March 29, 2024, 07:28:11 AM

Author Topic: My Obsevations in Guyana ( 1st match)..dont merge yet plz  (Read 6595 times)

My Obsevations in Guyana ( 1st match)..dont merge yet plz
« on: November 15, 2011, 11:24:37 AM »
forum.... sorry for the delay with this.... and this may be merged but i should really mention a few things before from Guyana last Friday ( 11-11-11)

The truth is i really feeling this real bad...cant even function...and i know this is the general feeling...
 and this is not a technical report or a TTFF rant or who play shit or who have heart or 4-4-2 or 4-5-1  or Kenwyne in shit......we do all that right here all ready...

but i saw Just Cool response to one of my post ( below)

Quote from: Big Magician on Yesterday at 03:34:08 PM

allyuh shoulda see the Hotel the team stayed at in Guyana...  think Mayaro Beach House...shameful

Breds, doh be so standoffish nah, @ least give us your take on things. after all, this is ah forum, if yuh was there and you saw things that could've contributed to these result, then please enlighten us.

and Just Cool..to you and others.... not even sure what standoffish means...but as i said... just to destroyed to type.... but this is what i meant by that hotel comment...

Me and Small Mag sort out a cheap over night place to stay .. "Cara Suites".. downtown Georgetown...

now we never been to Guyana...so we get there and say " say what" it would do... to find out Bruce Anansen staying there... the man is my QPCC president..so i say well the place good enough... plus he gave us the starting team at  3pm... Small Mag send it to Flex... cause we both said its too early to post on the forum... just in case..

anyhow... we had to go the the so called " Kings Plaza"... where the team stayed to collect our tickets... so we asked a taxi man ... he said its not too far and will cost 4 US .. ok...lets go....

now allyuh could go and google it...i not on all dat.... maybe upstairs is a massive top class place with pool and ting....
but with my eyes... when the taxi stop at the place.. i thought the man went to collect something..so i still in the car... he said "this is the hotel".. i said" no man"... ""Kings Plaza"...and he said again "this is it..."... i still staying no as its a club with some floors  upstairs ...even seeing the club part with the dark lights and a lady standing in the doorway... is only because i see Pfister in a lobby- like room i say "oh shit... "

so we went out... Pfister  on a lap top.. in a cramped room acting as a lobby...with 2 bag of balls and water coolers around him... i shook his hand and said good luck and he nodded...

back in the car..me and Smalls watch each other " dais wey dem boys staying ??"... so hold on.. if they come downstairs...then they on the main road...serious...3 of them cant fit and lime in the lobby..so...

poolside ??...dont think it have one....cant see where... so... them confined to some rooms...

I could not see that as an environment for any focus or comfort... now i know how this argument will go... them eh deserve no nice hotel da da da and what a hotel have to do with it da da da ...

but the thing is... me and Smalls went to the gold cup in 2005... and i do remember 'THAT hotel.... and of course we know they stay at Crown plaza or Hyatt in tnt... so go ahead and argue...

next thing... we get to Providence... we always like to get there in time for the warm ups... as this reveals a lot... check this..... I swear it was Shabazz putting down markers and cones for the entire warm up session to come.... no sign of tnt coaches... ok... big deal...maybe they timing it...

out come Guyana in order and doing their warm ups in an organized fashion... still no tnt...

out come tnt.. some by some... no markers no cones...nothing... keepers doing a ting... men in 3's or 2's or 4's doing they own ting... "Barber" next to some of them here and there...

then i started to try to remember if i saw the warm ups vz Bermuda at home in tnt... i dont think so...for some strange reason we got there late that day... in time for kick off...and I was on tour for the Barbados match at home... anyhow..so i cant compare to tell if thats Pfister's style...

so lets say Guyana pull a style on we and gave us no markers and cones... could we not get a bit creative and organize something ???... so i guess now is "what cones and warm up have to do with it right ???".... ah swear to God we never saw the team stretch.. maybe they did in the dressing room....

normally the starting 11 would play the lil 5 a side amongst each other.... this time...was every body playing 2 man in the middle in 2 separate sections... including Pacheco and Wolfe..who was not on the 18....

