March 28, 2024, 12:56:23 PM

Author Topic: Best Team on Paper?  (Read 8330 times)

Best Team on Paper?
« on: September 02, 2011, 11:07:35 AM »
I hearing a lot about this team being our best on paper since 2000 etc

I decided to try and compare World Cup qualifying squads. Some players easy because they just replacing themselves, but it not all that simple. For instance Dwight in 02 not competing with Dwight of 06, but with Stern.

Please note that this is just me trying to remember. I could be wrong about player positions, player strengths etc. Anybody who know better feel to correct thanks

First the coaches
Beenie 05-06 > Pfister 11-12 > Porters 00-01 >  BSC 00 >Simoes 01 > Pacho 08-09 > Latas 09/BSC 04-05
(I given Beenie the benefit of the doubt, but if you want to argue for Otto be my guest)

Goalies
Ince 00-01 > Ince 04-06 = Ince 08-09
Shaka 00-01 > Shaka 04-06 > Phillips 08-09
Russell 00-01 < Jack 04-06 > Williams 08-09
--------------------------------------------------
Defenders
Talles 00-01 > Talles 04-06 < Talles 08-09
Dog 00-01 > Dog 04-06 < Dog 09
 Cyd 01 > Cyd 05-06 < Cyd 08
Cox 00-01 > Cox 04-06 = Hislop 08-09
Blade 00-01 > Blade 04-06 > Blade 08-09

----------------------------------------------------------------
Midfielders
Latas 00-01 > Latas 05-06 > Latas 08-09
Dwarika 00-01 < Whitley 05-06
Nakhid 00 > Yorke 05-06 > Yorke 08-09
Rougier 00-01 < Rougier 05 = Leon 08-09  
Eve 00-01 < Theobald 04-06 = Theobald 08-09
Wise 00-01 > Carlos 05-06 > Daniel 08-09
--------------------------------------------------------------
Nixon 00-01 < Glen 04-06 < Glen 08-09
N. Pierre 00-01  = Scotland 04-06 =  Scotland 08-09
Yorke 00-01 > Jones 04-06 < Jones 09
Stern 01 < Stern 04-06 > Stern 08-09

Couldn't figure out who the following compare with in all years
Mason 00-01
Saunders 00-01
Trotman 00-01
Sh David 00
Carrington 00-01
Elcock 00-01

Rahim 00-01
Mauge 00-01

Samuel 05-06
Wise 06
Aklie 08-09  
Hyland 08-09
Wolfe 08-09,

Birchall 05-06 = Birchall 08-09
Spann 04-06 > Spann 08-09
Sancho 04-06  < Abu Bakr 09
Charles 05-06 = Thomas 08-09
Wolfe 06 < Baptiste 08-09

Squads
BSC (GC 2000)
XI: Ince - Elcock - Andrews - Shurland David - Rougier - Mason - Latapy - Nakhid - Eve - Dwarika - Yorke
Sub: Russell? Wise - Trotman - Rahim - Nixon - King

Porters (WCQ 2000)
XI:  Ince - Elcock - Andrews - Shurland David - Lawrence - Carrington - Latapy - Mason - Eve - Dwarika - Yorke
Sub: Hislop - Saunders - Rougier - Demmin - L. Andrews - Wise - Carlos - Nixon - N. Pierre - Glasgow - Sam

Porters (WCQ 2001)
XI:  Ince - Elcock- Andrews - Rougier - Lawrence - Carrington - Latapy - Rahim - Eve - Stern - Yorke
Sub: Hislop - Saunders - Mauge - Cox - Gray - - L. Andrews - Wise - Carlos - Trotman  - Dwarika - N. Pierre

