April 19, 2024, 02:05:17 PM

Who would be the best Captain for the WC 2012 campaign?

Kenwyne Jones
Carlos Edwards
Stern John
Khaleem Hyland
Chris Birchall

Author Topic: The best Captain for the TT Soca Warriors  (Read 6939 times)

The best Captain for the TT Soca Warriors
« on: August 25, 2011, 08:53:56 AM »
I am not sure that Kenwyne Jones is the best choice as Captain of our soccer team. Not only is he quite and low key in his personality, he is too often far removed from the action and would have little influence unless the play is up front.  Dwight Yorke was our best captain in many decades.  Talented, outspoken, willing to track back and help, got on everyone one including the referees.  He often sacrificed himself and got a yellow for defending his teammates. That is good leadership and had a lot do do with our success in WC 2006 campaign.
What do you guys think?

Re: The best Captain for the TT Soca Warriors
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2011, 08:57:08 AM »
Edwards is d only reasonable name on dat list

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2011, 09:06:01 AM »
He may surprise you.

Otto may have done it to instill some confidence in KJ on national level.  It may result in KJ performing well and molding to a more accountable player.  Who knows? only time will tell. 

I'm sure that guys like Stern and Edwards will continue to be vocal on the field and the locker room.  A leader is a leader irrespective of the armband.

« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2011, 09:08:35 AM »
I actually think that putting this responsiblity on him will benefit. Being the one player currently playing at the highest level and being now used to the demands week in week out of the most difficult league in the world. He needs to take ownership of this team and drive them through this campaign

He can go head to head with Terry and Vidic and Lescott etc. He should dominate regionally, we have seen in the past not being able to replicate that form for the home shirt. I will give him the benefit of the doubt that on a personal level he will want to show the coach and the team and us that he is up for it this rounds.

As far as the ability to speak to the media, I actually think he does that quite well based on what i have seen so far.  

Give him a chance.

« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2011, 09:14:14 AM »
I am not sure that Kenwyne Jones is the best choice as Captain of our soccer team. Not only is he quite and low key in his personality, he is too often far removed from the action and would have little influence unless the play is up front.  Dwight Yorke was our best captain in many decades.  Talented, outspoken, willing to track back and help, got on everyone one including the referees.  He often sacrificed himself and got a yellow for defending his teammates. That is good leadership and had a lot do do with our success in WC 2006 campaign.
What do you guys think?

Agreed!!! Carlos comes to mind as the natural replacement although Otto may be using psychology in offering the arm band to Kenwyne Jones--Giving him the responsibility can have the effect of having him step up on and off the field, in the dressing room, among the lads etc. One cannot discount what (the level of professionalism, opponents, attitude, mentality) he is exposed to every day.

But Carlos has seniority, plays in a competitive league, played on the 06 World Cup team, is vocal and appears to possess natural leadership qualities

« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2011, 09:23:24 AM »
He may surprise you.

Otto may have done it to instill some confidence in KJ on national level.  It may result in KJ performing well and molding to a more accountable player.  Who knows? only time will tell. 

I'm sure that guys like Stern and Edwards will continue to be vocal on the field and the locker room.  A leader is a leader irrespective of the armband.

« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2011, 09:30:32 AM »
I actually think that putting this responsiblity on him will benefit. Being the one player currently playing at the highest level and being now used to the demands week in week out of the most difficult league in the world. He needs to take ownership of this team and drive them through this campaign

He can go head to head with Terry and Vidic and Lescott etc. He should dominate regionally, we have seen in the past not being able to replicate that form for the home shirt. I will give him the benefit of the doubt that on a personal level he will want to show the coach and the team and us that he is up for it this rounds.

As far as the ability to speak to the media, I actually think he does that quite well based on what i have seen so far.  

Give him a chance.

That I agree with!

« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2011, 09:43:56 AM »
The best Captain for the TT Soca Warriors

Is whoever the coach pick.

« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2011, 09:51:49 AM »
But Carlos has seniority, plays in a competitive league, played on the 06 World Cup team, is vocal and appears to possess natural leadership qualities

I like Carlos and would have no problem with him being captain.  But he does run way man from taking free kick (when Yorke and Latas not around) and he is NOT an established free kick taker.  I hope under Pfister dis whole tendency we have to let ONE player take ALL de free kicks and corners STOP, especially players who have seniority.

Yuh have capable players like Keon Daniel, Birchall, Kenwyne Jones etc who can kick de ball.  Birchall in particular does corner kicks and crosses the ball really well.  Kenwyne Jones has a very hard shot and can be used in certain situations. 

The idea is, this whole tendency we have for senior players to dominate everything on the field is counter productive IMO.  Is one thing to take charge and take responsibility.  But a big part of leadership is to empower those you're in charge of and help them to be the best they can be for the benefit of the team, not to stunt or retard their input.

I see that happen publicly to Keon Daniel.  And he is a better dead ball specialist than all a dem and he jes end up hangin he head and retreat into he shell when he get boof.

« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2011, 10:00:28 AM »
He may surprise you.

Co-signnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

« Reply #10 on: August 25, 2011, 10:19:29 AM »

I like Carlos and would have no problem with him being captain.  But he does run way man from taking free kick (when Yorke and Latas not around) and he is NOT an established free kick taker.  I hope under Pfister dis whole tendency we have to let ONE player take ALL de free kicks and corners STOP, especially players who have seniority.

Yuh have capable players like Keon Daniel, Birchall, Kenwyne Jones etc who can kick de ball.  Birchall in particular does corner kicks and crosses the ball really well.  Kenwyne Jones has a very hard shot and can be used in certain situations. 

The idea is, this whole tendency we have for senior players to dominate everything on the field is counter productive IMO.  Is one thing to take charge and take responsibility.  But a big part of leadership is to empower those you're in charge of and help them to be the best they can be for the benefit of the team, not to stunt or retard their input.

I see that happen publicly to Keon Daniel.  And he is a better dead ball specialist than all a dem and he jes end up hangin he head and retreat into he shell when he get boof.

some points here is why I particularly doh back Stern for captain and even while I would say Edwards.... apart from the set plays thing you mention he has a tendency to throw he hands in d air and whine..... when men make mistakes rather that pull dem aside and try to lift dey spirit or spur dem on.......but ah dont know bout d KJ ting doh

« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2011, 10:27:50 AM »
He may surprise you.

Co-signnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Co-signnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn, Co-signnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Offline madness

« Reply #12 on: August 25, 2011, 11:25:15 AM »
KJ is best suited for the role and i think we will c soon

« Reply #13 on: August 25, 2011, 01:12:46 PM »
sadly it have a "Darren Sammy" feel to it.. now we cant drop him

cause if KJ HAVE to start...lots of situations to take place...system,style,combinations ,sub decisions etc

i support whoever Otto pick as skipper...but ah feel this may have been rushed
good luck to the new skipper

« Reply #14 on: August 25, 2011, 01:15:42 PM »
sadly it have a "Darren Sammy" feel to it.. now we cant drop him

cause if KJ HAVE to start...lots of situations to take place...system,style,combinations ,sub decisions etc

i support whoever Otto pick as skipper...but ah feel this may have been rushed
good luck to the new skipper

german coaches test players, he is testing KJ to see if the responsibility will make him play  better, KJ is the target man, to allow a player like roberts to exploit the opportunities

i believe if KJ fails to live up to expectations, pfister will sub him with stern

« Reply #15 on: August 25, 2011, 01:22:30 PM »
Our captain just scored Fulham's 2nd goal in their Europa League match against FC Thun.

« Reply #16 on: August 25, 2011, 01:24:14 PM »
whos that jayerson ??...captain F#ck off tnt ??

