Well done to the ladies. This race was like Edmonton 2001 for our men. These ladies will be a force to be reckoned with for a while. The team was structured right IMHO. The Ukranian anchor is just faster than MLA. She was catching her in the semis too. Nothing for these women to be ashamed of at all

I guess this Men's Relay  summarized just how our championship went. Lots of questions to be answered between now and London

Offline Trini1

« Reply #421 on: September 04, 2011, 06:49:33 AM »
I think gatlin wasnt reeling in marc as much as we may have thought. The lead the Usa had on us from first leg and the better baton pass made appear that he had run him down badly. Next time guys next time. Hopefully champs won't be 2 weeks b4 next year.

True it's an incredible experience for Kai and Michelle. Couldn't have asked for a better thing plus we got the baton around. Yeh the Ukraine girl was faster. I just want Michelle to get better technically she will be leaving her for sure next time.

« Reply #422 on: September 04, 2011, 07:00:31 AM »
As long as you have people who don't get it this will continue to happen. The men were unlucky. Not their fault, they would have had another medal.

« Reply #423 on: September 04, 2011, 07:04:05 AM »
The USA and Jamaican teams were way in front by the 3rd leg!  The change over between Burns and Armstrong removed us from any kind of contention for Gold and Silver.

Hard luck to us though, that was an easy bronze medal.  I am excited about the women.  Congrats on the world record.

Question: Is being in the outside lane a benefit in the 4x100m??

Lane 8 and 1 (away from all the mayhem) got silver and bronze while 3, 4, and 5 finished down the field.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 07:05:40 AM by andre samuel »

« Reply #424 on: September 04, 2011, 07:27:11 AM »
I'm embedding all the Women's 4 x 100m relay vidz Semis & Final in this post!

Women’s  4 x 100m Relay Semi 1
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/PxsJ3ezplkg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/PxsJ3ezplkg</a>

Women’s  4 x 100m Relay Semi 2 _ T&T team in this one!
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/gHMuoA9ksbE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/gHMuoA9ksbE</a>
Semi Final 2 04 September 2011 - 18:38
Position Lane Team Country Mark React
1 2 T&T (Kai Selvon; Kelly-Ann Baptiste; Semoy Hackett; Michelle-Lee Ahye)  TRI 42.50 Q (NR) 0.150
2 7 Ukraine (Olesya Povh; Nataliya Pohrebnyak; Mariya Ryemyen; Hrystyna Stuy)  UKR 42.63 Q (SB) 0.159
3 5 Russia (Yulia Gushchina; Natalia Rusakova; Elizabeta Savlinis; Aleksandra Fedoriva)  RUS 42.78 q (SB) 0.157
4 6 Australia (Hayley Butler; Melissa Breen; Charlotte Van Veenendaal; Sally Pearson)  AUS 43.79 0.194
5 4 Great Britain & N.I. (Tiffany Porter; Anyika Onuora; Laura Turner; Jeanette Kwakye)  GBR 43.95 0.161
6 1 Korea (Jeesu Eum; So-Yeon Kim; Sunae Lee; So-Yeun Park)  KOR 46.14 (SB) 0.138
   3 Poland (Anna Kielbasinska; Marika Popowicz; Marta Jeschke; Agnieszka Ligieza)  POL DNF 0.171

Women’s  4 x 100m Relay Semi 3
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dOH2DUgIbwc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dOH2DUgIbwc</a>

Women’s  4 x 100m Relay Final
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Fo1sfCFbRCw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Fo1sfCFbRCw</a>
4x100 Metres Relay - W   Final
04 September 2011 - 20:35
Position    Lane    Team    Country    Mark       React
1    4    United States
(Bianca Knight; Allyson Felix; Marshevet Myers; Carmelita Jeter)    USA    41.56    (WL)    0.179
2    6    Jamaica
(Shelly-Ann Fraser - Pryce; Kerron Stewart; Sherone Simpson; Veronica Campbell-Brown)    JAM    41.70    (NR)    0.207
3    8    Ukraine
(Olesya Povh; Nataliya Pohrebnyak; Mariya Ryemyen; Hrystyna Stuy)    UKR    42.51    (SB)    0.171
4    3    Trinidad and Tobago
(Kai Selvon; Kelly-Ann Baptiste; Semoy Hackett; Michelle-Lee Ahye)    TRI    42.58       0.175