-------
BSC (WCQ 2004)
XI:  Keeper - KJ - Andrews - Sancho - Lawrence - Rojas - Dwarika - Rahim - Eve - McFarlane- Stern
Sub: Keeper - Cox - Spann - A.John - Boucaud - Theobald - Nixon - Glen - Sealy  - Sam - Scotland
BSC (WCQ 2005)
XI:  Keeper - KJ - A.Pierre - Sancho - Lawrence - Rojas - Fitzpatrick - Carlos - Eve - Yorke- Stern
Sub: Keeper - Charles - Spann - Henry - Andrews  - Rougier - Theobald - Glen -King - Sam - N. Pierre
-------
Beenie (WCQ 2005)
XI: Jack - Spann - Andrews - Lawrence - A. John - Birchall - Whitley - Latapy - Carlos -Yorke - Stern
Sub: Hislop - Gray - Charles - Sancho - Cox - Samuel - Latapy - Theobald - Scotland - Glen - Jones
Beenie (WC 2006
XI: Jack - Gray - Sancho - Lawrence - A. John - Birchall - Whitley - Theobald - Carlos -Yorke - Stern
Sub: Hislop - Andrews - Charles - Wise - Cox -  Samuel- Latapy - Wolfe - Scotland - Glen - Jones
-------
Pacho (WCQ 2008)
XI: Ince - Gray - K. Thomas - Lawrence - John/Aklie - Birchall - Yorke - Daniel - Carlos - Theobald/Latapy - Glen
Sub: Phillips - S. Spann - Hislop - Hyland - Leon - Telesford - Leon - Baptiste - Toussaint - Wolfe - Scotland
Pacho (WCQ 2009)
XI: Ince - Wolfe - K. Thomas - Lawrence - Aklie - Birchall - Leon - Daniel - Carlos - Stern - Jones
Sub: Williams - S. Spann - Hislop - Hyland - Leon - Yorke - Glen - Latas - Scotland
Latas (WCQ 2009)
XI: Ince - Carlos - Lawrence - Andrews - Abu Bakr - Spann - Leon - Tinto - Yorke- Daniel - Trent - Jones
Sub: Phillip - Hislop - Cupid - Thompson - Theobald, Birchall, Glen, Baptiste, Hector,  Scotland, Jorsling

Re: Best Team on Paper?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2011, 11:16:45 AM »
Nothing but paper tigers.

Can they match the 1973 team.

The 2006 world cup team would get dogged out by that 1973 team. No doubt.

Once again, TnT have 4 reasons why it is staying home.

1)USA
2)Mexico
3)Costa Rica
4)Honduras
« Last Edit: September 02, 2011, 11:33:28 AM by King Deese »

« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2011, 11:39:31 AM »

Assness talk dey

1 - There is no way on this GOD's green earth that you could EVER prove that

2 - That same 73 team lost to Honduras in their first game...so it wasn't Haiti dat did lick dem out

3 - The highest level that any player on the 73 team played was NASL.  Over 60% of the 2006 team team played at higher levels than NASL.  Soime significantly so.

4 - The 2 greatest ever players in T&T football played in the 2006 team.

5 - Even man for man, the 2006 team way better.  2006 coach better than 73 coach.  Hislop way better than Barclay.  Sancho and Tallest at least on par with Murren and Figaro.  Carlos Edwards waaaay better than Tony Douglas.  Yorke better than Gally.  Stern John better than Steve David.

Yuh could big up yuh 73 team all yuh want.  Is your perogative.  But do not diss the team that ACTUALLY did the business in the process.

« Last Edit: September 02, 2011, 11:44:18 AM by palos »

« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2011, 11:41:06 AM »
The best team on paper IMHO we ever had was that 2001 WC team that went to Kingston and lost 0-1...
We shlda never lose that game. We had 2 glaring misses in the first 15mins, then Marshall string up Shaka good and proper and we chase after that against a 10 man defense. Had we won that game, we would have built momentum and qualified for sure for the 2002 WC. This was the same core team that won the semi-final group of death destroying Panama and Canada and Mexico at home.....the same core team that went on that long unbeaten run in 99-00 and the same core team that beat Colombia and run Mexico to the ground in the Gold Cup that is still the most surreal game of football I have ever seen (we lost 0-4 but outplayed Mexico all game). This was the game that coach JW used to fire BSC and brought in Porterfield I think.

WRT our biggest threat to Brazil 2014, Honduras aint prove themselves as the next Costa Rica in the region yet. Aint too worried about them.

If we get past the semi final round, we will have eliminated Mexico or Costa Rica, thats the key.

Football aint played on paper, we matchup better vs mexico than Costa Rica or the US or even jamaica, as we always good for at least a point if not a win vs Mexico in POS.

Costa Rica is our big threat to qualifying, in this case, the semi final round....

« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2011, 12:00:29 PM »
I don't know about best team ever and best team on paper but I believe if this team can gel and stay somewhat injury free, it can be one of our better teams I've witnessed.

« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2011, 12:03:57 PM »
The 05/06 version of Cyd Gray was de best. De 00/01 was de worst.

