April 27, 2024, 08:47:14 AM

Author Topic: Soca Warriors campaign gets $45M boost  (Read 4073 times)

Soca Warriors campaign gets $45M boost
« on: August 25, 2011, 05:17:25 PM »
Soca Warriors campaign gets $45M boost
ctntworld.com

The Minister of Sports, Mr Anil Roberts, has confirmed Cabinet's approval of $45,433,288 for the Soca Warriors World Cup campaign until 2013.

Speaking at the Post Cabinet News Briefing, he said Government recognises that football is the Number 1 sport in Trinidad and Tobago and has taken steps to ensure the team is well prepared as it makes its way through the qualification stages for the 2014 World Cup.

The Minister said, "This will mean that the coaching staff, the technical staff, the players' contracts will be seen about by the people of Trinidad and Tobago with contracts, with process, with paperwork through the Authorising Committee, the SPORTT Company, and the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs.

The initial stage up to December 2011 should be $11,440,000. This will have some retroactivity in it as you remember coach Otto Pfister was brought in a few months ago. So we shall handle that backlog."
« Last Edit: August 25, 2011, 07:06:05 PM by Flex »

Re: Soca Warriors campaign gets $45M boost
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2011, 05:31:40 PM »
Let the good times roll :devil:

i guess this means corneal and crew are getting their exorbitant salaries that they do not deserve >:(

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2011, 06:12:36 PM »
Why $45,433,288 and not $45,433,287?

« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2011, 08:10:39 PM »

It was actually,$45,433,287.96 but dey round it up

« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2011, 08:16:26 PM »
Good times!!

« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2011, 09:34:53 PM »
Hopefully, the TTFF administration does not get a sniff of that money.  They will squander and then cook the books.  Intermediaries please, Mr. Sports Minister.

« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2011, 01:09:53 AM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl:  Soca,It's the second time i'm laughing,the MoS say not one red cent for Football,Camps cancel game against Haiti saying we can't play because of no money,the people say they want to see their national team play,this is what the people want so we got the money.JW show you all that. 

« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2011, 04:43:53 AM »
:rotfl: :rotfl:  Soca,It's the second time i'm laughing,the MoS say not one red cent for Football,Camps cancel game against Haiti saying we can't play because of no money,the people say they want to see their national team play,this is what the people want so we got the money.JW show you all that. 

According to z minister  this will be done with contracts and paperwork,,,not like before..yuh cyar read or wha?

« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2011, 05:26:24 AM »
It was actually,$45,433,287.96 but dey round it up no offence pt

At least somebody study Finance

« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2011, 06:35:16 AM »

According to z minister  this will be done with contracts and paperwork,,,not like before..yuh cyar read or wha?
       Breds it simple all you need to do is fall in line and business back to norms,how long you know these people.

« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2011, 09:05:46 AM »

« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2011, 09:15:13 AM »

« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2011, 09:37:32 AM »

lol...

« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2011, 09:43:32 AM »
veryyyy nice! :beermug:

« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2011, 09:53:22 AM »
Hopefully, the TTFF administration does not get a sniff of that money.  They will squander and then cook the books.  Intermediaries please, Mr. Sports Minister.

Agreed. Lets hope there is strong oversight to how/where this money is used.

« Reply #15 on: August 26, 2011, 11:16:09 AM »

your kidding right? :D

when has there ever been accountability in TT football?

Offline president

• ...Walk and don't look back...
« Reply #16 on: August 26, 2011, 12:01:03 PM »
The financial control of the WCQ campaign for Brasil 2014 has been outsourced to a committee of essentially non-TTFF personnel. As necessary as this may have been, given the state of TTFF finances and its abysmal accounting, this does not provide a final solution to the fundamental INTERNAL problems that affect the TTFF's politics and administration, technical development, and image (marketability). A sea change is needed in the federation. The issue is how to achieve this. Given the Constitution and structures of the TTFF this is only possible by democratic action and change from BELOW - as opposed to an effort to decapitate the federation in one fell swoop/coup. It is only a democratic rising of clubs from below that could establish a new vision for the TTFF and productively install a new leadership. Democratic participation is the only safeguard against dictatorship/oligarchy and all its associated ills.

