March 28, 2024, 02:40:22 AM

Author Topic: Save yuh grocree money!  (Read 6082 times)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Save yuh grocree money!
« on: October 14, 2011, 07:46:33 AM »
Ah coming wid a new book soon soon! It is a full length novel (dais why all yuh was hardly seeing me in here liming) wid one setta bacchanal but dis time...
I have written it under my real name, in the Queen's English. (bet all yuh din know ah could do dat!)  :heehee:

Ent it have a Nobel Peace Prize for Literary Commess? :wavetowel:

Re: Save yuh grocree money!
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2011, 12:21:43 PM »
yuh go be usin words like forsooth and erstwhile in de preface?

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2011, 06:47:28 AM »
erstwhile is a lovely word. I will try to work it into the manuscript JUST for you...lol. You will make the editor boof me.
yuh have to must to buy the book now to look for it.  :D

The story is smoking hot. I am out of the closet as a heavy romance writer.  :whip:

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2011, 08:58:29 AM »
Is about time somebody buss out de closet on this board even if they bodice does button twiss up

next person ah wuh come out de closet is man wit de golden derringer....he must take Pride in he pistol and embrace who he is

good luck wit de book ,,ah was due ah trip to 'a different booklist' for awhile now anyway

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2011, 11:10:08 AM »
the bodice comes off entirely in the book..LOL!
Don't know who the man with the deringer is so ah feel is yet another inside rigamarole I miss...is alright  :bs:

Hope to have my Toronto launch at A Different Booklist again. I am leaving all that with my road manager. Last time it was unreal...still have trouble accepting the huge crowd that turned up to support my fledgling efforts. Hopefully this next book, even though it is a complete departure from the QM style, is as warmly received.

Will let you know when it is and hope to see you there.

« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2011, 10:42:28 PM »
Nice one!! Looking forward to the new book when it reach!!  :beermug:

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2011, 11:31:24 AM »
thanks socapro!

Dutts, I now know who yuh was talking bout...de closet is now a box... :P

« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2011, 11:28:04 PM »
steups Dutty only vex with he caps gun...

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2011, 02:56:43 PM »
Across from Lapeyrouse
is the new novel by Nathalie (Queen Macoomeh) Taghaboni
due to be released in February 2012!

to receive latest news and for advance ordering,
send an email to info@commessuniversity.com

thank you!

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2012, 09:43:53 AM »
update:

T&T launch of "Across From Lapeyrouse" is scheduled for Sunday, November 25th at NALIS (Port of Spain)
stay tuned for details...

*races back out*

« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2012, 11:51:24 AM »
QM give we a little one or two lines nuh. whet we appetite, raise we pores, tease we a little.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2012, 07:59:53 AM »
QM give we a little one or two lines nuh. whet we appetite, raise we pores, tease we a little.

Ribbit, ite, I will post a lil excerpt or two...soon come. I had posted excerpts on my facebook page but forget all yuh. Ah shame..

DUTTY!!! Whey yuh? I couldn't use forsooth but ah put the word ERSTWHILE in the novel just for you!  :rotfl:
yuh hatta buy de book and read it to fine it..
« Last Edit: January 09, 2012, 12:02:28 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2012, 08:08:47 AM »
EXCERPT ONE - CHAPTER 14

“So you send your family to beat up Vijay eh?”

Jeneva closed her eyes for a second and wondered why the earth refused to open up and swallow her. This could not be happening. She turned to face the woman. “Pardon?” Marva stood barring Jeneva from any dignified means of escape.

“You feel because your father is the head of police you could do what you want?” Marva’s tower of hair looked in danger of falling as it trembled high atop its owner’s head.

“I don’t know what you mean.” Jeneva was hoping denial would ward off the confrontation.

It didn’t.

“You couldn’t get Vijay to fall for them two pretty eye you have and the light skin pañyol ass, so you send your brother to beat him?”

“I don’t see this as any of your business Marva, so back off.” As soon as she said the words, Jeneva realized it was the wrong way to go.

Marva stepped in closer. “Back off or what? You will send your brother to lash me too? You feel you better than anybody in here?”

“I never sent Remy. It was all a misunderstanding,” Jeneva forced a conciliatory tone into her words. She remembered her father had always said to speak softly if you didn’t want to fight. “Remy sends his apologies to all of you for the scene he caused.”

