April 16, 2024, 02:02:49 AM

Author Topic: National football consultation today.  (Read 14985 times)

Re: National football consultation today.
« Reply #30 on: November 29, 2011, 01:18:19 AM »
Harford: Good time for TTFF to fix football
By Kern De Freitas

Not all that bad.

That's how sports promoter/broadcaster Anthony Harford sees the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF).

During his contribution at yesterday's National Consultation on Football at Movie Towne's Banquet and Conference Centre at Invaders Bay, Harford acceded there were a number of issues rightly flung at the feet of the Federation, currently led by acting president Lennox Watson.

The Federation was knocked by a number of organisations and individuals, who either presented or simply submitted recommendations on the way forward for T&T football, given the slump of the national team which saw Trinidad and Tobago drop out of qualifying for the 2014 World Cup at the first hurdle, after losing to both Bermuda and Guyana.

Harford, though, said part of the problem is that one man–Works Minister and former TTFF special adviser Jack Warner–had been allowed to control football for more than three decades.

He further suggested that non-qualification for the 2014 World Cup second round qualifiers might be a blessing in disguise, giving T&T football the chance to improve some of their operating procedures.

He defended the TTFF, however, over calls for a wholesale change of officials.

"There are people (in the TTFF) who need to say 'it's time for me to go, I've served my time'," Harford told the gathering, which included former national players, coaches, fans, officials, referees and T&T Pro League representatives.

"There are people who need to say that, but not the whole organisation. Because there are some good and honest people there," claimed the All Sport Promotions managing director.

Harford also revealed that in conversation with one TTFF auditor, he learned that the problem with the financial audits submitted by the Federation to the courts during the ongoing 'Soca Warriors' legal action against them is not that account, but the fact that parallel accounts were also set up.

And the seasoned broadcaster also said that while some presenters had proposed showing national matches, broadcasters needed to pay for the rights to do so, and he added that the Caribbean Football Union had long ago sold T&T's rights up until 2014, so that the TTFF "have nothing to get".

In another interesting and lively contribution, Pro League chairman Larry Romany described the process of changing T&T football as a "complex" one.

Romany, who is also president of the T&T Olympic Committee, estimated that approximately 300,000 Trinidadians follow football at some level, more than half the following of cricket, which is also significantly more than that for the third choice sport in T&T, track and field.

Officials need to invest most heavily into development from the primary school level, Romany said, in order to ensure long term sustainability for football.

He criticised what he called Trinidad and Tobago's "seasonal" approach to football, adding that citizens need to "understand the importance of development of sport in a sustainable manner that will make us proud".

Other contributions came from the T&T Referees Association and the socawarriors.net website, along with other local teams, while TTFF vice-president Rudolph Thomas spoke very briefly, thanking the Ministry of Sport for their initiative in hosting the event, in hopes of charting a new way forward for T&T football.

"We are in dire straits in the TTFF" Thomas said, "and only if we pool our office and ideas we will be able to move forward. So the TTFF is indeed grateful for this opportunity to share with the stakeholders in football the kinds of possible solutions that would make going forward meaningful (the) need to engage stakeholders in football..."

In his feature speech, Minister of Sport Anil Roberts said Trinidad and Tobago football is currently in a "nightmare".

He added that yesterday's event was not an attempt by the Ministry to "interfere" with the autonomy of any sporting body, but felt it was a good way to begin healthy dialogue in the interest of football.

Roberts insisted that T&T must "get over the tabanca" and focus on rebuilding the football and annouced that within a year at least 65 recreation grounds in Trinidad and Tobago will be upgraded, so that local football can return to the communities in hopes of regaining crowd support.

He also divulged the Ministry's hard-line stance on what he called the "fraudulent attempts" by some sporting bodies that inflate their budgets and keep a portion of the money to themselves.

"We in sport cannot continue to waste money," Roberts stated, saying that money that goes to sport from Cabinet means less money in other areas for hospital beds, MRI machines and other important things such as roads and bridges and other infrastructure.

« Reply #31 on: November 29, 2011, 06:41:43 AM »
This article really show me how the media can twist things. Harford was one of the last speakers and he came to the mike with venom in his voice saying that all of us are wasting time in this room because not one person mentioned Jack Warner and the fact that we allowed one man to run and ruin football in this country for the past 30 years. That we could not have a consultation about the good of the game and not be willing to speak about the elephant in the room. His entire contribution criticised Warner and the TTFF. He only made one "soft" statement which was that "they are not all bad". However, this article makes it sound like others were criticising the TTFF and Harford defended them.