« Reply #17 on: August 26, 2011, 12:26:54 PM »
The financial control of the WCQ campaign for Brasil 2014 has been outsourced to a committee of essentially non-TTFF personnel. As necessary as this may have been, given the state of TTFF finances and its abysmal accounting, this does not provide a final solution to the fundamental INTERNAL problems that affect the TTFF's politics and administration, technical development, and image (marketability). A sea change is needed in the federation. The issue is how to achieve this. Given the Constitution and structures of the TTFF this is only possible by democratic action and change from BELOW - as opposed to an effort to decapitate the federation in one fell swoop/coup. It is only a democratic rising of clubs from below that could establish a new vision for the TTFF and productively install a new leadership. Democratic participation is the only safeguard against dictatorship/oligarchy and all its associated ills.

there are members of the ttff appointed to the newly formed committee, so it is indeed an extension of the ttff. harford is also an archivist for the ttff as well, who is the head of all sport.

so i have no idea where you are getting your information from, saying the new committee is not connected to the ttff, who are you trying to fool?

the only points i agree with you on mr.look loy is that change must happen from below, in regards to the associations voting for a new ttff, however that will not happen anytime soon with the amount of money being pumped by the government into football and the ttff admin that has essentially been given a lifeline.

there are other ways to effect change that would take away power form the ttff but it will take a team to do it and also the resources.

Offline president

« Reply #18 on: August 26, 2011, 12:43:30 PM »
Friend, the committee that is responsible for spending the WCQ funds is NOT controlled by TTFF. It includes MoS, and other personnel, as well as a former Central bank official, I believe. THAT, is a far cry from being TTFF-controlled. But that is not my essential point, which concerns the methodology of change. I am happy we could agree on that one.

« Reply #19 on: August 26, 2011, 12:47:45 PM »

your kidding right? :D

when has there ever been accountability in TT football?

Hence why i agreed and said lets hope

« Reply #20 on: August 26, 2011, 12:50:11 PM »
Friend, the committee that is responsible for spending the WCQ funds is NOT controlled by TTFF. It includes MoS, and other personnel, as well as a former Central bank official, I believe. THAT, is a far cry from being TTFF-controlled. But that is not my essential point, which concerns the methodology of change. I am happy we could agree on that one.

your side stepping, harford is an archivist for the ttff and as stated in the press release on the details of the committee, it also states that another exec will be appointed to the committee, which means 2 execs will sit on the newly formed committee from the ttff.

so how is the ttff hand not in the new committee? the picture with anil hugging camps is symbolic, it represents the merging of the ttff with the govt in regards to national football.

the mere fact that camps and co have not stepped down, also shows us that the ttff is here to stay and the admin is not ready to go anywhere. The heat has been taken off them with this JOINT sub-committee of the ttff and govt, which to me is just another smoke screen.

once again mr.look loy, its not personal, i agreed with your selection of pfister as our national coach :beermug:

Offline president

« Reply #21 on: August 26, 2011, 12:51:58 PM »
...and Mr. Look Loy, did you say?...

« Reply #22 on: August 26, 2011, 12:57:30 PM »
...and Mr. Look Loy, did you say?...

???

Offline president

« Reply #23 on: August 26, 2011, 12:59:04 PM »
No offence taken. Progress demands we divorce ourselves from personal likes and dislikes. But your argument assumes that EVERYBODY - Harford, Central Bank and MoS personnel, everybody - is in on the TTFF conspiracy to rob the treasury and the people blind. Come on man...

« Reply #24 on: August 26, 2011, 01:14:26 PM »
No offence taken. Progress demands we divorce ourselves from personal likes and dislikes. But your argument assumes that EVERYBODY - Harford, Central Bank and MoS personnel, everybody - is in on the TTFF conspiracy to rob the treasury and the people blind. Come on man...

i never said that the MOS and central bank officer are out to rob the people.

the mere fact that there are 2 execs from the ttff involved in the business and decision making of the committee would still evoke suspicion among our supporters.

Harford is a TTFF exec and heads the marketing committee, this still means the ttff have a hand in the business of football, whether you say so or not.

You cannot simply dismiss it as conspiracy when the facts are out there in the open. If Harford was not an archivist for the TTFF and his marketing firm was appointed because of their track record and not by affiliation, I would say we were headed in the right direction.

However, that is not the case, Harford is a TTFF boy and any people who are affiliated to the ttff will be viewed with great skepticism.

« Reply #25 on: August 26, 2011, 01:24:00 PM »
Contro TTFF must have a hand in the Football,FIFA don't recognize Allsport they recognize the TTFF,when FIFA have to send corespondence for Football to T&T should they send it to Anil or Tony Harford?

« Reply #26 on: August 26, 2011, 01:42:14 PM »
Contro TTFF must have a hand in the Football,FIFA don't recognize Allsport they recognize the TTFF,when FIFA have to send corespondence for Football to T&T should they send it to Anil or Tony Harford?

the ttff should submit the budget and organize the players, coaches and so forth of the team

all monetary transactions, marketing an so forth should be by an independent not attached to the ttff, therein lies the problem

we are tired of them robbing our people and our football

Harford happy with Govt support
« Reply #27 on: August 28, 2011, 08:14:06 AM »
Harford happy with Govt support
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian)

Anthony Harford, chairman of Authorisation Committee (AC), which was formed earlier this month to manage all affairs of the T&T Football Federation says he is happy with the financial support given to the Soca Warriors in their efforts to qualify for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil. The Authorisation Committee has been appointed to handle all marketing and sponsorship responsibilities as well as oversee the management of international matches. On Thursday at a Post-Cabinet briefing, Minister of Sports, Anil Roberts announced that Cabinet had agreed to a financial commitment of $45 million-plus to the Soca Warriors in their efforts to qualify for the 2014 Brazil FIFA World Cup Finals. Speaking to the media, Roberts said that Government had agreed to a total of $45,433,288 in funding if we qualify, which will take us up to November 2013.