5    5    France
(Myriam Soumaré; Céline Distel; Lina Jacques-Sébastien; Véronique Mang)    FRA    42.70       0.190
6    1    Russia
(Yulia Gushchina; Natalia Rusakova; Elizabeta Savlinis; Aleksandra Fedoriva)    RUS    42.93       0.169
7    7    Nigeria
(Gloria Asumnu; Oludamola Osayomi; Agnes Osazuwa; Blessing Okagbare)    NGR    42.93       0.163
8    2    Brazil
(Ana Claudia Silva; Vanda Gomes; Franciela Krasucki; Rosângela Santos)    BRA    43.10       0.187

Our 4 x 1 women could have easily won bronze if they were afforded a little more practice by our NAAA but well done to them!! Now our NAAA know what they need to do between now & Olympics or do they?!  ::)
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 09:31:32 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #425 on: September 04, 2011, 07:35:15 AM »
Now for the Men, I'm embedding all the 4 x 100m relay vidz Semis & Final in this post!

Men’s  4 x 100m Relay Semi  1
Strangely I couldn't find a recording on YouTube for this one!!!

Men’s  4 x 100m Relay Semi  2 - T&T team in this one!
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/aC0m-EC5Oy4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/aC0m-EC5Oy4</a>
Semi Final 2 04 September 2011 - 19:08
1 4 T&T (Keston Bledman; Marc Burns; Aaron Armstrong; Richard Thompson)  TRI 37.91 Q (SB) 0.150
2 8 Jamaica (Nesta Carter; Michael Frater; Yohan Blake; Dexter Lee)  JAM 38.07 Q (SB) 0.146
3 2 Saint Kitts & Nevis (Jason Rogers; Kim Collins; Antoine Adams; Brijesh Lawrence)  SKN  38.47 q (NR)  0.188
4 5 Japan (Yuichi Kobayashi; Masashi Eriguchi; Shinji Takahira; Hitoshi Saito)  JPN 38.66 (SB) 0.162
5 6 South Africa (Hannes Dreyer; Ofentse Mogawane; Roscoe Engel; Thuso Mpuang)  RSA 38.72  (SB) 0.168
6 1 PR of China (Qiang Chen; Jiahong Liang; Bingtian Su; Yi Lao)  CHN 38.87  (SB)  0.152
7 7 Puerto Rico (Marcos Amalbert; Carlos Rodríguez; Marquis Holston; Miguel López)  PUR 39.04  (NR) 0.183
   3 Germany (Tobias Unger; Marius Broening; Sebastian Ernst; Alex Schaf)  GER DNF 0.129

Men’s  4 x 100m Relay Semi  3
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/c5c6s_lTAog" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/c5c6s_lTAog</a>

Men’s  4 x 100m Relay Final
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/D8MS31RQJhY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/D8MS31RQJhY</a>
Our baton exchange on the 2nd to 3rd leg was fumbled a bit and lost us some valuable time but we were defintely still in position to fight for a bronze medal if RT wasn't impeded on the final change over!
We definitely passed the baton much better in the Semis than in the Final! Hardluck guys!!

Men’s  4 x 100m Relay Final - Commentary in English!!
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ppccp6EtXH8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ppccp6EtXH8</a>
4x100 Metres Relay - M   Final Daegu 04 September 2011 - 21:00
1 6 Jamaica (Nesta Carter; Michael Frater; Yohan Blake; Usain Bolt)  JAM 37.04  (WR) 0.163
2 8 France (Teddy Tinmar; Christophe Lemaitre; Yannick Lesourd; Jimmy Vicaut)  FRA 38.20 (SB) 0.162
3 1 Saint Kitts and Nevis (Jason Rogers; Kim Collins; Antoine Adams; Brijesh Lawrence)  SKN 38.49  0.169
4 7 Poland (Pawel Stempel; Dariusz Kuc; Robert Kubaczyk; Kamil Krynski)  POL 38.50  0.185
5 2 Italy (Michael Tumi; Simone Collio; Emanuele Di Gregorio; Fabio Cerutti)  ITA 38.96 0.153
6 5 T&T (Keston Bledman; Marc Burns; Aaron Armstrong; Richard Thompson)  TRI 39.01 0.145
   3 Great Britain & N.I. (Christian Malcolm; Craig Pickering; Marlon Devonish; Harry Aikines-Aryeetey)  GBR DNF 0.143
   4 United States (Trell Kimmons; Justin Gatlin; Darvis Patton; Walter Dix)  USA DNF 0.139

Our 4 x 1 men could easily have picked up a bronze in that final if Richard was not impeded by the falling USA athlete on the final exchange! Hardluck to the guys!! Maybe Darrel Brown was our good luck charm in the men’s 4 x 100m relay after all! Hope he’s makes the team next year for Olympics if he is injury free & running the 100m ‘A’ qualifying standard!
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 09:52:53 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #426 on: September 04, 2011, 07:53:57 AM »
The late Nationals, and the issues in the administration, really set the tone for a dismal world championship performance. We missed out on an additional 3-4 possible medals.

