March 28, 2024, 10:42:26 AM

Author Topic: T&T drawn with Mexico, Honduras, and Panama in Olympic qualifying  (Read 2351 times)

Mexico to face Honduras in Olympic qualifying
CONCACAF.com

Defending champion Honduras will face Mexico while the host United States will play Canada, Cuba and El Salvador in the first round of the CONCACAF Olympic qualifying finals.

The draw conducted Tuesday at the confederation's New York headquarters by Deputy General Secretary Ted Howard set the first round of the tournament, putting Panama and Trinidad & Tobago in with Mexico and Honduras in Group B.

The United States, seeded atop Group A, will play at LP Field in Nashville, Tennessee, while Group B will face off at The Home Depot Center in the Los Angeles suburb of Carson. The semifinals and finals will be played at LIVESTRONG Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kansas.

A full schedule for the March 22-April 2 tournament is expected to be announced by the end of the week.

Semifinal winners will qualify for the July 27-August 12 London Olympic Games.

The draw sets up a potential rematch of the 2008 CONCACAF Olympic qualifying title match between the United States and Honduras in the semifinals. Honduras beat the Americans 1-0 in extra time in Nashville.

Re: T&T drawn with Mexico, Honduras, and Panama in Olympic qualifying
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2011, 03:59:12 PM »
They had to put USA in Nashville. Was hoping T&T would have gotten in that group.

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2011, 04:15:43 PM »
 :frustrated: Pressure.

Good luck fellas

« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2011, 04:24:29 PM »
I'm glad we got the Mexico group as the Semi Final is realistically the final as the winner qualifies and I would fancy us to have the BEST CHANCE OF WINNING vs USA's more physical similar style than the quick passing game of Mexico

but I wanted Canada and I would have preferred El Salvador to Panama

3 tough games but 3 games that will do us well in the long term even If we fail to progress

If we get to that semi and face USA I'd fancy us .. once we are willing to die for the badge and run till we bleed we stand a fighting chance

As La Fou always says " Hard work will beat skill, If skill hardly working"

« Last Edit: December 06, 2011, 04:42:53 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2011, 04:28:07 PM »
 :nailbiting:   Any of the big pros coming? 

I ain't coming Nashville to see so licks!!!!!    :P   
Feliz I driving. 

« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2011, 05:01:43 PM »
oh boy death Group .. I like it though lets see where our football is ...

« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2011, 05:08:44 PM »
Bring it on!!!

« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2011, 05:56:12 PM »
T&T grouped with Honduras, Mexico and Panama for Olympic qualifying final round.
By: Shaun Fuentes (TTFF Media).

Trinidad and Tobago will face off with Honduras, Panama and Mexico in Group B of the CONCACAF Final Round of Olympic qualification in Carson, California from March 22, 2012.

This was determined at the draw for the tournament held at CONCACAF Head Offices, New York. Host United States is in Group A with Cuba, Canada and El Salvador. The fixtures will be released later in the week.

T&T head coach Angus Eve, in an immediate reaction to the draw, indicated that he was not overawed by T&T’s group opponents but would have liked to face a North American opponent in Canada or USA.

“It’s not a bad group by any means and we know that you’ve got to be ready play everyone if you intend to win a tournament or qualify,” Eve told TTFF Media.

“Panama had beaten Costa Rica which had a good team and Mexico is always a powerhouse and of course Honduras is coming in as the defending champions. But we’ve faced these teams at the previous levels before and done pretty well and we coped with the Mexican players at the Pan American Games recently.

I’m a little disappointed that we didn’t get one of the North American teams like Canada or USA in the first round but I know we could possibly face one of those teams once we progress to the semi-finals,” Eve added.

Eve will resume training with his squad on December 27 in preparation for a friendly with Finland in January.

“A lot of players in the squad are coming off a hectic year and they are still involved with their clubs in the Pro League. The fatigue level was evident in St Kitts and we thought it was fair to allow them to train and play with their clubs away from the national team and then we will resume later in the month,” said the ex-Defence Force player.

He is also keeping tabs on some of the other players available to be part of his final roster for the qualifiers next year.

“We are always trying to improve the squad and we will continue to monitor some of the other players who are eligible to play for us. Daneil Cyrus is fit again from injury but he is not match ready and so we will be trying to work with him and see that he gets some match practice.

Robert Primus is also expected to be back from injury in February and Leston Paul will also be looked at. We also haven’t had Khaleem Hyland in this team but having spoken to him, tentatively it looks good and he could be available for this round,” Eve mentioned.

