Is it good or bad.

Yes its bad
2 (8%)
No its not
5 (20%)
It Depends
18 (72%)

Total Members Voted: 25

Author Topic: Playing players out of position.  (Read 5209 times)

Re: Playing players out of position.
« Reply #30 on: September 07, 2011, 12:54:36 PM »
Yorke was a forward then midfielder at youth level and finally ended up as a forward ..kenwyn went to england as a defender , could not make the team was loaned out to a team needing a forward and the rest is history ...think he scored in about 7 consecutive games ...anthony rougier played forward for his club and central defender for T&T ...at the same time ! according to his club teammates that was a big joke as according to the comments >>." he could not defend to save his life " yet we know differently . latapy played left back trying to make an english team ...
dexter francis was a reserve right back for the defence force while playing for the national team in a central defensive position.... Jb was  a right back for most of his youth playing days ..yet was the central defender for the strike squad ....
...and densil theobald captained T&T !!! so it is good if it works is the bottom line ..if in switching around players we get a better team i have no problem wid dat. Its about team folks ...fabregas go play anywhere once he on de team ...it is about winning and team. let us stop this individual glory type of analysis ...he play good //he eh play good ......how did the team play should be the focus ? is the team better balanced ? is the team too slow ..not he running too slow ...TEAM folks TEAM!!!
How many folks remember de kaizer played midfield for germany yet ended up as a football great playing sweeper!

Specificall now I am sure old footballers will know that wing back is a specialist position you just cant put anyone there ...it is different to playing central defender where you have cover ...you on your own out there and all your mistakes are glaring ... you alone on de TV ...when you get ripped de whole world sees . It is sometimes better to put a player who knows what to look for in that postion even if he plays on de other side . Teams often set their trickiest players to rip the wingbacks ..look at where Real plays ronaldo..where Barcelona plays Messi .....look at barcelona ...abidal could play right or left wing back ..even central ..in fact abidal could play anywhere in defence and middle as well. I doh see man saying ..how you could do abidal dey when you play him on the left or de right ... So you see ...as someone said storm in a teacup !!

« Reply #31 on: September 07, 2011, 01:00:28 PM »
Yorke was a forward then midfielder at youth level and finally ended up as a forward ..kenwyn went to england as a defender , could not make the team was loaned out to a team needing a forward and the rest is history ...think he scored in about 7 consecutive games ...anthony rougier played forward for his club and central defender for T&T ...at the same time ! according to his club teammates that was a big joke as according to the comments >>." he could not defend to save his life " yet we know differently . latapy played left back trying to make an english team ...
dexter francis was a reserve right back for the defence force while playing for the national team in a central defensive position.... Jb was  a right back for most of his youth playing days ..yet was the central defender for the strike squad ....
...and densil theobald captained T&T !!! so it is good if it works is the bottom line ..if in switching around players we get a better team i have no problem wid dat. Its about team folks ...fabregas go play anywhere once he on de team ...it is about winning and team. let us stop this individual glory type of analysis ...he play good //he eh play good ......how did the team play should be the focus ? is the team better balanced ? is the team too slow ..not he running too slow ...TEAM folks TEAM!!!
How many folks remember de kaizer played midfield for germany yet ended up as a football great playing sweeper!

Specificall now I am sure old footballers will know that wing back is a specialist position you just cant put anyone there ...it is different to playing central defender where you have cover ...you on your own out there and all your mistakes are glaring ... you alone on de TV ...when you get ripped de whole world sees . It is sometimes better to put a player who knows what to look for in that postion even if he plays on de other side . Teams often set their trickiest players to rip the wingbacks ..look at where Real plays ronaldo..where Barcelona plays Messi .....look at barcelona ...abidal could play right or left wing back ..even central ..in fact abidal could play anywhere in defence and middle as well. I doh see man saying ..how you could do abidal dey when you play him on the left or de right ... So you see ...as someone said storm in a teacup !!

excellent points boss :beermug:

tell that to vidale and crew on i95 that asking for pfster head because he played edwards at left back ::)

« Reply #32 on: September 07, 2011, 01:05:47 PM »
Why foreign coach does feel they could come here and do what they want ?, now, I for one prefer a foreign coach because them locals does whine and cry to much and they dont like to improve themselves as coaches, they dont like to do homework either.

But some of these foreign coach does get me sah...

This is not Africa, South America or Europe where they have an abundance of talent to choose from.

We have de talent but not de program.

You mean Otto Pfister believe that we MOST attacking player Carlos Edwards is a left back ? so if we come of of this group, he go make Mexico and Costa Rica poison we.

