April 25, 2024, 04:28:56 PM

Who would be the best Captain for the WC 2012 campaign?

Kenwyne Jones
Carlos Edwards
Stern John
Khaleem Hyland
Chris Birchall

Author Topic: The best Captain for the TT Soca Warriors  (Read 6949 times)

Re: The best Captain for the TT Soca Warriors
« Reply #30 on: August 26, 2011, 06:35:22 AM »
Kenwyne is the PERFECT choice for captain. It gives him extra impetus not to walk around the pitch with his hands on his hips ala Stern John. Because if Kenwyne isnt directly getting the ball on his foot or head, he will walk around aimlessly up top. Give him the armband to change that mindset.
Really?  How does that change the mindset?  Yuh think the arm band go just light up in he head and say ah have tuh lead?

Ah think that and the fact that he has had a good starting off of the season. not too shabby at all yuh must admit.

« Reply #31 on: August 26, 2011, 07:46:13 AM »
and while we "play de fitball"...for me..Julius James or Chris Birchall

but then again...who was Italy captain in 1982 ?? no Google please

wild guess Dino Zorf

Correk is right, lead from de back, Dorf, Zenga, Pagliuca, Buffon boss sequence of keepers for de Azzuri, only Galli messed dat up in 86

« Reply #32 on: August 26, 2011, 09:48:58 AM »

wild guess Dino Zorf

Correk is right, lead from de back, Dorf, Zenga, Pagliuca, Buffon boss sequence of keepers for de Azzuri, only Galli messed dat up in 86

Lead from de back indeed.
Interesting enough, all world cup winners' team captains from as far back as 1990 were all defensive/def mid players or goalkeeper
Maradona in 86 broke that trend.  even Yorkie captained as a DM.

KJ will do jus fine tho cuz he have some strong support.

« Reply #33 on: August 26, 2011, 11:10:14 AM »
What does ah captain do again?

« Reply #34 on: August 26, 2011, 11:33:29 AM »
Have you ever played an organized sport?

« Reply #35 on: August 26, 2011, 11:52:37 AM »

« Reply #36 on: August 26, 2011, 12:45:26 PM »
Kenwyne is the PERFECT choice for captain. It gives him extra impetus not to walk around the pitch with his hands on his hips ala Stern John. Because if Kenwyne isnt directly getting the ball on his foot or head, he will walk around aimlessly up top. Give him the armband to change that mindset.

To be honest I dont want that KJ anywhere near my captaincy ... moody, lazy, not captain material .... julius james seems a good option  ask yuhself if yuh go in a war who yuh want to take with yuh?
He'll keep fighting to the end.

This is our second national team game in so long. New coach, new beginning. Its not quite time for all out war mentality just yet. Time to groom KJ to mature mentally on the field. It wont happen in one game, but its a process.

« Reply #37 on: August 26, 2011, 02:53:18 PM »
Carlos doh even obey d law over dey wit he rebel behaviour, and jiving without license!!! Dye who yuh wha cyaptin d side???

« Reply #38 on: August 26, 2011, 03:38:53 PM »
captaincy is overated!!!!

« Reply #39 on: August 26, 2011, 03:42:51 PM »
Carlos doh even obey d law over dey wit he rebel behaviour, and jiving without license!!! Dye who yuh wha cyaptin d side???

Your argument is weak! Like you forget Yorke was our captain during world cup despite all the dotishness he did off field prior to that! Because when it came to football matters he had the discipline, experience and leadership qualities!

As BM say, the coach will decide!

« Reply #40 on: August 26, 2011, 04:37:15 PM »
his appointment might help improving our crossing game,cause now he can yell at ppl for not placing it directly in the middle of his forehead so he can score.

« Reply #41 on: August 26, 2011, 04:51:24 PM »
no one stands out as an obvious choice for captain.  whatever reason(s) pfister has for selecting jones let's hope he is right.

« Reply #42 on: August 26, 2011, 05:59:00 PM »

wild guess Dino Zorf

Interesting enough, all world cup winners' team captains from as far back as 1990 were all defensive/def mid players or goalkeeper

Nah,  Cruyff for Holland in 74. Socrates for Brazil in Spain.

