March 28, 2024, 07:02:38 AM

Author Topic: Pfister resumes training, Leon off to Vietnam.  (Read 10767 times)

Re: Pfister resumes training, Leon off to Vietnam.
« Reply #30 on: October 15, 2011, 12:26:25 PM »
Take this for what it's worth... but Wikipedia says that Hanoi T&T are affiliated with FC Porto (whatever that means), plus as Fyzoman say... it have Brazilians and Argentinians on the team. By itself admittedly that doesn't say much, but de left-and dumpling Seabra eat aside, it ent like Argies and Brazilians breaking down the door to play in the Pro League.

You see the size of Brazil and Argentina?! Not to mention that is their number one sport. Of course they have men playing every corner of the world, but that don't mean they near good. So that argument is bullocks.

How many people playing in Vietnam does play on national teams?

Playing in Vietnam is a funeral.

I shoulda say I HATE (cause I really do!) dese fellahs going Vietnam and done all de ole talk...of course de Brazilians and Argies playing in Vietnam might be ranking shitsnakes....who might or mighn't be better than some ah we pros.

My point was/is if these men could hear an agent say, "Vietnam" and say "ok" knowing it could mean the end of their international careers and professional develpoment. Who de France is we....anyway this just giving we another topic to go and on about and that's what the forum is all about:)

So these fellahs eh have no smart friends or family (or other ballers) to advise them or what???

« Reply #31 on: October 15, 2011, 12:49:17 PM »
we greatest goalscorer ever, couldn't get ah bligh...Kerry Baptiste a ex top scorer in the league ketchin hell to get off ah bench in a 2nd tier North American league...We have 1 player in a top European league, and 1 in a top NA league, none in any other, and even many fans find those 2 top players lacking....and ppl still want fellas, who might or might not be our best, and definately average any top league they go,  to just wait, hold on for the big leagues, teams to come and look for them...really...meanwhile, the local clubs go just pay them what they worth (cashews) above the peanuts they trying to afford to pay everybody else, meanwhile the whole pro league stands still relatively empty, the National Team adminstrators on many occasions don't or didn't pay them, buh all things could hold still, till the small agent get a call from the big club looking for some good, cheap labor...riiiighht

« Last Edit: October 15, 2011, 01:15:13 PM by maxg »

« Reply #32 on: October 15, 2011, 01:09:06 PM »
we greatest goalscorer ever, couldn't get ah bligh...Kerry Baptiste a ex top scorer in the league ketchin hell to get off ah bench in a 2nd tier North American league...We have 1 player in a top European league, and 1 in a top NA league, none in any other, and even many fans find those 2 top players lacking....and ppl still want fellas, who might or might not be our best, and definately average any top league they go,  to just wait, hold on for the big leagues, teams to come and look for them...really...meanwhile, the local clubs go just pay them what they worth (cashews) above the peanuts they trying to afford to pay everybody else, meanwhile the whole pro league stands still relatively empty, the National Team adminstrators on many occasions don't or didn't pay them, buh all things could hold still, till the small agent get a call from the big club looking for some good, cheap labor...riiiighht

Look nobody wasn't even sure when the league was starting in T&T. How many times they move the start ah de season and then 2 team drop up and 1 withdraw. But, these fellas need to be patient, for when Arsenal and them come calling.

« Reply #33 on: October 15, 2011, 01:16:22 PM »
eh elan ?

I had added: besides the fact that many fans saying the league not good, and dem not paying dem money to go see that level, dem rather buy a Brazil, England Chelsea, ManU, Barca etc brand, buh the loal club owners must hold on the these possible exports any how they can (mean their own pocket), cause we not supporting that local brand, buh we vex, cause we paying ah big coach money to coach them, wheter they playing for free or not, in an environment where they cannot improve due to lack of quality games, and he rant and cover he ass if he lose, so Local club owner pay them to stay home, pay everybody else, so we could just Dream of taking ah wine in Brazil, because that sooooo important, and will be a major benefit to we lil country...just like Germany was nah...well look how that still playing out...everybody reallly know we name now boy  ;)

« Reply #34 on: October 15, 2011, 01:27:42 PM »
Let me tell you.. I rather work at KFC before leaving my sweet tnt .. or usa for that matter to go live in Vietnam? India? South Africa?.. NOT EVEN Columbia!.. but then again.. I am not Leon LOL

« Reply #35 on: October 15, 2011, 01:37:48 PM »
Let me tell you.. I rather work at KFC before leaving my sweet tnt .. or usa for that matter to go live in Vietnam? India? South Africa?.. NOT EVEN Columbia!.. but then again.. I am not Leon LOL

makes my point, ppl not really studying Leon, ppl naturally more studying how it affect themselves...

