April 19, 2024, 07:36:39 AM

Author Topic: India Vs. Australia 2nd test-Michael Clarke chases 400*  (Read 1516 times)

Offline Aviator

India Vs. Australia 2nd test-Michael Clarke chases 400*
« on: January 04, 2012, 09:11:20 PM »
As much as I would like to see the record remain in West Indian hands, at the end off the day records are made to be broken.

Michael Clarke has batted superbly for the past day and a half and looks well set to surpass that magical number set by Lara. Not only does he look good as a batsman, the current setup of this match will allow him to get there comfortably, without out having the selfish tag attached, as there is still over 7 sessions of cricket left in the match.

Current scorecard
India 191

Australia 657/4 (162.3 ov)

Australia lead by 466 runs with 6 wickets remaining in the 1st innings

Day 3 - Session 2

Australia RR 4.04
    Last 10 ovs 44/0 RR 4.40
    Min overs remaining 43.3

Refresh scorecard
   Current time: 14:09 local, 03:09 GMT    Test career
   Batsmen    Runs    B    4s    6s    SR    This bowler    Last 10 ovs          Mat    Runs    HS    Ave       
   *Michael Hussey (lhb)    148    250    16    1    59.20    35 (67b)    28 (34b)          68    5433    195    51.74       
   Michael Clarke (rhb)    329    468    39    1    70.29    28 (47b)    16 (26b)          78    5644    329*    48.65    

http://www.espncricinfo.com/australia-v-india-2011/engine/current/match/518951.html
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Offline Aviator

Re: India Vs. Australia 2nd test-Michael Clarke chases 400*
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 09:16:48 PM »
Guess ah talk too fast...............He declared.

Well what a fool. His loss. :-\

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2012, 08:24:21 AM »
agreed...
but I am glad

« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2012, 02:35:19 PM »
I don't think he is a fool. He want to win the game. Maybe he will get it the next time around. That 400 is ripe for the pickings. They way some wickets are prepared, an excellent batsman would break that record. This is not the first time Lara record has been under threat.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2012, 07:48:36 PM »
I don't think he is a fool. He want to win the game. Maybe he will get it the next time around. That 400 is ripe for the pickings. They way some wickets are prepared, an excellent batsman would break that record. This is not the first time Lara record has been under threat.

Deeks I hear what you are saying abut him wanting to win the game, but at the point of declaration there was 7 1/2 sessions of cricket left in the match. He could easily batted for another 30 overs( one session worth) and that still should have been sufficient to bowl out India. The stats say that in a 2nd innings, India has never lasted more that 140 overs ( just under 5 sessions). I also agree with your point about today's wicket, but even then it is not very often that such an opportunity presents itself and coincides with you being on top of your game.

Nonetheless the record is still in the hands of the Prince!! :beermug:

Offline Aviator

« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2012, 10:03:26 PM »
India is currently 342/8 and its not even tea yet. Dotish Clarke!!

« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2012, 06:56:06 AM »
In hindsight ...I wreckin somewhere down the road...he will have some regret for now going for the record...

It was there to be challenged...

« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2012, 04:10:03 PM »
As much as I would like to see the record remain in West Indian hands, at the end off the day records are made to be broken.

Michael Clarke has batted superbly for the past day and a half and looks well set to surpass that magical number set by Lara. Not only does he look good as a batsman, the current setup of this match will allow him to get there comfortably, without out having the selfish tag attached, as there is still over 7 sessions of cricket left in the match.

Current scorecard
India 191

Australia 657/4 (162.3 ov)

Australia lead by 466 runs with 6 wickets remaining in the 1st innings

Day 3 - Session 2

Australia RR 4.04
    Last 10 ovs 44/0 RR 4.40
    Min overs remaining 43.3

Refresh scorecard
   Current time: 14:09 local, 03:09 GMT    Test career
   Batsmen    Runs    B    4s    6s    SR    This bowler    Last 10 ovs          Mat    Runs    HS    Ave       
   *Michael Hussey (lhb)    148    250    16    1    59.20    35 (67b)    28 (34b)          68    5433    195    51.74       
   Michael Clarke (rhb)    329    468    39    1    70.29    28 (47b)    16 (26b)          78    5644    329*    48.65    

http://www.espncricinfo.com/australia-v-india-2011/engine/current/match/518951.html

I hear your point, but we must also remind ourselves that the "selfish" tag is often bandied about by the Australians and the English as a soft way to diminish Lara's achievement, especially since it is the one record that is not in their possession. Kinda like "yeah, I know he broke the record, but......."

Nobody called Hayden selfish when he broke Lara's record.
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country