Coaching wise, ah would put 00 BSC before Porters.

« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2011, 12:05:55 PM »
The best team on paper IMHO we ever had was that 2001 WC team that went to Kingston and lost 0-1...
We shlda never lose that game. We had 2 glaring misses in the first 15mins, then Marshall string up Shaka good and proper and we chase after that against a 10 man defense. Had we won that game, we would have built momentum and qualified for sure for the 2002 WC. This was the same core team that won the semi-final group of death destroying Panama and Canada and Mexico at home.....the same core team that went on that long unbeaten run in 99-00 and the same core team that beat Colombia and run Mexico to the ground in the Gold Cup that is still the most surreal game of football I have ever seen (we lost 0-4 but outplayed Mexico all game). This was the game that coach JW used to fire BSC and brought in Porterfield I think.

I second all that... biggest football tabanca I ever get since Nov 19th... and it was long and drawn out  :-\

Offline Arazi

« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2011, 12:43:32 PM »
The 05/06 version of Cyd Gray was de best. De 00/01 was de worst.

Coaching wise, ah would put 00 BSC before Porters.

I agree Cyd peaked in 05-06.

Why is Porterfield widely seen as a lesser coach than BSC is beyond me tho. His team did quite well even if you want to argue that he built on BSC's momentum, his teams were far more defensively sound than BSC's ever was!

Tell me why BSC is a better coach than Porterfield or are y'all going strictly by results? And even that is debatable.
I hearing a lot about this team being our best on paper since 2000 etc

I decided to try and compare World Cup qualifying squads. Some players easy because they just replacing themselves, but it not all that simple. For instance Dwight in 02 not competing with Dwight of 06, but with Stern.

Please note that this is just me trying to remember. I could be wrong about player positions, player strengths etc. Anybody who know better feel to correct thanks

First the coaches
Beenie 05-06 > Pfister 11-12 > Porters 00-01 >  BSC 00 >Simoes 01 > Pacho 08-09 > Latas 09/BSC 04-05
(I given Beenie the benefit of the doubt, but if you want to argue for Otto be my guest)

Goalies
Ince 00-01 > Ince 04-06 = Ince 08-09
Shaka 00-01 > Shaka 04-06 > Phillips 08-09
Russell 00-01 < Jack 04-06 > Williams 08-09
--------------------------------------------------
Defenders
Talles 00-01 > Talles 04-06 < Talles 08-09
Dog 00-01 > Dog 04-06 < Dog 09
 Cyd 01 > Cyd 05-06 < Cyd 08
Cox 00-01 > Cox 04-06 = Hislop 08-09
Blade 00-01 > Blade 04-06 > Blade 08-09

----------------------------------------------------------------
Midfielders
Latas 00-01 > Latas 05-06 > Latas 08-09
Dwarika 00-01 < Whitley 05-06
Nakhid 00 > Yorke 05-06 > Yorke 08-09 - this is debatable. Nahkid as much class as he was, didn't feature enough.
Rougier 00-01 < Rougier 05 = Leon 08-09 Rougier hardly figured in WCQ in 2005   
Eve 00-01 < Theobald 04-06 = Theobald 08-09 - The guy who should be here is Reynold Carrington
Wise 00-01 > Carlos 05-06 > Daniel 08-09 Eve should be the comparison here..he was the wide man out right.
--------------------------------------------------------------
Nixon 00-01 < Glen 04-06 < Glen 08-09
N. Pierre 00-01  = Scotland 04-06 =  Scotland 08-09 - Nigel Pierre is better than Scotland at international level
Yorke 00-01 > Jones 04-06 < Jones 09
Stern 01 < Stern 04-06 > Stern 08-09 - Stern in 2001 was LIGHTYEARS ahead of Stern in 05.