AND..AND ..we went back in the dressing rooms before Guyana....

i will not go into anything on the field of play... some of you did that job all ready... i guess most of you here dont even know i am a Concacaf qualified coach with 10 years coaching ... but i dont get into that here on the forum...

let me mention also ..the Guyanese fans... ah feel shame... shame...DAT is fans... we get pelt twice...and nuff cuss ( trini scun%s)... real football atmosphere...

and i must also mention... football superstitions... of which Small Mag is king.. im just a prince...

we flew on Caribbean Airlines... but from tnt.. we walk down the tunnel ting nah..so we never saw the plane body.. is when we exit the plane in Guyana... Small Mag bawl " oh shit",,,"check what we fly on"..
I turn round to see it was an "Air Jamaica"... De man start to complain ..if he knew that, he woulda take a different plane da da da ...

15 mins in the taxi to Georgetown.. we pass a sign on the road " Caledonia"... he watch me again... Shabazz da da da ....

our drunk taxi man doing it on the road.... the driving in Guyana is the worst i ever see anywhere in the world.... and de driver ask me if we have plenty " waddaps" in tnt ??... i say what ??..waddaps..like car crash... i say yea..he say yea here too... of fu#king course...dey mad.. and i know we bad...plus he asked " Who TnT Playing ?"

so as i said... Just Cool and others...make what yous want from these "minor" observations... but our Guyana trip wont be forgotten as long as we live and beyond.

also..thanks to all that mentioned our safety and concern when we were there....

Re: My Obsevations in Guyana ( 1st match)..dont merge yet plz
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2011, 11:39:11 AM »
Interesting!!  :thinking:

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2011, 11:42:55 AM »
Wonder if staying in ah dive is just deserts fuh being so obnoxious as to have Ipad, satchel and Dre Beats headphones  :whistling:

« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2011, 11:54:29 AM »
Thanks BM

How much ah dem fellas who play in Martinque last yr get pay? I suspect dat if d answer is none plus d spacious accomodation may have contributed to d players sayin y bother is Brazil Arima we goin anyways betta we go now rather than d next round.

« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2011, 11:55:12 AM »
Who is responsibile for the warm ups and setting the pace for the game?

« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2011, 12:20:12 PM »
I haven't been to Guyana in a portion ... but when travelling to certain places, I have a formula that is more often than not reliable: find out where the airlines tend to house their crews and stay there. In Guyana that used to be the Pegasus. From what I recall, there wasn't a wide range of options in the proper hotel category, but in certain proceedings yuh can't sacrifice on quality. Guyana is not an easy place to "just chill". So, in my book, Big Mag raising a SERIOUS point. It would seem that the TTFF was pinching pennies.

De warm up thing is too much silliness to even entertain. Wonder what Anton has to say bout dat in the context of match prep? Have we moved from training in a ballroom (last campaign) to this?

« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2011, 12:23:30 PM »
BM,

Thanks for that insight. You don't know until you could see for yourself. Knowledge is one thing....but to experience it is another. I was real concerned bout you and small mags across there. Especially as alyuh take alyuh hard earned money to go and experience dat kinda grief.

You know what is also sad...only the few of us here on the forum really taking this licks so. For the rest of the population nobody ent care.

I was so depressed from Friday since I see the starting XI. Then after Ricky Shakes score...I say dais it dey....judgement time.

But I will have this to say....in a must win match, knowing only one team qualifies and you are second. There are to be NO slip ups. You have two games to get the result you need.

I coulda handle getting licks from Costa Rica and Mexico...all well and good, but to lose to both Bermuda and Guyana....AH SHAME  :frustrated: :'( :'( :-\ :(

That said, I had big and high hopes for this T&T side. Against all the odds I felt they had a chance because the side was playing the best since Wim and before him Stuart Charles Fevrier. You coulda see some kinda plan, system and idea. But from the Stats it seemed we didnt have a clue with all the free kicks and corners that were WASTED.

Anyway I would like to refer to a post I made in 2005....when some of you were not around.
It was just after another dose of licks from small opposition.

Men of a fat and fertile soil are most commonly effeminate and cowards; whereas contrariwise a barren country makes men temperate by necessity, and by consequence careful, vigilant, and industrious.

—Jean Bodin (1576)

Skill and talent can always be negated by fitness, hustle, determination and luck.

