March 28, 2024, 06:30:13 AM

Author Topic: Jones, Birchall, Edwards back in T&T squad to face Guyana in crucial WCQ  (Read 8165 times)

Jones, Birchall, Edwards back in T&T squad to face Guyana in crucial WCQ.
By: Shaun fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Otto Pfister on Saturday announced a 20-man squad for this country’s back to back upcoming 2014 World Cup qualifiers against Guyana which includes four returning players who missed the two previous encounters due to injury or other reason.

The squad will train at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Monday and Tuesday before departing for Georgetown, Guyana on Wednesday morning.

Peltier, T&T’s hattrick scorer in the recent 4-0 shut out of Barbados, is seeing the upcoming clashes as possibly the most important of his international career thus far and certainly the most crucial for T&T at this stage.

“I think this is possibly the most important set of games for me in my international career so far,” Peltier told TTFF Media. “And we need to go out there and give it everything in the first game in Guyana. I think the entire team realizes that this is like a crunch period for us,” he added.

“The coach is a passionate, die hard guy when it comes to his work and he told us in the last game that we were not doing enough. He said we had to go out there and really put our best and score goals. We did that and we know we have to continue this if we are to bring home results and get the crowds filling the stadium again,” Peltier added.

In a Fifa.com interview earlier this week, Peltier went on to say :“Me and other young boys are looking to step it up and show the way. “We know everything there is to know about each other and we’re young and hungry. When you put this together with the experience of guys like Kenwyne [Jones] and Edwards, we have a serious team.”

Facing elimination with the wrong kind of result on Friday in Georgetown doesn’t dampen Peltier’s youthful spirit. “Sure, it’s a tough moment for us right now, but when we get through it, I can see this team going all the way back to the World Cup.

It’s been a long time since you’ve seen a Trinidad and Tobago team playing the game we’re playing – putting the ball on the ground and passing it around,” he added, an enthusiasm and conviction entering into his voice. “We’re bringing the style back to Trinidad and Tobago.”

T&T 20-man squad

Goalkeepers:
Marvin Phillip (Joe Public), Jan Michael Williams (W Connection).

Defenders:
Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps), Seon Power (North East Stars), Akeem Adams (T&TEC), Andrei Pacheco (T&TEC), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Julius James (Columbus Crew), Osei Telesford (Puerto Rico Islanders), Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town).

Midfielders:
Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Hayden Tinto (Joe Public) Khlaeem Hyland (Racing Genk), Lester Peltier (AS Trencin), Kendall Jagdeosingh, Kevin Molino (Orlando City), Christopher Birchall (LA Galaxy), Keon Daniel (Philadelphia Union).

Strikers:
Stern John (North East Stars), Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City).
« Last Edit: November 06, 2011, 07:29:39 AM by Flex »

Re: Jones, Birchall, Edwards back in T&T squad to face Guyana in crucial WCQ
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2011, 12:45:49 PM »
T&T 20-man squad
Marvin Phillip (Joe Public), Jan Michael Williams (W Connection), Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps), Seon Power (DirecTV North East Stars), Akeem Adams (T&TEC), Andrei Pacheco (T&TEC), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Julius James (Columbus Crew), Keon Daniel (Philadelphia Union),Osei Telesford (Puerto Rico Islanders), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Hayden Tinto (Joe Public) Khlaeem Hyland (Racing Genk), Lester Peltier (AS Trencin), Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town), Kendall Jagdeosingh, Kevin Molino (Orlando City),Chris Birchall (LA Galaxy), Stern John (North East Stars) and Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City)

How much goals he score this season ?

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2011, 12:47:46 PM »
No Roberts. Is he still injured or on a trial?

Offline PIMP

« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2011, 12:53:00 PM »
J Lloyd done wit we awa?

« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2011, 12:55:02 PM »
How much goals he score this season ?
Two for North East Stars, one in the Citizen's Cup I think, one a penalty against Jabloteh last week.  Also the one against India.

« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2011, 01:26:13 PM »
forza soca warriors!

« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2011, 01:34:51 PM »
No Roberts. Is he still injured or on a trial?

Broken arm he suffered right?  Will be a bit before he's back.  Not sure what de deal is wid J. Lloyd

« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2011, 01:47:41 PM »
J Lloyd coming for the next rounds. One step at a time.

« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2011, 01:50:16 PM »
J Lloyd coming for the next rounds. One step at a time.

As small as a mustard seed

« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2011, 05:01:39 PM »
T&T 20-man squad
Marvin Phillip (Joe Public), Jan Michael Williams (W Connection), Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps), Seon Power (DirecTV North East Stars), Akeem Adams (T&TEC), Andrei Pacheco (T&TEC), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Julius James (Columbus Crew), Keon Daniel (Philadelphia Union),Osei Telesford (Puerto Rico Islanders), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Hayden Tinto (Joe Public) Khlaeem Hyland (Racing Genk), Lester Peltier (AS Trencin), Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town), Kendall Jagdeosingh, Kevin Molino (Orlando City),Chris Birchall (LA Galaxy), Stern John (North East Stars) and Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City)

Good team selection.
My only regret is that Bleeder geh abducted into Vietnam and cyah return and that Roberts geh he hand break up.
Nevertheless, Iron Pfist is showing he eh playing arong atall atall.

Iz war people. Warr.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2011, 05:40:27 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2011, 05:15:17 PM »
What is Keon Daniel's current immigration status these days?

« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2011, 05:54:24 PM »
Boy, ah hope they eh play stern and kenwyne together, since this is the perfect recipe for goalessness.  we seen it the in last hex and the hex before, they just don't complement each other. hope he pairs up jones with a more mobile striker.

« Reply #12 on: November 05, 2011, 06:23:50 PM »
Quote from Birchy twitter acct

chrisbirchall7 Chris Birchall
“@RaviHarrypersad: @chrisbirchall7 Will you be playing in the T&T vs Guyana match?” yes I will fly to Trinidad straight after the game 2moro

« Reply #13 on: November 05, 2011, 06:57:24 PM »
any TV coverage of the away and home game of my beloved socawarriors

« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2011, 07:49:13 PM »
good question   :praying:

« Reply #15 on: November 05, 2011, 08:19:47 PM »
All yuh serious?  Steups, all yuh betta geh ready to take in de heart attack commentary on de radio

Offline Jay10

« Reply #16 on: November 05, 2011, 09:47:18 PM »
Boy, ah hope they eh play stern and kenwyne together, since this is the perfect recipe for goalessness.  we seen it the in last hex and the hex before, they just don't complement each other. hope he pairs up jones with a more mobile striker.

Hope that does not happen...

« Reply #17 on: November 05, 2011, 10:46:40 PM »
i wonder what the team will look like

phillip,
T&T 20-man squad

Good team selection.
My only regret is that Bleeder geh abducted into Vietnam and cyah return and that Roberts geh he hand break up.

Iz war people. Warr.

does mitchell play center back?

« Reply #18 on: November 05, 2011, 11:11:55 PM »
lets see what the line-up will look like

Phillip
Adams
James
Hyland
Edwards
Jagdeosingh
Birchall
Hector
Molino
Jones
Peltier

tough call, lets see what pfister does ???

« Reply #19 on: November 06, 2011, 05:57:32 AM »

Phillip
Adams
James
Hyland
Edwards
Jagdeosingh
Birchall
Hector
Molino
Jones
Peltier

Why pair up jones with peltier when lester was far more effective on the flanks. in bermuda he played the striker role and bummed, but in the barbados game he played out wide and had more room tuh roam and ruh @ defenders.

i think wolf should be paired up with KJ, or even jagdeosingh.

« Reply #20 on: November 06, 2011, 06:59:36 AM »

Phillip
Adams
James
Hyland
Edwards
Jagdeosingh
Birchall
Hector
Molino
Jones
Peltier

We have ah clip here that cld relly nice up guyana...bess team...

I feel Daniel starting infront ah jaggy, and powers infront ah adams....
Also,  ah know we go hadda wait and see if Otto-matic go be starting Hyland in defense....even tho thats his place in Genk....I think he more efective in de mid field...but ah eh no coach....

I agree with you tho Contro, Jonesie and Peltier could be ah stinging combo up top...i looking forward to seeing them start together...cuz Jones big and strong, could hold up play well, but he don't relly put him self out there as being to mobile, whilst, Peltier is rel pace and foot work...so i feel one ah dem will pick up in what the other lacks... :beermug:

« Reply #21 on: November 06, 2011, 07:50:03 AM »
i wonder what the team will look like

phillip,
T&T 20-man squad

Good team selection.

Iz war people. Warr.

does mitchell play center back?

Mitchell is definitely centre back

1. Goal: Marvin (Jan as back up)
2. L back: Adams (No other specialist L back, so we vulnerable dey and Shabbazz knows this)
3. L centre back: Julius. Covers for and double teams with Adams.
4. R centre back: Mitchell. Air Power. Free Power to be R back. Power on standby for injuries here and then Carlos or Wolfe for R back in case.
5. R back: Power. Carlos on standby for attacking plan B in 2nd half.
6. Def mid: Birch or Hyland. (Pacheco on standby as hatchet man)
7. Creative mid: Molino. Finally a true creator.
8. L wing mid: Hector (Daniel on standby)
9. R wing mid Tinto. Instructed to go easy on excessive dribbling & causing turnovers
10. Striker & target man receiving crosses from Hector, Tinto and Peltier and laying off to Peltier: Jones (Stern on standby)
11: Striker exploding from mid, peltin' in breakaway: Peltier (Jagdeosing on standby)

Go Warriors. Go Iron Pfist!
« Last Edit: November 06, 2011, 11:42:59 AM by dreamer »

« Reply #22 on: November 06, 2011, 10:28:50 AM »

Phillip
Adams
James
Hyland
Edwards
Jagdeosingh
Birchall
Hector
Molino
Jones
Peltier

We have ah clip here that cld relly nice up guyana...bess team...