Squads
BSC (GC 2000)
XI: Ince - Elcock - Andrews - Shurland David - Rougier - Mason - Latapy - Nakhid - Eve - Dwarika - Yorke
Sub: Russell? Wise - Trotman - Rahim - Nixon - King

Porters (WCQ 2000)
XI:  Ince - Elcock - Andrews - Shurland David - Lawrence - Carrington - Latapy - Mason - Eve - Dwarika - Yorke
Sub: Hislop - Saunders - Rougier - Demmin - L. Andrews - Wise - Carlos - Nixon - N. Pierre - Glasgow - Sam

Porters (WCQ 2001)
XI:  Ince - Elcock- Andrews - Rougier - Lawrence - Carrington - Latapy - Rahim - Eve - Stern - Yorke
Sub: Hislop - Saunders - Mauge - Cox - Gray - - L. Andrews - Wise - Carlos - Trotman  - Dwarika - N. Pierre

-------
BSC (WCQ 2004)
XI:  Keeper - KJ - Andrews - Sancho - Lawrence - Rojas - Dwarika - Rahim - Eve - McFarlane- Stern
Sub: Keeper - Cox - Spann - A.John - Boucaud - Theobald - Nixon - Glen - Sealy  - Sam - Scotland
BSC (WCQ 2005)
XI:  Keeper - KJ - A.Pierre - Sancho - Lawrence - Rojas - Fitzpatrick - Carlos - Eve - Yorke- Stern
Sub: Keeper - Charles - Spann - Henry - Andrews  - Rougier - Theobald - Glen -King - Sam - N. Pierre
-------
Beenie (WCQ 2005)
XI: Jack - Spann - Andrews - Lawrence - A. John - Birchall - Whitley - Latapy - Carlos -Yorke - Stern
Sub: Hislop - Gray - Charles - Sancho - Cox - Samuel - Latapy - Theobald - Scotland - Glen - Jones
Beenie (WC 2006
XI: Jack - Gray - Sancho - Lawrence - A. John - Birchall - Whitley - Theobald - Carlos -Yorke - Stern
Sub: Hislop - Andrews - Charles - Wise - Cox -  Samuel- Latapy - Wolfe - Scotland - Glen - Jones
-------
Pacho (WCQ 2008)
XI: Ince - Gray - K. Thomas - Lawrence - John/Aklie - Birchall - Yorke - Daniel - Carlos - Theobald/Latapy - Glen
Sub: Phillips - S. Spann - Hislop - Hyland - Leon - Telesford - Leon - Baptiste - Toussaint - Wolfe - Scotland
Pacho (WCQ 2009)
XI: Ince - Wolfe - K. Thomas - Lawrence - Aklie - Birchall - Leon - Daniel - Carlos - Stern - Jones
Sub: Williams - S. Spann - Hislop - Hyland - Leon - Yorke - Glen - Latas - Scotland
Latas (WCQ 2009)
XI: Ince - Carlos - Lawrence - Andrews - Abu Bakr - Spann - Leon - Tinto - Yorke- Daniel - Trent - Jones
Sub: Phillip - Hislop - Cupid - Thompson - Theobald, Birchall, Glen, Baptiste, Hector,  Scotland, Jorsling

Maturana is also a better coach than BSC..trust me

Offline Arazi

« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2011, 12:47:04 PM »

WRT our biggest threat to Brazil 2014, Honduras aint prove themselves as the next Costa Rica in the region yet. Aint too worried about them.

If we get past the semi final round, we will have eliminated Mexico or Costa Rica, thats the key.

Football aint played on paper, we matchup better vs mexico than Costa Rica or the US or even jamaica, as we always good for at least a point if not a win vs Mexico in POS.

Costa Rica is our big threat to qualifying, in this case, the semi final round....

I agree I even made a thread about it back in the day... Pound for Pound that 2001 Squad was perhaps the strongest unit we had. We were so spoilt for choice Dwarika regularly came OFF the BENCH!

« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2011, 01:32:43 PM »
Who made up that 2001 team?

« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2011, 01:33:53 PM »
I agree I even made a thread about it back in the day... Pound for Pound that 2001 Squad was perhaps the strongest unit we had. We were so spoilt for choice Dwarika regularly came OFF the BENCH!

Just goes to show...there's no measure for desire, heart, and luck.

Yuh could have all de pound fuh pound yuh want....without dem 3 tings....yuh eh able.  As de 1992 team proved in spades.  Dem eh even get out of de qualifyin rounds.  And lorse AT HOME to a team dey had to hang.

« Last Edit: September 02, 2011, 01:40:04 PM by palos »

« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2011, 01:35:27 PM »

Yuh could have all de pound fuh pound yuh want....without dem 3 tings....yuh eh able.  As de 2001 team proved in spades.  Dem eh even get out of de qualifyin rounds.  And lorse AT HOME to a team dey had to hang.