Ps: if yuh leave yuh sweet T&T for yuh sweet USA, is because yuh was trying yuh best. Not to have to work KFC...yet some real TT ppl have to, Leon also rather not  ;)

« Reply #36 on: October 15, 2011, 01:41:20 PM »
23 JULY 2011

Vietnam, new 'Mecca' of Nigerian Footballers
TANA AIYEJINA

Nigerian footballers were first choice with teams like Ajax and Arsenal but now just any team any where would do, writes 'TANA AIYEJINA in this special report.

In the mid 1980s, former Super Eagles captain Stephen Keshi started the mass exodus of Nigerian players to Belgium. Having been banned alongside some other players for reporting late to camp by the Nigerian Football Association, in 1984. Keshi moved to Cote d'Ivoire in 1985 and played first for Stade d' Abidjan and then Africa Sports.

His impressive performances caught the eye of Belgian side Lokeren, who snapped him up in 1986.Again he impressed there and in no due course, opened the door for multitudes of other Nigerian players to play football in the European country. In fact, Belgium was then referred to as the 'Mecca of Nigerian footballers.'

Today, there's a new trend. Nigerian players are now flooding the lowly Vietnamese league for greener pastures, an indication of the dwindling fortunes of the country's footballers.

According to statistics, Brazil and Nigeria dominate the list of foreign players in the Asian country.

While Brazil has 19 players in the V-League, as the Vietnamese topflight is known, Nigeria comes second with 13 players. In the first division, both countries have 15 players each.

The likes of former U-23 captain Adebowale Ogungbure, another former U-23 defender Ejike Izuagha and Olusola Aganun, who was once a hit in the Austrian topflight, now ply their trade in Vietnam.

Well, some may argue that the above mentioned players may be in their prime and are in Vietnam for their final pay day having played previously in Europe. But what about the likes of 2007 U-17 World Cup winner Ganiyu Oseni, Osas Idehen (21), 2005 Nigerian league top scorer and former Lobi Stars striker Timothy Anjembe, Onome Sodje (22) and other youngsters who have flocked the country for greener pastures?

The players have made their impact felt positively on the pitch, though. At the moment, Samson Kayode, who plays for Dong Thap, is the third highest scorer in the V-League with 13 goals. Abdullahi Suleiman, who plays for first division An Giang is also third in the lower league with 11 goals.

What makes Vietnam a lucrative market for Nigerian and other foreign footballers there?

Well, it's not far-fetched. Despite Vietnam being a poor country, foreign footballers earn considerably well. Last season alone, about 70 foreigners competed for 14 V-League teams with monthly salaries of between US$5,000 and $12,000.

Aganun, who was recruited by Dong Thap FC with a salary of around $3,000 last year, recently signed for Hoa Phat Ha Noi after a successful season, where he netted 10 goals for Dong Thap.

The former Wacker Tirol powerful forward is reported to have signed for the Hanoian team for a salary of around $7,000 a month.

Anjembe, who played for Dong Thap last year, also moved to Hoa Phat Ha Noi after a good season.

"Nigerian players are here (Vietnam) because of money," Anjembe, who has carved a niche for himself in the V-League says. "And again, the facilities here are better than what you have in Nigeria."

Former Charlton Athletic striker, Sodje, a nephew to Super Eagles defenders, Efe and Sam Sodje, admits that the standard of football in Vietnam is not comparable to what obtains in England but says the players are happy with the pay package.

He says, "Yes, the standard of the league here is not as high as in England but they pay good money to compensate for it. Football is a short career and a lot of footballers don't have a clue on what they will be doing when they retire. I don't want to be part of that group.

"I am just happy to be playing again and I like the football here because we train a lot. Football is getting harder by the second in England and Europe. There are a lot of players in Europe who are eager to come here. I am living a free life here and playing a game I love so much."

Foreign footballers actually have made the V-League more competitive since the Vietnam Football Federation launched its professional league in 2001 and allowed teams to offer contracts to foreign players.

This season, the VFF issued regulations restricting V-League teams to a maximum of four foreign players, three of whom are allowed to play at a time.

The last two years has also seen a growth in teams offering contracts to naturalised foreign players who do not affect the foreign-player quota.

