March 28, 2024, 04:25:06 AM

Author Topic: Seattle coach vows to make T&T a frequent stop.  (Read 2861 times)

Seattle coach vows to make T&T a frequent stop.
« on: January 05, 2012, 08:52:26 PM »
Seattle coach vows to make T&T a frequent stop.
By Inshan Mohammed.

The recently concluded Seattle Sounders Combine in Trinidad and Tobago was described by Sheldon Phillips as a great success.

Sheldon Phillips, the son of former T&T national goalkeeper Lincoln "Tiger" Phillips was very happy with the way things had gone during their short stay in the twin-island republic.

Sheldon added that: "We are very happy with how the combine turned out. Sounders assistant coach and St Vincent-born Ezra Hendrickson was pleased with how things turned out as well and has pledged to make T&T a frequent stop for Seattle coaches."

"I think we achieved our objective of bringing more exposure from abroad for T&T players. Thanks for all of your assistance. As a result of the socawarriors.net on-line registration the process went smooth and we were able to adequately prepare and maintain contact with the players throughout the process. "Another great collaboration with socawarriors.net."

We would also like to thank W Connection Football Club owner, David John Williams and T&T Pro League CEO, Dexter Skeene for their assistant."

"We have been approached by a few other clubs to do similar events in the very near future. Also, the officials in Tobago were tremendous in their support and overall organization. Assistant Secretary, Hugh Caudette, Peter Granville, Richard McFarlane, Anthony Price and Tobago FA President, Raymond Alleyne were quick to lend their support. They were prepared to undertake a number of major initiatives."

"We'll keep the public up to date on any developments regarding players who were seen by Seattle this week, ended Phillips."

Lincoln Phillips also mentioned that: "This will be the first in a series initiatives designed to attract international coaches, scouts, and teams to Trinidad and Tobago."

"I firmly believe that when players see that there are abundant opportunities to achieve a higher status in life through football, each player will have the tendency to work harder to improve his game."

Sounders technical director Chris Henderson said: “They knew the players well – the type of players that they think would do well in Major League Soccer.”

"While the club has a list of players who will be at the combine, they don’t have a great knowledge of the players, as the Caribbean leagues are not as well-scouted."

"However, they are hopeful that they can find good young players in the mold of Stern John and Evans Wise, both former MLS standouts. It’s another opportunity for the Sounders to look at a wider array of players as they look to add to their roster in the short-term and long-term, added Henderson."

Some of the players seen were: Keston George, Noel Williams, Akile Clark, Kevin Molino, Willis Plaza, Jamal Harewood, Richard Roy, Kevon Carter, Kareem Young, Dwayne James, Jayson Joseph, Gerrard John-Williams, Jamal Clarence, Akeem Adams, Castellanos, Devon Jamison, Keith Williams II, Curtis Gonzalez, Anton Hutchinson, Akini Adams and Kevin Graham.

VIDEO - Interview With Sheldon Phillips.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2012, 08:16:02 AM by Tallman »

Offline Jack Horner

Re: Seattle coach vows to make T&T a frequent stop.
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2012, 05:24:29 AM »
Ha !!!....

Same thing FC Dallas said and we never saw them again.
Jack Warner will rise again and the world will beg him him to return and he will say "NO".............

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2012, 05:44:34 AM »
Found the article.....

FC Dallas forms alliance with Trinidad and Tobago Pro League.

FC Dallas, along with its Brazilian partner Clube Atletico Paranaense were in Trinidad to kick off this alliance by participating in the Shaka Hislop Tribute Cup.

FC Dallas and the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League have announced the formation of an alliance, in which the two organizations will work together to continue developing the TT Pro League through regular sharing of business development strategies, player development initiatives, meaningful competitions, and scouting opportunities.

T&T shocked the world and Sweden with their performance at the 2006 World Cup.

“We have a vision for football, a vision for professional sport in T&T and without a vision we would not be able to step out of the box,” said TT Pro League Chairman Larry Romany at a press conference held in Port of Spain, Trinidad last week ahead of the Shaka Hislop Tribute Cup. “Visionaries like the Hunt family have changed the face of sport in the United States forever and we feel very privileged to be able to forge an alliance.”

FC Dallas, along with its Brazilian partner Clube Atletico Paranaense were in Trinidad to kick off this alliance by participating in the Shaka Hislop Tribute Cup, which honored the recently retired FC Dallas and Trinidad and Tobago international goalkeeper. The friendly exhibition games were held as doubleheaders on Nov. 30 and Dec. 2 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, pitting FCD and Atletico Paranaense against two All-Star teams made up of players that currently play in the TT Pro League.

“The key to forming good partnerships is finding good people with a good vision, and we have that in Dexter Skeene and Larry Romany, who know where they want to take the TT Pro League,” added FCD General Manager Michael Hitchcock. “Our goal is to be the premier team in North America and the TT Pro League's goal is to be one of the premier leagues in CONCACAF, so we’ve got two organizations that share a common commitment to excellence and that’s the foundation of our alliance.”

