March 29, 2024, 05:29:36 AM

Author Topic: Prime Minister among dignitaries to attend opening qualifier.  (Read 7462 times)

Prime Minister among dignitaries to attend opening qualifier.
« on: September 02, 2011, 04:32:48 AM »

Acting President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago Mr Timothy Hamel Smith, Prime Minister the Honourable Mrs Kamla Persad Bissessar and Minister of Sports, Mr Anil Roberts will attend Friday’s 2014 World Cup qualifier between Trinidad and Tobago and Bermuda at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. All of three of them will also meet both teams prior to kick off at 4pm.

Anthony Harford, who is overseeing all marketing and promotions for the T&T World Cup campaign, said the news of the presence of the top trio was confirmed today.

“All three of them will attend the kick off the match and will be escorted onto the field before the official kick off to meet the two teams. The Honourable Prime Minister will take the time out to attend this opening match as she sees it fit with this being the first match for our country’s national team on the Road to Brazil 2014 World Cup campaign,” Harford said.

Meantime, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation and by extension captain Kenwyne Jones and members of the Men’s National Team is extending condolences to Stern John and his family on the passing of his mom Janet who had been ailing for some time. John received the news of her passing on Thursday evening and was excused from the team camp to return to his Trincity home.

Head coach Otto Pfister meantime will name his final 18-man squad on Friday morning, preferring to keep his full quota of 25 players in camp at the Crowne Plaza. All 25 players trained for 30 minutes on Thursday morning at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. The Bermudans trained from 5pm at the match venue today.

T&T captain Kenwyne Jones, speaking ahead of tomorrow’s clash, said patience and discipline would be the key to a complete T&T performance in a match where the hosts are expected to take all three points.

“I’m happy to be back home and leading the national team.  It’s something a player dreams of and I thank god that this has happened. Today was our last day of preparations and things are looking good. We have to try and gel as quickly as possible. Hopefully tomorrow we can impose ourselves on the Bermuda team and win the game,” Jones said.

The former Sunderland player added that the match in itself was a huge occasion for the team.

“Regardless of the opposition it’s a big occasion, seeing that it’s the first game of the qualification. We all want to do well and the country wants us to do well. Of course, there is going to be a bit of nervousness. But I think from the time that the whistle blows everyone should be able to get into their own stride and hopefully we can go out there and right the wrongs of the past.”

When asked about the questions on his own performances for the T&T team, particularly in the past qualifying campaign, Jones replied: “In the last campaign, I guess I was  not the only one to blame. That is the football life. Every player on the team has to do his  job. My job is going out there to lead the team and also to score goals and help the team win matches.

“We have a good group of experienced players and some new players also. We have a lot of past players who have been through all the systems so it’s definitely a good mix.

We are in a stage where we are also planning for the future, not just for 2014 but also for the future of Trinidad and Tobago football so hopefully with what we have going on now… we can press forward,” the Stoke City forward stated.

Kick off time is 4pm and tickets will be on sale at the Match venue from 2pm.

LINKS

What the Fans Want - Brian Springer on  T&T vs Bermuda

View Photos of training.

Re: Prime Minister among dignitaries to attend opening qualifier.
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2011, 04:40:16 AM »
FYI, for those in attendance...

New curfew hours today
BY ANDRE BAGOO (NEWSDAY)
Friday, September 2 2011

NEW CURFEW hours are expected to be announced by Minister of National Security John Sandy today as a marathon debate of two motions on the state of emergency, including one for its extension by three months, begins this morning in Parliament.

Newsday understands that the Minister of National Security is set to announce a shortening of the curfew hours in a sitting which could last until Sunday, according to warnings that have been issued to Red House staff and MPs.

Draft orders to amend the current curfew orders which were issued last week Monday, have already been prepared. National security sources have indicated that there is widespread consensus that the curfew start time of 9 pm should be pushed back to between the hours of 11 pm and 12 pm and that the curfew’s end time of 5 am should be brought up earlier to at about 4 am.

Parliament staff have been informed that today’s debate, which begins at 10 am, is to be cut short at 6.30 pm and adjourned to tomorrow if need be, in light of the current curfew hours. If debate goes to tomorrow and is not concluded on that day by 6.30 pm, the House is to meet on Sunday to complete the matter, according to warnings issued to MPs by Leader of Government Business in the House Dr Roodal Moonilal.

Minister of National Security John Sandy is expected this morning to move a first motion calling on MPs to take note of the reasons given by President George Maxwell Richards for the signing of the proclamation of the state of emergency.

Section 9 (1) of the Constitution notes that the President’s reasons must be debated by MPs “as soon as practicable but in any event not later than 15 days from the date of the proclamation”.

Additionally, a second motion calling for the House of Representatives to resolve to extend the state of emergency under Section 10 of the Constitution is to be tabled, as indicated by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar on Monday.

