April 28, 2024, 04:13:27 PM

Author Topic: Kelvin Jack with Maidstone United  (Read 4611 times)

Kelvin Jack with Maidstone United
« on: November 14, 2011, 05:29:33 AM »
Goalkeeping cover achieved in time
maidstoneunited.co.uk

Following the injury to regular goalkeeper Charlie Mitten in Wednesday night’s 4-2 victory over Godalming Town, Jay Saunders and his backroom team have had a frantic search to find a suitable replacement custodian in time for Saturday’s Kent Derby with Ramsgate.

With most experienced keepers committed to clubs at all levels of the game at this stage of the season The Stones’ management have managed to secure the signature of a man with experience of the FIFA World Cup Finals in Germany in 2006.

Trinidad & Tobago goalkeeper Kelvin Jack has agreed to don the goalkeepers’ gloves for the immediate future whilst Charlie Mitten recovers from his hip injury. Kelvin played two pre-season games for Maidstone United this season whilst Mitten was abroad and trained with the squad on half a dozen occasions too.

Jack is 6’4” tall and cuts an imposing figure on the field.

He has played one competitive game this season early on in the campaign for AFC Hornchurch. Last season he played for both Darlington and Kettering Town the Blue Square Bet Conference.

Jay Saunders was delighted to get such an experienced keeper in at such short notice. “There aren’t too many keepers that are available at the moment and we had a bit of luck signing Kelvin. By coincidence he is a close neighbour of our assistant manager Alan Pouton and Kelvin was able to agree to sign for us very quickly indeed. He’s helped us out massively here and I’d like to thank the big man immensely for that.”

Other team news for Saturday’s game with Ramsgate includes the return to action of central defender Gavin Greenfield. The serving soldier missed Wednesday’s win over Godalming Town due to a training exercise.

Karl Knight has been offered the opportunity to sign forms on a dual registration basis for Kent League side Tunbridge Wells. Saunders said “Karl is getting short of match practice at the moment and despite playing almost half of our games this season I can’t get him into the side at present unless we get an injury. I have every intention of recalling Karl to the squad, possibly as soon as the League Cup game with Carshalton.” Knight will join up with several familiar faces at Culverden as Sean Johnson, Jimmy Humphries, Lewis Mingle and Steve Brading are all playing their football there on a similar arrangement.

Red-carded goalkeeper Kelvin Jack was too honest
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2011, 07:05:01 AM »
Maidstone United manager Jay Saunders says red-carded goalkeeper Kelvin Jack was too honest
By Alex Hoad (Kent Messenger)

Jay Saunders admits losing stand-in keeper Kelvin Jack to suspension will be a big blow for the Stones and says the experienced stopper was ‘too honest’ when he was red-carded.

Jack was dismissed before the break in the 1-1 draw against Merstham on Saturday for handling outside his box. However, before the referee brandished his red card, Jack was already walking to the tunnel.

Player/manager Saunders admitted: "I think Kelvin was too honest. He started walking off and taking his gloves off straightaway. The referee told me afterwards that he made his mind up for him.

"If he’d stayed where he was and stood his ground, he might have got a yellow. Now he misses the Bognor game next week, which is a big blow for us."

Jack is standing in for regular keeper Charlie Mitten, who has seen a specialist again about a hip injury.

Marc Powell took over in goal on Saturday but Saunders added: "Powell’s done well but he hasn’t got a lot of experience at this level and I’m not sure if I can throw him in against Bognor. I’ll think about it."

Maidstone have no game tomorrow on Saturday and Saunders said: "It’s a bit of a bonus, not playing this weekend because we’ve had a nightmare week for injuries."

Winger Alex Flisher will be sidelined for at least three weeks after being left on crutches by an ankle injury on Saturday. Graeme Andrews and Danny Lye could return for Tuesday’s Ryman League, Division 1 South game at Faversham, while Gavin Greenfield won’t need an operation on a knee injury.