In effect this means that V-League teams are permitted to play one foreign-born player, in addition to three foreign passport holding players.

In May, Amaobi Uzowuru who plays for Binh Dinh was among five foreign footballers granted citizenship by the Vietnamese government having lived in the country for at least five years. Consequently he adopted a Vietnamese name and he is now known as Dang Amaobi.

However, it's not been a bed of roses for Nigerian footballers there as some of them are reportedly roaming the streets of major cities of Vietnam after they were unable to secure contracts in the Asian country.

http://vietfootball.blogspot.com/2011/07/vietnam-new-mecca-of-nigerian.html

« Reply #37 on: October 15, 2011, 01:46:53 PM »
V-League lures foreign players
Read the original news
VietNam News English - 10 month(s) ago 20 readings

The V-League national football championship, continues to be a lucrative market for foreign footballers, with over 200 players flocking for trials at V-League teams annually.
Facebook Twitter 0 vote(s) Comment Save this news
V are the champions: Nigerian striker Anjembe Timothy celebrates after scoring a goal for V-League team Hoa Phat Ha Noi. The national football championship continues to be a lucrative market for foreign footballers. — VNS Photo Quang Thang

HA NOI —

The premier league, which closed in June, saw 70 foreigners competing for 14 V-League teams with monthly salaries of between US$5,000 and $12,000.

Foreign footballers actually have made the V-League more competitive since the football governing body, VFF launched its first professional league in 2001 and allowed teams to offer contracts to foreign players.

For the new football season, which begins next month, the VFF has issued regulations restricting V-League teams to a maximum of four foreign players, three of whom will be allowed to play at any given time. However, despite the match-day restrictions, teams are proving happy enough to bolster their squads with players from Africa and South America.

The last two years has also seen a growth in teams offering contracts to naturalised foreign players who do not affect the foreign-player quota.

In effect this means that V-League teams will be permitted to play one foreign-born player from next year, in addition to three foreign passport holding players.

"The V-League still has great potential. Currently, at least 20 unofficial agents are plying their trade in Viet Nam," said American-Vietnamese Mae Mua, who was granted a FIFA Players' Agent License in 2006.

"Most of V-League teams are looking for forwards from African countries as they are quite cheap, and they're more powerful than local forwards, while good European players are expensive," Mua said, adding that a European striker in the 32-34 age bracket would require a minimum salary of US$500,000 each year.

Mua, who is still the only official FIFA-agent in Viet Nam, said her job has become tougher as teams have set higher standards for potential players.

The agent, who has worked in the Vietnamese League for over a decade as a former representative of the British sports marketing firm Strata, said Vietnamese coaches are often happy with African players.

Nigerian-born Olushola Aganun, who was recruited by Dong Thap FC with a salary of around $3,000 last year, recently signed for Hoa Phat Ha Noi after a successful season, where he netted 10 goals for Dong Thap.

A source said Olushola had signed for the Hanoian team for a salary of around $7,000 a month.

Anjembe Timothy, who also played for Dong Thap last year, also moved to Hoa Phat Ha Noi after a good season.

Ninh Binh team coach Nguyen Van Sy said teams with limited funds were keen on signing African players.

"We offer six-month or one-year contracts and decide to extend the deal if the player is a success in their first year. It's the best option for us as we avoid risk," Sy said.

"Most teams recruit foreign strikers rather than defenders and midfielders. It's a reason why foreign forwards have continuously won the award as the V-League's top scorer since 2003."

Last year, Hai Phong became the first V-League team to announce a mega-contract with Brazilian superstar Denilson de Oliveira. But the deal fell apart when the Brazilian left the team after receiving US$10,000 for three weeks in Viet Nam, plus $15,000 for his 50 minutes of play and a solitary goal.

Mua said that the V-League this year, which kicks off next month, continues to lure African footballers and naturalised Vietnamese players.

Last year, foreign-born players Huynh Keskey Alves, Phan Van Santos, Dinh Hoang Max (Maxwell) and Ukraine-born Dinh Hoang La (Mykola) were called up to train with the national squad ahead of the Asian Cup qualifiers, but all failed to make the final squads. — VNS

http://en.baomoi.com/Info/VLeague-lures-foreign-players/10/95931.epi

« Reply #38 on: October 15, 2011, 01:50:33 PM »
like d caribbean is dey new flea market

08 OCTOBER 2011

Jamaica internationals in trial with Hai Phong
Jamaican internationals Errol Stevens, Andre Clennon and Mario Swaby were seen playing for Vicem Hai Phong in the opening game of BTV Cup 2011. Stevens impressively scored both goals for his side in Hai Phong's 2-1 victory over Slovakian club MSK Zilina.