Section 10 reads: “Before its expiration, the proclamation may be extended from time to time by resolution supported by simple majority vote of the House of Representatives, so however that no extension exceeds three months and the extensions do not in the aggregate exceed six months.”

Newsday understands that Moonilal has served notice of the extension to the Clerk of the House Jacqui Sampson-Meiguel. A supplemental order paper, as of yesterday, had already been circulated among MPs indicating the motion to debate the resolution.

The State will seek an extension of three months. The proclamation may be revoked at any time by another resolution passed with a simple majority.

The new curfew hours are likely to take effect for the period for which any extension is sought. The orders are themselves not approved by Parliament, but issued by the Commissioner of Police under the emergency regulations. The Commissioner of Police may amend curfew hours by order at any time during a state of emergency.

In relation to today’s debate, all Government MPs were asked to be prepared to speak during the debate by Moonilal at last week’s Cabinet meeting. In addition to Sandy, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, Minister of Justice Herbert Volney and Minister of Legal Affairs Prakash Ramadhar, who is also the Congress of the People, political leader, are to speak. It is understood that all Opposition PNM MPs are to speak during the debate. Contacted yesterday, however, Opposition Chief Whip Marlene MacDonald indicated that she was unavailable for comment.

It is understood that Government MPs are to respond to every Opposition MP’s contribution. There are 29 Government MPs and 12 Opposition MPs. Each speaker is allowed a maximum speaking time of 75 minutes, raising the possibility of a total of approximately 30 hours of debate over the course of today and the weekend, if the debate drags on.

At the end of the debate, whenever it occurs, the matter must be put to a vote. All proceedings must be completed before the expiry of the President’s proclamation of a state of emergency next week Monday.

Up to yesterday afternoon, the Congress of the People (COP) was holding an emergency closed- door caucus to discuss the proposal for the extension of the state of emergency, ahead of today’s Parliament sitting. The COP is the second largest of the five coalition Government partners.

It is understood that members of the COP have expressed support for the state of emergency, but some anxiety has also been expressed over the proposal of an extension given the need to balance human rights and liberties with measures to deal with crime.

In his statement of reasons for declaring a state of emergency the President noted a recent spike in crime from last month.

“This country had been witnessing within recent times the tragedy of multiple murders and an upsurge in gang-related violence,” the President said. He explained that he declared the state of emergency on specific and confidential intelligence.

“There is the real risk of reprisal and retaliation by gangs that will compromise and can continue to compromise and endanger public safety, law and order. Innocent citizens going about their daily business have lost their lives as a result of these gangs merely being at the wrong place and at the wrong time.” This state of affairs, the President said, called for more urgent action.

“There is urgent need to address this threat to public safety and the upsurge in violent crime in the shortest possible time,” he told MPs.

« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2011, 06:42:46 AM »
Let me strt now

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2011, 06:53:17 AM »

Meantime, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation and by extension captain Kenwyne Jones and members of the Men’s National Team is extending condolences to Stern John and his family on the passing of his mom Janet who had been ailing for some time. John received the news of her passing on Thursday evening and was excused from the team camp to return to his Trincity home.

My condolences to you Stern, really sorry to hear of your loss.
Stay strong  #14  :beermug:

« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2011, 06:58:08 AM »
Stay strong Stern

« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2011, 07:01:02 AM »
Oh dear....sorry to hear about your mom Stern.....

« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2011, 10:19:18 AM »
Jeez,, how can he play?  ah know he is a professional an all but it's the man mother

« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2011, 10:29:22 AM »
Shaun, great job on the write up on Patriot !!!!...

:applause: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2011, 11:36:42 AM »
Hmmm....now I know our football is important, but why is Kamla going to leave one of the most important parliamentery sessions in modern times to go to football? Surely she should be on the front benches not the VIP benches? Same with Anil who is a cabinet minister.

« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2011, 11:39:53 AM »
Hmmm....now I know our football is important, but why is Kamla going to leave one of the most important parliamentery sessions in modern times to go to football? Surely she should be on the front benches not the VIP benches? Same with Anil who is a cabinet minister.
Because we don't actually have an emergency.

« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2011, 11:48:40 AM »

because Kams want to show she newest hat...and Anil have to flex de latest rhinestone belt buckle
all non fashionistas have to be in parliament

« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2011, 12:13:45 PM »

because Kams want to show she newest hat...and Anil have to flex de latest rhinestone belt buckle
All yuh relll friggin ignorant. When i read de artiocle i was like ohh nice...really good gesture and there presence wld have a great impact on the warriors, and it show just how much support they relly have...atleast they are being recognised...then ah was relly suprised by my fellow forumites to see such negativity being posted about their attendance...