« Reply #17 on: August 25, 2011, 01:30:23 PM »

I agree with yuh Palos....  From what little I know of Carlos personally and I do stress little, he came across as an obnoxious a**hole.  My experience was in Nashville after we get we arse wash, we were at the hotel and when he arrived he turning up he hand asking for an applause fuh he... That piss me off.  We just get we arse wash, yuh play ah bunch ah arse and yuh want applause and respect?  Please....  The fellas money and fame gone tuh they head....  Not captain material. 
As for Yorke, he because skipper material later in his career b/c earlier he was not serious and was into the show scene.  Him I know personally and fame got to his head.

I don't know most of these guys other that what I see on tv, but although I don't really like Densil Theobold's game, he looks and sounds like a true leader to me.  Listen to his interviews and watch how he conducts himself, he seems to be a true pro.  I respect that.  I don't see the reason why it must be someone from abroad to be the skipper to be honest.  You want your best "leader" as skipper.

« Reply #18 on: August 25, 2011, 02:05:22 PM »
Kenwyne is the PERFECT choice for captain. It gives him extra impetus not to walk around the pitch with his hands on his hips ala Stern John. Because if Kenwyne isnt directly getting the ball on his foot or head, he will walk around aimlessly up top. Give him the armband to change that mindset.

« Reply #19 on: August 25, 2011, 02:24:39 PM »
Kenwyne is the PERFECT choice for captain. It gives him extra impetus not to walk around the pitch with his hands on his hips ala Stern John. Because if Kenwyne isnt directly getting the ball on his foot or head, he will walk around aimlessly up top. Give him the armband to change that mindset.
Really?  How does that change the mindset?  Yuh think the arm band go just light up in he head and say ah have tuh lead?

« Reply #20 on: August 25, 2011, 02:39:09 PM »
I don't know about KJ being captain but I guess he deserves a chance. I don't see Carlos as captain. He's been tried before and didn't handle it well. Armband seems to affect his game.Stern seems to spend too much time complaining or warring with the fans. And I don't think Hyland or Birchall will command the kind of respect required, especially from the other senior players.

So I guess I'll just go with whoever the coach selects.

« Reply #21 on: August 25, 2011, 04:07:07 PM »
Captaincy is the least of our worries. That is the very bottom of the mango tree(totem pole). our headache is midfield and finding a defence 4 that can gel immediately.

« Reply #22 on: August 25, 2011, 04:15:06 PM »
Eventually Julius James. Jones go wuk fuh now and it will impact him positively that he could grow into the role. Furthermore he is the only sure pic of the seniors.

« Reply #23 on: August 25, 2011, 05:46:42 PM »
Captaincy is the least of our worries. That is the very bottom of the mango tree(totem pole). our headache is midfield and finding a defence 4 that can gel immediately.

I disagree imagine your captain is a moody, lazy player and you in a hot game needing motivation whereever you could get it ..... winning these games is mental as well as physical .. and you look to your leader on the pitch!!!

« Reply #24 on: August 25, 2011, 05:49:12 PM »

To be honest I dont want that KJ anywhere near my captaincy ... moody, lazy, not captain material .... julius james seems a good option  ask yuhself if yuh go in a war who yuh want to take with yuh?
He'll keep fighting to the end.

« Reply #25 on: August 25, 2011, 07:12:58 PM »
Men talking like they know KJ and his relationship with the team personally...I say time will tell and as BIg Mag does say "play de fitball"

« Reply #26 on: August 25, 2011, 07:28:40 PM »
and while we "play de fitball"...for me..Julius James or Chris Birchall

but then again...who was Italy captain in 1982 ?? no Google please

« Reply #27 on: August 25, 2011, 07:31:04 PM »
and while we "play de fitball"...for me..Julius James or Chris Birchall

but then again...who was Italy captain in 1982 ?? no Google please

wild guess Dino Zorf

« Reply #28 on: August 25, 2011, 07:35:44 PM »
and it took a wild guess..and i cant even say if you right or wrong

« Reply #29 on: August 26, 2011, 04:13:18 AM »
Whether or not we as fans of the game can remember who was the captain of a side almost 30 years later is irrelevant to the team on the day of the game. As Ngozi said, when game hot and yuh need a pull up on de field is time fuh de captain to step up!!!