This championships was a coming out party for the womens sprints. Good performance by the girls. Hard luck for the men.

Offline Paceman123

• The talent to be a great runner is a gift from Go
« Reply #427 on: September 04, 2011, 08:07:57 AM »
Like allyuh fail to realize that kelly and semoy had a horrible exchange this is why we were put in such a position. But hey shit happens next yr will be better 

Offline STMB

« Reply #428 on: September 04, 2011, 08:20:38 AM »
Had we better 1st and 2nd legs (start & hand-offs) we would have been in front of the USA according to the expected stagger and would not have had the mishap we had.

I wonder if the team coach(es) were diligent in the pre-race, going over tactics and risks: no false starts, must have a strong first leg, clean hand-offs, focus on your lane, be prepared for evasive actions, etc etc. I hate this "well it was bad luck" thing. Great teams prepare for most eventualities, even those that are less likely to happen.

On another note, big up to St. Kitts & Nevis. With a population of just over 50,000 (making the Bahamas look like a continent), this little nation got 2 bronze medals, a great achievement in terms of medals per capita.

« Reply #429 on: September 04, 2011, 08:31:55 AM »
Had we better 1st and 2nd legs (start & hand-offs) we would have been in front of the USA according to the expected stagger and would not have had the mishap we had.

I wonder if the team coach(es) were diligent in the pre-race, going over tactics and risks: no false starts, must have a strong first leg, clean hand-offs, focus on your lane, be prepared for evasive actions, etc etc. I hate this "well it was bad luck" thing. Great teams prepare for most eventualities, even those that are less likely to happen.

On another note, big up to St. Kitts & Nevis. With a population of just over 50,000 (making the Bahamas look like a continent), this little nation got 2 bronze medals, a great achievement in terms of medals per capita.

Tobago did the same thing 2 years ago ;)

Offline STMB

« Reply #430 on: September 04, 2011, 08:34:26 AM »
You right but you sounding like a Texan tea-party secessionist.

Nation first!!

« Reply #431 on: September 04, 2011, 08:42:54 AM »
You right but you sounding like a Texan tea-party secessionist.

Nation first!!

Trust me I am not. Just calling it as I see it.

« Reply #432 on: September 04, 2011, 09:00:31 AM »
http://daegu2011.iaaf.org/ResultsMedalTable.aspx

Final Medal Table – Daegu 2011
Rank   Country   Gold   Silver   Bronze   Total

1    UNITED STATES (USA)  12     8   5   25
2    RUSSIA (RUS)   9               4   6   19
3    KENYA (KEN)     7     6   4   17
4    JAMAICA (JAM)  4               4   1   9
5    GERMANY (GER)   3   3   1   7
6    GREAT BRITAIN & N.I. (GBR)   2   4   1   7
7    PR OF CHINA (CHN)   1   2   1   4
8    AUSTRALIA (AUS)   1   1   1   3
9    ETHIOPIA (ETH)   1   0   4   5
10    UKRAINE (UKR)   1   0   1   2
11    BOTSWANA (BOT) 1   0   0   1
11    BRAZIL (BRA)       1   0   0   1
11    GRENADA (GRN)   1   0   0   1
11    JAPAN (JPN)         1   0   0   1
11    NEW ZEALAND (NZL)   1   0   0   1
11    POLAND (POL)     1   0   0   1
17    SOUTH AFRICA (RSA)   0   2   2   4
18    CUBA (CUB)      0    1   3   4
18    FRANCE (FRA)    0   1    3   4
20    BELARUS (BLR)  0    1   1   2
21    CANADA (CAN)   0   1   0   1
21    CROATIA (CRO)  0   1   0   1
21    CZECH REPUBLIC (CZE)  0   1   0   1
21    ESTONIA (EST)   0   1   0   1
21    HUNGARY (HUN)   0   1   0   1
21    KAZAKHSTAN (KAZ) 0   1   0   1
21    NORWAY (NOR)   0   1   0   1
21    PUERTO RICO (PUR)   0   1   0   1
21    SUDAN (SUD)     0   1   0   1
21    TUNISIA (TUN)   0   1   0   1
31    COLOMBIA (COL) 0   0   2   2
31    SAINT KITTS AND NEVIS (SKN)  0   0   2   2
33    BAHAMAS (BAH)   0   0   1   1

