March 28, 2024, 09:48:30 AM

Author Topic: The Leo Beenhakker Thread.  (Read 78617 times)

Re: Andre Baptiste: Leave Beenhakker out Gold Cup.
« Reply #300 on: June 12, 2013, 06:04:13 PM »
Everybody suddenly turn expert on what's best. Bottom line something drastically needs to be done. Picking a next local coach is only asking for more of the same. Who will we put?

We have a technical director that seems clueless. And a traitor as coach.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2013, 06:05:50 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #301 on: June 12, 2013, 06:07:28 PM »
Whatever we decide to do coach wise, I just hope our team don't go to the Gold Cup and embarrass ourselves.

« Reply #302 on: June 12, 2013, 07:02:32 PM »
Bring in Terry if not the Don..

« Reply #303 on: June 12, 2013, 09:19:06 PM »
So people saying Beenie can't do anything right now for our football. Anybody remember Cyd Gray pre Beenie? Beenie could make a difference with our defenders. Beenie had a short window for 2006 qualification and made a big difference in a few games. He then coached us to a draw with Sweden and almost holding on versus England. Everyone thought our stock was on the up.

Given a longer tenure the man might be able to blood some youth, raise our ranking and actually  make us a team worth playing. That has major implications for future players trying to move abroad.

I respect the current coaches but at the same time I don't see them carrying us anywhere. Shabbaz* is a club coach who has done what exactly with his club? I really don't know Charles credentials.

« Reply #304 on: June 12, 2013, 10:19:36 PM »
So people saying Beenie can't do anything right now for our football. Anybody remember Cyd Gray pre Beenie? Beenie could make a difference with our defenders. Beenie had a short window for 2006 qualification and made a big difference in a few games. He then coached us to a draw with Sweden and almost holding on versus England. Everyone thought our stock was on the up.

Given a longer tenure the man might be able to blood some youth, raise our ranking and actually  make us a team worth playing. That has major implications for future players trying to move abroad.

I respect the current coaches but at the same time I don't see them carrying us anywhere. Shabbaz* is a club coach who has done what exactly with his club? I really don't know Charles credentials.
:beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #305 on: June 13, 2013, 03:53:43 AM »
Andre is on point. The qualification had a lot to do with the international experience of Latapy and Yorke and it was still tough, even with nice fixtures. With this group there IS a lot of development work to do to make the team truly competitive . Give Hutson and Shabazz  a chance to see how they fare in the Gold Cup and get a serious plan drawn up to start 2018 qualification. If we put clear thinking heads together and do some serious analysis we can come up with  a Good plan. Time for a fresh approach! Not running for a foreigner when it is crunch time, and looking for a saviour!

How they will fare in the Gold Cup seems to be scribbled on the wall of failure. We continue to be so willing to play with our footballing patrimony.

However, I'm certain curtains on the Gold Cup will broker a change in the pattern of handing the levers of national team control to people out of random expedience.

« Reply #306 on: June 13, 2013, 01:45:12 PM »
Fire Beenhakker..Fire Shabazz..Leave Hutson Charles..

« Reply #307 on: June 13, 2013, 01:52:51 PM »
It wasn't hard for Cyd Gray to play in that system because all he had to do was defend in his zone. He was good 1v1..If I could recall he played in a different position before that.
The people in charge of Trinidad football right now..a yankee fella name Phillips who is unqualified for the position and a black man with a chinee name ..he doh look nothing like chinee..what these people know about football?

« Reply #308 on: June 13, 2013, 02:16:14 PM »
So what if you black and have Chine name? You bold. Lol

Not sure about Philips

« Reply #309 on: June 13, 2013, 02:26:19 PM »
why not bring beenhakker back in, shabazz not my pick...

like observer and tallman pointed out correctly, devemopment should happen at club and school level, academy level.