There has been report that two other Jamaican Kavin Bryan and Andre Fagan, who won V-League 2011 with SLNA, will also join Vicem Hai Phong next season.

« Reply #39 on: October 15, 2011, 01:53:54 PM »
Selecting a country to play in is a very important decision. The importance of going to a country with healthy medical care out wieghts the amount of money they willing to put in your pockets. V-League medical hosipitals are not much better than Tnt.. infact we might have better medical care here in Trinidad than they do in Vietnam.

The risk of a player getting injured in a not so skilled league is very common.. b.c you have the wildmen willing to cut down a man, pick up a card or two and sit out the next match.

I am very surprised that our players are signing for these V-League clubs.. It's not going to be pretty and what can they expect..once they start playing? The coaching? etc.. don't see any reason to make this move.. 5k us is chump change.. and to isolate yourself from your family for that amount is ridculous.

« Reply #40 on: October 15, 2011, 08:03:28 PM »
all i have to say...why they couldn't wait until the qualifying to sent  these two players on trail...what the big rush went they know the two game is very important

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #41 on: October 15, 2011, 08:22:05 PM »

08 OCTOBER 2011

Jamaican internationals Errol Stevens, Andre Clennon and Mario Swaby were seen playing for Vicem Hai Phong in the opening game of BTV Cup 2011. Stevens impressively scored both goals for his side in Hai Phong's 2-1 victory over Slovakian club MSK Zilina.

There has been report that two other Jamaican Kavin Bryan and Andre Fagan, who won V-League 2011 with SLNA, will also join Vicem Hai Phong next season.

None of these guys are Jamaica internationals....and never will be. Kavin Bryan represented Jamaica in the past, but his move to Vitenam all but ended his international career.

« Reply #42 on: October 15, 2011, 08:34:09 PM »

08 OCTOBER 2011

None of these guys are Jamaica internationals....and never will be. Kavin Bryan represented Jamaica in the past, but his move to Vitenam all but ended his international career.
Actually four of the five have been capped, the only guy there who hasn't is Andre Fagan.  Antigua and Barbuda's Peter Byers is over there on trials as well.

« Reply #43 on: October 15, 2011, 10:45:48 PM »
Selecting a country to play in is a very important decision. The importance of going to a country with healthy medical care out wieghts the amount of money they willing to put in your pockets. V-League medical hosipitals are not much better than Tnt.. infact we might have better medical care here in Trinidad than they do in Vietnam.

The risk of a player getting injured in a not so skilled league is very common.. b.c you have the wildmen willing to cut down a man, pick up a card or two and sit out the next match.

I am very surprised that our players are signing for these V-League clubs.. It's not going to be pretty and what can they expect..once they start playing? The coaching? etc.. don't see any reason to make this move.. 5k us is chump change.. and to isolate yourself from your family for that amount is ridculous.

The healthcare, facilities, coaching, wildman tackles, pay situation any better in Trinidad?  Or you just talking shit as usual?

« Reply #44 on: October 16, 2011, 05:40:06 AM »
Why are we judging the Vietnamese League and thinking that it is so inferior to ours?

Personally, i think that our players can do alot better, but if they seeing time go by and they are of the opinion that their football career is going nowhere, and they can go abroad (to Vietnam) and make a salary of around US $5,000 to $10,000 and try to set themselves up for the rest of their lives, then who are we to judge/criticize?

No one in our league makes anything close to those figures!

Shotta, where are u getting info about Vietnam's health care etc? I hope is not from watchin "Tour of Duty" long time, LOLOL

« Reply #45 on: October 16, 2011, 06:05:54 AM »
Why the rush? To make money. Club, agent and player. If our league was supported financially by people who love the game, this situation may not be happening. It appears that the competition in Eng and Euro is tougher now. Our boys have to look to other pastures whether WE and Otto like it or not.