33    BELGIUM (BEL)     0   0   1   1
33    ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF IRAN (IRI)  0   0   1   1
33    ITALY (ITA)        0   0   1   1
33    LATVIA (LAT)      0   0   1   1
33    SLOVENIA (SLO) 0   0   1   1
33    SPAIN (ESP)       0   0   1   1
33    TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO (TRI)   0   0   1   1
33    ZIMBABWE (ZIM)   0   0   1   1

Congrats to all the Caribbean countries who won medals, i.e. T&T, Bahamas, St Kitts, Grenada, Cuba & of course regional leaders Jamaica who placed 4th overall with a handsome 9 medals, well done to them!!

I think for Olympics T&T should be in the hunt for medals from both our men and women in the 4 x 100m relays!!  Would like to see our 4 x 400m relay step up to the mark as well as the potential is also there for team to make the 4 x 400m relay final and contest for a medal as well come next year!!
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 10:05:06 AM by Socapro »

Offline RC

« Reply #433 on: September 04, 2011, 09:12:28 AM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/PxsJ3ezplkg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/PxsJ3ezplkg</a>

Women’s  4 x 100m Relay Semi 2
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/gHMuoA9ksbE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/gHMuoA9ksbE</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dOH2DUgIbwc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dOH2DUgIbwc</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Fo1sfCFbRCw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Fo1sfCFbRCw</a>
1    4    United States
(Bianca Knight; Allyson Felix; Marshevet Myers; Carmelita Jeter)    USA    41.56    (WL)    0.179
2    6    Jamaica
(Shelly-Ann Fraser - Pryce; Kerron Stewart; Sherone Simpson; Veronica Campbell-Brown)    JAM    41.70    (NR)    0.207
3    8    Ukraine
(Olesya Povh; Nataliya Pohrebnyak; Mariya Ryemyen; Hrystyna Stuy)    UKR    42.51    (SB)    0.171
(Kai Selvon; Kelly-Ann Baptiste; Semoy Hackett; Michelle-Lee Ahye)    TRI    42.58       0.175

5    5    France
(Myriam Soumaré; Céline Distel; Lina Jacques-Sébastien; Véronique Mang)    FRA    42.70       0.190
6    1    Russia
(Yulia Gushchina; Natalia Rusakova; Elizabeta Savlinis; Aleksandra Fedoriva)    RUS    42.93       0.169
7    7    Nigeria
(Gloria Asumnu; Oludamola Osayomi; Agnes Osazuwa; Blessing Okagbare)    NGR    42.93       0.163
8    2    Brazil
(Ana Claudia Silva; Vanda Gomes; Franciela Krasucki; Rosângela Santos)    BRA    43.10       0.187

Our 4 x 1 women could have easily won bronze if they were afforded a little more practice by our NAAA but well done to them!! Now our NAAA know what they need to do between now & Olympics or do they?!  ::)
Someone somewhere must have done something right, because in both the semifinal and final the ladies ran well over half a second faster than they ever had before

« Reply #434 on: September 04, 2011, 09:26:36 AM »
My Summary

What a sad end to the World Champs for T&T, especially considering that this is our independence weekend. Bad luck was on our side the moment the Nationals were switched to August.

The mens relay team seems to be reaching their twilight. I know it was not their fault. Just a case of misfortune. The womens team is on the opposite end. Lots of promise for the years to come.

Mens 4x100 was a shock to us just like Bolt's DQ to Jamaica. Socapro you might be on to something.... they shouldnt have left their good luck charm!

