April 18, 2024, 07:43:26 PM

Author Topic: Corneal appointed TTFF Technical Director.  (Read 7766 times)

Offline Insider

Re: Corneal appointed TTFF Technical Director.
« Reply #30 on: January 16, 2012, 06:32:22 AM »
Gally criticises "hasty" Corneal appointment
By Lasana Liburd (wired868.com)

Ex-Trinidad and Tobago national football team standout player and coach, Everald "Gally" Cummings, today criticised the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) for its "haste" in appointing former assistant coach Anton Corneal as technical director.

Corneal, who received a four-year contract to oversee the development of the local game, began work today at a TTFF Elite Coaches Symposium in the Larry Games Stadium, Malabar.

However, Cummings insisted that the TTFF should have held an analysis of its unsuccessful 2014 World Cup campaign before making long term appointees—particularly when the appointee, Corneal, was a key component of the "Soca Warriors" humiliating first round elimination.

"This is a very important national issue which will have a long term impact on our future development in football and sport in this country," stated Cummings, who famously took Trinidad and Tobago within a point of the Italy 1990 World Cup and is a Hall of Fame inductee as a player.

"The Minister of Sport and, by extension, the Government should not fund any such long term appointments until a proper analysis is made. (This) brings me to question what was the purpose and recommendations coming out of the Symposium held recently by the Ministry of Sport, which was also held at significant cost.

"All appointments should be on an interim basis at this stage and only where absolutely necessary. Instead what we are seeing is individuals trying to jump the gun and install themselves in positions."

Acting TTFF President Lennox Watson said Corneal's appointment was made by its executive committee on Thursday.

Corneal is one of two local coaches—after Bertille St Clair—to take the country to a FIFA tournament after he steered the "Soca Warriors" into the Korea 2007 Under-17 World Cup. However, his reputation was not helped by less successful stints as assistant coach to Francisco Maturana and Otto Pfister.

Cummings, who is the head coach at the University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT), suggested that Corneal's father, Anton Corneal, a FIFA Technical Study member and former TTFF Technical Advisor, might play a role in his ability to get desirable jobs.

"When Russell Latapy lost matches (as coach), he was fired," Cummings told Wired868, "and it was the same for Pfister. So why is it always different for Corneal?

"Is it because of his father's role?"

Alvin and Anton Corneal are the main instructors at today's Elite Coaching Symposium along with Neville Chance and Edgar Vidale. The Symposium aims to empower an army of coaches who are earmarked to help lift the standard of the local game.

The 25 invited coaches are: Hutson Charles, Angus Eve, Derek King, Sean Cooper, Clint Marcelle, Dale Saunders, Terrance Marcelle, Philbert Jones, Michael McComie, Kevin Jeffrey, Ross Russell, Anthony Streete, Stuart Charles-Fevrier, Leonson Lewis, Anthony Rougier, Terrance Williams, Clayton Morris, Brian Williams, Dion La Foucade, Marlon Charles, Izler Browne, Stephan De Four, Rajesh Latchoo and Peter Pierre.

The TTFF is a big family business...

Gally, good call !!!!!

« Reply #31 on: January 16, 2012, 10:18:35 AM »
When shit like this goes down,I feel that the TTFF is located at the mad house in St Ann`s..... :devil:
These lunitics continue to run the Aslyum
I keep asking myself why is it so difficult for these blood sucking parasites to do the right thing

Offline socalion

« Reply #32 on: January 16, 2012, 11:58:39 AM »
 :frustrated:  Enough is enough ......unless something radical takes place its  clearly apparent to everyone else, with the exception of those at the ttff  , < > and their  cronies ,!!!!!!! for the forseeable future its the same old dance and song by ttff.... the people  at the >ttff< have no real intent to do any good for football and the game in general  throughout trinidad and tobago., nothing whatsoever...  they could care less what the general public nor fans think _please take note  forumites ... its a bunch of self serving, arrogant, corrupt officials  thats holding football /soccer hostage .in tnt... its so fackin frustrating .  words cannot express the dispair  i feel at the moment with the hasty , no good faith appointment of anton corneal as tech who what?? did i hear it right technical director of football in trinidad and tobago  are we for fckin real ......ah gone  for now yes !!but b4 i forget i compliment you  gally cummings  for speaking out  am with you all way ... more voices like yours  need to be heard ... come on shaka hislop, brent sancho.  and others we wanna hear from you all  have no fear speak out.... ah real p.ss. d  at the moment...

« Reply #33 on: January 16, 2012, 01:34:05 PM »
Mr Corneal please do a good job.  Give Flex an interview we would love to hear form you.  We love our football.  Give Flex and interview and an opportunity for us to move forward together.   

« Reply #34 on: January 16, 2012, 05:04:45 PM »
As seems to be the sentiment here, its Same shit, different day.