« Reply #46 on: October 16, 2011, 06:25:25 AM »
Shotta, Bro meh eh trying to berate you or anything. But,how do you know that Vietnam health system worst than TT? Vietnam like China maybe communist but they allow a certain amount of laisser-faire capitalism. They are doing fairly well economically. A lot of the cloths and football uniforms and boots are made there. I don't know anything about their Health. I assume it is rationed like all socialist state. But like Bakes asked, is TT HC any better.

look at the situation in TT. New gov't trying to find it feet. Unemployment. SOE. Jails. Shakey pro-league. Don't know if it go be there next year. What you want them boys to do? There are other options to going to the "bush" leagues. Join the Air guards, Prisons, CG, Regiment, TTec and other gov't statutory teams and compete at home. Kinder back to the old days(back to the future)

« Reply #47 on: October 16, 2011, 06:51:46 AM »
Why the rush?

Also keep in mind dat dem fellas eh no spring chicken. Hector is 27, and Leon go be 28 in December.

« Reply #48 on: October 16, 2011, 08:49:52 AM »
lol @ Andre...........Tour of Duty.... ;D

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #49 on: October 17, 2011, 01:43:47 PM »
...But the bottom line is it is playing football in Vietnam. Dah come like men not serious.

When Leon was gonna sweat in Colombia, I say nice, Colombia football league recognized and men know the talent pool. If he did well, it is much more likely that he could get scouted by other teams.

But these fellas desperate for wuk and money that they hadda go Vietnam?

Norway, Sweden, Poland, Ukraine, Greece, Turkey, Japan. We really cah make them leagues and hadda go Vietnam??? Cah make a English League 2 side or a Segunda Division. Things rough on Trinidad side.

D one thing I disagree with Otto is that he asked rhetorically why our players not going to Europe. Because we doh know the agents. I rel doubt we have more links in Vietnam than knowing at least a couple people in Europe.

« Reply #50 on: October 17, 2011, 01:44:04 PM »
What a joke and waste of talent to be playing in Vietnam...pfister was damn right about these crooked agents.

« Reply #51 on: October 17, 2011, 02:21:01 PM »
Wa
Why the rush?

Also keep in mind dat dem fellas eh no spring chicken. Hector is 27, and Leon go be 28 in December.
Wait, Hughtor Hector so old?  ???

« Reply #52 on: October 17, 2011, 02:26:14 PM »
Wa
Why the rush?

Wait, Hughtor Hector so old?  ???

Wow. I now wikipedia it, he was 27 on Sunday. The number of times I've heard Hughton Hector referred to as 'youth', 'up and coming', etc, I thought he was a bit younger.

« Reply #53 on: October 17, 2011, 02:54:04 PM »
According to Wiki found here : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Health_in_Vietnam it's not that great, but i do understand the point tallman made which is these guys are not getting any younger. I do wish them the best over there, hope they stay fit and dont get injured.

Playing in that part of the world may cost the TTFF more money to get them here for international games, this is probably Otto issue with the entire thing, also since they are no longer in tnt it makes it harder for the coach to get them in training on a regular basis.

It is true if these local clubs paid the players a better salary and perhaps get good agents that "care" for the players in the local circuit we might be looking at things differently. Far as i can see these players are taking whatever is given to them.

With tnt qualification looking really tough at this point, our away match to guyana is a guess to most of us based on the results. Honestly we may not get out of this group and so taking an option at this point... is a good thing

« Reply #54 on: October 18, 2011, 11:30:44 AM »
Apparently Cornell Glen and Clyde Leon are on trial with the same club, Sông Lam Nghệ An, the current V-League champions.

« Reply #55 on: October 18, 2011, 03:26:44 PM »
Apparently Cornell Glen and Clyde Leon are on trial with the same club, Sông Lam Nghệ An, the current V-League champions.

Was wondering what Glen was up to. All the best to them...but I am hoping a better opportunity arises.

« Reply #56 on: October 18, 2011, 03:45:21 PM »
I will not support our players going Vietnam,sorry....especially the younger ones,it does absolutely nothing for their careers and their CV, no matter how much money they're making.

« Reply #57 on: October 18, 2011, 05:26:53 PM »
Where people want our player to play? Where you want them to go? Where is the ideal situation? It have men playing in the english Conference and these players are held in high regards.  ???  So to the USL.

« Reply #58 on: October 18, 2011, 06:48:36 PM »
Where people want our player to play? Where you want them to go? Where is the ideal situation? It have men playing in the english Conference and these players are held in high regards.  ???  So to the USL.

if you are 20 -25,where is the better choice for exposure Vietnam or the English Conference?

« Reply #59 on: October 18, 2011, 07:18:41 PM »

if you are 20 -25,where is the better choice for exposure Vietnam or the English Conference?

Well so far, none of we players who gone or going Vietnam fall in dat age range.