Larry Romany also said that cricket's participation is half that of football, not the other way around as the article says.

« Reply #32 on: November 29, 2011, 06:52:57 AM »
This article really show me how the media can twist things. Harford was one of the last speakers and he came to the mike with venom in his voice saying that all of us are wasting time in this room because not one person mentioned Jack Warner and the fact that we allowed one man to run and ruin football in this country for the past 30 years. That we could not have a consultation about the good of the game and not be willing to speak about the elephant in the room. His entire contribution criticised Warner and the TTFF. He only made one "soft" statement which was that "they are not all bad". However, this article makes it sound like others were criticising the TTFF and Harford defended them.

Larry Romany also said that cricket's participation is half that of football, not the other way around as the article says.
This is what i'm talking about,they still scared of JW,come out in the open and speak alyu minds and is change alyu want?i like Roberts he is my favourite,he likes the Minor League concept Football in all the communities which i agree with.       

« Reply #33 on: November 29, 2011, 08:57:12 AM »

Sometimes I swear allyuh have no understanding..... let me make it as simple for you as possible....the process aka the consultation is a sham....it will achieve zero nada nilch zip....it is merely meant to placate people like you.
At the end of the day who are the people making the decisions about TnT football?

if this happened in Europe or N.america people would be bumping gum about how 'progressive' their football is. but since its here it really eh worth the effort right?

you can hide behind that bullshit about 'placating people like you' and 'at the end of the day' all yuh want. i'll make it simple for YOU as possible. the MoS asked for submissions. people like YOU who always complaining and bitching and moaning could not be bothered to even spend a five minutes to make an effort. and to justify your lazy-ass, do-nothing, negative, take-it-in-the ass-like-a-bitch-attitude you come up in here and bawling how you KNOW is a sham. how you know that....you is f**king nostradamus?

it have people on this site who contributed to this thing that do far more than you ever facking do or will ever do for football, so f**k off with yuh bullshit. allyuh men does prefer to run yuh mouth but when time for action comes allyuh NOWHERE to found. and is one setta 'them eh go take we on, or 'its a sham!   . tallman sit down and take time and care to write up a proposal and now where all the facking forum big-mouths? less than 300 sign it. no amount of deflection or hiding or petty insults go take away from the fact that nobody trying. stick that in yuh facking craw

Again asshole yuh so cluesless....it's not about how much people contribute to a proposal,,,the fact is the same people who have been making or not making decisions for the last 30 years have the final say... Do you think they will all of a sudden have an ephinany and do things differently????? then you are more stupid than I thought because yes all they are doing is placating idiots like you...
wonderful proposal zanders well done.....NEXT...that is how they think....ask yuhself why we football in such ah state...

the pathetic whinyness and cry baby nature of your posting is depressing. when it comes down to it you're just another slave cussing massa and chopping his cane. i have often asked myself why football is in such a state. here is my answer. the only thing that kept jack, camps and friends in power all these years was people throwing up their hands in despair and looking away. they want you to do that so they can hold that grip tighter and tighter. the ttff LOVES people like that. and all the big talkers who cyah even be bothered to spend a two minutes or pay for a facking postage stamp.

keep talking empty words and wallowing in your negativity. thanks for representing the views of the coward-arse bitch faction of the site, you did well. allyuh big talkers waste one setta bandwidth and ink on Controversial and his attention seeking tactics and then come crawling here to tell me what and what is not a waste of time. football lovers my ass! 

i'll say it again...its nowhere done yet. the MoS is in full and complete charge of the TTFF. if you think lennox watson was happy to sit there and smile while people destroyed the fed in front his face yuh dead wrong. the MoS made promises and is up to the people to make sure they keep these promises. so when the time comes the football community will be called upon again. i hope that people will not abstain or turn your backs when you are most needed! I done!

« Reply #34 on: November 29, 2011, 09:30:02 AM »

"Kevin Harrison (North East Stars)
Started off with "We have seen change of players, change of coaches, but for 20 years no change of the TTFF." Also advocated that the TTFF and referees settle their differences ASAP because it is hurting the Pro League."