« Reply #310 on: June 13, 2013, 03:29:48 PM »
Ah guess Latapy place in danger now

Offline ANC2

« Reply #311 on: June 13, 2013, 03:48:15 PM »
It wasn't hard for Cyd Gray to play in that system because all he had to do was defend in his zone. He was good 1v1..If I could recall he played in a different position before that.
The people in charge of Trinidad football right now..a yankee fella name Phillips who is unqualified for the position and a black man with a chinee name ..he doh look nothing like chinee..what these people know about football?

This really called for. What is Sunil Gulati experience in football? And he doing a dam good job with USA.
Man go take your medication

People talking about making a National team out of local based players. People feel this is 1970's or 80's. Look at the mess Jamaica was in for the 2010 qualification when Simoes try to recreate 1998. We so dam insular no wonder every dam thing in a mess in the country. Man talking about Foreign mentality and Colonialism, but living in foreign, getting foreign education & coaching education.  Is jokey thing dat!

Offline SWF Reporter

Warriors told Beenhakker is on the way
« Reply #312 on: June 13, 2013, 07:01:28 PM »
Warriors’ Been-hakkered: Uncertainty as Dutchman nears T&T return
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868)

Former 2006 World Cup coach Leo Beenhakker seems even closer to a reunion with the Trinidad and Tobago national football team after the “Soca Warriors” were informed today that they might be under new management for next month’s CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament.

National co-head coaches Hutson “Barber” Charles and Jamaal Shabazz and assistant coach Derek King told the squad, according to several players who spoke under the condition of anonymity, that the only remaining issue was for the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) to source the funds to pay the Dutchman’s salary.

Beenhakker, who was dubbed “Don Leo” during a successful stint as Real Madrid coach in the late 1980s, is rumoured to have requested US$75,000 ($480,700) for a month’s work.

However, TTFA General Secretary Sheldon Phillips denied that Beenhakker has agreed terms with the local football body or that a financial package has been discussed yet.

“(Beenhakker) has indicated he is interested in assisting the team and Trinidad and Tobago’s football,” Phillips told Wired868. “A done deal is a signature on a contract. We are in talks but there has been no agreement in principle.”

Phillips hinted too that the TTFA hoped to source funds for its new coach outside of the Ministry of Sport.

Equally intriguing is the length of service expected from the 70-year-old Dutchman, who took Trinidad and Tobago to its first senior World Cup and then, two years later, led Poland to its maiden appearance at a Euro finals.

Phillips admitted that Beenhakker’s stay could feasibly be shorter than the school holidays.

Trinidad and Tobago plays its opening 2013 Gold Cup match on July 8 against El Salvador while its last group assignment is against Honduras on July 15. The Gold Cup final will be held on July 28 at Soldier Field in Chicago.

The TTFA does not know whether Beenhakker wants to stay beyond the tournament or if the football body could afford to hire his services for a longer period. However, Phillips insisted that the enthusiasm the renowned coach could bring to the national players and supporters within that period could make it worthwhile.

“We are talking (to Beenhakker) specifically about the Gold Cup,” he said. “(The Gold Cup) is our last significant event for the next two years and our approach is to put out a product that is going to excite people because it performs well and wins games… We want to utilise whatever resources we have available to reach those goals.

“We feel his credentials speak for themselves. If he comes in (and) if he is utilised properly, it can be the shot in the arm that the Association has long needed.”

Charles, Shabazz and King, who steered the Warriors to their first Gold Cup appearance in six years, have supposedly indicated they are willing to work under Beenhakker. Phillips suggested that this would be the ideal outcome and complimented the local staff for its accomplishments in an “extremely challenging environment.”

“I don’t think (bringing in Beenhakker) can be seen as a criticism of the local staff,” said Phillips. “It is an addition to what we have now and not a replacement. The fact that they qualified the present team for the Gold Cup has to be acknowledged.

“We want to be able to develop our resources and make it better however we can.”

The TTFF general secretary also assured the present technical staff members that they would receive outstanding match fees before Beenhakker’s unveiling, if it does happen.

