Sports > What about Track & Field

Women’s 100m Sub-11 Club!

(1/7) > >>

Socapro:
Similar to what I have done for the men, I would also like to compile a list of the top women sprinters by country who have legally run under 11s in the 100m sprint.

We expect that USA, Jamaica and the Bahamas would be high on this list but what about T&T and the other sprint countries?

I did a search on the internet and couldn’t find such a list anywhere so I’ve now decided to try compiling one myself right here on this board for reference!

Will appreciate if you guys will point me in the right direction if you already know of a list of Sub-11 100m women sprinters on the internet with preferably a breakdown by athlete and country! Thanks!!

Women 100m Sub-11s By country
(All time list, only legal sub-11s are counted)
=============================
 Nation => No. of athletes with sub-11s
 United States =>       25
 Jamaica =>                  9
 Bahamas =>                 6
 Germany =>                  6
 Russia =>                      4
 Nigeria =>                     4
 France =>                     3
 Bulgeria =>                   2
 China =>                      2
 Trinidad & Tobago => 1
 Ukrane =>                    1
 Greece =>                    1
 Canada =>                   1
 Belarus =>                   1
 Poland =>                    1
 Cameron =>                 1
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Total of 16 Countries with 68 Women Sub-11 Athletes
======================================

NB: I will do my best to keep stats up to date as new female athletes around the world run legal sub-11s.

T&T is currently joint 10th on the list with just 1 official sub-11 athlete at the moment, Kelly-Ann Baptiste!
If Hackett & MLA can step-up in time for Olympics next year and get a few sub-11s under their belts as well then we would have moved up to joint 7th with France on the Sub-11s by Country list!

Of individual USA women sprinters with Sub-11s, I believe Evelyn Ashford of USA is one of the leaders on the USA list with 30 legal 100m sub-11s. We all know that Jeter and quite a few other top female American sprinters should be on the USA list which I will expand on as I gather more info.

Jamaica will definitely have Merlene Ottey leading their list with over 100 sub-11s in her illustrious career! Will update JA's list and the others as soon as I have collated all the information I've gathered!

NB: Not sure if we should include the Russian & German female sprinters of the 80's to early 90's on this list because we all know they had a state funded drugs programme to help give their athletes an unfair advantage during that period. This may also apply to female sprinters from other parts of the world who have since been caught & banned for using performance enhancement drugs over the years.

Click links here for stats confirmation & more details:-
http://www.alltime-athletics.com/w_100ok.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evelyn_Ashford
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carmelita_Jeter
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Merlene_Ottey-Page

USA women sprinters with 100m Sub-11s
(only legal sub-11s are counted)
Name of Athlete ::::: No. of Sub-11s => Sub-11s Breakdown (Time, Windspeed, Location & Date)
 Evelyn Ashford :::: 30 =>
 Flo-Jo :::: ___ =>
 Carmelita Jeter  :::: ___ =>
 More names to be added once details confirmed...

Jamaica women sprinters with 100m Sub-11s
Name of Athlete ::::: No. of Sub-11s => Sub-11s Breakdown (Time, Windspeed, Location & Date)
 Merlene Ottey :::: at least 100 =>
 Veronica Campbell-Brown :::: ___ =>
 Shelly-Ann Fraser :::: ___ =>
 Kerron Stewart :::: ___ =>

Bahamas women sprinters with 100m Sub-11s
 Chandra Sturrup :::: ___ =>
 Debbie Ferguson-McKenzie :::: ___ =>

T&T women sprinters with 100m Sub-11s
 Kelly-Ann Baptiste :::: 9 => In the process of collating stats for breakdown.
NB: I will do my best to update these stats as more T&T sprinters around the world run legal sub-11s.
You can also click on athlete's name for link to their IAAF bio.

And of the T&T women sprinters with sub-11s, I believe Kelly-Ann Baptiste leads the pack!!
Or is she the only one? And if so who else is likely to join her? :thinking:

This thread is to discuss which of our current crop of T&T women sprinters are most likely to run a sub-11 or two or more next season and join the Women's 100m Sub-11 Club or can increase the number of sub-11s they have under their belt as we get ready for fielding a medal strong 4 x 100m relay team at the Olympics next year as well as having a few more ladies making the individual 100m final!

Please also help with any information you can provide as to the actual sub-11 times, windspeeds, locations and dates for any of the women sprinters who are already members of the Sub-11 Club so we can add to their sub-11 stats information above!

We would also like to discussion which one of our upcoming women sprinters in your eyes has the ability to challenge KAB for her spot as the number one women sprinter from T&T and also in the 100m Sub-11 department!

Many thanks for your help & participation!!

A.B.:
Merlene actually has over 100. allathletics I believe is the site.

Socapro:

--- Quote from: A.B. on September 20, 2011, 05:12:16 PM ---Merlene actually has over 100. allathletics I believe is the site.

--- End quote ---

Okay, thanks for that!!
I'll check stats and update my version on here!  :beermug:

Tallman:
Yuh could go and look dem up and get de details. Doh buss meh head if it have any mistakes  ;D

USA
Florence Griffith-Joyner
Carmelita Jeter
Marion Jones
Evelyn Ashford
Dawn Sowell
Torri Edwards
Inger Miller
Gail Devers
Gwen Torrence
Sheila Echols
Muna Lee