« Reply #35 on: November 30, 2011, 06:39:01 AM »
Videos of Harford and Corneal from consultation. Harfords breakdown down of national team costs is enlightening.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/o6u5M2xIgug" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/o6u5M2xIgug</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dfYogVWlSgM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dfYogVWlSgM</a>
« Last Edit: November 30, 2011, 06:45:07 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #36 on: November 30, 2011, 09:37:47 PM »
Ministry of Sport hosts Football Development Consultation
news.gov.tt

About 75 individuals turned up for the Ministry of Sport's National Consultation on Football held at Movie Towne Banquet & Conference Centre on Monday. Representing a wide cross-section of interests - athletes, coaches, supporter organisations, clubs, referees and media - there were more than 20 oral presentations made on the way forward for football.

The Consultation was the brainchild of the Honourable Anil Roberts, Minister of Sport and came after a disastrous campaign by the national senior team in their quest to qualify for the 2014 World Cup. A call was made to football organisations as well as other interested parties to submit recommendations on how the country's football stock could be improved from grassroots to elite level.

Officials from the Trinidad & Tobago Football Federation did attend but took a back seat, preferring instead to listen to all the ideas presented. Vice President Rudolph Thomas in brief remarks to the audience at the start apologised for not meeting the expectation many would have had to hear something from the governing body for local football but indicated that the TTFF is grateful to the Ministry for the initiative and pledged to work with all stakeholders to turn around the fortunes of football.

In what might have turned out to be a fiery blasting of the TTFF for perceived injustices in the past, most contributions instead focused on specific solutions to the problems such as introducing physical education on the primary school curriculum; developing policies, structures and a philosophy for Trinidad & Tobago football; increasing the number of spectators and thereby revenue streams for the TT Pro League and a more community-focused approach to the pathway from grassroots to elite.

Among the individuals present at the Consultation were TT Pro League President Larry Romany, Guyana national coach Jamal Shabazz, former TTFF Assistant Technical Director Anton Corneal, W Connection boss David John Williams and socawarriors.net member Brian Springer.

The next step for the Ministry, according to Minister Roberts, will be to compile and condense all the recommendations into a discussion paper which will be circulated among the Consultation attendees as well as the wider public for comment.

« Reply #37 on: November 30, 2011, 09:43:25 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/drUBKL89SU4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/drUBKL89SU4</a>

« Reply #38 on: November 30, 2011, 10:34:44 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dfYogVWlSgM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dfYogVWlSgM</a>

Like allyuh eh watch de video or wha? Harford call we out at 02:32. He say how man on socawarriors.net say he eh know what he doing and how he running ah 2x4 organization  ;D

Offline president

• ...Walk and don't look back...
« Reply #39 on: December 01, 2011, 05:14:40 AM »
The Ministry of Sport is assuming the TTFF's responsibilities, and the TTFF clique are happy for the financial backing that will prolong their collective life....

« Reply #40 on: December 01, 2011, 06:56:40 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/52octU-fOGs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/52octU-fOGs</a>

« Reply #41 on: December 01, 2011, 08:03:04 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/52octU-fOGs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/52octU-fOGs</a>

:applause:  :applause:

Patriot, much appreciated brother.

Many of us on here talk and talk and talk, but there are a few of us who actually walk the walk and for this I an truly grateful to you all who actually put yourselves out there to affect some sort of change and on the ground support.

Thank you all very much.

« Reply #42 on: December 01, 2011, 08:29:13 AM »

Many of us on here talk and talk and talk, but there are a few of us who actually walk the walk and for this I an truly grateful to you all who actually put yourselves out there to affect some sort of change and on the ground support.

Thank you all very much.
     Weall said  :beermug: :beermug:

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #43 on: December 01, 2011, 12:23:57 PM »
Good job breds ! Thanks for representing us.

« Reply #44 on: December 01, 2011, 06:20:30 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/6m03mlANpWw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/6m03mlANpWw</a>

« Reply #45 on: December 01, 2011, 07:27:13 PM »
Videos of Harford and Corneal from consultation. Harfords breakdown down of national team costs is enlightening.

I hope now you understand why I took you to task last week for some of your criticism of All Sport. No I did not have this information, but all along I was preaching patience and caution with All Sport, give them a chance rather than prematurely conclude from nothing that they are crooked or inept.

« Reply #46 on: December 01, 2011, 10:06:58 PM »

I hope now you understand why I took you to task last week for some of your criticism of All Sport. No I did not have this information, but all along I was preaching patience and caution with All Sport, give them a chance rather than prematurely conclude from nothing that they are crooked or inept.