“We can’t take care of one and not take care of the others,” said Phillips. “There is still some money that is owed that we have to sort out simultaneously.”

Trinidad and Tobago had just 17 available players for a 4-0 loss away to Romania as the staff supposedly could not afford to fly in United States-based defender Julius James while the Warriors had to sleep in Helsinki’s international airport, during a 12-hour lay-over, as there were no funds to check into a hotel.

However, Phillips rejected any notion that the football body did not try hard enough for its squad but was now pushing the boat out for Beenhakker. He also commended the Ministry of Sport for its financial support this year.

“One has nothing to do with the other,” said Phillip, when asked to weigh the team’s recent financial hardships against the TTFA’s eagerness to recruit Beenhakker. “(The Helsinki lay-over) was the best situation that could have been arranged at the time… The Government has done its best to source the funding to allow us to get to these tours.

“The timing of the money (from the Government) was not optimal but we don’t want perfect to be the enemy of the good… Our goal is to give the Government confidence to add us on to its next annual budget.”

Phillips stopped short of offering guarantees to any of the present technical staff members with Beenhakker’s impending arrival. But he hinted that the local body wanted only one new face.

In 2005, then Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) Special Advisor Jack Warner selected David Nakhid and Russell Latapy as Beenhakker’s assistant coaches. But the Dutchman refused the appointments and the TTFF allowed him to bring his compatriots, Wim Rijsbergen and Theo De Jong, instead.

“(Beenhakker’s assistant coaches) hasn’t been part of the discussion,” said Phillips. “We are not inclined to bring anybody else. The overall purpose is to win games but we want to develop our resources as well so that there will be short term and long term development… But we haven’t gotten to the look and responsibilities of the final staff yet.”

There were mixed feelings among the players as some expressed dismay that the local coaches would not lead them at the Gold Cup while others felt the staff failed to properly handle the foreign-based players and had overseen a drop in discipline in recent months.

Many wondered what Beenhakker could possibly accomplish with just three weeks before their opening Gold Cup match.

But, to a man, the players were excited by the chance to work with the famous Dutch coach.

There are two other technical issues.

First, the local Pro League and most of the European leagues are on break; so Beenhakker would not be able to assess his players in competitive action.

So what criteria could be used for selection apart from trials or simply taking the word of the present staff? And would a mandatory try-out spell doom for Hughton Hector, Willis Plaza and Seon Power who were part of the 2012 Caribbean Cup finals squad but are in the middle of their season in the Far East?

Also, the TTFA has already submitted a 34-man preliminary squad to CONCACAF and the final 23 players can only be drawn from that pool, which limits Beenhakker’s options.

Middlesbrough’s Justin Hoyte, Ipswich Town’s Carlos Edwards and Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA’s Aubrey David are the only three specialist full backs in the preliminary squad, for instance, while Slovakia Bratislava attacker Lester Peltier, San Jose Earthquakes winger Cordell Cato and Chainat FC left winger Kendall Jagdeosingh are all excluded.

Beenhakker will not have the opportunity to evalaute useful Pro League full backs like the North East Stars pair of Kevon Villaroel and Elton John as well as Jamal Jack (St Ann’s Rangers), Kareem Joseph (Caledonia) and Aklie Edwards (Defence Force) either.

But Phillips is confident that the possible late introduction of Beenhakker would solve more problems than it creates.

“(The proximity of the Gold Cup) is a challenge but you’re talking about professional coaches and professional players who live for a challenge,” he said. “If (Beenhakker) thinks it wasn’t worth discussing it, then we wouldn’t still be talking.

“It isn’t perfect but we can’t let perfect be the enemy of good.”
« Last Edit: June 16, 2013, 07:46:57 PM by Bakes »

Offline SWF Reporter

Re: Warriors told Beenhakker is on the way
« Reply #313 on: June 13, 2013, 07:03:45 PM »
Meet the Warriors: TTFF names Gold Cup preliminary squad
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868)

Trinidad and Tobago co-head coaches Hutson “Barber” Charles and Jamaal Shabazz kept faith with the majority of its 2012 Caribbean Cup squad after selecting 18 players into their 34-man preliminary squad for next month’s CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament.

