April 26, 2024, 02:55:40 AM

Author Topic: LEO BEENHAKKER New TT head coach  (Read 8872 times)

LEO BEENHAKKER New TT head coach
« on: March 31, 2005, 04:33:16 PM »
Fellas,

You hear it from me first.........According to Swima, from the guardian Newsroom. The former Ajax technical director and Holland national team coach is now in charge of the Warriors.

We shoulda make this move since the Dominican Rep game.

Re: LEO BEENHAKKER New TT head coach
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2005, 04:35:53 PM »
Ah dutch!.. Can someone post some info on this man? Tallest?

« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2005, 04:39:45 PM »
http://rdfc.com.ne.kr/coaches/beenhakker.htm

OFFICIAL NAME  Leo BEENHAKKER 
DATE OF BIRTH  1942.08.02, Rotterdam 
COACHING CAREER  Volendam
Real Zaragoza (1981-?)
Real Madrid (1986-89)
Ajax Amsterdam (1989-90)
Nederland National Team (1990)
Ajax Amsterdam (1990-91)
Real Madrid (1992)
Grashoppers Zurich (1992-93)
Saudi Arabia National Team (1993-94)
America (1994-95)
Istanbulspor (1995)
Guadalajara (1995)
Feyenoord Rotterdam (1997-00) 

HONOR
(AS A COACH)  3 Times Spain Champion
3 Times Nederland Champion 

« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2005, 04:42:32 PM »
how much is a direct flight from Piarco to Berlin again?

« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2005, 04:43:32 PM »

LOL...good one arrow... ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2005, 04:45:47 PM »
This is what you call from rags to riches. From outhouse to bathroom, from beetham to westmoorings, from zephyr to mercedes clk350....you get my drift.

« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2005, 04:48:00 PM »

Yea boy...Ajax Technical Director.

That is a boss club when it come to developing the youth.

Lincoln must be itching to start working with him.

Hope he have the patience and we better not let this one go.  Every single T&T player should be fighting to even get a chance to train with this man.

Allyuh better have this one right eh.

Offline rocwell

« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2005, 04:49:12 PM »
easy gentlemen, nothing is official, games are yet to be played.

« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2005, 04:54:52 PM »
Leo Beenhakker quit the post at Ajax in 2003 due to personal reasons and began coaching in Mexico.

« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2005, 04:56:50 PM »
Yeah he recently had two spells at America.

I just hope that allyuh don't crucify Jack if it turns ot that this dream appointment turns out to be an unconfirmed rumour.

LEO + OIL MONEY = WORLD CUP
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2005, 05:01:18 PM »
From 1993-94 Saudi Arabia qualified for their first ever World Cup in USA under Leo.  I read that he was sacked in February before they actually played in the World Cup but still he had them playing real ball.

Look at their World Cup results:

Group F
Team Rank P W D L GF GA Pts
 Netherlands 1 3 2 0 1 4 3 6
 Saudi Arabia 2 3 2 0 1 4 3 6
 Belgium 3 3 2 0 1 2 1 6
 Morocco 4 3 0 0 3 2 5 0

Matches and Results
29-JUN-94 ORLANDO Morocco:Netherlands 1:2 (0:1) Citrus Bowl
29-JUN-94 WASHINGTON DC Belgium:Saudi Arabia 0:1 (0:1) RFK Memorial Stadium
25-JUN-94 ORLANDO Belgium:Netherlands 1:0 (0:0) Citrus Bowl
25-JUN-94 NEW YORK/NEW JERSEY Saudi Arabia:Morocco 2:1 (2:1) Giants Stadium
20-JUN-94 WASHINGTON DC Netherlands:Saudi Arabia 2:1 (0:1) RFK Memorial Stadium
19-JUN-94 ORLANDO Belgium:Morocco 1:0 (1:0) Citrus Bowl

« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2005, 05:04:30 PM »
Apparently it was announced tonight on TV in T&T.

A man now call een on I95 and seh so

Andre "Playa Hata Extraordinaire" Baptiste seh Beenhakker was de 2nd choice.

Anyway......on first impression....IF TRUE....DIS IS A REAL COUP FUH T&T.

Beenhakker is a SERIOUS COACH!!!

Make yuh wonder why he wasn't in place from before.

« Last Edit: March 31, 2005, 05:07:55 PM by palos »

« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2005, 05:18:23 PM »
Lick fire shot - This is great news.

« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2005, 05:20:10 PM »
Well...at least somebody with very good credentials taking over........

However...one of my job functions is to interview and hire people. The very first thing I see is the job history and if that person seems to have had a lot in a short space of time, that resume goes to the bottom of the list. One of the most important criteria is longevity and stability.  The man has had some notable achievements though, can't doubt that. Would love to know why the mobility. Ah hope he turn out to be the panacea.