Palos we was in de Hex...

what going on with you dese days... yuh mix up korea japan with france de other day too...

doh forget to take yuh seven seas cod liver oil on a morning

Offline Arazi

« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2011, 01:39:21 PM »

Stern, Yorke, Nixon, Dwarika, Pierre, Latas, Eve, Rahim, Carrington, Mason, Rougier, Lyndon Andrews, Marvin Andrews, Elcock, Avery John, Lawrence, Cox, Hislop and Ince.

« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2011, 01:43:21 PM »

Yuh could have all de pound fuh pound yuh want....without dem 3 tings....yuh eh able.  As de 2001 team proved in spades.  Dem eh even get out of de qualifyin rounds.  And lorse AT HOME to a team dey had to hang.

what going on with you dese days... yuh mix up korea japan with france de other day too...

Is 92 ah mean.  Not 2001

Michael Maurice
Marvin Faustin
Dexter Francis
Kelvin Jones
Dexter Lee
Clayton Morris
Kerry Jamerson
Russell Latapy
Dwight Yorke
Leonson Lewis
Clint Marcelle

And dat jamaican team only had 2 players of note.....Paul "Teegat" Davis and a left footer whose name escapes me

Offline Arazi

« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2011, 01:44:39 PM »

Yuh could have all de pound fuh pound yuh want....without dem 3 tings....yuh eh able.  As de 1992 team proved in spades.  Dem eh even get out of de qualifyin rounds.  And lorse AT HOME to a team dey had to hang.

what you talking both? the 2001 team topped the semi-final group with Mexico and Canada. We qualified so easily we sent a makeshift semi-jokey side that Mexico properly ress 7 on.

We went in the Hex and from my estimation it was a tough opening sequence of matches (JA and Costa Rica away then Mexico at home) that was followed by indiscipline by our 'stars' Yorke and Latas before the Honduras game that derailed that campaign. And everybody blamed Porterfield.

back then I thought he was a bad coach but in retrospect, he was unfortunate.

Offline Arazi

« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2011, 01:46:15 PM »

Is 92 ah mean.  Not 2001

Michael Maurice
Marvin Faustin
Dexter Francis
Kelvin Jones
Dexter Lee
Clayton Morris
Kerry Jamerson
Russell Latapy
Dwight Yorke
Leonson Lewis
Clint Marcelle

And dat jamaican team only had 2 players of note.....Paul "Teegat" Davis and a left footer whose name escapes me

tha's a solid squad too.. Marcelle was one of my favourite players.

« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2011, 01:48:20 PM »

Stern, Yorke, Nixon, Dwarika, Pierre, Latas, Eve, Rahim, Carrington, Mason, Rougier, Lyndon Andrews, Marvin Andrews, Elcock, Avery John, Lawrence, Cox, Hislop and Ince.

Thanks Arazi,

Dais the bomb squad man raving about?  Ok

Offline Arazi

« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2011, 01:51:35 PM »

Thanks Arazi,

Dais the bomb squad man raving about?  Ok

that squad was ranked 25th in the World at a point. ON MERIT. So i'll rave about them.

« Reply #18 on: September 02, 2011, 03:34:23 PM »

Assness talk dey

2 - That same 73 team lost to Honduras in their first game...so it wasn't Haiti dat did lick dem out

3 - The highest level that any player on the 73 team played was NASL.  Over 60% of the 2006 team team played at higher levels than NASL.  Soime significantly so.

5 - Even man for man, the 2006 team way better.  2006 coach better than 73 coach.  Hislop way better than Barclay.  Sancho and Tallest at least on par with Murren and Figaro.  Carlos Edwards waaaay better than Tony Douglas.  Yorke better than Gally.  Stern John better than Steve David.

Yuh could big up yuh 73 team all yuh want.  Is your perogative.  But do not diss the team that ACTUALLY did the business in the process.

Palos, It is difficult to compare the 2 teams. The time gap is too wide. 1973 to 2006. One of them players in the 73 squad could ah have a son playing on the 2006 squad. The game has changed a lot. The biggest factor is the opportunity to play in Euro. The 73 squad did not have that opportunity. Compare 2006,2010,2014. I think the comparisons are more favorable.

« Reply #19 on: September 03, 2011, 05:28:53 PM »
Palos, I just don't like to compare different eras, but you may be right that the 2006 guys were better than the 73 guys because they playing in England. But the 73 team with a local squad won their first WC game 11-1 against Antigua/Barbuda( not really a powerhose like Bermuda).