The notable two absentees from the Caribbean Cup are Slovan Bratislava winger Lester Peltier and Defence Force forward Richard Roy while DIRECTV W Connection attacker Hashim Arcia, Chainat FC winger Kendall Jagdeosingh, San Jose Earthquakes attacker Cordell Cato and Columbus Crew midfield hardman Kevan George also miss out.

Caribbean Cup captain and St Ann’s Rangers goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams made his first appearance for Trinidad and Tobago in 2013 during a 1-0 loss to Estonia last week. Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA midfielder Densill Theobald wore the armband against Estonia, though.

Perhaps the technical staff is keeping its options open in terms of its final two custodians as North East Stars’ Cleon John forced his way into contention with a superb Pro League season while Central FC’s Marvin Phillip is another serious contender.

In defence, the Warriors are blessed with an abundance of talented young central defenders like Connection’s Daneil Cyrus and Vancouver Whitecaps’ Carlyle Mitchell. However, the recent reluctance to serve by foreign-based players like Robert Primus and Sheldon Bateau could leave an opening for an outside shot like former national under-20 team captain Radanfah Abu Bakr.

The team is short of options at left back as Caledonia’s Aubrey David has not always looked comfortable this year while Connection’s Joevin Jones plays closer to the opposing goal in the Pro League.

Anyone see Hughtun Hector play recently?

The versatile Vietnam-based midfielder can be an asset on his day with his accurate delivery from wide areas and his mature decision making as a playmaker. But the TTFA’s reluctance to pay his airfare for friendlies makes his role uncertain with a fresh-faced offensive midfield brigade headed by Ataullah Guerra, Kevin Molino and, possibly, Jones.

Khaleem Hyland’s talent is unlikely to be overlooked for a central midfield role, although he represented his country just once this year, and the trio of Theobald, Chris Birchall and Andre Boucaud might be battling to play alongside him.

Theobald, incidentally, is on 92 international caps at the moment.

Not too many pure wingers though. Defence Force speedster Kevon Carter is almost a certainty for his incredible acceleration but other alternatives like Darryl Roberts, Keon Daniel and Kevin Molino seem to prefer more central roles and are, arguably, more useful just behind a striker too.

Upfront, North East Stars striker Cornell Glen has quickly made himself indispensable to the squad and his contribution might only be limited by nagging injuries. The field is wide open behind him, though.

Stoke City’s Kenwyne Jones is easily Trinidad and Tobago’s most recognisable present player and was captain during the country’s short-lived 2014 World Cup qualifying campaign. But there is little sign yet that the staff knows exactly what to do with him.

Defence Force poacher Devorn Jorsling is a man who knows the way to goal but Trinidad and Tobago often plays too deep to make the most of his ability while the gangly Jamal Gay has often been useful when he featured.

Shahdon Winchester is a late addition and would hope that his low centre of gravity and clever movement earns him the nod while Willis Plaza might be hampered by earning his trade so far from home in the Vietnam league.

Whether it is Shabazz and Charles or former World Cup 2006 coach Leo Beenhakker who get the final say, these are the young men they must choose from:

(T&T Preliminary Squad)

Goalkeepers: (3)

Marvin Phillip (Central FC), Jan-Michael Williams (St Ann’s Rangers), Cleon John (NE Stars);

Defenders: (10)

Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver—Canada), Kareem Moses (NE Stars), Radanfah Abu Bakr (Vostok—Kazakhastan), Robert Primus (Aktobe FC—Kazkhastan), Daneil Cyrus (W. Connection), Seon Power (Chainat FC—Thailand), Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen—Belgium), Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town—England), Justin Hoyte (Middlesbrough—England), Aubrey David (Caledonia);