« Last Edit: November 15, 2011, 12:26:11 PM by Touches »

« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2011, 12:50:05 PM »
Actually I heard The Fearless One comment on the conditions the players were being made to endure on their arrival in Guyana.  He mentioned the hotel was sub-standard, the food awful, they weren't getting balls to train with and whole host of other ills......but he said that's part of the warfare.  Is only here we does treat teams nicely.....ah guess is we hospitable nature   :-\

« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2011, 01:00:21 PM »
Actually I heard The Fearless One comment on the conditions the players were being made to endure on their arrival in Guyana.  He mentioned the hotel was sub-standard, the food awful, they weren't getting balls to train with and whole host of other ills......but he said that's part of the warfare.  Is only here we does treat teams nicely.....ah guess is we hospitable nature   :-\

I guess

« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2011, 01:04:38 PM »

Things like balls and cones and bibs are excuses. It takes nothing to travel with these NECESSITIES. You have to be smart when heading of to these places. How about sending the manager on ahead and sourcing such items if you don't want to travel with them. See the food in the hotel, or available eateries close by, groceries, etc.

Fail to plan, plan to fail.

« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2011, 01:13:02 PM »

Things like balls and cones and bibs are excuses. It takes nothing to travel with these NECESSITIES. You have to be smart when heading of to these places. How about sending the manager on ahead and sourcing such items if you don't want to travel with them. See the food in the hotel, or available eateries close by, groceries, etc.

Fail to plan, plan to fail.

ENTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2011, 01:22:09 PM »
nice read big mag, glad you guys reached safe and came home safe, guyana can be deadly.

but in all honesty, SO WHAT if they had bad conditions, when you are mentally prepared, it doesn't matter, this is world cup qualifying

in fact i will go as far to believe that an arrangement was made, and TT was aware of it, i would even be as bold to say they throw the game or they didn't care, they not getting paid the money to win for TT.

time for a change from staff, admin to players...

« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2011, 01:33:48 PM »
Hey man just happy you and ur pops home safe from the Jungle men :)

« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2011, 01:34:20 PM »
Again, it speaks to the role of the TTFF in all this...now i understand with Jack getting the boot and the President resigning that it would be hard to do the little things, but the TTFF should never leave it up to the Guyana Federation to have the last say as to where the TT players are accomodated. In fact i know for sure that there are basic standards that must be adhered to when accomodating international teams for FIFA sactioned games, and both federations must sign off on those. Also, the visitors is within their rights to chnage venue if they are not comfortable with accomodations provided. Yes, i know this because Jamaica has had to chnage hotels on a number of occasions when they are given sub-standrad facilities, including training facilities.

So while I hear what Big Mag is saying, the TTFF must shoulder some of the blame...there should have been a delegation from the TTFF in guyana ahead of time to sign off on training facilities, hotel accomodation, transportation, meals and team security on the ground ahead of time. They also has it within their rights to demaand police escort if they feel the need for it.

And if possible file a complaint with FIFA if they were dissatisfied.

« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2011, 01:45:39 PM »
Again, it speaks to the role of the TTFF in all this...now i understand with Jack getting the boot and the President resigning that it would be hard to do the little things, but the TTFF should never leave it up to the Guyana Federation to have the last say as to where the TT players are accomodated. In fact i know for sure that there are basic standards that must be adhered to when accomodating international teams for FIFA sactioned games, and both federations must sign off on those. Also, the visitors is within their rights to chnage venue if they are not comfortable with accomodations provided. Yes, i know this because Jamaica has had to chnage hotels on a number of occasions when they are given sub-standrad facilities, including training facilities.

So while I hear what Big Mag is saying, the TTFF must shoulder some of the blame...there should have been a delegation from the TTFF in guyana ahead of time to sign off on training facilities, hotel accomodation, transportation, meals and team security on the ground ahead of time. They also has it within their rights to demaand police escort if they feel the need for it.

good talk, one of your very few times of course...

which is why i stated, the ttff and players were not interested to advance, an  arrangement was made...

« Reply #15 on: November 15, 2011, 01:50:47 PM »

No one to blame but the TTFF for this! We can't totally blame our players or even the Guyana Football Federation for their bad treatment!