Re: Kelvin Jack with Maidstone United
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2011, 02:55:13 PM »
Don't understand why dis man cyah seem to find a steady wuk!

Offline Small Change

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2011, 11:49:14 PM »
He needs to pack it up. Since his games against Paraguay about 5 yrs ago in the WC in Germany, he has hardly played a real competitive match. Time to retire boy. U wasting your time and your are declining in the level of play. Maidstone? Who the judgement is that team??

« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2011, 02:21:41 AM »
Don't understand why dis man cyah seem to find a steady wuk!
      Why work when it have millions coming to you from a court case.You all might know the Kelvin Jack that represented us in the 06 WC but you don't know Kelvin Jack.

« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2011, 04:28:38 AM »
He quit he work waiting for a pay check, another player who never invested what he made and now waiting for the court case to be over.

It would be a hell of a thing if they lose that case....

« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2011, 07:02:56 AM »
He quit he work waiting for a pay check, another player who never invested what he made and now waiting for the court case to be over.

It would be a hell of a thing if they lose that case....

You sound like you know certain facts? I thought his career was ruined by the TTFF blacklist? I also thought he was undergoing coaching badges and has been developing programmes while being in frequent contact with Gally Cummings and others in Trinidad.

Maidstone Utd is the club who spotted and developed Chris Smalling.

« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2011, 07:09:08 AM »
You sound like you know certain facts? I thought his career was ruined by the TTFF blacklist? I also thought he was undergoing coaching badges and has been developing programmes while being in frequent contact with Gally Cummings and others in Trinidad.

Can you explainm how can a player's career get ruined by the TTFF blacklist ?

His international career was affected which has nothing to do with his club career.

« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2011, 08:00:52 AM »

His international career was affected which has nothing to do with his club career.

Football is a small world. When rumours are spread, people listen. Also, not obtaining national caps effects your profile overseas. To obtain a work permit, you have to have played 75% of the national team games in the last 2 year period.

« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2011, 08:42:46 AM »

Football is a small world. When rumours are spread, people listen. Also, not obtaining national caps effects your profile overseas. To obtain a work permit, you have to have played 75% of the national team games in the last 2 year period.

So why didn't it affect the other players, Jack was already connected to a club after he came back from the WC anyway.

And isn't Jack a UK citizen ? or is he there illegal ?

This does not make sense, when Jack came back from the WC he had 75% caps anyway.

« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2011, 08:51:37 AM »

So why didn't it affect the other players, Jack was already connected to a club after he came back from the WC anyway.

And isn't Jack a UK citizen ? or is he there illegal ?

This does not make sense, when Jack came back from the WC he had 75% caps anyway.

The problems came when his contact terminated in, I think, July 07.  He only became a UK citizen last month.  The other criteria is that the nation must be in the top 75 of FIFA rankings.  The Gillingham coach at the time, Ronnie Jepson, has admitted that he blocked Sancho from moving by "bad mouthing" him to other clubs. Also, how can Birchall be a Galaxy regular when he couldn't get a game in League 2. You only have to look at the 13 in the court case to see the common denominator. Shaka and Kenwyne could survive because of their higher profile, but all of the other journeymen were effected.

« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2011, 08:54:53 AM »
dat fella iz d reason we reach WorldCup

« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2011, 08:57:16 AM »
I can only rolly my eyes at Coop's, Starchild and Errol.  Allyuh fuhget the fact that the man had a significant injury in the wake of the Germany campaign?  Not even talking about the one suffere AT the WC pressing Shaka into service.  Slanderous to suggest that he "quit work waiting on paycheck" when it was never certain until 6 months ago that he was going to get more than $5,000 US (the TTFF initial offer).  It's also worth mentioning his legal dispute with his then agent, Mike Berry who was stealing money from him behind his back... you don't think his agent went about poor-mouthing him to clubs?  Everybody entitled to their opinions, but jesus chrismuss... at least infuse your opinions with some kinda common sense or fact nah.  steups