The points he made were enlightening, but he still did not explain where the income from sponsors is, how much they received from T shirt sales and if the management fee was their fee. I actually tried to talk with him so I could tell him I was one of his critics and the reason why I raised concerns (as I believe he must have read my comments on this site), but he was surrounded by people after the event.

« Reply #47 on: December 01, 2011, 10:14:33 PM »

Thank you all very much.

:salute:

« Reply #48 on: December 01, 2011, 10:51:38 PM »
The points he made were enlightening, but he still did not explain where the income from sponsors is, how much they received from T shirt sales and if the management fee was their fee. I actually tried to talk with him so I could tell him I was one of his critics and the reason why I raised concerns (as I believe he must have read my comments on this site), but he was surrounded by people after the event.

How much income could there have been in just 3 months though?  When nothing was going on with the national program... how much sponsorship and T-shirt sales(??)  could there be?  As for the comments... I seem to recall him responding some time back to some of the nonsense criticism by Controversial.

« Reply #49 on: December 02, 2011, 05:28:21 AM »

Like allyuh eh watch de video or wha? Harford call we out at 02:32. He say how man on socawarriors.net say he eh know what he doing and how he running ah 2x4 organization  ;D

He said WE.  We get totally broad brushed for the comments of one fool.....steups!!

« Reply #50 on: December 02, 2011, 05:29:34 AM »

How much income could there have been in just 3 months though?  When nothing was going on with the national program... how much sponsorship and T-shirt sales(??)  could there be?  As for the comments... I seem to recall him responding some time back to some of the nonsense criticism by Controversial.

Flex, Birchall, Anthony Harford.  When yuh big yuh large!!!..... ::) ::)

« Reply #51 on: December 02, 2011, 07:58:29 AM »

Flex, Birchall, Anthony Harford.  When yuh big yuh large!!!..... ::) ::)

Although this forum is here to express personal opinions, people have to understand that this is now recognised as a legitimate voice, so when there is criticism posted by individuals, the whole site gets blamed!

Look at the abuse here this week for Birchall, Jack & Sancho. Even though it was selective individuals and others praised those players, they will still tell their friends that supporters on SW.net are a bunch of ungrateful a**holes. Although they will not be referring to everyone...thats not how it will be heard!!

« Reply #52 on: December 02, 2011, 08:04:20 AM »
Although this forum is here to express personal opinions, people have to understand that this is now recognised as a legitimate voice, so when there is criticism posted by individuals, the whole site gets blamed!

Look at the abuse here this week for Birchall, Jack & Sancho. Even though it was selective individuals and others praised those players, they will still tell their friends that supporters on SW.net are a bunch of ungrateful a**holes. Although they will not be referring to everyone...thats not how it will be heard!!

Unfortunately is the negativity that is remembered the most... just human nature really.  How many of us are motivated to call, write or email whenever we have a positive customer service interaction?  But let it be negative... we quick to complain, lol

Back to the discussion though, I always liked Tony Harford, back when he was a sportswriter and budding renaissance man.  I think it probably made me a little biased in giving A/S the benefit of the doubt, but his frankness at the forum kinda confirm what I thought of him and his company.  Let's see if it continues and/or bears fruit.  Everything he said relative to Jack was on point... and some may see it as criticism, truth is he was just stating fact.  You can't invest so much power in any one individual, nothing against that individual, but the day they leave the organization there's a leadership/functional void.  TTFF now realizing that, and unfortunately is we and we football to ketch.

« Reply #53 on: December 02, 2011, 08:32:54 AM »

Unfortunately is the negativity that is remembered the most... just human nature really.  How many of us are motivated to call, write or email whenever we have a positive customer service interaction?  But let it be negative... we quick to complain, lol

Back to the discussion though, I always liked Tony Harford, back when he was a sportswriter and budding renaissance man.  I think it probably made me a little biased in giving A/S the benefit of the doubt, but his frankness at the forum kinda confirm what I thought of him and his company.  Let's see if it continues and/or bears fruit.  Everything he said relative to Jack was on point... and some may see it as criticism, truth is he was just stating fact.  You can't invest so much power in any one individual, nothing against that individual, but the day they leave the organization there's a leadership/functional void.  TTFF now realizing that, and unfortunately is we and we football to ketch.