Basically the team with the smarter football federation won the mental battle and has gone thru to the next round, one more reason for us to have a complete overhaul of the TTFF!!
« Last Edit: November 15, 2011, 01:52:28 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #16 on: November 15, 2011, 02:20:43 PM »
I went to a dealership this morning and I met a Costa Rica salesman. He said the whole of Costa Rica in disbelief when they heard that T&T were beaten by Guyana. He said that Costa Rica are rejoicing as they were concerned about the two games in the next rounds. Guyana Boy beat Trinidad. Oh well I said to him that was past glory.
 But you have Jones with a deadly jump and head. Well I said he has not been using it of late.
 Was in Atlanta this week end and Trinis in Decatur told me how much they cry and how much heckling they getting from Guyanese. Well we have the under 23's to look forward too.
 Sorry what Big and Small Maj had to endure. Fire destroys wood but strengthens steel.

Offline Guyanese-Baller

« Reply #17 on: November 15, 2011, 02:23:18 PM »
let me mention also ..the Guyanese fans... ah feel shame... shame...DAT is fans... we get pelt twice...and nuff cuss ( trini scun%s)... real football atmosphere...

This means that you sat in/near to an stand with some action,...never saw pelting b4 so sorry to hear about that but passion and excitement was high on the day and alcohol is cheap in GT so maybe  they got a bit carried away b/c we don't do sports violence in GT....good to hear it was a 'real' football atmosphere.
For all we hear about Trinis loving to party and play football, I'm sure it would be easy to get that kind of atmosphere every time Trinidad plays at home.

Players need to see great passion from their fans as much as fans need to see great passion from their players.

The choice of team hotel, lack of cones, balls etc is really really strange and surprising for such an important match for a country so much more experienced at playing at this level...I dont know what to say brother, (maybe a bit of complacency set in with the players and coaches but,) I'm sure the TTFF could afford much better.

Respect and blessings!
GB

« Reply #18 on: November 15, 2011, 03:52:34 PM »
Thanks for the insights BM and glad to hear you and SM made it to and back safe, that was a courageous move by you guys considering the trip was planned at the last minute. If anything you were the true warriors. Anyway in regards to the equipment, I think we need to take responsibility for that. It shouldn't be that difficult to travel with balls, cones, bibs, etc. for practice and warm ups especially for a WC qualifier.
As far as the accomodation goes, I'm dissapointed in Guyana if they purposely gave us substandard hotel conditions. I know host teams should be somewhat hospitable to their guests, WC qualifier or not but I'm not sure what the alternatives were for us in respect to lodging. With that being said, we had to take the field ready and equiped for war and it seemed were not ready and the end result proved it. As much as I'm still mad, sad, ashamed, confused at how we lost, this was not our first time playing away in WC qualifiers nor the first time playing in Guyana so we should've known better and planned accordingly!!!

« Reply #19 on: November 15, 2011, 04:15:19 PM »
nice read big mag, glad you guys reached safe and came home safe, guyana can be deadly.

but in all honesty, SO WHAT if they had bad conditions, when you are mentally prepared, it doesn't matter, this is world cup qualifying

in fact i will go as far to believe that an arrangement was made, and TT was aware of it, i would even be as bold to say they throw the game or they didn't care, they not getting paid the money to win for TT.

Contro, Bro, I think you and JC gone off the wall after our team's defeat. All this thing about how out team dress and headphone and purse/murse. Allyuh want to find all kind of fault. Dealt with it we are out. Allyuh want to jump on them players. Beat them like bobolee and get allyuh satisfaction. The plain fact is that this team was not prepared properly(mentally) for this series. Allyuh fail to acknowledge that Otto was presented a poison chalice(as per President). And that is the result. He failed. Just like Bertille, Latas, Maturana, Porterfield,Gally, Edgar, Roderick, Figge, Verity, Mike Lange. Move on Bros!!!

« Reply #20 on: November 15, 2011, 05:54:18 PM »
Magican, i didn't mean nothing with my choice of words ( standoffish), it was said in good will, and not intended to dis. you mentioned the state of the hotel and it kinda sound like there was more to it, so i inquired, but i never meant to be ah cock.

as for what you said, this is ah real bummer! these ppl never seemed to amaze me with the incompetent BS that they're so fond of. imagine , they didn't learn from past experience that the more comfortable and prepared your players are, the greater the chance of a good result.

i tell you, it would be ah blessed day when someone who knows how tuh get things done properly take over every facet of trinbago affairs, from politics to sports. this is such ah talented blessed little country, but these ppl who living there have no fackin clue as to how blessed with raw talent and wealth compared to other places on the globe, and fortunate they are truly are!

it's ah crying shame that T&T.  :'(

« Reply #21 on: November 15, 2011, 05:59:22 PM »
nah Just Cool... all good man... i understood you... its cool...

and also...  I not blaming Guyana for nothing...