« Reply #13 on: December 01, 2011, 09:03:53 AM »
I can only rolly my eyes at Coop's, Starchild and Errol.  Allyuh fuhget the fact that the man had a significant injury in the wake of the Germany campaign?  Not even talking about the one suffere AT the WC pressing Shaka into service.  Slanderous to suggest that he "quit work waiting on paycheck" when it was never certain until 6 months ago that he was going to get more than $5,000 US (the TTFF initial offer).  It's also worth mentioning his legal dispute with his then agent, Mike Berry who was stealing money from him behind his back... you don't think his agent went about poor-mouthing him to clubs?  Everybody entitled to their opinions, but jesus chrismuss... at least infuse your opinions with some kinda common sense or fact nah.  steups

« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2011, 09:07:34 AM »
dat fella iz d reason we reach WorldCup

IZ JACK WHO GET WE 2 D WC

« Reply #15 on: December 01, 2011, 09:17:40 AM »
thanks Bakes

« Reply #16 on: December 01, 2011, 11:00:43 AM »

I am glad you brought up Football is a small world and rumours are spread,Kelvin has made it hard for himself concerning the many issues he have had with clubs/TTFF thoughout his Football carear,even before 06,ah mean this is a top class GK the toast of the 06 WC i would guess clubs would be knocking at his door,i know he had injurys etc etc i am not saying he is wrong to stand up for his rights but who wants a guy as soon things are not right is quick to sue,take you to court etc etc i think he recently won a case in England,small world it's going to haunt you.   

« Reply #17 on: December 01, 2011, 11:33:37 AM »
        I am glad you brought up Football is a small world and rumours are spread,Kelvin has made it hard for himself concerning the many issues he have had with clubs/TTFF thoughout his Football carear,even before 06,ah mean this is a top class GK the toast of the 06 WC i would guess clubs would be knocking at his door,i know he had injurys etc etc i am not saying he is wrong to stand up for his rights but who wants a guy as soon things are not right is quick to sue,take you to court etc etc i think he recently won a case in England,small world it's going to haunt you.   

So let me see if I get you right:

1. Is Kelvin fault for all the "many" issues he's had with the TTFF?  What "many issues" are these Coop's?  Yuh mean the ONE issue with the WC bonus money?  How was that his fault?

2. What "many issues" has he had with clubs?  Actually, don't worry about "many"... just list ONE.

3. Mike Berry taking a cut of any money he negotiates for Kelvin with the clubs.  Then on the side he negotiating a second deal on the sly with the club so that they could underpay Kelvin, taking money that rightfully should go to the player.  And your response is  that he "quick to sue" when he take him to court?  I hope you're aware that the PFA sanctioned Berry over this, it is never a good look to steal from your clients.  Tell me what you would have done had it been you?

« Reply #18 on: December 01, 2011, 12:17:19 PM »

1. Is Kelvin fault for all the "many" issues he's had with the TTFF?  What "many issues" are these Coop's?  Yuh mean the ONE issue with the WC bonus money?  How was that his fault?

2. What "many issues" has he had with clubs?  Actually, don't worry about "many"... just list ONE.

3. Mike Berry taking a cut of any money he negotiates for Kelvin with the clubs.  Then on the side he negotiating a second deal on the sly with the club so that they could underpay Kelvin, taking money that rightfully should go to the player.  And your response is  that he "quick to sue" when he take him to court?  I hope you're aware that the PFA sanctioned Berry over this, it is never a good look to steal from your clients.  Tell me what you would have done had it been you?

And where is Berry now? Haven't heard from him in T&T for a while. Football is a small world and when you break "the code", it gets smaller. The problem is that because there is no players union, players have to fight their own battles here and because they are too afraid, they give up and roll over. Jack has fought his corner every time. Masybe he just enjoys a good fight...or maybe he is a highly principled man who will take a bullet for his team mates, which is a lot more than can be said for some of the big names to come out of T&T.