This means the coaching staff, technical staff and players contracts will be seen about by the people of  T&T with due paperwork’s through the Authorisation Committee, the Ministry of Sports and the Sport Company of T&T (SporTT). The initial stage of funding for the T&T squad for qualifiers from September 2 to December 2011, should be $11,440,000 which has some retroactively  figures in it as you are aware coach Otto Pfister. Once the Soca Warriors get past the second round series and advances to the third round where Costa Rica and Mexico are certain opponents, they could benefit from in more Government financial support to the sum of $16, 996,608 which will allow for $16,996,680 in financial support should the Soca Warriors book a spot in the Concacaf Final Round hexagonal tournament from which the top three teams will qualify automatically for Brazil.

Contacted for comment, Harford said, “We have been informed official by the Minister of Sport and we are receive the letters of confirmation over the next few days. Asked how soon, the funds will be made available, Harford replied, “We expect that the necessary paperwork for the actual release of funds to be completed within the next two to three weeks after which all will be taken care off. Harvard was also delighted to point out that apart from Carib, TSTT and Blue Waters which have been long-time supporters and partners of the T&T Soca Warriors other sponsors such as Coca-Cola, Caribbean Airlines and Gatorade have all confirmed their commitment to supporting the team and 2014 Brazil qualifying campaign. Harford, who is also the managing director All Sport Promotions Ltd said discussions were on-going with two sporting brands with regards to outfitting the national teams. “The contract with Adidas ended in 2010 but we have agreed with them that we will continue to use its apparel until a new deal is agreed. “They (Adidas) have already expressed their intentions of renewing the contract but we are also in discussions with another top sporting brand as well.

Pressed to state whether the national Under-23 (Olympic) team which has a another round of qualifiers in November will be privy to the financial support given to the new Authorisation Committee, Harford said it is hoped all national teams will benefit from the extra funding from the government support. The ’s Soca Warriors kick off their 2014 Brazil World Cup Caribbean Football Union Group B second round qualifying campaign against Bermuda at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo from 4 pm while it will also face Guyana and Barbados in the round-robin four-team series from which only the group winner advances to the third round where Mexico and Costa Rica awaits and possibly, El Salvador.

« Reply #28 on: August 28, 2011, 08:49:00 AM »
Harford happy. Yeh right. Keep covering for bad business practices by the TTFF. We have yet to see their books. That is if we will ever see that.

« Reply #29 on: August 28, 2011, 09:47:42 AM »
Contro, they must have a TTFF guy on the committee. Say the committee is asking why Pfister needs $40,000 of water for training? Someone must explain. Why do you need 100 pairs of socks for 30 players? Someone must explain.

As much as I don't trust TTFF, there will be some in there who could prove useful in the future. Even if we get our wish and Camps & co are replaced, we must have some of TTFF remain simply to explain in which drawer we keep the stapler and who fixes the plumbing when it bursts.

That said, it was a mistake to appoint AllSport. Harford is too close to the old regime. I am being serious when I say that a fete promoter could have done a better job. Someone like Hoppi from Scorch, or Sancho at VFI. Once you have a team with links to media and corporate Trinidad, all you need is ideas. How can North East Stars sell 4 Carib and a supporters T shirt for $50 and AllSport can't? How can other clubs do giveaways? Maybe I'm not giving Harford a chance, but when I saw the superb marketing opportunity of the India game wasted by charging $100 & $200, I immediately lost faith in AllSport. Their aim at this point is not to make money, its to rebuild a brand. What did we pay $200 for? No players were flown from overseas, the stadium was free, they knew the gov't were going to pay wages, so why the need for 2000 people to pay an average of $150 when they could have got 6,000 for $50 and build momentum?

The one thing everyone seems to be forgetting about this bright new TTFF, is that the judge in the court case will be giving his decisions at the end of September. This case is like Herpes....it may disapear for a while, but it keeps coming back. Anyone who came into contact with the carrier back in 2006 may also have contracted the disease, but we won't know until it flares up again. Harford was around and so were others supposedly outside of TTFF. Trust me, there is one more big expolsion waiting to go off and when it does there will be a disabling blow to those involved and a lot of collateral damage to those who ate from the same trough.