« Reply #22 on: November 15, 2011, 07:10:49 PM »
Good post BM

one thing...n its not an excuse for us getting our asses handed to us

but as BM noted with the warmups etc...
those things obviously will have an effect on how the team will start the game. Poor warmup will lead to a poor start i feel.
For example, as a keeper, i wanna go in the box...see if it bumpy...holes....take some bouncing shots to see how the field playing etc...
All this helps in your mental prep.
worse yet if the food etc was piss-poor
These things are all part of the preparation..

With that said...our team had too man "professional" players who should've been able to navigate arnd this and come together as a team but.....we didnt...

n as someone posted b4...fail to prepare...prepare to fail...

TTFF probably has a big part in this whole blame game...

we live n we learn.....HOPEFULLY!

« Reply #23 on: November 15, 2011, 08:03:08 PM »

Contro, Bro, I think you and JC gone off the wall after our team's defeat. All this thing about how out team dress and headphone and purse/murse. Allyuh want to find all kind of fault. Dealt with it we are out. Allyuh want to jump on them players. Beat them like bobolee and get allyuh satisfaction. The plain fact is that this team was not prepared properly(mentally) for this series. Allyuh fail to acknowledge that Otto was presented a poison chalice(as per President). And that is the result. He failed. Just like Bertille, Latas, Maturana, Porterfield,Gally, Edgar, Roderick, Figge, Verity, Mike Lange. Move on Bros!!!
How could you say that when i never once blame the coach or the players. ::)

« Reply #24 on: November 15, 2011, 08:23:13 PM »
Bigmag, i seriously believe you should contact someone in the media and let them know of your experience, and observations in respect to the teams accommodations and inhospitable surroundings. i think the public aught to know what kind of in competent facks is running this federation.                       positive.

« Reply #25 on: November 15, 2011, 10:23:35 PM »
Big Mag & Small Mag, it's paramount in the minds of some of us here on the forum, includng myself, that the two of you return safely to these shores. With that being said, your report on the goings ons in GT while you were there is one of the most hilarious happenings you have ever produced. You could not have written a better script and scenario to a comedy movie if you tried. That was hilarious. I was in tears while I was reading your goings ons in GT, it's like I was actually there with you guys. Peeps on my job thought I was losing it. Anyways, just a reminder, it is more dangerous in TnT than in GT. Get home safely. Peace. Welcome back.

« Reply #26 on: November 15, 2011, 10:29:37 PM »
Big Mag & Small Mag, it's paramount in the minds of some of us here on the forum, includng myself, that the two of you return safely to these shores. With that being said, your report on the goings ons in GT while you were there is one of the most hilarious happenings you have ever produced. You could not have written a better script and scenario to a comedy movie if you tried. That was hilarious. I was in tears while I was reading your goings ons in GT, it's like I was actually there with you guys. Peeps on my job thought I was losing it. Anyways, just a reminder, it is more dangerous in TnT than in GT. Get home safely. Peace. Welcome back.

« Reply #27 on: November 15, 2011, 11:00:20 PM »
If forking Barcelona could train on the National Mall in DC, provide their own ball and endure the balding spots of West Potomac Park, who de ass is TnT national team to not have balls or place to train...

« Reply #28 on: November 15, 2011, 11:32:50 PM »
If forking Barcelona could train on the National Mall in DC, provide their own ball and endure the balding spots of West Potomac Park, who de ass is TnT national team to not have balls or place to train...

I heard the Park police stopped them, though.

« Reply #29 on: November 15, 2011, 11:59:39 PM »

I heard the Park police stopped them, though.

They got kicked off the actual mall just before their game against Man U (for illegally parking their bus) , but for the few days they were here in SW/DC they were doing laps around the tidal basin & haine pt accompanied with drills at W Potomac Park....

(my tone was harsh because I'm upset)
« Last Edit: November 16, 2011, 12:02:30 AM by Daft Trini »