April 29, 2024, 07:46:38 AM

Author Topic: Catholics Views on Jews  (Read 2017 times)

Catholics Views on Jews
« on: October 26, 2011, 05:12:57 PM »
RC Archbishop criticised for Jew remarks
Wednesday 26th October, 2011

Jewish Groups in the United States have spoken out against statements made by outgoing RC Archbishop, Edward Gilbert, at a mass in San Fernando on Sunday.

One group, the American Jewish Committee (AJC), said it "deplored" Archbishop Gilbert's statements when he compared local politicians to Jews, whom he described as "although a compassionate and caring people only looked after the people of their nation."

Rabbi David Rosen, AJC's International Director of Interreligious Affairs, criticised the Archbishop, saying "such prejudicial comments not only reflect personal ignorance, but also ignorance of the teaching of the Catholic Church since Nostra Aetate."

Rabbi Rosen added that the 1974 Vatican Guidelines on Nostra Aetate precisely warn against such misrepresentation and generalisations and called on the Holy See to reiterate its repudiation of such prejudicial stereotyping. He continued: "Archbishop Gilbert's comments again highlight the need for more effective global Catholic education regarding the Holy See's official teaching on Jews and Judaism."

Another organisation, the Jewish Telegraph Society, noted what it said was the Archbishop's anti-Jewish statements in a sermon.

The Anti-Defamation League also called the statements "a disturbing repackaging of ancient anti-Jewish canards and supersessionist beliefs."

ADL National Director Abraham Foxman said in a statement: "Archbishop Gilbert devalues Judaism over and against Christianity. The false notion that Jews only care about themselves and don't care enough about others is one of the major pillars of classical anti-Semitism."

Re: Catholics Views on Jews
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2011, 07:47:23 PM »
utter garbage  >:( by the archbishop

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2011, 06:22:47 AM »
What did the arch bishop say that was wrong?  Factually?

« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2011, 10:35:05 AM »
Actually when I read that part of the article a couple days ago, I thought it was a misprint. But he did say it. If you put his statement in the context of the time he is talking about, I can see what he is trying to say. But knowing the history between Catholics and Jews(he should know) he was looking for trouble. Gilbert, as an American should know better.  You could make a statement in Tim-buk2. It will be picked on the internet ,and if controversial enough, it will spread like a wild fire in california.

« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2011, 12:50:42 PM »

which people don't look after their own in reality?

its almost as if he is saying only jewish families are selfish and never contribute to society, while other races/ethnicities are selfless, thats absurd

« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2011, 01:59:07 PM »

its almost as if he is saying only jewish families are selfish and never contribute to society, while other races/ethnicities are selfless, thats absurd

If you understand what the man is saying there can be no objections.  Israel as a nation is for Israelis ONLY!  Even their flag says so.  WHat is the problem?  Political correctness?

The man said politicans in T&T looked after those who are party members much mike the Jews look after those who are Jewish...you feel dem Israelis care about anyhting other than Israel?
« Last Edit: October 27, 2011, 02:00:47 PM by truetrini »

« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2011, 02:36:47 PM »

If you understand what the man is saying there can be no objections.  Israel as a nation is for Israelis ONLY!  Even their flag says so.  WHat is the problem?  Political correctness?

The man said politicans in T&T looked after those who are party members much mike the Jews look after those who are Jewish...you feel dem Israelis care about anyhting other than Israel?

there are many different sects of Judaism, from Hasidic Orthodox Judaism to Zionism to liberal and non-practicing jews, not all agree with or endorse the nation state of israel and you must also look at countries like china and india as well. In Israel there are many different races and religions that reside in israel, from Druze, to christians. So you cannot say Israel is only for jews, there are so many sides to this story, Hasidic jews don't acknowledge the state of israel and have formed a movement against israel and the zionist world council.

but india and china are for indians and chinese only as well, especially china, so why single out israel alone?

« Last Edit: October 27, 2011, 02:46:48 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2011, 06:55:06 PM »
Do you know how other races and religions are treated in Israel?   They treat black Jews like shit...Please educate yourself on issues before commenting on them with supposed authority.

Zionism is shit!

« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2011, 08:18:04 PM »

there are many different sects of Judaism, from Hasidic Orthodox Judaism to Zionism to liberal and non-practicing jews, not all agree with or endorse the nation state of israel and you must also look at countries like china and india as well. In Israel there are many different races and religions that reside in israel, from Druze, to christians. So you cannot say Israel is only for jews, there are so many sides to this story, Hasidic jews don't acknowledge the state of israel and have formed a movement against israel and the zionist world council.

but india and china are for indians and chinese only as well, especially china, so why single out israel alone?

all them different sect of judaism is just one wuss than de other....they care only bout themselves.

« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2011, 09:03:32 PM »
I look forward to reading contributions from Tempo and Bakes on this matter.

« Reply #10 on: October 28, 2011, 12:08:18 AM »
Do you know how other races and religions are treated in Israel?   They treat black Jews like shit...Please educate yourself on issues before commenting on them with supposed authority.

Zionism is shit!

but now you are referring to race and not religion, the initial argument is about religion and jews wanting israel for jews only, i agree the treatment of ethiopian jews was not justified from the beginning, falasha being used as a derogatory term (meaning outsider), however the relations are improving and ethiopian jews are citizens of the country nonetheless and more and more are residing in israel being originally from the line of solomon.

what i am trying to explain to you is that you cannot group judaism in one category and generalize about an entire group based on actions of  different sects, there are radical muslims and conservative muslims, as there are in christianity.

Hasidic orthodox jews have lived among the islamic rulers for centuries in peace, there are different factions that comprise of the nation of israel, including the palestianians, druze of lebanon to christians and all make up israel, like i have said before, the dome of the rock is the site where a lot of conflict originates.

Generalizing and anti-semitism is not accepted in my books and never will be. jmho

what is your reasons for classifying zionism as you do?
« Last Edit: October 28, 2011, 12:12:09 AM by Controversial »

« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2011, 12:21:28 AM »

It is factually incorrect that Jews only looked after other Jews.... yuh could start there.

Why are you using "Israel" and "Jews" synonymously?
« Last Edit: October 28, 2011, 12:23:45 AM by Bakes »

« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2011, 02:43:21 AM »
Is it synonymous usage or is it a convenient substitution? I regarded it as the latter.

« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2011, 08:24:57 PM »
Is it synonymous usage or is it a convenient substitution? I regarded it as the latter.

The distinction is immaterial to me... either way it only serves to distort, rather than further the discussion.