“Sends his apologies?” Marva sneered. “That go un-buss Vijay lip? A nice looking man like that you went and cause damage to?” Marva stepped in even closer. Jeneva glanced at the beehive hairdo. There was a good possibility it would come undone and fall on Jeneva, knocking her out. She wondered, quite non sequitur, whether Marva had kept the receipt for it. It was a terrible looking weave. Despite her best intentions, she grinned at the thought. Marva pushed Jeneva back against one of the skids.

“So now I am a joke for you Miss High and Mighty Savanoy?” Jeneva’s grin erupted into giggles, the incongruity of which made Jeneva laugh even harder.

“No, no I’m sorry Marva, I’m not laughing at you. Sorry, I am not laughing at you, really.” Jeneva realized she sounded like Ramdial and began hiccupping with laughter. Marva stood inches away from her, her face darkening with anger while Jeneva tried desperately to pull herself together.

“Is everything alright here?” Vijay came up behind Marva, looking quizzically at Jeneva.

Marva spun around, her body language shifting swiftly from fight mode to fawning. “Vijay, sweetheart! I am so glad to see you in here today! How are you feeling sugarplum?” Marva leaned towards Vijay and touched his cheek. “Looks like you need a woman’s touch to get rid of that bruise.” Marva patted the back of her beehive. Jeneva leaned weakly against the skid of boxes, stifling her laughter.

“I’m fine Miss Marva, just a few scratches. No harm done.”

“Alright then doux doux. If you need anything come up and see me in the front office eh? I am sure I have a plaster for your cut.” Marva threw a razor glance back at Jeneva, smiled sweetly at Vijay, then sashayed out of the warehouse, her ample ass resembling two over stuffed pillows under the too-tight skirt.

Vijay grinned at Jeneva. “Causing trouble so early in the morning Miss High and Mighty Savanoy?”

Jeneva glanced around quickly to see if they were alone, then grabbed Vijay’s belt, pulling him between the boxes for a deep kiss, nipping lightly on his tongue. She moved away after running her hand down the front of his jeans and squeezing gently. She walked out to where the drivers were beginning to pull in to the loading dock. “Do you have the clipboard with today’s orders Mr. Mahabir?” She knew it would take him a moment or two before he could follow her out.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #13 on: January 09, 2012, 08:33:56 AM »
EXCERPT TWO OF TWO - Chapter 23

As they pulled away from the airport, Jeneva inhaled her homeland. Her entire body recognized and responded to the rhythm of the island. Far deeper and much more spiritual than even the throb of the steelpan or calypso, is the rhythm of the country itself. It is in the way the heat shimmers and the breeze plays through the trees and grasses. It is in the way the clouds fan the sky overhead, chasing light into shadow and back again. The car horns and hails of drivers and friends add a beat. As they wound their way from Piarco to Maraval, Jeneva caught wisps of music coming from cars and shops and homes. More than once she sensed as much as heard the pitched call of a soprano steelpan and the answer of its bass bedfellow. All the sounds fitted perfectly into the fabric of her home and she felt her soul exhale.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2012, 12:05:27 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #14 on: January 09, 2012, 08:42:21 AM »
A few advance reviews:

"A steamy read with unexpected twists and turns that will keep you gripped until the last page. It transports readers between two worlds in stunning detail. A remarkable work from a first-time novelist."

"This book is delicious; bacchanal (the good kind) oozing like icing down every page. If you've never been to the West Indies, Nathalie's lush descriptions and strong characters will introduce you to the landscape, culture and people of Trinidad and Tobago with the ease of an old friend. And if you're Trini, read this book. Whether you never left Woodbrook or you've been out 'in the cold' for 20 years, it will feel like coming home."   

“Across from Lapeyrouse gives you a tingling sense of déja vu: liming backstage at the Grand Stand at Dimanche Gras, dodging traffic in Woodbrook, catching the ferry to Tobago, are all at the heart of the Trini experience.  Not to mention trying to find a good man who won’t mess up your head and leave you wondering what the hell happened.  Nathalie’s wit is swift and sharp, and her characters so real, and so familiar, you’ll find yourself thinking, wait...I know these people!”

"To my knowledge, no one has ever written like this, with this level of intimacy and feeling and understanding of who we are, and the commesse we can get up to. Even the title lets me know that she knows us well. I would like to see more from this author, much more."