Midfielders: (15)

Khaleem Hyland (Racing Genk—Belgium), Densill Theobald (Caledonia), Andre Boucaud (Notts County—England), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Clyde Leon (W. Connection), Chris Birchall (Port Vale—England), Keyon Edwards (Caledonia), Ataullah Guerra (RoPS—Finland), Hughton Hector (Song Lam Nghe—Vietnam), Keon Daniel (Philadelphia Union—US), Joevin Jones (W. Connection), Kevin Molino (Orlando City—United States), Darryl Roberts (Samsunspor—Turkey), Jason Marcano (Central FC), Kevon Carter (Defence Force);

Forwards: (6)

Devorn Jorsling (Defence Force), Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City—England), Shahdon Winchester (FF Jaro—Finland), Willis Plaza (Song Lam Nghe—Vietnam), Jamal Gay (Caledonia), Cornell Glen (North East Stars).
« Last Edit: June 16, 2013, 07:54:20 PM by Bakes »

Re: TTFF woos the Don: Beenhakker considers stunning Warriors return
« Reply #314 on: June 13, 2013, 08:49:09 PM »
Someone has made a mistake as Jason Marcano is not in the squad. We double checked with Sheldon Phillips to make sure as Central F.C. were only notified about Marvin Phillip.

« Reply #315 on: June 13, 2013, 09:51:04 PM »
As usual the TTFF/TTFA expects wine from water in the last minute. Why not let Shabbaz/Charles coach the tournament, assess the outcome then make a decision on whether to bring in anyone else, and if so, give them the freedom they need to choose and assess players independently

« Reply #316 on: June 13, 2013, 10:29:36 PM »
As usual the TTFF/TTFA expects wine from water in the last minute. Why not let Shabbaz/Charles coach the tournament, assess the outcome then make a decision on whether to bring in anyone else, and if so, give them the freedom they need to choose and assess players independently

Shabazz can't even legally enter the United States

« Reply #317 on: June 13, 2013, 10:31:03 PM »
This point about players and coaches in Trinidad is a point taken to a point. Despite the coaching shortcomings we have in Trinidad and Tobago..we still produce good players.
We have what we have..what we have to do is understand what we have and make the best of it.
If we have green mango then we could make mango chow..why take green mango and try to make pine apple juice..
This is what we are trying to do currently. Gally said it and I am saying it and Shabba said himself..we  having problems in attack because we playing too deep and the players are too far away from each other causing each player to make a pass that is too long..this is Dutch football..we have to play closer together and maximize our abilities in a smaller area.

This Dutch style is European, Right? and what you recommend here is South American as well. so are you saying that we should play a South American style of a short passing game? 
« Last Edit: June 15, 2013, 01:08:24 AM by davyjenny1 »

Beenhakker back in charge.
« Reply #318 on: June 14, 2013, 01:47:14 AM »
Beenhakker back in charge.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

Dutchman Leo Beenhakker, who qualified Trinidad and Tobago for the 2006 FIFA Men’s World Cup, will take up a two-month assignment with the senior national football team for the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup, which takes place from July 8-28 in the United States.

The Soca Warriors have qualified for the region’s premier football competition for the first time in six years.

Beenhakker will be in charge for a two-month stint as head coach for the Gold Cup, and will work alongside current coaches Jamaal Shabazz and Hutson Charles. The local coaches are said to favour the move.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) approved Beenhakker’s return last night at a meeting of its Executive Council.

Preliminary discussion began with the former Real Madrid coach when TTFA president Raymond Tim Kee met Beenhakker at a FIFA Congress in Mauritius recently. Casual discussions were held, after which Beenhakker was invited to view T&T’s friendly international against Romania, which the Europeans won 4-0.

Read More

« Last Edit: June 14, 2013, 07:18:17 AM by Flex »

Re: Beenhakker back in charge.
« Reply #319 on: June 14, 2013, 03:20:09 AM »
SING IT FROM THE MOUNTAIN TOP...ALLLLLLLLLEUJJJAAAHHHHHHH...... ;D....this is a glimpse of good news...even if its for 2 months. I eh know y de efffffinggg jametttenesss they din bring in de man from de time we qualify for de gc. Full contingent of players...big coach..ahhrite...lets see where de problem lie  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #320 on: June 14, 2013, 03:42:41 AM »
Im all for beenhakker coming back. big coach dat, but only for two months??  don't know if i like the sound of that, unless it's based on performance, but why not indefinitely.

« Reply #321 on: June 14, 2013, 03:47:12 AM »
Two months is shit though. Long term is needed. If you could not get him long term save yuh money.

« Reply #322 on: June 14, 2013, 04:02:26 AM »
Is this really the answer? Are we looking for a short term fix? This move is like we usual default. Put together low budget teams hope lime heck to qualify bring in star boys work with  local coach then with last minute find foreign coach and hope that is the answer. How many times have this played out? How many times we get the results? The wheels on the bus goes round and round while we still in park.
Development system in play player or team cohesion still remains in the experimental stage.  Why do we appear to be so duncy when it comes to planning? We have money to pay this coach but not to fly in some of we so called better players for friendliest?

We cyst find sponsors for players?  Look nah sometimes ah does have to give in when them other islands looking and laughing at we yes. We think we tricky fuh real.

« Reply #323 on: June 14, 2013, 04:07:02 AM »
Is this really the answer? Are we looking for a short term fix? This move is like we usual default. Put together low budget teams hope lime heck to qualify bring in star boys work with  local coach then with last minute find foreign coach and hope that is the answer. How many times have this played out? How many times we get the results? The wheels on the bus goes round and round while we still in park.
Development system in play player or team cohesion still remains in the experimental stage.  Why do we appear to be so duncy when it comes to planning? We have money to pay this coach but not to fly in some of we so called better players for friendliest?

We cyst find sponsors for players?  Look nah sometimes ah does have to give in when them other islands looking and laughing at we yes. We think we tricky fuh real.
Wait until all the info is fully divulged before yuh go talking outatimin.  i here waiting for the full report before i say anything incriminating.  :waiting:
« Last Edit: June 14, 2013, 04:26:03 AM by just cool »

« Reply #324 on: June 14, 2013, 05:36:37 AM »
Knee jerk culture, no plan for sustainable and long term development, none.  Target great GC showing and then what?  Sorry, we will cross that bridge when we reach it, time for beers   :frustrated:

« Reply #325 on: June 14, 2013, 06:01:22 AM »
Leo saw basic flaws in team structure- well we need a good showing at the Gold Cup. Maybe Charles and Shabbaz could learn a thing or two from Leo. Let us face it we are leaking goals and scoring none. This is TTFF fellas a plaster to deal with the sore. Why are you surprised.?

« Reply #326 on: June 14, 2013, 06:08:54 AM »
Knee jerk culture, no plan for sustainable and long term development, none.  Target great GC showing and then what?  Sorry, we will cross that bridge when we reach it, time for beers   :frustrated:

I would prefered if Shabazz was never introduced, while charles is green, the introduction of Shabazz only produced decline, what is even more galling is Shabazz is persona non grata in d States..........square peg round hole.........the federation realise dey made a mistake and tryin to plug it, but at what cost

« Reply #327 on: June 14, 2013, 06:19:21 AM »
While I don't agree on the length of the stint, something needed to be done. But I believe that this will have a positive influence on the team because it is obvious that they are lacking cohesion and organization.  All we can do now is sit back and support the team.  :beermug:

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #328 on: June 14, 2013, 06:20:28 AM »
terrible move (2 months if that is the case)!

"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #329 on: June 14, 2013, 06:25:04 AM »
If the 'new' federation is all about transparency, I believe the fans deserve an explanation as to why the 2 month term was given...