April 19, 2024, 11:43:46 PM

Author Topic: Animals in Trinidad & Tobago  (Read 102673 times)

Re: Animals in Trinidad & Tobago
« Reply #30 on: December 10, 2011, 01:53:58 PM »
The mapapire zanana is really a bushmaster and it's not related to the balsain. Some real cool things ah learn about the balsain is that if you hold them by their tail, they can climb upwards and deliver a strike, their venom is both hemotoxic and neurotoxic  and they can swim in water. The Zanana is one of the most feared snakes by herpetologist because they can strike really quickly, they can move swiftly, can deliver copious amounts of venom, 80% fatality even when anti venom is administered, and it is also the worlds longest viper.

Freakin Aye!!!!

« Reply #31 on: December 13, 2011, 06:40:49 AM »

Game Cock

Scaled Pigeon (Columba speciosa)

Common Waxbill (Estrilda astrild)

Tri-coloured Munia (Lonchura malacca).

Mongoose

Swallow-tailed Kite (Elanoides forficatus)

Plumbeous Kite (Ictinia plumbea)

Crimson-crested Woodpecker (Campephilus melanoleucos)

A male Collared Trogon (Trogon collaris)

Purple Gallinule (Porphyrio martinica)

Red-bellied Macaws in Santa Flora

Helicops angulatus (on beach)

Capuchin Monkey (Cebus albifrons trinitatis)

Unidentified caterpillar

Pale-vented Pigeon (Columba cayennensis)

White Pigeon

« Last Edit: December 13, 2011, 06:45:10 AM by Sam »

« Reply #32 on: December 13, 2011, 09:27:41 AM »
Kiskadee

Blue Jean

Sucrier (sik-ee-aye)

Picoplat

Semp

Scissors tail

Plantain bird

Merle Corbeau

Grassie

Motmot

« Reply #33 on: December 14, 2011, 03:57:27 PM »
deer

Manicou and Young...

Well boy, in all the years I lived in Trinidad I've never once seen a deer except at the zoo.

Manicou on the otherhand I saw from time to time, never ate it though. That's a cool pic with the young balancing on a line and all.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2011, 03:59:56 PM by soccerman »

« Reply #34 on: December 14, 2011, 06:15:15 PM »
The Kiskadee is the loudest sounding bird. I was always fascinated by that bird because of the sound it made. "Kiss-kee-dee".
« Last Edit: December 14, 2011, 06:18:41 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #35 on: December 15, 2011, 05:41:34 AM »

Red-billed Tropicbirds from Little Tobago Island

Goodbye Ruby-Topaz (Birds of Tobago)

Honeycreeper

The Linned Seedeater

Bullfinch

Black Headed Canary male

Rose Breasted Grosbeak

Bullfinch

ORNATE HAWK EAGLE (Spizaetus ornatus) 

« Reply #36 on: December 15, 2011, 07:05:36 AM »
This real interesting. Been here on and off for 5 years and hardly see any wildlife. Had kiskadees a plenty in the yard and an occassional lizard 9maybe iguana?) Now I'm up by Arima i seeing some cormorant typr birds.

Ate manicou and  was given Tatu for xmas dinner last year (urgh!!) Quite scary knowing all these snakes around outside of parliament lol

« Reply #37 on: December 15, 2011, 11:09:11 AM »
Bat

Grasshopper

« Reply #38 on: December 15, 2011, 11:18:38 AM »
Deeks- I think the Cocrico could take the kiskidee for loudest bird. When I was a kid we had a house in Sangster Hill and there was a plum tree on it, when the plum tree was in bloom those birds use to occupy it at the break of dawn, you could forget sleeping in late.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2011, 01:03:13 PM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #39 on: December 15, 2011, 01:06:43 PM »
Saw some of these in the Amazon, my parents have a huge silk cotton tree in our back yard and these birds have nest on it that probably measures a yard in length.

the symbol of Nemwil, the sea duck aka pelican.

Quenk

Black tip shark used in Bake and Shark, this fella from toco... near the fish market.

horse in Columbus Bay

Capybara (doh know how they end up in the icacos swamp)

« Last Edit: December 15, 2011, 01:54:33 PM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #40 on: December 15, 2011, 01:32:30 PM »
Next year ah want to come to TnT to do ah dive of the coast of Toco to do ah lil photography of the reef there. Anyone interested could contact meh.

« Reply #41 on: December 15, 2011, 05:52:08 PM »
who here could post ah pic ah de illusive pussy cyat without teeth.