« Reply #43 on: August 26, 2011, 08:04:18 PM »

What a dumb ass response.

What does a captain do? Can you answer that for me.

« Reply #44 on: August 26, 2011, 08:54:04 PM »
and it took a wild guess..and i cant even say if you right or wrong

Yes it was Zoff. Seriously is James a guaranteed starter for T&T? (just asking)

« Reply #45 on: August 26, 2011, 10:57:12 PM »
I would select J.LLoyd Samuel as El Capitan and groom Julius James to lead the team in the long term.

« Reply #46 on: August 27, 2011, 05:23:54 AM »

wild guess Dino Zorf

Nah,  Cruyff for Holland in 74. Socrates for Brazil in Spain.

Wasn't Socrates a defender?

« Reply #47 on: August 27, 2011, 08:30:10 AM »
Socrates played in the midfield... :devil:
There some great reasonings here,I like the choice,here is a young man,who is playing in the highest league of all his other national teamates and has had a great start to his season.Would this translate to him showing the same dedication on a national level,we are all awaiting success
A captain must show confidence he must be a rock

« Reply #48 on: August 28, 2011, 05:08:12 AM »

Homie if you doh appreciate the importance of a good captain fair enough but yuh cyah win that one by belittling the importance of a good captain and kicking up a fuss lol  ... walk away .. walk away lol

« Reply #49 on: August 28, 2011, 03:30:33 PM »
I still say captaincy is overated. Of course you look  for a "stable" player to be a leader on the field. But leaders come with different temperament. United have had Ferdinand, Giggs, Scholes, Evra and all those who I have forgotten. I can't even remember who is Barca captain. All I see is when Barca playing, all a them like clockwork, that it makes a captain irrelevant. Everyman has his job and they does just do it. When I play with Essex, I realized we had two captains. One wearing the armband, Lance Dillon(stopper)controlling things from the back,  and the inspirational captain, Sammy Llewellyn,running all over the field and creating havoc to the opposing defence.

Today United had Evra(armband) and Rooney(inspirational) creating havoc. Could Ashley Young captain that UTD team. Off course. Would I have liked to be a captain. Of course I would.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2011, 03:34:59 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #50 on: August 29, 2011, 08:58:46 AM »

Homie if you doh appreciate the importance of a good captain fair enough but yuh cyah win that one by belittling the importance of a good captain and kicking up a fuss lol  ... walk away .. walk away lol
Doh study he Gozi.... I don't get all riled up over ignorance.  If you don't appreciate the value of a captain or understand the relevance and importance, clearly he's never played any organized sports.  I moving on.... 

« Reply #51 on: August 29, 2011, 09:06:32 AM »
I kinda with Elan on the captaincy role in football not necessarily being that big of a deal.  The skipper takes the coin toss, handles issues with the ref, and has a few other diplomatic/showcase responsibilities, but it's such a collective, fluid game with a a fair amount of spontaneity and improv, that natural leaders will shine through regardless of the arm band...

I'd say that a choice of skipper may be more relevant with regard to impact it may have on an individual's performance...e.g. give a certain player captaincy if you think a sense of responsiblity will lift his game, or take it away if you think the pressure will affect is game adversely.   

« Reply #52 on: August 29, 2011, 11:19:04 AM »

Why should I walk away when none of you still to explain to me what a Captain do. Explain it? Since everyone talking about who is good for a Captain and great captains and all that jazz.

What is does a captain do?

« Reply #53 on: August 29, 2011, 11:21:28 AM »

Doh study he Gozi.... I don't get all riled up over ignorance.  If you don't appreciate the value of a captain or understand the relevance and importance, clearly he's never played any organized sports.  I moving on.... 

What does playing organized sports have to do with understanding the what a captain do? How about explaining it really quickly for me, the idiot?

« Reply #54 on: August 29, 2011, 01:25:52 PM »

What does playing organized sports have to do with understanding the what a captain do? How about explaining it really quickly for me, the idiot?
Saddest, I tell yuh I moving on.... 

« Reply #55 on: August 29, 2011, 01:39:34 PM »

Saddest, I tell yuh I moving on....