Have to say, I was impressed too. But, my point remains...even if there had been $10 from a t shirt sale and $50 from an ad, it should have been listed to avoid any suggestion of non transparency. Theres non point producing a balance sheet (even an interim one) without all information. To avoid any doubt Harford could have listed "income from sponsorship - $0" 
After all of the murky dealings in the past, the last thing Harford should want is missing items from the balance sheets. I have never said All sport were corrupt, but they have left themselves with a query over their heads which they could have avoided. Transparency is just that - transparent.
 I ain't interested in seeing a stripper who keeps on her clothes because she doesn't like people seeing the wart on her ass. Show it all - warts and all!

« Reply #54 on: December 02, 2011, 08:46:03 AM »
Have to say, I was impressed too. But, my point remains...even if there had been $10 from a t shirt sale and $50 from an ad, it should have been listed to avoid any suggestion of non transparency. Theres non point producing a balance sheet (even an interim one) without all information. To avoid any doubt Harford could have listed "income from sponsorship - $0" 
After all of the murky dealings in the past, the last thing Harford should want is missing items from the balance sheets. I have never said All sport were corrupt, but they have left themselves with a query over their heads which they could have avoided. Transparency is just that - transparent.
 I ain't interested in seeing a stripper who keeps on her clothes because she doesn't like people seeing the wart on her ass. Show it all - warts and all!

Fair enough... but you weren't as neutral then as you're suggesting today.  You basically accused them of being in cahoots with the old administration and that nothing had changed and that they were inept... suggesting that an open-bid process would have resulted in a more efficient third-party overseer.  Your overall implication was that their work was substandard and that the accounting provided was inaccurate.

« Reply #55 on: December 02, 2011, 09:07:25 AM »

Fair enough... but you weren't as neutral then as you're suggesting today.  You basically accused them of being in cahoots with the old administration and that nothing had changed and that they were inept... suggesting that an open-bid process would have resulted in a more efficient third-party overseer.  Your overall implication was that their work was substandard and that the accounting provided was inaccurate.

I would agree with that assessment. Unfortunately I have a tendancy to see whats not there, rather than what is. Given the current climate, you have to bend over backwards to prove you are not like the past regime and things have changed.
Like an adulterer, the smallest indescretion will be assumed that you are hiding something.
Given that All Sport was an appointment, not a result of a tender process I felt my concerns were justified. I here you about having just 3 months, but accounts is accounts, and I saw plenty advertising and shirts on sale at every match, so I guess I was suspicious.

harford and all at TTFF need to be ultra transparent in order to rebuild confidence and trust. I sincerely hope they achieve this!!

« Reply #56 on: December 02, 2011, 09:24:41 AM »
I would agree with that assessment. Unfortunately I have a tendancy to see whats not there, rather than what is. Given the current climate, you have to bend over backwards to prove you are not like the past regime and things have changed.
Like an adulterer, the smallest indescretion will be assumed that you are hiding something.
Given that All Sport was an appointment, not a result of a tender process I felt my concerns were justified. I here you about having just 3 months, but accounts is accounts, and I saw plenty advertising and shirts on sale at every match, so I guess I was suspicious.

harford and all at TTFF need to be ultra transparent in order to rebuild confidence and trust. I sincerely hope they achieve this!!

I think your concerns were fair... given the climate as you suggest.  I just thought they had to be tempered a bit by reality.  I don't trust Roberts and don't particularly like him, and I too was suspicious of the A/S involvement.  But what I saw from them, including Harford taking the time to respond to criticism here, was a willingness to engage critics.  This alone was a marked departure from the past, and indicated a willingness to be accountable, at least in that small regard.

« Reply #57 on: December 02, 2011, 11:18:48 AM »

I think your concerns were fair... given the climate as you suggest.  I just thought they had to be tempered a bit by reality.  I don't trust Roberts and don't particularly like him, and I too was suspicious of the A/S involvement.  But what I saw from them, including Harford taking the time to respond to criticism here, was a willingness to engage critics.  This alone was a marked departure from the past, and indicated a willingness to be accountable, at least in that small regard.

« Reply #58 on: December 02, 2011, 12:57:12 PM »

:beermug: FS & Bakes have finally agreed on something!!

I think I am going to throw a party to celebrate!!  :wavetowel: :chilling: :cheers: :party: :afro: :thumbsup:

Offline TrInBa#1

« Reply #59 on: December 02, 2011, 01:10:26 PM »
what sport do trinbagonians like the most..it's a good question..because after that question comes investors...who takes it all..who is showing generosity is it questions? where are our supporters why cant we full up stadiums...pick your team and support...we always look for politician solutions..while its a people concern...another solutions we could make smaller stadiums for the championship and bring much heat inside...