Offline Strip

« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2005, 05:23:36 PM »
that is real real good news

i hope every try to keep a positive vibes goin now

« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2005, 05:28:35 PM »
Beenhakker has a very good track record, winning 3 league titles with real madrid, 2 with ajax and 1 with feyenoord.  Also he qualified saudi arabia for the world cup.  However, we should not get too carried away.
He suddenly quit Ajax in 2003, coached America in Mexico in 2004 and got fired because they did not win anything although they had big name players like Blanco playing.
Don't misinterpret what I am saying.  He is a very good coach and it is a very good move to hire him, but let us not be blinded.

Offline rocwell

« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2005, 05:37:43 PM »
Fire Leo Now!!! (is this in our future? lol)

Hopefully we remember:
• we're in particularly a tough position
• we've hired someone to do something difficult in a short space of time
• alot still depends on the players

Maybe we'll keep this coach for 2 years? 3?  One can only hope.

Its official..Leo reaches on Tues
« Reply #17 on: March 31, 2005, 05:44:00 PM »
Interview with Warner on tv6

Bertille was given a chance to work with Leo by Jack but he say nah.

Jack did admit Bertille brought discipline to the team but was deficient in many other areas.

« Reply #18 on: March 31, 2005, 05:45:26 PM »
 Given the time constraints, is it possible? If the support from the top down is there, I would think that the potential for success is possible. The idea of him working alongside Latapy, would be a plus in bridging the gap of our players to  this style.

If BSC was still in place, what would have been the time line to begin preparations for the next set of games?

If anything, this move may add to our credability on the world satge and give us a better chance  even in the GOLd CUP.
Respectfully submitted.

« Reply #19 on: March 31, 2005, 05:48:23 PM »
Where's Sub.. we need your input master of all coaches?. Kinda late for changes, but lets see what the new set-up can do to improve our team. Would be nice to see Latas for ah 15mins on the greens.

Jumbie

« Reply #20 on: March 31, 2005, 05:51:00 PM »

It is only a matter of time until that cry start up. Not everyone will love this move but the bottom line is, with all respect to BSC, this man is a better coach who has seen more, done  ore and accomplished more.

This is a real coup.

« Reply #21 on: March 31, 2005, 05:51:51 PM »
I waiting for Bertie to say that Trinis doh like people form Tobago so he got fired and Leo got hired.

« Reply #22 on: March 31, 2005, 05:59:49 PM »
Well...at least somebody with very good credentials taking over........

However...one of my job functions is to interview and hire people. The very first thing I see is the job history and if that person seems to have had a lot in a short space of time, that resume goes to the bottom of the list. One of the most important criteria is longevity and stability.  The man has had some notable achievements though, can't doubt that. Would love to know why the mobility. Ah hope he turn out to be the panacea.

That must be one sorry company you work for. And boy i could imagine the losers you have hired.

Offline Raul

• ¡Hala Madrid!
« Reply #23 on: March 31, 2005, 06:00:47 PM »
As I was just listening to the Spalksman on POWER 102.5 - FIYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH Bertille SinClair and fiyaaaaaahhhh Shivnarine Chanderpaul too!

« Reply #24 on: March 31, 2005, 06:01:09 PM »
I would suffice to say  that had we  put in place a formidable plan in place about four years ago, we would not be 'improvising' at this time.

I challenge Jack and co, to be held accountable and to disclose publicably a

TNT FOOTBALL PLAN for SUCCESS
what steps does it iclude for coaching? for players? for training? for 'Freindlies not FETE matches?

What Measures does it entail to ensure that we are meeting with target goals and expectations?

We seem t be operating from asense of urgency or crisis at each juncture.

Could the boys map out a plan and make it public?

Thanks Felix= pass it on to the Big man.
Respectfully submitted.

« Reply #25 on: March 31, 2005, 06:18:01 PM »

It is only a matter of time until that cry start up. Not everyone will love this move but the bottom line is, with all respect to BSC, this man is a better coach who has seen more, done  ore and accomplished more.

This is a real coup.

If this man had this team for a quater of the time BSC had our team we would have no less than 6 pts now

« Reply #26 on: March 31, 2005, 06:23:44 PM »
SUB , that is a hypotethical allegation that is not based on fact nor can it be verified.

« Reply #27 on: March 31, 2005, 06:26:25 PM »

If this man had this team for a quater of the time BSC had our team we would have no less than 6 pts now

Makes yuh wonder why dey wait so long to do dis eh?

Ah guess dey wanted to be fair to Bertille and give him every opportunity.

In truth.....the team's performances were not good at all prior to Ash Wednesday.

Had this move happened immediately after the last St Vincent game to qualify for the Hex, or even after Ash Wednesday in time for the Digicel Cup...it could have made a difference.

Once the decision was made to keep the status quo until at least after the Ash Wednesday game, we knew BSC was going to have 2 more games to show significant improvement.  

Offline Youth Baller

« Reply #28 on: March 31, 2005, 06:32:28 PM »
And TV6 Say how Latas is The Assistant Coach of the Team too! ;D

« Reply #29 on: March 31, 2005, 06:52:26 PM »
Fellas,I have two questions 1. I see he just coach Holland in 1990,my question is why?  2.His former glory seems to be greater than his present,again why?
   Excuse my ignorance but I hope we ain't bringing a man who pass his prime and just looking for a final big paycheck!