I feel Daniel starting infront ah jaggy, and powers infront ah adams....
Also,  ah know we go hadda wait and see if Otto-matic go be starting Hyland in defense....even tho thats his place in Genk....I think he more efective in de mid field...but ah eh no coach....

I agree with you tho Contro, Jonesie and Peltier could be ah stinging combo up top...i looking forward to seeing them start together...cuz Jones big and strong, could hold up play well, but he don't relly put him self out there as being to mobile, whilst, Peltier is rel pace and foot work...so i feel one ah dem will pick up in what the other lacks... :beermug:

that's not his place in Genk. Been playing there due to injuries in the team. Just happen to fit there for now

« Reply #23 on: November 06, 2011, 10:40:26 AM »
Hear nah. T&T winning this yuh know.

Here's why:

Iron Pfister's emphasis on defense

T&T rises to the occasion when our backs against the wall (We need to be quadrant II team)

We're better, period!

T&T, T&T, T&T.

Oh, an' dem young boys HUNGRY.

« Reply #24 on: November 06, 2011, 12:22:53 PM »

Phillip
Adams
James
Hyland
Edwards
Jagdeosingh
Birchall
Hector
Molino
Jones
Peltier

Why pair up jones with peltier when lester was far more effective on the flanks. in bermuda he played the striker role and bummed, but in the barbados game he played out wide and had more room tuh roam and ruh @ defenders.

jaggy has played left winger before and can beat with both feet, he can also cross with both feet, playing him on the left will be a good idea

he will cause a lot of problems for guyana on the left

jones needs a player like peltier to play off of, peltier pace and ability to go forward will create room for jones

hector and molino can switch from center to right wing because hector can also cross and play the right wing, i think pushing hyland in the back will strengthen our defense, he plays that role well for genk, despite filling in, like i have always said, hyland is a defensive mid or defender imo

i will drop birchall back in a holding mid/sweeper position up top of hyland and james. too bad you can't do that with the line-up button.

hector will create along with molino on the right and an attacking jaggy on the left, playing peltier with jones may be a stroke of genius

the formation will really and truly look like this on paper

phillip

edwards          hyland       james        adams

birchall

molino                 hector                 jagdeosingh

peltier

jones
« Last Edit: November 06, 2011, 12:33:36 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #25 on: November 06, 2011, 12:45:42 PM »

Phillip
Adams
James
Hyland
Edwards
Jagdeosingh
Birchall
Hector
Molino
Jones
Peltier

jaggy has played left winger before and can beat with both feet, he can also cross with both feet, playing him on the left will be a good idea

he will cause a lot of problems for guyana on the left

jones needs a player like peltier to play off of, peltier pace and ability to go forward will create room for jones

hector and molino can switch from center to right wing because hector can also cross and play the right wing, i think pushing hyland in the back will strengthen our defense, he plays that role well for genk, despite filling in, like i have always said, hyland is a defensive mid or defender imo

i will drop birchall back in a holding mid/sweeper position up top of hyland and james. too bad you can't do that with the line-up button.

hector will create along with molino on the right and an attacking jaggy on the left, playing peltier with jones may be a stroke of genius

the formation will really and truly look like this on paper

phillip

edwards          hyland       james        adams

birchall

molino                 hector                 jagdeosingh

peltier

jones

Ehhh that making rell sense...ah wonder if we cld get that to otto lol... :beermug:

« Reply #27 on: November 06, 2011, 01:04:23 PM »
The back 4 is edwards left back, mitchell/power and james center and  wolfe/telesford right

Mid is birchy, hyland,  hector and peltier

Jones and stern up top.

dat is quality dey and proven men to get the job done...d rest audition long enough and were found wanting.

If subs coming on is tinto for stern...and peltier going up top....pace in d 2nd half.

No chances in dese two games....edwards is d left back

« Reply #28 on: November 06, 2011, 01:15:15 PM »
The back 4 is edwards left back, mitchell/power and james center and  wolfe/telesford right

Jones and stern up top.

dat is quality dey and proven men to get the job done...d rest audition long enough and were found wanting.

If subs coming on is tinto for stern...and peltier going up top....pace in d 2nd half.

if pfister plays edwards again at left back, wolfe will have to play right back, telesford too shaky for me right now

i quicker play hyland in the back over mitchell or power with james. in all honesty hyland ain't saying anything in the attacking mid since inception, he is a holding mid or center back, he proved that to me in the champions league

peltier should not come off the bench, pfister doesn't seem to be the guy who will play for a draw and stern has no business playing over a young set of legs like peltier

stern for bench

« Reply #29 on: November 06, 2011, 01:19:29 PM »

Jones and stern up top.

stern and jones combo is not a combo you want in a crucial game, experience or no experience, we need goals and a striker to run at their defense, stern will hold up the ball and depends on the mid to create for him, right now peltier seems the best fit with jones