April 28, 2024, 07:22:54 AM

Author Topic: Like  (Read 1272 times)

« on: November 09, 2011, 11:53:00 AM »

Has this word infected the youth of T&T during casual and formal conversation?

I sure allyuh does hear these north american youths on a regular
"..and I was like, you shouldnt...".
"So the teacher was all like, sit down...."

Ah noticin news people sayin it, mih kid teacher does talk so... and the other day we had a phD lady gih we ah presentation on someting boring...to preface all her sentences the word 'like' jumpin out normal (seems to be prevalent in the under-30 cohort)

I concede English is a living language and this is possibly the norm in the future,,, but it doth irk me

Anyway, T&T youths in dat too?? cause ah know we beauty queens does rock ferr sherr about 20+ years past its due date

yuh know wha else does irk mih...why every body suddenly think puttin black rims on dey car does look good..and why shad or jay electronica doh get no radio airplay...but I ha issues so doh study dat

Re: Like
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2011, 12:00:23 PM »
that's like sooo wrong dude seriouslly :D

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2011, 12:09:32 PM »
For at least a decade now and pervasive among girls.

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2011, 02:21:59 PM »
What about "so, I was watching...."

« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2011, 02:34:14 PM »
Ah 'liking' this post!  :D

« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2011, 05:56:27 PM »
The word old and young in the US dey does be killin is 'jorn'! It seems tuh stand for everything; woman, situtations, relationships! You name just insert 'jorn' and yuh good!

« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2011, 11:46:39 PM »
Dutty I jus put black rims on my car and everybody like it ;D

I was like, maybe I should just buy all new rims since one got bent in a pothole :banginghead:

« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2011, 07:46:11 AM »
Like OMG Dutty, I think you're like soooo right OMG. It like should soooo be like ... I dunno ... like made like unconstitutional or something.

I am similarly irked. I have an acquaintance who is in her 40s ... an artsy type. She speaks in this idiom all the time. We speak via the phone occasionally and always briefly ... as such, I'm spared the affected behaviour that tends to accompany an OMG.

What really raised my eyebrows was about a month ago I took a call from a Caribbean acquaintance ... early 30s ... who is a professor at a reputable business school ... she was soooo deep into it like too.

In both cases, there's a definite environmental influence resulting in the ditsyness. In case anyone think race is a factor, neither of these women is white.

« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2011, 07:54:35 AM »
What about "so, I was watching...."

I've noted that several VERY smart ppl preface their comments this way. For instance, researchers explaining their work or findings to a broader audience.

Dutty mentions English as a living language ... I not too long ago heard an argument for the plural of words such as 'Attorney General' to be revised to fit popular usage because allegedly most ppl don't use the correct form.

« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2011, 08:15:06 AM »
a next ting is uptalking - where de pitch of de voice rising instead of falling usually at the end of a sentence. women doing this almost exclusively.

« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2011, 11:56:21 AM »
When my American kids come around with ".. and then he was like..." and then make a facial expression, I say "What was he, surprised? Angry? Upset? Happy? Use a word."

« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2011, 01:20:03 PM »
Nah we doh say Like,

we does say...ent or unnastand

or yuh stickin, or yeah fadda and bless.

The latest was strenk and powers and 1 is 1.

But it is alleged...currently making the rounds.

Since Ian gorn tru, I suspect this use of this slang will disappear.