March 28, 2024, 05:44:25 AM

Author Topic: Animals in Trinidad & Tobago  (Read 102263 times)

Animals in Trinidad & Tobago
« on: December 09, 2011, 09:20:59 AM »
Just can't stand the way our locals treat our animals in T&T, they killing everything out and sooner or later we will have nothing.

A shipment of 83 yellow-headed parrots, 9 black headed caiques, 10 conures, 16 orange-winged parrots, an agouti and a wild hog were seized on Thursday, June 25th by Customs and Excise Officers at Cedros, Trinidad and Tobago after being brought in illegally by boat from the Venezuelan mainland. The perpetrators were charged for illegally importing prohibited animals.

Four smuggled Caique parrots sit in a cage at the Emperor Valley Zoo in Port of Spain, Trinidad. Four police officers in Trinidad intercepted a smuggling boat at gunpoint and stole 1,000 endangered birds and monkeys along with 400 pounds of wild animal meat, according to authorities. The boat had sailed from Venezuela and the illicit load was estimated to be worth about $500,000.

The Blue-headed Parrot, also known as the Blue-headed Pionus, Pionus menstruus, is a medium large parrot. It is about 27 cm long and they are mainly green with a blue head and neck, and red under tail feathers. It is a resident bird in tropical and subtropical South America and southern Central America, from Costa Rica, Venezuela and Trinidad south to Bolivia and Brazil. It is named for its medium-blue head and neck.

Three smuggled raccoons sit in a cage at the Emperor Valley Zoo in Port of Spain, Trinidad, Tuesday, May 5. Four police officers in Trinidad intercepted a smuggling boat at gunpoint and stole 1,000 endangered birds and monkeys along with 400 pounds of wild animal meat, according to authorities. (AP Photo/Shirley Bahadur).

A smuggled monkey hangs in a cage at the Emperor Valley Zoo in Port of Spain, Trinidad, Tuesday, May 5, 2009. (AP Photo/Shirley Bahadur). Officers in Trinidad allegedly hijacked a smuggling boat. The boat had sailed from Venezuela carrying more than 500 bull finches, 300 picoplat songbirds and an assortment of monkeys — all crammed into tiny cages piled up on the craft, officials said.

OCELOT RESCUED: This Ocelot was one of several endangered and protected animals rescued by game wardens yesterday following a raid at a house in upscale Haleland Park, Maraval

Red-capped Cardinal digiscoped @ Caroni Swamp, Trinidad 28 July 08.

Savanna Hawk (adult) perches in Moriche Palm, Wallerfield, Trinidad 29 July 08

Red-bellied Macaw

Male and female White-lined Tanagers

Blue-headed Parrots

A Southern Lapwing

A Savannah Hawk

Blue & Yellow Macaw (Ara ararauna)

Scarlet Macaw [Ara macao]; Aracang

Channel-billed Toucan

Blue-Crowned Motmot

Oil bird

Violaceous Trogon

Scarlet Ibis

The Leatherback Turtle (an endangered species)

The Toucan

The Cocrico - National Bird of Tobago
« Last Edit: December 09, 2011, 09:41:53 AM by Sando »

Re: Animals in Trinidad & Tobago
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2011, 09:27:37 AM »
Rainbow Boa

Tree Boa in de mangrove

Columbian Red tail Boa aka de Macajuel

Huile or Anaconda

grass snake

Horse whip

Mapapire balsain

Mapapire Balsain

Water snake aka Water mocasin (semi poisonous)

mapapire aka Bothrops atrox or bothrops viper de deadliest snake in the New World

Bushmaster aka Mapapire Zanana
« Last Edit: December 09, 2011, 09:43:11 AM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2011, 09:30:28 AM »
dem snake could stay with Patrick and Keith....keep dem close tuh dey heart..as dey say..snake in d ballisier

« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2011, 09:33:56 AM »
Hahaha ah had a picture of a water mapapire but ah cayr find it... may be he hiding in the ballisier

« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2011, 09:34:42 AM »
Guys, put a caption if you can ?

And only animlas in T&T...  :D

« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2011, 09:43:43 AM »

all dem snake in tnt.

« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2011, 09:59:22 AM »

all dem snake in tnt.

I wonderin dat too...especially dat rainbow boa

Me eh even know tnt have hawk and toucan in de bush.....moreso ah just read where they rescue that ocelot from,,evrybody in dis slackness oui

« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2011, 10:01:18 AM »
What about the world famous endangered T&T shitsnake?

« Last Edit: December 09, 2011, 10:03:50 AM by theworm2345 »

« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2011, 10:12:09 AM »
What about the world famous endangered T&T shitsnake?

niiice

« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2011, 10:25:18 AM »
that Southern Lapwing..hate that bird..how yuh go put yuh nest where ppl does take dey mornin laps? an he more vex dan me..have men runnin den droppin like dey get sniper bullet

« Reply #10 on: December 09, 2011, 10:31:02 AM »
we most famous export shoulda head de list

« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2011, 11:15:27 AM »
Quenk

Poor-me-one

Matapel

Tatu

Lappe

« Reply #12 on: December 09, 2011, 11:29:14 AM »
Matapel??!!