Cyah pleaseah trini at all nah... :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2011, 12:32:18 PM »

All yuh relll friggin ignorant. When i read de artiocle i was like ohh nice...really good gesture and there presence wld have a great impact on the warriors, and it show just how much support they relly have...atleast they are being recognised...then ah was relly suprised by my fellow forumites to see such negativity being posted about their attendance...

Stallion...Iz kicks de man orn. :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2011, 12:42:51 PM »

If you think the Prime Minister leaving the debate for the extension of a State of Emergency to and watch a football match is ok then I real happy for you.

« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2011, 12:50:30 PM »

If you think the Prime Minister leaving the debate for the extension of a State of Emergency to and watch a football match is ok then I real happy for you.

horseee it aint that one is more important than the other, i just saying in REGARDS TO FOOTBALL iit is a nice gesture of suppport breds....apart from whichhh the can be the appointment of an acting prime minister, and and instructions can be given as to the obivious direction of what she wants to be relayed..d....

« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2011, 01:01:18 PM »

All yuh relll friggin ignorant.

bah, you jus vex cause yuh didnt see de fashion at the u-17 womens world cup

chinchilla coat an ting

« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2011, 01:37:24 PM »

All yuh relll friggin ignorant.

bah, you jus vex cause yuh didnt see de fashion at the u-17 womens world cup

chinchilla coat an ting

Wuh de asss...doh make joke...well now ah rellly vex!! :beermug:

« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2011, 03:02:34 PM »
horseee it aint that one is more important than the other, i just saying in REGARDS TO FOOTBALL iit is a nice gesture of suppport breds....apart from whichhh the can be the appointment of an acting prime minister, and and instructions can be given as to the obivious direction of what she wants to be relayed..d....

You doh think one is more important than the other? Lol, no wonder yuh vex.

« Reply #18 on: September 02, 2011, 03:24:54 PM »

You doh think one is more important than the other? Lol, no wonder yuh vex.
hahaha bakes yuh is ah police...OK For the record...all it is, is a nice gesture... :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: September 02, 2011, 07:09:12 PM »
camps get a handful of boos.. of course i did
it had a man in uncovered just screaming at Camps..over and over...lol

« Reply #20 on: September 02, 2011, 07:48:16 PM »
Yes, it was nice that Kamla went, but in this current climate I think her gesture was misplaced.

Now, interesting point. I was fortunate to be in the VIP area behind the VVIP box where Kamla sat. Just before the introductions I went for my customary pre match smoke. as I went out by the Hasely Crawford suite, by the permanently non working escalator, I came literally face to face with Kamla, Roberts and the groovy gang waiting to go down to meet the players. Well, I stopped, accessed the situation, and thought I'd just pass through. A security guy (kinda CIA mic on his wrist kinda dude) politely asked me to wait a second, which of course, I did. Now I didn't get searched upon entry and I would have thought a white guy coming within 5 yards of the PM would have caused more concern. I mean, I could have been an American hit man hired by a US drug baron. If I had a gun or even a knife Warner could now be PM  :o  I actually pointed this out to a police afterwards and suggested they take more care of Kamla.

Also, Olllie didn't even smile at me in the HC suite, but he was smiling at other people  ??? 

« Reply #21 on: September 02, 2011, 10:43:21 PM »

I hear allyuh boo the dignitary from the T.T.F.F.

« Reply #22 on: September 03, 2011, 12:28:51 PM »

« Reply #23 on: September 03, 2011, 12:45:25 PM »

Why does kamla need to hold onto that man arm when walking out onto de stadium?

« Reply #24 on: September 03, 2011, 01:32:46 PM »
Caption this Pic . .  :rotfl:

Men In Black T&T style . . .T&T jokey oui :rotfl:

« Reply #25 on: September 03, 2011, 02:31:15 PM »

Don't think its a man Palos, yuh ent see the ear ring, blouse & pony-tail?
« Last Edit: September 03, 2011, 02:40:36 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #26 on: September 03, 2011, 02:35:56 PM »

Don't understand why allyuh Trinis home put these comedians in power, yes!  ::)

Allyuh deserve what allyuh get, Two Women & Two Men In Black SOE & Curfew in allyuh backside!  8)
« Last Edit: September 03, 2011, 02:38:37 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #27 on: September 03, 2011, 03:24:08 PM »
Don't understand why allyuh Trinis home put these comedians in power, yes!  ::)

Allyuh deserve what allyuh get, Two Women & Two Men In Black SOE & Curfew in allyuh backside!  8)

Complete with tie bar and 1990s darkers... yuh think it easy  :rotfl:

« Reply #28 on: September 03, 2011, 03:27:44 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: why yuh so

« Reply #29 on: September 03, 2011, 05:15:12 PM »
My Prime Minister looking sexy for days. I have never said that about any other PM before her nor will I mention those words for any other after her unless she is dy no mite. Is not dat the PM is dynomite, but, anyways, never mind.