We have no left footers who play on we starting team ? (Adams, Pacheco, Collin Samuel, Joevin Jones, Noel Williams, Bentick, Javed Mohammed, Kevon Neaves  ,,,nobody could make de team) ?

Ah cant wait for Jlloyd Samuel to come back..... but ah worried, we always need back up...

I cant get de memory of Anthony Wolfe game as a right back against USA, how they toy him out off meh head.

Mr Otto, you do not use important games to experiment.

So far, Otto look decent as a coach and I like how he is de only coach so far to take a chance and put Keon in de center of we midfield, but come on Otto.

Some of you people are really dumb for been around football so long as they claim to be.

For one the international gap have been really close, there is no easy teams anymore. Every nation understands its 11v11 and that shows in every single game, both teams have a chance of winning. The difference is the Coach, and its players and how well they play together. Preparing a team is the first step, discipline is the other and having a good defense goes a long way.

With Otto we have that, he has given us the little things that other coaches in the past didnt, this is been overlooked by some of the people on here but its pretty clear to me that we have a real team at this point in time. His decsions as coach is just that, critise him all you want, tnt are getting the results we need with the quality we have. Lets be realistic, this bunch of players need this coach with experience and tactically we are there. So if the player implement the style of play the coach has introduced we will be a very competitive team.

Other notes as well, we have pro players vs mediocre teams with wild kicks and disturbing playing conditions, no one wants to get injured and the other teams dont want to get trashed. I see nothing wrong with players been proactive and vesatile enough to switch positions.

The coach said his team any plaeyr can score and over lapping wing backs will expose the backline in a big way, been able to adapt and fit in for the overlapping player is important in this style of play.

If you dont know wtf u talking about or how this coach operates then please shut the hell up and watch and learn. Everyone wants to be the coach but only the coach is responsible for the team and how it represents its country/club.

I am pleased with the work our coach has put in, and he has given us a solid start to a very dangerous wcq with NO EASY TEAMS.

3 games, no yellows, no goals against, 3 wins. We actually have a decent wall now and defending corners properly.. something that we havent seen in a long long time...even with yorke 2006 team.

I like the solid defensive style of play because we can score goals. Atleast been able to defend for 90+ minutes will ensure we get atleast a draw. If you play well defensively there will always be chances at the other end if you have good players, inter underlined this with Jose at inter. We are not at a level to play total football yet so for now we can settle for been the best defensive team in the region. I happy with that, not alot of goals to cheer for but atleast we wont get trashed.  :beermug:

Ending notes, Otto is a world class coach and is very old. He has seen and done more than we can imagine, more so than vidale and the other rehabs that claim to know everything about football. Unprofessional fools bussing the man salary and knocking our head coach in the media and we are okay with this to let it continue.

I have no respect for vidale and the other rehabs and if any of you have any sense you would feel the same. I trust this coach even more than don leo because he is actually building a team and not trying to make shift to get wholesale results. We as a people are supporting our team and we dont need to bring down the spirits of the coach because we think we know better SHUT THE @#$!@ UP . Let the man do his bloody job.

If we dont qualify we can appoint the corneals or even rehire latas so everyone in the vidale bandwagon go be happy our money going to local coaches  ::) ::) ::) ::) bloody haters
« Last Edit: September 07, 2011, 01:31:24 PM by sHOTTA12 »

Offline madness

« Reply #33 on: September 07, 2011, 09:59:00 PM »
i totally agreed with your comments. let d coach do his thing and he has the experience and the knowledge of the game. i can't wait for the next match soon....

« Reply #34 on: September 07, 2011, 10:21:07 PM »
Why foreign coach does feel they could come here and do what they want ?, now, I for one prefer a foreign coach because them locals does whine and cry to much and they dont like to improve themselves as coaches, they dont like to do homework either.

But some of these foreign coach does get me sah...

This is not Africa, South America or Europe where they have an abundance of talent to choose from.

We have de talent but not de program.

You mean Otto Pfister believe that we MOST attacking player Carlos Edwards is a left back ? so if we come of of this group, he go make Mexico and Costa Rica poison we.

We have no left footers who play on we starting team ? (Adams, Pacheco, Collin Samuel, Joevin Jones, Noel Williams, Bentick, Javed Mohammed, Kevon Neaves  ,,,nobody could make de team) ?

Ah cant wait for Jlloyd Samuel to come back..... but ah worried, we always need back up...

I cant get de memory of Anthony Wolfe game as a right back against USA, how they toy him out off meh head.

Mr Otto, you do not use important games to experiment.

So far, Otto look decent as a coach and I like how he is de only coach so far to take a chance and put Keon in de center of we midfield, but come on Otto.