Fenwick would've been better. Anyone else would've been a better choice, actually.

Boycott the Finland match (I still don't believe it will even occur) and TNT football until the ttff re-structures itself and operates with transparency and accountability.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2012, 05:13:10 PM by supporter »

« Reply #35 on: January 16, 2012, 05:56:14 PM »
Well hear nah.  I listening to a sports report around noon today and I hear Watson come on and talk bout the Finland game etc. etc. and then de man actually then went on to say that all is well at de TTFF and the future sound or words to that effect....well I nearly fall out mih chair.....is firetrucking mad people we dealing with in trute.....

But on the other hand Watson right.....how much people sign de petition yet??.....

We like it jess firetrucking so!!!!   :cursing: :cursing: :frustrated: :frustrated: :banginghead: :cursing:

Offline MilkyX

« Reply #36 on: January 16, 2012, 08:39:35 PM »
Thank you, THANK YOU Mr Cummings!!! After all this time you seem to be one of the few football brains in this entire country that talks any sense. I don't know why you don't play a greater role in the football fraternity of this country but I think I've recognized its all about friend and family thing and not about hard work and dedication to the sport. These people don't care about football. The don't love the game. They love what they get from it. Money, power and prestige!
Only the humble can be truly great!

« Reply #37 on: January 17, 2012, 08:46:59 AM »
STEUUUPSSS :frustrated: :frustrated:

« Reply #38 on: January 17, 2012, 09:30:39 AM »
I believe corneal will surprise a lot of ppl, and i mean pleasantly.

« Reply #39 on: January 17, 2012, 10:48:42 AM »
Gally questions recent Technical Director appointment.
By: Inshan Mohammed.

Former T&T head coach Everald "Gally" Cummings shared his thoughts with us on the recent decision by  Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) to appointment Anton Corneal  Technical Director of Trinidad and Tobago football.

In this interview he questions the criteria for such appointments, the ones who keep making these decisions behind closed doors and how taxpayers' money can be spent without proper planning, investigation, organization and assessment.

Gally stated: "I was shocked to see the haste on the recent appointment of Anton Corneal as Technical Director (TD) of National Football without a proper analysis made on the recent embarrassing 2014 FIFA World Cup Campaign."

“To add insult to injury a member of the technical staff of that campaign has been elevated to the post of Technical Director. In addition I am reading in the newspapers that this "TD" is part of a panel including his father and uncle to evaluate persons for future appointments as national coaches at a symposium to be held from Sunday 15th January, 2012.”

“When were arrangements made and invitations issued for this symposium and when the reported appointment made at the TTFF executive meeting on 12th January 2012? Was this a backroom deal?”

“How was the panel formed? Why wasn’t a more transparent process done for the selection of a Technical Director?”

Gally continue to say, “At this stage of the lowest ebb of T&T football, we should be looking at the appointment of an Interim Football Executive to oversee football administration including elections of a new TTFF executive instead of making any long term appointments.”

“All appointments should be on an interim basis at this stage and only where absolutely necessary. Instead what we are seeing are individuals trying to jump the gun and install themselves in positions, because they are not aware if a proper analysis was made, and they are not sure where they will be placed.”

“We are seeing a clear case of nepotism and interference, a role Alvin Corneal has been playing since I was a player and coach of the Strike Squad and which he needs to stop doing. It is very clear that there was no transparency in this process.”

“At this point we need to appoint an Interim Technical Committee of approximately 5-10 persons drawn from former national players and other knowledgeable persons in the field of coaching to make a proper analysis of the failed 2014 campaign in which so much of taxpayers’ money was invested.”

“Such a Technical Committee should define the role and responsibilities of the Technical Director. I have noticed that depending on the individual and the national coach the responsibility changes because when Lincoln Phillips was TD he had no role at the senior national level.”

“It is in my view that the person who is selected as a TD should have had success as a player, national coach, proper certification, and can command the respect of the football fraternity.”

“The Minister of Sport and by extension the Government should not fund any such long term appointments until a proper analysis is made, which brings me to question what was the purpose and recommendations coming out of the symposium held recently by the Ministry of Sport . This symposium was also held at a significant cost.”

Gally concluded, “This is a very important national issue which will have a long term impact on our future development in football and sport in this country. Sport is as important an area as any other area of national development, therefore any decisions must be held to public scrutiny and should also uphold the principles of transparency and accountability where taxpayers’ money is involved.”

« Reply #40 on: January 17, 2012, 12:00:39 PM »
Thanks for giving us the full version Flex.

Good call Gally....

But will they hear you, thats another story..

Offline Jadel

« Reply #41 on: January 22, 2012, 03:26:07 PM »
The end is near  :frustrated:

TTFF executive support Corneal
« Reply #42 on: January 29, 2012, 07:29:04 AM »
T&T Newsday

THE EXECUTIVE Committee (EXCO) of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) has given newly appointed Technical Director Anton Corneal their full endorsement to chart the way forward for football in this country.