« Reply #20 on: September 03, 2011, 05:34:41 PM »

Assness talk dey

Have some respect. Did I disrepect you at anytime you can recall. Have some &$%#@( %^$#@@E respect. You heard?

« Reply #21 on: September 03, 2011, 05:47:56 PM »

good talk  :beermug:

« Reply #22 on: September 03, 2011, 05:49:41 PM »

:D

the knot get tie a little too tight

« Reply #23 on: September 03, 2011, 06:51:57 PM »

Assness talk dey

Have some respect. Did I disrepect you at anytime you can recall. Have some &$%#@( %^$#@@E respect. You heard?

No disrespect was ever conveyed or intended.  But the fact that you responded in the manner you did suggests I wasn't far off it at all in my description.

« Reply #24 on: September 03, 2011, 07:40:06 PM »

good talk  :beermug:

Let’s get Bermuda, Barbados & Guyana out of the way and top the group first nah guys before talking about Costa Rica being our big threat to qualifying!

As I see it, it is really Camps & the TTFF who are our big threat to qualifying!

No serious friendlies to prepare for qualifiers and now that they have started we expecting Pfister to perform miracles!
Maybe God is ah Trini so let us knee and prayer and hope for the best!  :praying:

Go Soca Warriors go but boo to Camps & the TTFF!
« Last Edit: September 03, 2011, 07:44:31 PM by Socapro »

Offline Yogi

« Reply #25 on: September 03, 2011, 08:46:28 PM »

Assness talk dey

There is one main reason why the 73 team was the best. At that time only ONE team from CONCACAF could qualify. Yes they lost to Honduras but they won all their other games, save for that stolen game against Haiti, they would have won the qualifying tournament. The 2006 team came in 4th.

« Reply #26 on: September 03, 2011, 09:33:06 PM »

Assness talk dey

There is one main reason why the 73 team was the best. At that time only ONE team from CONCACAF could qualify. Yes they lost to Honduras but they won all their other games, save for that stolen game against Haiti, they would have won the qualifying tournament. The 2006 team came in 4th.

Football has changed...........I always get upset when people compare eras.

I had an argument with a guy on work who was saying that the '73 and '89 teams were way better than the 06 team. 

My answer to him is simple.  Can the USA team in 89 beat the USA team in 06? No they cant!! There is no way that the '89 USA team (filled with semi pros, college players and amateurs) could have been a match for any of the top 10 teams in Concacaf right now!! Yet still, that team qualified automatically for a world cup!!

CONCACAF football has changed and is not as poor as it was in '73 and '89. 

Player for player and team for team, the 2002 was our best on paper, but the 2006 squad did the business and 100 years from now, that will be all that matters!!

« Reply #27 on: September 04, 2011, 02:25:24 AM »
Thank you Arazi and Tallman....fellas let we stick to the 2000s nah...as Andre say, you really cyah compare eras so far apart...

« Reply #28 on: September 04, 2011, 02:42:19 AM »

Assness talk dey

Football has changed...........I always get upset when people compare eras.

I had an argument with a guy on work who was saying that the '73 and '89 teams were way better than the 06 team. 

My answer to him is simple.  Can the USA team in 89 beat the USA team in 06? No they cant!! There is no way that the '89 USA team (filled with semi pros, college players and amateurs) could have been a match for any of the top 10 teams in Concacaf right now!! Yet still, that team qualified automatically for a world cup!!

CONCACAF football has changed and is not as poor as it was in '73 and '89. 

Player for player and team for team, the 2002 was our best on paper, but the 2006 squad did the business and 100 years from now, that will be all that matters!!

Well said.   :applause:

« Reply #29 on: September 04, 2011, 07:37:58 AM »

Is 92 ah mean.  Not 2001

Michael Maurice
Marvin Faustin
Dexter Francis
Kelvin Jones
Dexter Lee
Clayton Morris
Kerry Jamerson
Russell Latapy
Dwight Yorke
Leonson Lewis
Clint Marcelle

I does always wonder bout that team. If you check how young all dem fellas was in '89.  To think that you add Marcelle to the mix and give Yorke, Latas, and Leo experience in England and Portugal and  as you say a home and away against a side we had to hang. I think we had just beat them up in Shell Cup too.

I guess it's really a testament to the job that Gally do with the '89 team.

you mean Hector Wright? Honestly, I don't remember whether he was left-footed or not but I always remember him as Jamaica best player from them days.