« Reply #42 on: December 15, 2011, 06:46:12 PM »
who here could post ah pic ah de illusive pussy cyat without teeth.

it have laws on dis site prohibiting the exhibition of photographs of dat in d wild...sorry :D

« Reply #43 on: December 15, 2011, 07:47:45 PM »
Daft I remember those birds with the big yellow tails.  Yes they used to make some big hanging nests.  I grew up in Maracas village.  I have never seen those birds again till now.   :beermug:   

I also remember Trinidad had some big big Locusts, with torns. 

And BTW allyuh that dear is Papa Bois eh, because deer doh drink sweet drink.  :)

« Reply #44 on: December 15, 2011, 08:38:28 PM »
This real interesting. Been here on and off for 5 years and hardly see any wildlife. Had kiskadees a plenty in the yard and an occassional lizard 9maybe iguana?) Now I'm up by Arima i seeing some cormorant typr birds.

Ate manicou and  was given Tatu for xmas dinner last year (urgh!!) Quite scary knowing all these snakes around outside of parliament lol

Tattoo (amadillo) good... but could see why you'd be queasy.

Manicou is Opossum... aka oversized rat.  They could keep that.

« Reply #45 on: December 15, 2011, 08:41:34 PM »
Btw... cool thread.  Wait til Cana reach wid all she bird pictures, lol

« Reply #46 on: December 16, 2011, 01:58:22 PM »
What about the world famous endangered T&T shitsnake?

Hahaha

Nice thread  :beermug:

« Reply #47 on: January 04, 2012, 09:43:21 AM »
« Last Edit: January 04, 2012, 09:53:43 AM by Flex »

« Reply #48 on: January 04, 2012, 10:10:03 AM »

« Reply #49 on: January 04, 2012, 10:21:41 AM »

Does anyone know the local name for this tree.

« Reply #50 on: January 04, 2012, 10:42:14 AM »

Silk cotton or kapok. Also known as ceiba.

« Reply #51 on: January 04, 2012, 10:44:41 AM »

Thanks, I just had a paradigm shift, because what I tort was a silk cotton tree all along, was really a samman tree, until a trini friend pointed out that one of the photos in my house of this tree was labeled wrong.... I have seen this tree also in Brazil....
« Last Edit: January 04, 2012, 10:47:25 AM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #52 on: January 04, 2012, 10:50:05 AM »

I dunno what kinda fish dat is... but that is ah Grade A bird  :beermug:

« Reply #53 on: January 04, 2012, 10:55:29 AM »

Thanks, I just had a paradigm shift, because what I tort was a silk cotton tree all along, was really a samman tree, until a trini friend pointed out that one of the photos in my house of this tree was labeled wrong.... I have seen this tree also in Brazil....

Dey also have dem down here in South Florida. Yuh could see dem along certain parts of de I-95.

« Reply #54 on: January 04, 2012, 11:55:34 AM »
if they is kill people like nothing in t&t, why u think they go treat animal different?

« Reply #55 on: January 04, 2012, 12:46:28 PM »

I think some also call it a sandbox tree
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #56 on: January 05, 2012, 07:23:47 AM »
what about ah deer drinking coke  :laugh:

that is ah first for me!

« Reply #57 on: January 05, 2012, 02:59:50 PM »
Is the sandbox tree the same tree that had that pod that people use to make the dolphin out of?

« Reply #58 on: January 05, 2012, 05:03:05 PM »
I have a picture of a zangee somewhere..... I spoke to a biologist a few years ago and he told me that the zangee is not a real eel? It lacks an inner jaw, it's an elongated fish.

« Reply #59 on: January 05, 2012, 08:44:31 PM »
real memories coming back here with this one. As a kid on the weekends I was a papa bois in training. My great grand parents had an estate in Tabaquite so was real bush ting with me, pops and my little brother.

Draft, I know a couple fellas on here who dive.. i'll pass on the message about the Toco dive to them. I dive as well (haven't in 2yrs) and hoping to be in trini late March. Any idea when you plan on going down? As a kid we used to also go in the gulf (south) to spearfish around the rigs.. mostly groupers.

ah see tree images starting to show up.. where the jumbie calabash?

No Lie - I probably eat each of them animals posted one time or the other already. Didn't realize we had so much snake in Trinbago oui.

Where the cuscarub (cichlids), river sardine, sweet water shrimp, crayfish,mamatahta, river gold fish (one with the kinda shell),