In a media release yesterday, the TTFF EXCO, explained that the process to rebuild football in this country has begun with Corneal’s appointment.

“Following the resignations of the (TTFF) president Oliver Camps and Special Adviser Jack Warner, the Executive Committee has embarked upon a number of strategic methods of getting this longstanding Federation back on track,” the media release stated.

The Committee, under the chairmanship of former national player Richard Quan Chan, also includes Rodil Clarke (deputy chairman), Corneal, Roland Forde, Marlon Morris, Wayne Riley and ex-national women’s player Jinelle James.

A youth development committee has also been formed and includes Corneal, Roland Forde (chairman), Ewing Davis (deputy chairman), Boris Punch, Michelle Lynch, Stephen Bartholomew and ex-national coach Muhammad Isa.

The TTFF EXCO noted that the local football body has invested tremendously in Corneal’s appointment and his progress and performances in various capacities made him an obvious choice.

“Primarily, his career as a former national player...was commendable and his records are there to show. A review of the past seven years since the Federation brought Corneal back to Trinidad from his position in the United States, the records have been able to provide information regarding his work performances leading to this day. It should be noted that the TTFF made an investment in Corneal many years ago with the sole intention of having a very qualified individual to serve in this capacity in the future. That time has come,” the Executive Committee stated.

Corneal currently holds a Diploma in Physical Education, Sport, with specialisation in football which he earned at the Leipzig University of Germany and also has a Bachelor of Science degree in Physical and Health Education at Erskine College in South Carolina.

He has an advanced FA International Football License achieved in Trinidad and conducted by English football Technical Director Les Peacock, United States “A” Coaching Licence and the CONMEBOL’s Advanced Coaching Certificate in Paraguay.

“Despite the qualifications, the Executive Committee still took time to determine whether there was anyone more qualified and eventually endorsed the appointment of Corneal for the position of Technical Director. The Committee is confident that he will continue to dedicate his services to the overall development of the game over the next four years and pledges to give him as much support as is possible to help him to perform his duties,” the Committee explained.

« Reply #43 on: January 29, 2012, 09:11:21 AM »
T&T Newsday

THE EXECUTIVE Committee (EXCO) of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) has given newly appointed Technical Director Anton Corneal their full endorsement to chart the way forward for football in this country.

In a media release yesterday, the TTFF EXCO, explained that the process to rebuild football in this country has begun with Corneal’s appointment.

“Following the resignations of the (TTFF) president Oliver Camps and Special Adviser Jack Warner, the Executive Committee has embarked upon a number of strategic methods of getting this longstanding Federation back on track,” the media release stated.

The Committee, under the chairmanship of former national player Richard Quan Chan, also includes Rodil Clarke (deputy chairman), Corneal, Roland Forde, Marlon Morris, Wayne Riley and ex-national women’s player Jinelle James.

A youth development committee has also been formed and includes Corneal, Roland Forde (chairman), Ewing Davis (deputy chairman), Boris Punch, Michelle Lynch, Stephen Bartholomew and ex-national coach Muhammad Isa.

The TTFF EXCO noted that the local football body has invested tremendously in Corneal’s appointment and his progress and performances in various capacities made him an obvious choice.

“Primarily, his career as a former national player...was commendable and his records are there to show. A review of the past seven years since the Federation brought Corneal back to Trinidad from his position in the United States, the records have been able to provide information regarding his work performances leading to this day. It should be noted that the TTFF made an investment in Corneal many years ago with the sole intention of having a very qualified individual to serve in this capacity in the future. That time has come,” the Executive Committee stated.

Corneal currently holds a Diploma in Physical Education, Sport, with specialisation in football which he earned at the Leipzig University of Germany and also has a Bachelor of Science degree in Physical and Health Education at Erskine College in South Carolina.

He has an advanced FA International Football License achieved in Trinidad and conducted by English football Technical Director Les Peacock, United States “A” Coaching Licence and the CONMEBOL’s Advanced Coaching Certificate in Paraguay.

“Despite the qualifications, the Executive Committee still took time to determine whether there was anyone more qualified and eventually endorsed the appointment of Corneal for the position of Technical Director. The Committee is confident that he will continue to dedicate his services to the overall development of the game over the next four years and pledges to give him as much support as is possible to help him to perform his duties,” the Committee explained.

So wait, de TTFF appoint a EXECUTIVE Committee of -  (Richard Quan Chan, Rodil Clarke, Corneal, Roland Forde, Marlon Morris, Wayne Riley and Jinelle James) and all get the work same time with Corneal.

Do you expect them to say anything different ?

The TTFF hired them whether they deserve it or not, then how can you expect them to say anything different.