“We were not limited by where we are now and that’s how we got to this point,” said TT Pro League CEO Dexter Skeene. “The TT Pro League aims to become one of the most respected and most premier leagues in the CONCACAF region. We still have a lot to learn and a lot to come. The journey is long but today we are at an important and significant mile post.”

This past Saturday, FC Dallas and Atletico Paranaense executives conducted a business summit for executives from the TT Pro League and its 10 teams, discussing a variety of management topics and player development philosophies. The alliance will allow for teams from the TT Pro League to use FC Dallas’ home, Pizza Hut Park, for preseason, and give FCD the opportunity to conduct its own preseason in Trinidad. Other elements of this relationship include the opportunities to scout players through a combine organized by the TT Pro League, to exchange business and development ideas and programs, and to conduct competitions which would include TT Pro League teams.

Source: FC Dallas Communications
Jack Warner will rise again and the world will beg him him to return and he will say "NO".............

Offline tempo

« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2012, 06:26:54 AM »
And your point is jack horner? Do you know why the Dallas agreement didn't pan out or are you speculating; again.  At the end of the day, coaches are interested in one thing and one thing alone; getting good players that can improve their team. So, if Seattle comes decides to come again its because they saw some talent, if they don't it's because they saw better talent elsewhere. It is that straightforward.

At the end of the day, it looks as though over 90 players were given an opportunity to make an impression. That is all that can be expected to be provided; an opportunity. So hats off to the Pro League, LP, and Seattle for providing the chance and I hope the players can experience more events like this because it is a helluva lot better than what is happening right now.

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2012, 07:12:07 AM »
I know personally what happened with the FC Dallas deal.

These North American coach is very difficult, they want another Stern John for peanuts.

« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2012, 07:20:43 AM »
These North American coaches is are very difficult, they want another Stern John for peanuts.

You hob nob with a "great" man.  Doh let him down with your bad English..... ::)

Offline tempo

« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2012, 07:28:21 AM »
I know personally what happened with the FC Dallas deal.
Then c'mon, what happened? Who dropped the ball? Just because a deal doesn't work out doesn't necessarily mean it was a bad deal.

These North American coach is very difficult, they want another Stern John for peanuts.

Yes, Carlyle Mitchell, Daneil Cyrus, Keon Daniel, and Julius James are frequently mistaken for Stern John. The point is when given an option to ply their trade in T&T or MLS, MLS is a usually a better option for a young player both financially and in terms of developing their level of professionalism.

« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2012, 10:56:05 AM »
Tempo you real have time yes.  lol

« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2012, 12:04:44 PM »
Our players, as a team cant beat Bermuda but we expect coaches to be rushing here?  On the other hand, on this site, the MLS is often spoken of in derogatory fashion and fans shout about playing in England.  We must creep before we walk.  We need to promote our players heavily and beg our way back to respectability until we find players who could exorcize the miserable performances since 2006. We had such a  good platform and squandered it.

Offline tempo

« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2012, 12:37:23 PM »
Tempo you real have time yes.  lol

:beermug: It's cathartic

« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2012, 11:44:30 AM »
Nice work LP !!!...

Can we get a more indepth report, like the players who took part in Tobago as well.

« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2012, 10:14:51 PM »
http://www.sounderatheart.com/2011/12/26/2661713/mrisho-ngassa-cordell-cato-transfer

I highly rate this youth long time now. One of our better prospects!

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2012, 10:43:18 AM »
This headline sweet. "Seattle coach vows to make T&T a frequent stop."

Yeah, for carnival.

Do you think Ezra Hendrickson want to stop here before he stop in St Vincent.  :rotfl:

This camp benefitted one man alone and that is Lincoln Phillips, he wants to prove something to the TTFF, he wants to show T&T that he could do stuff and that the TTFF held him back, lets make a bet this is the last combine for a long time, just like when Lincoln came to T&T the first time, he had a foreign base combine and for the next 7 years he was just a powder posses hiding behind Jack Warner like little miss muffet.

Tell me ONE THING we benefitted from in this camp ? did they sign anyof the T&T players ? or did the T&T players even got a trial ? lets hear the excuses ?

« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2012, 06:58:37 PM »
This headline sweet. "Seattle coach vows to make T&T a frequent stop."

Yeah, for carnival.

Do you think Ezra Hendrickson want to stop here before he stop in St Vincent.  :rotfl:

This camp benefitted one man alone and that is Lincoln Phillips, he wants to prove something to the TTFF, he wants to show T&T that he could do stuff and that the TTFF held him back, lets make a bet this is the last combine for a long time, just like when Lincoln came to T&T the first time, he had a foreign base combine and for the next 7 years he was just a powder posses hiding behind Jack Warner like little miss muffet.

Tell me ONE THING we benefitted from in this camp ? did they sign anyof the T&T players ? or did the T&T players even got a trial ? lets hear the excuses ?

LP cant make any team sign any players, all he can do is try to open doors for them and its up to de players to prove themselve, so stop with yuh bullshit talk.