“We could also do with another forward. A lot of the responsibility has fallen on Jamal Gay. We have decent forwards but not natural goalscorers in the current squad.”

Group A play will take place at LP Field in Nashville, Tennessee, while T&T’s Group B will be played at the Home Depot Center in the Carson, California.

The semifinals and final will be played at LIVESTRONG Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kansas.The Semifinal winners will qualify for the 2012 Olympic Games in London July 27-August 12.

« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2011, 08:17:22 PM »

« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2011, 04:49:11 PM »
how groups are there, and how many teams coming out these groups?

« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2011, 04:55:54 PM »

There are two groups. The top two teams from each group advance to the semifinal round, and the winner of each semifinal match qualifies for the Olympics.

« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2011, 04:57:27 PM »

There are two groups. The top two teams from each group advance to the semifinal round, and the winner of each semifinal match qualifies for the Olympics.
Thanx bro.    :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2011, 05:12:07 PM »
Carson california.

A nice 2 day road trip.

Cool  :)

« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2011, 09:02:46 PM »
It will be really nice if we could make it to the Olympics next year!

That will more than make up for our senior team not making it to the 3rd round and consequently to the Hex for the 4th or is it the 5th time in a row?! Tallman?!

Plus I will get to see our team playing live here in England at the Olympics next year!  :beermug:

Wishing Eve and the boys well!!

It’s all about proper preparation from hereon and no more excuses from the TTFF or I want that whole executive to resign and give other people a chance!!
« Last Edit: December 07, 2011, 09:05:48 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #14 on: December 08, 2011, 05:54:57 PM »
Decisions, decisions...be ah ball-peong and go Carson to see dem play 3 times or wait and go Kansas City to see dem play twice???

Or be an even bigger peong and go Carson AND Kansas City to see dem play five times?!?!?!

Like dey put meh so, ah cyah help mehself:)

El Salvador-Canada to start Olympic qualifying
« Reply #15 on: December 08, 2011, 06:12:41 PM »
El Salvador-Canada to start Olympic qualifying
CONCACAF.com

El Salvador will face Canada while the United States will start against Cuba to open the CONCACAF Olympic qualifying finals, the confederation announced Thursday.

Group A will begin play in Nashville, Tennessee, on Thursday, March 22, with Group B in the Los Angeles suburb of Carson to follow the next day, pitting defending champion Honduras against Panama, and Trinidad & Tobago vs. Mexico.

The groups will alternate play for the next four days, with the United States taking on northern neighbor Canada on March 24 and Mexico clashing with Honduras on March 25.

The group winners will face the runners-up in the opposite groups on Saturday, March 31 in Kansas City, Kansas, with the victors qualifying for the London Olympic Games July 27-August 12. The semifinal winners will play Monday night in Kansas City.

The host United States will be seeking a seventh trip to the Olympics in eight tries while Mexico will be looking to qualify for a fourth time in six tries. Honduras is looking for a third berth in the Olympics after first qualifying in 2000.

El Salvador, Panama and Trinidad have never qualified while Canada's last appearance in the Olympics came in 1984, four years after Cuba's last appearance.

CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying Finals
FIRST ROUND

All times U.S. Eastern (local times in parentheses)
Group A (Nashville, Tennessee): Canada, Cuba, El Salvador, United States
Group B (Carson, California): Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Trinidad & Tobago

Thursday, March 22
At Nashville, Tennessee

El Salvador vs. Canada, 6:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m.)
United States vs. Cuba, 9 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Friday, March 23
At Carson, California

Honduras vs. Panama, 9 p.m. (6 p.m.)
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Mexico, 11:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.)

Saturday, March 24
At Nashville, Tennessee

Cuba vs. El Salvador, 4:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
United States vs. Canada, 7 p.m. (6 p.m.)

Sunday, March 25
At Carson, California

Panama vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 4:30 p.m. (1:30 p.m.)
Mexico vs. Honduras, 7 p.m. (4 p.m.)

Monday, March 26
At Nashville, Tennessee

Canada vs. Cuba, 6:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m.)
United States vs. El Salvador, 9 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Tuesday, March 27
At Carson, California

Honduras vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 9 p.m. (6 p.m.)
Mexico vs. Panama, 11:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.)

SEMIFINALS
Saturday, March 31
At Kansas City, Kansas

Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up, 6 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up, 9 p.m. (8 p.m.)

CHAMPIONSHIP
Monday, April 2
At Kansas City, Kansas

Semifinal winners, 8 p.m. (7 p.m.)