I dont know the rest of guys to much but Marlon Morris and Jinelle James surprise meh, I thought they had belly to stand up for the betterment of TT football and now they falling into de same trap, wait, 6 months down de road they go get replace and then they go come crying....

De TTFF hire they own people and they own people bigging them up, something like father and son.

Self praise eh no praise.

It real easy to buy Trinidadian sah.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2012, 09:13:32 AM by Sam »

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #44 on: January 29, 2012, 06:33:57 PM »
I think some examination must be made of those persons who comprise those committees ! I have never heard of any significant knowledge in the technical areas , so how could they select someone of superior ability when they are mediocre themselves? How can a person who has persistently failed as a coach at lower levels be put to guide development at a senior level? It is like failing O levels but you are put to supervise students in a post graduate program! I think Lincoln proposal which appeared in today's newspapers sets out the better option since it seems that this group is all about self congratulation and not willing to have a broader discussion that is more inclusive! This job is far bigger than Cornel or for one person for that matter!
Anyway I think the population is much smarter than that and they not fooling anyone!

« Reply #45 on: January 30, 2012, 10:47:18 AM »
This Is Trinidad- Himself to Himself- It reminds me of the granting of Silk

« Reply #46 on: January 30, 2012, 05:33:30 PM »
I think some examination must be made of those persons who comprise those committees ! I have never heard of any significant knowledge in the technical areas , so how could they select someone of superior ability when they are mediocre themselves? How can a person who has persistently failed as a coach at lower levels be put to guide development at a senior level? It is like failing O levels but you are put to supervise students in a post graduate program! I think Lincoln proposal which appeared in today's newspapers sets out the better option since it seems that this group is all about self congratulation and not willing to have a broader discussion that is more inclusive! This job is far bigger than Cornel or for one person for that matter!
Anyway I think the population is much smarter than that and they not fooling anyone!

Have you visited the petition at all. Did you even sign the damn thing. There were more people at the recently concluded fiasco called a friendly, watching that nonsense than there are signatures on that petition. I don't know about you but that clearly tells me that the TTFF still have a lot of people fooled.

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #47 on: January 31, 2012, 01:59:39 PM »
It should be noted that the TTFF made an investment in Corneal many years ago with the sole intention of having a very qualified individual to serve in this capacity in the future. That time has come,” the Executive Committee stated.

Despite the qualifications, the Executive Committee still took time to determine whether there was anyone more qualified and eventually endorsed the appointment of Corneal for the position of Technical Director.[/b][/u] The Committee is confident that he will continue to dedicate his services to the overall development of the game over the next four years and pledges to give him as much support as is possible to help him to perform his duties,” the Committee explained.

1. When did the TTFF determine that they would select him for these specific development opportunities.
2. Were any other potential candidated considered, and if so why him as opposed to another candidate.
3. Who else, where else and how long did the process take for them to determine if there was anyone more qualified.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2012, 02:05:52 PM by CK1 »
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #48 on: February 10, 2012, 07:50:02 AM »
Good questions CK1 but  no answers ! Now that we are seeing what transpired over the last couple days and hearing Watson say yesterday they are continuing operations but will wait until the court matter on February 14 to see what is their next move , it leaves me to wonder Why make such an appointment for a 4 year period when you are waiting to see your next move after the court matter next week?
Also you havenot paid rent to Jack Warner for TTFF premises , who is paying for your Technical Director? This seems like a whole lot of mess!!
Coop's no comment on Corneals? Has your brothers's relationship as Asst coach with Ken Butcher  to Corneal senior many years ago in the early 80s anything to do with it ? I heard Butcher giving strong support on I 95.5 for the appointment! What is your position?

« Reply #49 on: February 10, 2012, 10:44:04 AM »
Good questions CK1 but  no answers ! Now that we are seeing what transpired over the last couple days and hearing Watson say yesterday they are continuing operations but will wait until the court matter on February 14 to see what is their next move , it leaves me to wonder Why make such an appointment for a 4 year period when you are waiting to see your next move after the court matter next week?
Also you havenot paid rent to Jack Warner for TTFF premises , who is paying for your Technical Director? This seems like a whole lot of mess!!
Coop's no comment on Corneals? Has your brothers's relationship as Asst coach with Ken Butcher  to Corneal senior many years ago in the early 80s anything to do with it ? I heard Butcher giving strong support on I 95.5 for the appointment! What is your position?
     You looking for old talk,you eh hear everybody's position on the appointment what difference would my own make,in every appointment there are those who are for or against and i respect that,any how thanks for informing the site at one time my younger brother was the assistant Coach of our Snr national team,my ties to T&T Football are deep what ever i say or do does not depend on my relationship with anyone or group.
     I must say these days the site nice,i'm enjoying every minuite of it,it like a soap opera i look forward to what's going to happen or what people going to say next,keep it up i just hope through all of this Football could survive.