Overall, we have a lot to look forward to in London. I hope the NAAA surprises us next year with better decision making in the selection of the team and better preparation to support the athletes. I feel we will make up for our losses in London.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #435 on: September 04, 2011, 09:50:20 AM »

Women’s  4 x 100m Relay Semi 2

1    4    United States
2    6    Jamaica
3    8    Ukraine

5    5    France
6    1    Russia
7    7    Nigeria
8    2    Brazil

Someone somewhere must have done something right, because in both the semifinal and final the ladies ran well over half a second faster than they ever had before
That was mainly due to us having quicker individuals. Kelly was a lot more consistent this year running sub 11 add to that an improved semoy hackett and two more 11.2 young ladies and you have yourself a sub 43s team. They will be going much faster next year I think.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #436 on: September 04, 2011, 09:52:53 AM »
My Summary

Overall, we have a lot to look forward to in London. I hope the NAAA surprises us next year with better decision making in the selection of the team and better preparation to support the athletes. I feel we will make up for our losses in London.

Wishful thinking. I'm less optimistic, apart from with the women. I think we are in to a 'golden era' of women sprinting!

« Reply #437 on: September 04, 2011, 09:56:56 AM »
My Summary

What a sad end to the World Champs for T&T, especially considering that this is our independence weekend. Bad luck was on our side the moment the Nationals were switched to August.

The mens relay team seems to be reaching their twilight. I know it was not their fault. Just a case of misfortune. The womens team is on the opposite end. Lots of promise for the years to come.

Mens 4x100 was a shock to us just like Bolt's DQ to Jamaica. Socapro you might be on to something.... they shouldnt have left their good luck charm!

:thumbsup:

« Reply #438 on: September 04, 2011, 10:02:38 AM »
My Summary

Wishful thinking. I'm less optimistic, apart from with the women. I think we are in to a 'golden era' of women sprinting!

I think the men can recover come Olympics and we can definitely have at least 1 finalist in the individual 100m and medal in the 4 x 100m relay. Also keep in mind how well Sorrillo did to make the 200m final.

Both Richard and Rondel need to put on a bit more muscle for next year in time for Olympics! Richard should run more 200ms & Rondel should run more 100ms! If they both do this and remain injury free next season then they could each be finalists and medal contenders in their specialist event next year! I also think if RT concentrates on running more 200ms as well he could well end up being in the 200m final in addition to the 100m final if all goes well!

I think come Olympics we can positively hope for finalists in all these T&F events:-

MEN
100m - RT & KB
200m - RS
400m - RQ
100mH - WD (youngster who just switched from the USA to T&T, has Trini parents)
400mH - JG
4 x 100m relay
4 x 400m relay (possible if one or two of our quarter milers improve and we pick the best team)

WOMEN
100m - KAB & SH
200m - KAB & KS (KAB needs to train for 200m as well come Olympics & she'll definitely make the final)
400mH - Lucas (If she has an injury free season next year)
4 x 100m relay
Shotput

I think our men's 4 x 400m team has a lot of potential to do much better come Olympics and hopefully qualify for the relay final but I think the NAAA needs to get their act together for everything to fall into place for Olympics!!

The NAAA should also be supporting pushing more T&T athletes to train hard for the other field events like long jump, high jump, etc and send them out more regularly to meets to compete with other world class field athletes!!

I would also like to see some heads rolls at the NAAA especially for the fiasco that happened with Jehue in the hurdles! These embarrassing problems with the NAAA seem to be ongoing and someone needs to be held responsible!
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 11:06:35 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #439 on: September 04, 2011, 10:27:20 AM »
Highs, lows and hmms

Some highs:

Women
-KAB establishing herself as a medal contender
-MLA pb good experience
-KS pb & NJR good experience
-SH good exposure (Should be able to turn pro next year)
-4x100 Definitely a medal contender for next year (Ato said they are years from this)

Men
-RS making the final in the 200 (Should be in the 20.0s range for Olympics)

Lows:

Women
- No JL or JB in 400mh. JB should have at least been on the team

Men
-No Trini in the 100m final
-No medal in the 100m final (Considering no AP, TG and UB disq)
-No finalist in 400m
-No finalist in 400mh (I think the fiasco took away some of JG's concentration)
-The Brit and Yankee bump 4x100

Hmms

-What if LG was on the 4x400 mens teams?
-What if MB was chosen to run the 100m instead of AA?
-What if this fiasco with JG did not take place?
-What if the womens 4x100 team ran a different order?
-What if we were in lane 2 or 6?

Hard time for T&T track and field.

I think next year our 4x400 team will mature enough to make the final. It will be interesting with LG added to the mix. Also, Cedenio is on pace to run very high 45s or low 46s next year.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #440 on: September 04, 2011, 10:34:55 AM »
My Summary

I think the men can recover come Olympics and we can definitely have at least 1 finalist in the individual 100m and medal in the 4 x 100m. Also keep in mind how well Sorrillo did to make the 200m final.

