March 28, 2024, 09:34:27 AM

Author Topic: CLT20: T&T vs Chennai Super Kings  (Read 5141 times)

CLT20: T&T vs Chennai Super Kings
« on: October 02, 2011, 07:45:29 AM »
T&T look for first win, CSK to stay in contention
The Preview by Nikita Bastian
October 1, 2011
http://www.espncricinfo.com/champions-league-twenty20-2011/content/current/story/534550.html

Chennai Super Kings v Trinidad & Tobago, October 2, Chennai
Start time 2000 (1430 GMT)
10:30 AM Trinidad & Tobago

Ravi Rampaul picked up a five-for the last time he played an Indian team at Chepauk
© Associated Press

Big Picture

Chennai Super Kings got the win they needed to stay alive in the Champions League Twenty20 against Cape Cobras on Wednesday. Now, they must win against Trinidad & Tobago to sustain their chance of making the semi-finals. T&T have lost one match off the last ball and one in a Super Over; both were matches which they could and should have won. Like the Super Kings, they now need to win two out of two, but they will also have to bank on other results going their way. The forecast in Chennai is for thunder showers during the day and a cloudy night. A wash-out will knock T&T out and leave the Super Kings precariously placed.

The Super Kings' win against the Cobras should boost their confidence - they chased (something they prefer to avoid) on a sluggish track and won despite scoreboard pressure. They've been in must-win situations before and seem to thrive on the extra pressure. If the visitors are to get past them they will have to shed their tardiness in the field.

T&T, so far, have seemed heavily dependent on their top three - Lendl Simmons, Adrian Barath and Darren Bravo - for runs, something that the Super Kings would look to exploit. Ravi Rampaul, T&T's bowling spearhead, had a nightmarish last two overs in the game against New South Wales, but the memories of his five-for against India in the World Cup at this ground should be enough to dispel any negativity. A contest to watch out for is Dwayne Bravo taking on his State side that includes his brother Darren.

Watch out for …

Suresh Raina has never missed a match for the Super Kings. He has scored over 2000 runs for the team in 70 games, and has invariably delivered - with bat and ball - in tough situations. So far in this tournament though, he hasn't found his rhythm, with scores of 18 off 17 balls and 20 of 23. Will he manage to pull off a typical, boundary-studded innings in this crunch match?

Legspinner Samuel Badree has been miserly in T&T's four matches (qualifiers included), conceding only 4.75 runs an over - the best economy-rate among bowlers who have delivered a minimum of 15 overs in the tournament. It will be interesting to see how he fares on the Chennai pitch, which has traditionally allowed the hosts' slow bowlers to apply the squeeze on the opposition in the second-half of an innings.

Team news

Both sides have fielded the same XI in all their games in the tournament, and are unlikely to experiment.
Stats and trivia

Four of the six bowlers T&T have used in the tournament - Badree, Sunil Narine, Kevon Cooper and Rampaul - have economy rates below 6.00

Only 15 of the Super Kings' 43 wins (IPL and CLT20 combined) have come while chasing

Quotes

"I try to use some skidders, some wrong 'uns, try to get some turn off the legbreak as well … the main thing is to keep your eyes on the batsmen as long as possible, see what they are doing and try to out-think them."
Samuel Badree, on his formula for success in Twenty20s

"MS [Dhoni] really showed the way to go about it on this [Chennai] wicket, placing the ball in the gaps, and running a lot of singles and twos."
Dwayne Bravo credits his captain MS Dhoni for pointing him in the right direction against the Cobras
« Last Edit: October 02, 2011, 07:48:56 AM by Bitter »

Re: CLT20: T&T vs Chennai Super Kings
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2011, 07:46:53 AM »

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2011, 08:41:57 AM »
Go Red Force  :beermug:

« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2011, 08:52:16 AM »
sometimes i wonder what goes through bravo and pollard's minds when they playing against us. must be a bit difficult

« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2011, 08:52:30 AM »
We should have played this line up from the first game.
GO T&T.  :wavetowel:

« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2011, 08:56:01 AM »
sometimes i wonder what goes through bravo and pollard's minds when they playing against us. must be a bit difficult

I am sure it is difficult for them. We came close in two games without our two best players. I am sure having them in our team would have made the difference for us.

« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2011, 08:57:21 AM »
oh lawd bravo, giwwe something nah  8)

« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2011, 09:05:58 AM »
time to start getting more agressive

« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2011, 09:42:15 AM »
i wonder how much bravo pay d dj to play he tune if he get a wicket  8)

« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2011, 09:42:57 AM »
Time for a new captain for T&T!   Ganga served well and was a true warrior...but now he is past his expiry date!

« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2011, 09:45:41 AM »
cant wait for the friends of cricket take back control hopefully so we can win a few games again.We have not won anything except one 20 20 com since bassarat take over .it good for all the ppl who vote them in.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2011, 09:47:24 AM by Quags »

« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2011, 09:59:38 AM »
we able to defend 124 man. shouldnt be a problem

« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2011, 10:00:15 AM »
that was montano song on that indian commercial

« Reply #14 on: October 02, 2011, 10:00:19 AM »
Not enough runs again.

« Reply #15 on: October 02, 2011, 10:40:15 AM »
T&T bowling well and my feed died  :cursing:

« Reply #16 on: October 02, 2011, 11:17:01 AM »

« Reply #17 on: October 02, 2011, 11:21:16 AM »
this T&T team is excellent, if they bat better they will be GREAT!

« Reply #18 on: October 02, 2011, 11:21:49 AM »
I spoke too soon.

Narine's numbers are ridiculous. 4 overs, 8 runs, 3 wickets.

« Reply #19 on: October 02, 2011, 11:23:54 AM »
this T&T team is excellent, if they bat better they will be GREAT!

With Pollard and Bravo, T&T is the best in world. Who would have thought Rampaul would be the weak link in the bowling?

« Reply #20 on: October 02, 2011, 11:24:02 AM »
oh f**k ravi. have some composure nah

« Reply #21 on: October 02, 2011, 11:24:48 AM »
i hope not another breakdown...
and from Bravo bat?

« Reply #22 on: October 02, 2011, 11:26:12 AM »
S. Ganga is not the best bowler yuh know. always expensive  :nailbiting:

hope he doh become ravi 2.0
« Last Edit: October 02, 2011, 11:27:58 AM by STEUPS!! »

« Reply #23 on: October 02, 2011, 11:33:29 AM »
Like I said before.
These IPL teams are not that good.
T&T should be 3-0 now. But say what. 4 points and the net run rate. We could squeeze through.

« Reply #24 on: October 02, 2011, 11:34:09 AM »
Like I said before.
These IPL teams are not that good.
T&T should be 3-0 now. But say what. 4 points and the net run rate. We could squeeze through.

hope so

good job TnT.... :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: October 02, 2011, 11:35:13 AM »
those 12 runs ganga give whey in d last two balls, any chance that cud come back to bite us?

« Reply #26 on: October 02, 2011, 11:36:42 AM »
those 12 runs ganga give whey in d last two balls, any chance that cud come back to bite us?
The way this going, of course.

« Reply #27 on: October 02, 2011, 11:38:09 AM »

it cud...it will come down to net run rate if a 3-way tie has to b broken..i.e tnt beat cobras and chennette beat nsw..we play last so at least we'll know what we have to do..if anything..

« Reply #28 on: October 02, 2011, 11:40:31 AM »
So we backing Chennai to beat NSW (Mumbai ent help we out dey atall) and then we beat Cape Cobras by a wide margin

« Reply #29 on: October 02, 2011, 11:42:31 AM »
So we backing Chennai to beat NSW (Mumbai ent help we out dey atall) and then we beat Cape Cobras by a wide margin

:praying: :praying: