April 24, 2024, 04:09:51 PM

Author Topic: 'Warriors' off to Barbados on Sunday.  (Read 2727 times)

'Warriors' off to Barbados on Sunday.
« on: September 03, 2011, 08:54:41 PM »
'Warriors' off to Barbados on Sunday.

A 20-man Trinidad and Tobago squad will depart for Bridgetown, Barbados on Sunday for Tuesday’s 2014 World Cup qualifiers against the “Bajan Rockets” at the National Stadium there which kicks off at 4pm.

T&T head coach has had to make one change to his team with Joe Public striker Andre Toussaint coming in for Stern John who is being rested after suffering a hamstring strain in Friday’s 1-0 win over Bermuda.

The Team trained on Saturday morning at the Hasely Crawford Stadium and will undergo another session at the same venue on Sunday morning prior to their trip to Bridgetown.

The two other players in the 20-man squad who were not among the eighteen for Friday’s encounter include Caledonia AIA midfielder Densill Theobald and defender Carlyle Mitchell.

T&T captain Kenwyne Jones believes the “Soca Warriors” will be in good shape going into Tuesday’s affair.

“It was a good start for us to win the game. In the last qualification we didn’t start like that and it put the team under some pressure. We have some things we have to work on.

This was our first competitive game and at the end of the day, a win is a win and hopefully we can build on this for the next game and then take it into the next round,” Jones told TTFF Media as he looked back at the opening victory.

“I was happy for the first win as the captain and to crown it off with a goal. The chemistry of the team has to develop and it will get better over a period of time. We have to use the next coming games as that measure and try to have the team gelling together.”

Only the top team from the group advances to the semi-final round and Guyana kicked off their campaign with a 2-0 win over Barbados in Georgetown on Friday night.

“We understand the circumstances of the group that we are in and we know that we have to come out on top. All we are thinking about is going there and winning each game.

You’re not always guaranteed winning results but we intend to go there and try to achieve that in every match.”

Now being one of the more experienced players in the squad, having appeared at the 2006 World Cup Finals and with Carlos Edwards Densill Theobald, John and Chris Birchall among those who have experienced similarly in national colours, Jones is fully aware of his role, particularly as skipper.

“Of course it is a responsibility. Playing at the highest level in club football and then coming back to lead your national team is a responsibility to bring your experience, skill and technical ability to the team.

A lot of players and the country will be looking forward to you to putting forward that foot and taking charge. It’s all about me going out there and doing what I know to do best,” Jones added.

T&T Squad:

Goalkeepers
1.Marvin Phillip (Joe Public), 21.Anthony Warner (Wellington Phoenix).

Defenders
6.Julius James (Columbus Crew), 20.Seon Power (North East Stars), 4.Akeem Adams (T&TEC), 17.Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Carlyle Mitchell (Joe Public).

Midfielders
11.Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town), 5.Andre Boucard (York City), 8.Khaleem Hyland (KRC Genk), 7.Christopher Birchall (LA Galaxy), 3.Jake Thomson (Kettering Town), 13.Lester Peltier (AS Trencin), 19.Keon Daniel (Philadelphia Union), 2.Clyde Leon (Deportiva Itagui), 10.Hayden Tinto (Joe Public), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA).

Forwards
9.Kenwyne Jones (capt) (Stoke City), 12.Darryl Roberts (North East Stars), Andre Toussaint (Joe Public).
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 05:38:51 AM by Flex »

Re: 'Warriors' off to Barbados on Sunday morning.
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2011, 09:05:37 PM »

A 20-man Trinidad and Tobago squad will depart for Bridgetown, Barbados on Sunday for Tuesday’s 2014 World Cup qualifiers against the “Spice Boys” at the National Stadium there which kicks off at 4pm.

The game is 4pm? Like it have ah State of Emergency in Barbados too, lol

« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2011, 09:07:25 PM »
The Team trained on Saturday morning at the Hasely Crawford Stadium and will undergo another session at the same venue on Sunday morning prior to their trip to Bridgetown.

So dey training Sunday morning, and flying out Sunday morning as well, or is de headline supposed to say "...Sunday afternoon/evening"?

« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2011, 10:06:33 PM »

So dey training Sunday morning, and flying out Sunday morning as well, or is de headline supposed to say "...Sunday afternoon/evening"?

You know there Trini newspapers.. like they have no editors!

« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2011, 10:31:54 PM »
'Warriors' off to Barbados on Sunday morning.

A 20-man Trinidad and Tobago squad will depart for Bridgetown, Barbados on Sunday for Tuesday’s 2014 World Cup qualifiers against the “Spice Boys” at the National Stadium there which kicks off at 4pm.

Since when the Bajan team is referred to as the Spice Boys?!  ???

I think Shaun is mixing up Barbados with Grenada!

The Bajan football team's nickname is the “Bajan Rockets” as far as I am aware!

« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2011, 10:47:30 PM »
Houton hector hassssss to be injured, bc this kid should be ah walk on to this team.  really disappointed that he's not on the roster............... >:(

« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2011, 10:54:14 PM »
Houton hector hassssss to be injured, bc this kid should be ah walk on to this team.  really disappointed that he's not on the roster............... >:(

Didn't they get rid of him for poor attitude in de earlies?

« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2011, 11:11:53 PM »

The point is we the fans shouldn't have to be guessing.

« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2011, 04:40:13 AM »

Didn't they get rid of him for poor attitude in de earlies?

nope played in the india game

Re: 'Warriors' off to Barbados on Sunday.
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2011, 06:17:17 PM »
Carrying only two keepers is risky.  Three is the convention.  If you only carry two and one get injured in training then you go into the game without a reserve keeper.   You may not be able to call replacements once your squad is named.

« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2011, 06:33:38 PM »

no inury, he has been dropped from the side bro :(

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2011, 07:39:25 PM »
So long Fuentes working with the TTFF and he does not know spice boys is Grenada and that Grenada is the Isle of Spice? Where these fellas went to school? Anyway we have to beat  Barbados by more goals than Guyana beat them , because goal average counts! Go T and T!

« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2011, 07:51:07 PM »
So long Fuentes working with the TTFF and he does not know spice boys is Grenada and that Grenada is the Isle of Spice? Where these fellas went to school? Anyway we have to beat  Barbados by more goals than Guyana beat them , because goal average counts! Go T and T!
Goal average dosen't mean anything once we beat everybody twice...

« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2011, 08:32:52 PM »

True, but why take de chance. Yuh see how we Olympic team had to end up scoring 4 goals against Dominica to progress tuh de next round? We eh need all dat drama.

« Reply #14 on: September 05, 2011, 08:24:03 AM »

True, but why take de chance. Yuh see how we Olympic team had to end up scoring 4 goals against Dominica to progress tuh de next round? We eh need all dat drama.

Tman yuh gettin old ah what we is drama 2 d nth power. Is always dust off must win by  x amount of clear goals to qualify juzzy.