I think come Olympics we can positively hope for finalists in all these T&F events:-

MEN
100m - RT
200m - RS
400m - RQ
100mH - The youngster who just switched from the USA to T&T (Trini parents)
400mH - JG
4 x 100m relay
4 x 400m relay (possible if one or two of our quarter milers improve and we pick the best team)

WOMEN
100m - KAB
200m - KAB (She needs to train for 200m as well come Olympics & she'll make the final)
400mH - Lucas (If she comes back from injury)
4 x 100m relay
Shotput

I think our men's 4 x 400m team has a lot of potential to do much better come Olympics and hopefully qualify for the relay final but I think the NAAA needs to get their act together for everything to fall in to place for Olympics!!

The NAAA should also be supporting pushing more T&T athletes to go for the other events like

I would like to see some heads rolls at the NAAA especially for the fiasco that happened with Jehue in the hurdles!
I think Semoy Hackett could be a potential finalist next year! Remember she was 8th quickest this time around- with the added experience and training of next year she SHOULD make that final and she SHOULD be running 11.0x consistently she may even dip under 11 on one or 2 occasions.

« Reply #441 on: September 04, 2011, 10:38:45 AM »
My Summary

I think the men can recover come Olympics and we can definitely have at least 1 finalist in the individual 100m and medal in the 4 x 100m. Also keep in mind how well Sorrillo did to make the 200m final.

MEN
100m - RT
200m - RS
400m - RQ
400mH - JG
4 x 100m relay

WOMEN
100m - KAB
200m - KAB (She needs to train for 200m as well come Olympics & she'll make the final)
400mH - Lucas (If she comes back from injury)
4 x 100m relay
Shotput

I think our men's 4 x 400m team has a lot of potential to do much better come Olympics and hopefully qualify for the relay final but I think the NAAA needs to get their act together for everything to fall in to place for Olympics!!

The NAAA should also be supporting pushing more T&T athletes to go for the other events like

I would like to see some heads rolls at the NAAA especially for the fiasco that happened with Jehue in the hurdles!
I think Semoy Hackett could be a potential finalist next year! Remember she was 8th quickest this time around- with the added experience and training of next year she SHOULD make that final and she SHOULD be running 11.0x consistently she may even dip under 11 on one or 2 occasions.

Yeah, you are correct, I just updated that!!  :beermug:

« Reply #442 on: September 04, 2011, 10:47:46 AM »

Wayne Davis  switch you sure about that ?....

« Reply #443 on: September 04, 2011, 10:54:39 AM »

Yeah, 110mH Wayne Davis switch to T&T, that's official, its somewhere on the Official IAAF website!!  :beermug:

Offline STMB

« Reply #446 on: September 04, 2011, 11:35:36 AM »

With an English father (of the 2 parents) who is her primary handler, I doubt it very much.
If she was 3rd or 4th rung in the new crop of UK sprinters, maybe, but she is the darling and future of UK sprinting.

Yeah, 110mH Wayne Davis switch to T&T, that's official, its somewhere on the Official IAAF website!!  :beermug:

I found it here:

http://www.runblogrun.com/2011/08/2011-iaaf-council-news-essar-gabriel-new-general-sectretary-by-alfons-juck-note-by-larry-eder.html

well we better make a go at jodie Williams socapro

« Reply #447 on: September 04, 2011, 11:39:45 AM »

With an English father (of the 2 parents) who is her primary handler, I doubt it very much.
If she was 3rd or 4th rung in the new crop of UK sprinters, maybe, but she is the darling and future of UK sprinting.

I found it here:

http://www.runblogrun.com/2011/08/2011-iaaf-council-news-essar-gabriel-new-general-sectretary-by-alfons-juck-note-by-larry-eder.html

well we better make a go at jodie Williams socapro

I will do what I can but isn't it not the job of our NAAA to make contact with her and try to sway her over to running for us?!

« Reply #448 on: September 04, 2011, 12:52:48 PM »
I now watch the final day on NBC. I blasted vex! Damn Brits and Yanks, why they couldn't fall down in the next direction? Hard luck Ladies, good race.

Congrats to all the "small islanders" making waves and winning medals.

« Reply #449 on: September 04, 2011, 01:05:43 PM »
Darvis Patton