« Reply #19 on: December 01, 2011, 12:30:13 PM »
And where is Berry now? Haven't heard from him in T&T for a while. Football is a small world and when you break "the code", it gets smaller. The problem is that because there is no players union, players have to fight their own battles here and because they are too afraid, they give up and roll over. Jack has fought his corner every time. Masybe he just enjoys a good fight...or maybe he is a highly principled man who will take a bullet for his team mates, which is a lot more than can be said for some of the big names to come out of T&T.

Sometimes there's a price to be paid for being principled, but if that is so, then I'm sure most would agree that it is better to live on your feet than die on your knees.  Some people seem to have spent so much time on their knees that they no longer recognize what it feels like to stand on their feet.

« Reply #20 on: December 01, 2011, 12:35:17 PM »

I guess you did not read where i said he was not wrong for standing up for his rights.Kelvin have been fighting with the TTFF since before he left Jabloteh,i don't even think he finish college(VCU),he was at the helm of the protests and demonstrations at Football headquarters when Chalengers etc got baned,06 situation is not the first.Why is it always Kelvin,i was just trying to show a patern why may be peeps are scared of him.   

« Reply #21 on: December 01, 2011, 12:57:59 PM »

Sometimes there's a price to be paid for being principled, but if that is so, then I'm sure most would agree that it is better to live on your feet than die on your knees.  Some people seem to have spent so much time on their knees that they no longer recognize what it feels like to stand on their feet.

:applause:

Offline TheGreatBambino

• Trinidad Videos
« Reply #22 on: December 01, 2011, 05:51:13 PM »
He needs to pack it up. Since his games against Paraguay about 5 yrs ago in the WC in Germany, he has hardly played a real competitive match. Time to retire boy. U wasting your time and your are declining in the level of play. Maidstone? Who the judgement is that team??

Shut your mouth mate, You dont know anything, If you only knew the way he has been treated at club level, special Gillingham, amonst other things, a broken leg while on trial. Its not the easiest being a GK trying to find a club, let alone play regulary to maintain form. See Richard Kingson!!! Kelvin is 35, still good for a GK!!! Kelvin is one of the most proffesional people you will meet. This talk about him quitting work while waiting for his pay check is total rubbish.

« Reply #23 on: December 02, 2011, 03:04:34 PM »
Just was not good enough to command a contract and suffered too many key injuries. needless he had a good career and might get a last run out if he luckly. It is not easy to get a contract as a foreign goal keeper. none the less I would say he was a success. You dont see the million and one players who done even make the radar.
Even though he was not a success on a Shaka level he still did well to reach where he reach and the black list certainly did not help.

such is life.

Offline Small Change

« Reply #24 on: December 03, 2011, 09:50:48 AM »
Injuries killed him. He was bad lucky with them, esp that broken leg, in a freak training drill in 2008. That basically ended his run at the high level. But he did WELL!! He had a very decent game in the WC against Paraguay. If he did not leave that nonsense US College system, he would not have made it as a pro. At least he make it & achieved most of his football career goals, which I know for sure, playing in a WC was one of the main ones.

I think, he will make a great coach, due to his hard work and discipline on and off the pitch!

« Reply #25 on: December 03, 2011, 10:04:37 AM »
Injuries killed him. He was bad lucky with them, esp that broken leg, in a freak training drill in 2008. That basically ended his run at the high level. But he did WELL!! He had a very decent game in the WC against Paraguay. If he did not leave that nonsense US College system, he would not have made it as a pro. At least he make it & achieved most of his football career goals, which I know for sure, playing in a WC was one of the main ones.

I think, he will make a great coach, due to his hard work and discipline on and off the pitch!

Agreed. That injury really ruined any momentum that his career was taking on. On a positive note, if he is a UK citizen, getting trials will be easier. He has just has to play and shine and he will get a higher division. With a little bad mind and regular games he might be able to crack a Div. One club in the next two years, unfortunately at his present stage and age anything higher is a bit of an improbability.

« Reply #26 on: December 05, 2011, 05:34:12 AM »