People does hunt dat?

« Reply #13 on: December 09, 2011, 12:49:45 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago's Enigmatic Emblem: Symbol of Struggle and Strength, will take crap from it's master.

Blue Crab.

Mountain crab

morocoy

ground dove

Golden Eye Thrush.

deer

cascadura

manicou

« Last Edit: December 09, 2011, 01:00:21 PM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #14 on: December 09, 2011, 03:59:07 PM »
Nice thread.  Know how long I ain't see a Big Eye Grieve.   I did not know that there were 2 kinds of Mapapie.  I had only heard of the Balsin, not the Zanana.     :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: December 09, 2011, 04:47:33 PM »
we most famous export shoulda head de list

A time one a dese try to held me in a dance.

« Reply #16 on: December 09, 2011, 06:14:16 PM »
Real nice thread. Funny too. the dog-Enigmatic!!!!. Must find something for Jack, eh!!!  Wow, an ocelet. I have read so much about ocelets in TT since in primary school. Never seen one, except in pictures. Any pictures of brown dove, blue jean, pawi and kisskeedee!!! What about the sea cow or maneetee? Coral snake? Yuk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #17 on: December 09, 2011, 07:00:27 PM »
West Indian Manatee

Porcupine

Agouti

Red-tailed squirrel

Red Howler Monkey

White-fronted Capuchin

Water opossum

« Reply #18 on: December 10, 2011, 12:45:21 AM »
Wha bout that snake that use to attack you like a dog?  Black body, yellow belly.   It used to stand up like a broom.  Tigre? 

« Reply #19 on: December 10, 2011, 08:36:58 AM »
Wha bout that snake that use to attack you like a dog?  Black body, yellow belly.   It used to stand up like a broom.  Tigre? 

yeah I know what yuh talking about. I have only seen it in a pet store in Sando on Cipero Street, never in de wild.

I think another name for it is "Machette"
« Last Edit: December 10, 2011, 08:50:57 AM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #20 on: December 10, 2011, 09:36:48 AM »

yeah I know what yuh talking about. I have only seen it in a pet store in Sando on Cipero Street, never in de wild.

Machete Savane

« Reply #21 on: December 10, 2011, 11:11:57 AM »
where the warbine, crapeau, batchak, guppy?

« Reply #22 on: December 10, 2011, 11:32:00 AM »
Tallman thanks for that Machete pic

Deeks ah have some pics of paw wee's but ah cayr find it for some reason.

Really amazing that the water manicou have webbed hind feet.

Warbine (not my photo) In south america it's called the TARARIRA

only known photo of the reef in toco. Coral

Paw wee.

Corbeau

Manicou and Young...

« Last Edit: December 10, 2011, 12:23:41 PM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #23 on: December 10, 2011, 12:45:59 PM »

Machete Savane

This is ah real learnin thread for me....allyuh say it does stand up like a broom?? for real?

« Reply #24 on: December 10, 2011, 01:04:19 PM »
Nobody could tame a Warbine.  ;D    Them thing prefer to commit suicide than live in a bowl.  I remember waiting for guppies to swim into the cup.  Also called seven colors.  But the best way to catch them was to splash the water up on the shore and grab them before they dead.   :D 

Dutty that's what I've been told about the Machete Savane.... From that pic it seems pretty high already.  But tell you what I have never known that a Qwenk was real.    ;D
« Last Edit: December 10, 2011, 01:07:36 PM by Preacher »

« Reply #25 on: December 10, 2011, 01:08:14 PM »
matte or zandolee ? ;D

corn bird (weaver bird)

« Last Edit: December 10, 2011, 01:10:11 PM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #26 on: December 10, 2011, 01:10:53 PM »
Yeah!!!! Boy!!!    Cover up a concrete block under some Cow Sh*t to ketch them.....They does run into it and knock themselves out.    :rotfl:   Them thing real nasty.

« Reply #27 on: December 10, 2011, 01:30:47 PM »
the bad part is that hunting season open so half of them creatures in trouble

« Reply #28 on: December 10, 2011, 01:32:40 PM »
The mapapire zanana is really a bushmaster and it's not related to the balsain. Some real cool things ah learn about the balsain is that if you hold them by their tail, they can climb upwards and deliver a strike, their venom is both hemotoxic and neurotoxic  and they can swim in water. The Zanana is one of the most feared snakes by herpetologist because they can strike really quickly, they can move swiftly, can deliver copious amounts of venom, 80% fatality even when anti venom is administered, and it is also the worlds longest viper.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2011, 01:35:30 PM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #29 on: December 10, 2011, 01:36:09 PM »
some padnahs from down Fyzo tell when dey was younger they used to go hunting every Sunday. So one Sunday they walkin on the big pipeline and their dog was down below on the ground when they hear a yelp ...dog disappear and they keep walkin fast cause dey know is some big snake take it....