"Never before has carnival, sand, soca and sex met in such a combustible mixture! Across From Lapeyrouse conjures it all as we fall in love with Jeneva Marie, the queen of the bands. The Savanoy family lives large in the pages of this trail blazing work by a Trini expat. You can hear the twang and see the streets of Port of Spain and Toronto as the story unveils with brilliant style and shrewd story telling."

:heehee:
« Last Edit: January 09, 2012, 12:05:01 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2012, 06:40:15 PM »
soca and sex met in such a combustible mixture!

Maccoomeh!!!!!

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #16 on: January 11, 2012, 07:53:24 AM »
soca and sex met in such a combustible mixture!

Maccoomeh!!!!!

;)

« Reply #17 on: January 11, 2012, 01:14:44 PM »
yuh coulda put de word 'prithee' somewhey in beetween Marva and Jeneva standoff

...ah go pick up a copy from diff booklist

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #18 on: January 11, 2012, 02:11:16 PM »
yuh coulda put de word 'prithee' somewhey in beetween Marva and Jeneva standoff

...ah go pick up a copy from diff booklist

prithee eye...instead of pretty eye?  :rotfl:

boy people blushing already.
ADB should have books by April or so. I en even print yet and people ordering...lol. Ah happy and nervous like hell.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2012, 07:57:01 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #19 on: January 15, 2012, 08:47:43 PM »
I am thrilled as heck to announce
Across From Lapeyrouse's FACEBOOK Page is now live.
Would you be so kind as to assist me in getting the word out?.
In the search box at the top of your FB page, type in "Across From Lapeyrouse" to take you to the page. Please LIKE and visit and tell your reading friends.
As a self publishing author, I rely on your help to get the word out.

NOTE: the KINDLE version will be its first release in about 24 hours! It will also available in the UK, France, Italy, Spain, The Netherlands and Germany.
The KINDLE ISBN is: 978-0-9849075-1-9

Stay tuned for more release information!
thanks!
« Last Edit: January 15, 2012, 10:19:46 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #20 on: January 16, 2012, 08:41:14 AM »
The Kindle version of "Across From Lapeyrouse" is now LIVE on Amazon!
 :beermug: ;D

http://www.amazon.com/Across-From-Lapeyrouse-ebook/dp/B006Y06FSQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1326740557&sr=8-1
« Last Edit: January 16, 2012, 01:03:23 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

« Reply #21 on: January 16, 2012, 12:57:39 PM »
The Kindle version of "Across From Lapeyrouse" is now LIVE on Amazon!
 :beermug: ;D

:applause:

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #22 on: January 16, 2012, 01:04:44 PM »
thanks Weary!  ;)
Other versions, including the PRINT copy are coming soon.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #23 on: February 06, 2012, 03:00:23 PM »
ite, where was I?  ;D
News on the new book "Across From Lapeyrouse"

Kindle (www.Amazon.com)
e-book for Nook and Ipad and dem kinda techie-ting (www.commessuniversity.com)
advance PRINT book orders (www.BarnesandNoble.com)
autographed print orders (info@commessuniversity.com)

The first few orders of the PRINT version will have a lil surprise with it.
This is a LIMITED print run, so first come first served.
visit the book's page on Amazon to see some reviews.

The print book is scheduled to be released by March 15th, 2012.

uhmm...what else...?
oh yes. There is a Facebook page for the book. Drop by and LIKE it and join/add commentary.

please and thanks... :beermug:

that's all...please return to your regularly scheduled Carnival in T&T.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #24 on: February 28, 2012, 10:13:15 PM »
BOOM!

« Reply #25 on: February 29, 2012, 12:03:38 AM »
mama Yo!

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #26 on: March 02, 2012, 07:30:13 PM »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #27 on: March 08, 2012, 06:45:10 AM »
A review of Across from Lapeyrouse is in the current edition of Everybody's Magazine.
The magazine is free to download until March 20th. Take a look at page 14!
www.everybodysmag.com

Across From Lapeyrouse is available at:
www.amazon.com
www.amazon.co.uk
www.barnesandnoble.com
www.commessuniversity.com (for autographed copies)

thanks all!
 :cheers:

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News

« Reply #29 on: March 19, 2012, 11:53:46 PM »
Favorite lines, "Someone had stolen her breath and kicked her in the stomach at the same time."

Good Stuff Girl