Some of you people are really dumb for been around football so long as they claim to be.

For one the international gap have been really close, there is no easy teams anymore. Every nation understands its 11v11 and that shows in every single game, both teams have a chance of winning. The difference is the Coach, and its players and how well they play together. Preparing a team is the first step, discipline is the other and having a good defense goes a long way.

With Otto we have that, he has given us the little things that other coaches in the past didnt, this is been overlooked by some of the people on here but its pretty clear to me that we have a real team at this point in time. His decsions as coach is just that, critise him all you want, tnt are getting the results we need with the quality we have. Lets be realistic, this bunch of players need this coach with experience and tactically we are there. So if the player implement the style of play the coach has introduced we will be a very competitive team.

Other notes as well, we have pro players vs mediocre teams with wild kicks and disturbing playing conditions, no one wants to get injured and the other teams dont want to get trashed. I see nothing wrong with players been proactive and vesatile enough to switch positions.

The coach said his team any plaeyr can score and over lapping wing backs will expose the backline in a big way, been able to adapt and fit in for the overlapping player is important in this style of play.

If you dont know wtf u talking about or how this coach operates then please shut the hell up and watch and learn. Everyone wants to be the coach but only the coach is responsible for the team and how it represents its country/club.

I am pleased with the work our coach has put in, and he has given us a solid start to a very dangerous wcq with NO EASY TEAMS.

3 games, no yellows, no goals against, 3 wins. We actually have a decent wall now and defending corners properly.. something that we havent seen in a long long time...even with yorke 2006 team.

I like the solid defensive style of play because we can score goals. Atleast been able to defend for 90+ minutes will ensure we get atleast a draw. If you play well defensively there will always be chances at the other end if you have good players, inter underlined this with Jose at inter. We are not at a level to play total football yet so for now we can settle for been the best defensive team in the region. I happy with that, not alot of goals to cheer for but atleast we wont get trashed.  :beermug:

Ending notes, Otto is a world class coach and is very old. He has seen and done more than we can imagine, more so than vidale and the other rehabs that claim to know everything about football. Unprofessional fools bussing the man salary and knocking our head coach in the media and we are okay with this to let it continue.

I have no respect for vidale and the other rehabs and if any of you have any sense you would feel the same. I trust this coach even more than don leo because he is actually building a team and not trying to make shift to get wholesale results. We as a people are supporting our team and we dont need to bring down the spirits of the coach because we think we know better SHUT THE @#$!@ UP . Let the man do his bloody job.

If we dont qualify we can appoint the corneals or even rehire latas so everyone in the vidale bandwagon go be happy our money going to local coaches  ::) ::) ::) ::) bloody haters

good points  :beermug:

to add to that, pfister imo is the 2nd best coach in the region after klinsman, so TT has an excellent chance of qualifying

Edwards wasted at left back
« Reply #35 on: September 08, 2011, 04:50:06 AM »
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

THE creative talent of Carlos Edwards is wasted in defence - especially as left back.

Since Russell Latapy left the game, the Trinidad and Tobago have struggled to get a creative force in central midfield. Densill Theobald, Khaleem Hyland and Chris Birchall can all pass the ball around on their day, but which one can break down a defence a la Lionel Messi?

The closest may be Hughtun Hector on a good day, but definitely Edwards, who has done it at times when he abandoned left back and pushed up centre field.

Edwards has that ability to turn multiple players with simple feints. He passes the ball well, can find his teammates, and can also score goals. Shouldn't he be tried further upfield?

Young left-back Akeem Adams was obviously nervous in the friendly against India, but is surely good enough to play against the likes of Barbados, freeing Edwards to push further up the field.

Think about the prospect of Edwards linking with Hayden Tinto and any of Keon Daniel, Hector or Lester Peltier on either side. At the same time Birchall, Clyde Leon, Theobald, or even Hyland are possible substitutes for Edwards, or can play behind him as a defensive midfielder.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2011, 07:40:06 AM by Flex »

Re: Edwards wasted at left back
« Reply #36 on: September 08, 2011, 04:56:24 AM »
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

THE creative talent of Carlos Edwards is wasted in defence - especially as left back.

Since Russell Latapy left the game, the Trinidad and Tobago have struggled to get a creative force in central midfield. Densill Theobald, Khaleem Hyland and Chris Birchall can all pass the ball around on their day, but which one can break down a defence a la Lionel Messi? The closest may be Hughton Hector on a good day, but definitely Edwards, who has done it at times when he abandoned left back and pushed up centre field.

Edwards has that ability to turn multiple players with simple feints. He passes the ball well, can find his teammates, and can also score goals. Shouldn't he be tried further upfield?

Young left-back Akeem Adams was obviously nervous in the friendly against India, but is surely good enough to play against the likes of Barbados, freeing Edwards to push further up the field.

Think about the prospect of Edwards linking with Hayden Tinto and any of Keon Daniel, Hector or Lester Peltier on either side. At the same time Birchall, Clyde Leon, Theobald, or even Hyland are possible substitutes for Edwards, or can play behind him as a defensive midfielder.

I feel Ian Prescott is "Sam"..............wha allyuh tink?

The funny ting is, if he played Akeem Adams and he is found wanting in the position, then they will blame de coach...........LOL.

Offline madness

« Reply #37 on: September 08, 2011, 05:17:18 AM »
trinidad and tobago is winning there games. but it seems like they want to see more goals score. i think the coach is planning something. when tnt win out this group, i think he going to place edwards in his right position or maybe. lets c. the media is to negative on the coach decision. the coach has an winning formula, and plus i haven't seen the game, so i can judge edwards performance. i think everyone have their own way of thinking.   

Offline Jay10

« Reply #38 on: September 08, 2011, 07:38:41 AM »
Carlos is not a natural defender, but can defend. His left side was never his strongest. If the team needs him there at the moment, then he plays there.

He is STILL the most dangerous right sided player we have, and we need him there.

Touches pointed out that he can cut in and give the wide area to the winger. Problem is the winger (Roberts) is also right footed.

Offline ZURITRESS

« Reply #39 on: September 08, 2011, 08:50:05 AM »
Experience, there is no better teacher in life. If you have a brand new team with alot of question marks that you have not been given time to address, what do you do?. You put your most experienced players in positions that are of concern because they are better equipped to handle it and that makes your goal of giving structure and direction a better chance of succeeding. The simple minded wakes up and sees $5.00 in his pocket and thinks i will go hungry today. A man of vision uses what he has to put $10.00 in his pocket and not go hungry. I grew up hearing from our wonderful T&T government that yes we stole the money, he, she ,all of we stole the money and yet still today a man like Jack Warner can win public office because he told you what he could do for you today, not where i will be or my children will be in 3-5 years time. And everybody knows who the man with the pitchfork is. If the goal is Brazil 2014 why are you complaining about successfully growing in 2011.

« Reply #40 on: September 08, 2011, 09:16:39 AM »
Akeem Adams is seriously overated ... personally I was of the impression that Carlos might have slowed down a little but if he could still run the wings I don't mind but he have to be replaced by decent cover namely Samuel also that could leave Roberts out the mix which i really don't want to do.
I think though playing him at the left midfield is affecting is influence on the game.

« Reply #41 on: September 08, 2011, 09:38:50 AM »
Akeem Adams is seriously overated ... personally I was of the impression that Carlos might have slowed down a little but if he could still run the wings I don't mind but he have to be replaced by decent cover namely Samuel also that could leave Roberts out the mix which i really don't want to do.
I think though playing him at the left midfield is affecting is influence on the game.
I don't think the coach will play roberts on the left wing again, and i also don't believe that he will be left out the team either, since he's taking his half chances. i believe roberts will pair up jones in the middle since he works well of of KJ. JMO though, don't quote me.  ;D

« Reply #42 on: September 08, 2011, 11:41:00 AM »

to add to that, pfister imo is the 2nd best coach in the region after klinsman, so TT has an excellent chance of qualifying

No Klinnsman not a better coach, for many reasons, 1) inexperience( germany was home when they reach the semis) (at munich he failed to reach the players) 2) relies on young talent  too much

I saw USA vs Bel and CRC.. Wasn't impressed. I don't think usa will make it past second round and he may get sacked.. true story.

« Reply #43 on: September 08, 2011, 11:44:23 AM »

No Klinnsman not a better coach, for many reasons, 1) inexperience( germany was home when they reach the semis) (at munich he failed to reach the players) 2) relies on young talent  too much

I saw USA vs Bel and CRC.. Wasn't impressed. I don't think usa will make it past second round and he may get sacked.. true story.

i also thought of the inexperience part as well compared to pfister, even if the WC was at home, it is still a feat nonetheless, i believe the costa rica match was an experiment imo

he is also known to experiment a lot, so we will see in the next rounds how it goes

Offline madness

« Reply #44 on: September 08, 2011, 12:36:29 PM »
great point guys, usa may have problems too. tnt coach has more experience than the usa coach. i believe tnt will do fine. we just need to support the team. the team needs to focus on the current rounds and win all there games and focus on the other round.